Gila Bend KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-1895

Info: 928-683-2850

Email

800 S. Butterfield Trail

PO Box 322

Gila Bend, AZ 85337

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 835 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Great. Clean park. Friendly staff.
Aug 12, 2017
It was very hot there but they were open. We met the owner and he helped us with our TV. We will be back. Loved it. Clean neat and with a wellmaintained doggie park!
Aug 10, 2017
Other than the heat our stay was enjoyable. Nice large spaces and extremely clean. Our hosts were also very helpful and professional and very friendly
Aug 09, 2017
Great park. Beautifully maintained. Super friendly guest service
Aug 09, 2017
Friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful, clean facilities. The owner is spending alot of money to add improvements.
Aug 09, 2017
After long day driving, needed a place to rest. Luckily this KOA was less than 5 miles away. Had late night registration and sites available. We have 35 ft class A and towing a dolly and concerned with having to unhook, but sites are huge, length and width. Didn't concern ourselves with facilities as it was just a stop over. Did use laundry, very clean. Making improvements, pool, etc.
Aug 08, 2017
Very good stay. The vehicles were spaced very nicely for privacy and the park is quite nicely landscaped with trees which made for a plesant feeling..
Aug 06, 2017
Was amazing...we had a snake at our back door and the guy caught it and we got some cool as photos...we don't have snakes in NZ SO was a real highlight of out whole trip
Aug 06, 2017
Everybody was very helpful and nice. ..thx
Aug 03, 2017
Great campground. Denise was very helpful. The pull through space with the attached dog pen was excellent. I wish other campgrounds had the pet pen.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your review! We are happy to see you like our newly created "PEThouse Suite" Depending on the demand, we may make another, but we are in the process of preparing 2 more deluxe sites that will be 150' long pull-thrus. We will call them the RUNWAY Sites...
Aug 02, 2017
Not everything was available, but there were very few people there the day I stayed and the office staff was helpful and polite.
Jul 29, 2017
There was only five other rigs there and they could not have put us further away from the dog run area if they tried. I asked and she said none wewe available. Absolutely stupid. I got the impression it was just to much trouble.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're sorry you were unhappy. In summer months we do improvements to our sites and we are working on all the overnight sites near the dog park and we start between 530a-6a and do not want to park anyone in those areas. Water & elec are off at certain sites as well. We hope those sites open week of 8/7. Our other option is to close the park in summer as most in the desert do but we hope not to.
Jul 28, 2017
Super clean Park ! The staff is very helpful and friendly. We will be back. Pet friendly with great dog parks. Looking forward to returning to enjoy the new pool that is currently under construction. This park is our new Favorite 😀 We are Happy Campers !!!!!
Jul 27, 2017
Very helpful and friendly. I can see the improvements that has been done since I stayed there and what they are working on. My dog loved the K9 dog run.
Jul 27, 2017
Great place! Will keep it in mind next trip!
Jul 24, 2017
The Gila Bend park was great. It was very clean and very well planed. Easy to get in and out. I am planing to return this fall for a week or two stay. Thanks for the great stay. Jimmy
Jul 22, 2017
Convenient location, friendly staff, clean, new, quiet, pet friendly, sunny, good power, good water pressure, well stocked RV supplies in office, easy trash disposal, newly planted trees will provide nice shade in the next few years, good cable TV, level, spacious, long and wide sites, don't like their (the counties) sewer hose policy.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the nice review. Yes, our county does require all sewer hoses to be elevated off the ground for proper drainage. This is especially important in the summer where our temperature stays in the 100's (even at night) and that really can "heat up" the sewage in the line which may cause older sewer lines to crack and leak. However, you can dump without a slunky and then put the hose away.
Jul 20, 2017
It's new and looks great. Its a great place to stay if you want to bypass Phoenix traffic. Easy access & friendly.
Jul 17, 2017
Very helpful staff upon check in.
Jul 15, 2017
Jul 12, 2017
Great koa super friendly staff excellent laundry and facilities. Beautified desert landscaped
Jul 12, 2017
We stayed 2 nights at the end of Jun and it was EXTREMELY HOT!! First time camping with RV and the staff was so helpful and kind. The camp grounds were beautiful and clean. Will come back at cooler temps.
Jun 28, 2017
Pool wasnt open, no she to speak of, winter is the time to visit not summer, people were very nice, let us know when booking that pool was not open, enjoyed it.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are always disappointed to see only 3-stars. As you mentioned, we let all summer bookings know our pool is not open yet. Also, we mention the temp is 100+, even at 10pm. I think you also meant to say there was no "shade" to speak of, and there is only 1 tree per site. Yes, it is best in the winter, but we've been staying open during the summer for those needing a safe place to spend the nite.
Jun 25, 2017
Of course, it was hot. The campground water never got below 110 degrees. Otherwise, a nice place. Ryan was most helpful.
Jun 24, 2017
Jun 23, 2017
Made reservation online with late arrival and special request. KOA rep called to discuss special request and adjusted our spot to accommodate without hesitation. Welcome packet waiting for us when we pulled in. Very nice park with plenty of spacious spots. Definitely will stay here next time through.
Jun 21, 2017
Denise is a perfect host. The grounds are well kept up and perfect for passing through.
Jun 18, 2017
Very friendly staff and very helpful
Jun 17, 2017
Stayed the night on our way to Show Low. Very convenient.
Jun 15, 2017
Beautiful desert campground!
Jun 14, 2017
Quiet and clean. Host very nice and helpful
Jun 14, 2017
Very nice new campground. Beautiful views! Staff was very friendly and helpful. It will be a 5 star in my opinion once the pool and shower facilities are complete!
Jun 11, 2017
Great!!!!
Jun 11, 2017
Nice and new,I hope it remains as nice as time goes on. I wish other KOAs would update and keep theirs as nice. However the dog park was not opened up until a half hour after dawn.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for your review. Our dog park is open 24-hours, but the grassy area is only open dawn to dusk and we try to get there as early as possible, but sunrise is at 520am so we should probably change the sign to read no earlier than 6am.
Jun 07, 2017
We occasionally travel between our home in Southern California and a relative in SW New Mexico. Gila Bend is about half way and this new KOA serves us well. 4 stars now but 5 next time when the pool is finished and open. Very nice & helpful staff.
Jun 03, 2017
Staff super friendly and helpful.
Jun 03, 2017
Great
Jun 01, 2017
Friendly staff and clean places.
Jun 01, 2017
The spot 134 that we stayed in was awesome, the best with its own dog run, bbq grill, patio and fire pit. Great spot!!!!
May 31, 2017
This is a newer campground and still in progress, but it's gonna be great. No pool yet (a must in AZ) but not far off and the rest of the grounds are super clean, organized. Owner returned a message promptly.
May 30, 2017
New KOA! Fairly level sites. Great phone, Wi-Fi and all hookups. Would defiantly stay here again.
May 30, 2017
May 29, 2017
This Koa is not ready. The trees are to small and the pool must be build.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our pool should be open later this summer & we let all arrivals know the pool is not ready & have other RV Parks to refer that offer a pool. This RV Park has been here 15-years (new to KOA 2015) with over 150 mature trees, however, the sites are so HUGE, it appears the trees are small.
May 28, 2017
Always a nice place - hosts are so welcoming and sites and grounds are immaculate. It is fun to watch the love poured into this campground as the new owners make it a vibrant desert oasis.
May 28, 2017
May 26, 2017
Extremely clean & friendly atmosphere. Disappointed that fellow campers were to lazy to properly sort their recycles.
May 25, 2017
May 25, 2017
Friendly and helpful. Ryan made sure to greet us and make sure we knew where everything was Great facility absolutely spotless We will definitely stay here again
May 25, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals