Estes Park KOA

2051 Big Thompson Ave.

Estes Park, CO 80517

Reserve: 800-562-1887

Info: 970-586-2888

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
The map is very deceiving on how large the tent spaces were. I've never been to a KOA where the campgrounds were on top of each other. The horse manure smell is terrible. The only saving grace is that pancake breakfast, (which was awesome by the way)
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
We were on a motorcycle. Spot T-14 was perfect for our tent and bike. Good breakfast too! Will stop in again.
Aug 11, 2014
The manager bent over backwards to find me a place to tent camp when they were full. They were extremely helpful and it was a nice place to stay.
Aug 10, 2014
Good location, great staff, but a bit limited on tent spaces and very close to noisy highway.
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
I loved staying in T9. It was great to be set back with the Kabins - very quiet and peaceful.
Aug 07, 2014
We tent camped during one of the more wet weeks at Estes Park. The site was not very level so you must know what to do for your tent to keep the water out. Surprisingly, it is very quiet at night for being on the main road in and out. It would be nice if there were simple restrooms on the tent end, as opposed to porta-johns. The store is well stocked and the staff was always helpful.
Aug 06, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. I would like there to be more grocery items available in the store for grilling and campfire cooking, though!
Aug 05, 2014
This was our group's 3rd year staying with at the Estes Park KOA, and we eager for next year. We absolutely love the friendly staff, wonderful accommodations, and appreciate the cleanliness and up-keep of the entire KOA.
Aug 05, 2014
Friendly people, good location but way too crowded. Stayed in a tent for two nights that hardly had any trees near it and was just feet from other tent sites. Overall the KOA was great, the tourists made it miserable.
Aug 05, 2014
Jim and Ruth has best stay there forever. See you both again soon.
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
really enjoyed it. the area is beautiful. would have stayed for the 2nd night we had planned if our tent hadn't started leaking like a sieve.
Aug 02, 2014
Close to Rocky Mountains in a nice town known as Estes Park. The camp was a little too crowded but they had a lot going on and something for everyone.
Aug 02, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
I rated the facility lower than I would have liked due to the overwhelming stench from the horse stable right next to the campground. It was nauseating and I feel that I should have been informed that my tent site was so close to a stable. Overall, a very clean and friendly campground with good facilities. We had very noisy campers in our area but I guess that cannot be helped.
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Friendly staff; right in town;
Jul 28, 2014
My main complaint is that the tentsites were all VERY small and cramped. Also very close together and close to the main highway so lots of car noise. Hardly enough room for my van and family sized tent. We had to listen to our neighbors talking til midnight because they were like 12' away. The facilities were nice enough for what they were. The kids enjoyed the playground/tetherball area
Jul 28, 2014
Way to many spaces for thei little of a area! Cabin right on top of sites. bath facilites were very clean and well maintianed. Staff was awesome and very helpful. Just way to cramped!
Jul 28, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff!
Jul 28, 2014
Staff was very friendly. Bathrooms/ showers very clean. We did not like the tent site. Too small. Our parking area had a pallet of fencing in it and the horses stunk. The highway was noisy and our neighbors were extremely loud very late. Will never come back.
Jul 27, 2014
Wonderful staff. Great stay. Camp sites are a little small but it was still good. Thanks so much for everything.
Jul 26, 2014
The campground is on a very busy street and thus the trucks and the cars were a constant noise factor that I don't want to deal with when camping. the tent sites were also very close together. The staff was very nice. Loved the covered picnic table (though all sites did not have them). Showers were good.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
The pancakes were amazing in the morning. We loved the individual bathroom/shower option. Great location and the staff was so friendly.
Jul 24, 2014
very cramped quarters, friendly service,
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
This koa is extremely tight! There is no room between campers.
Jul 20, 2014
The site was very small , it was all I could do to fit a tent and my car, it was also twice as much as it should have cost . The lean to is approx. 5'9" high on the side and end I am 6'2" and received a gouge in my head going under it , the horse stable next door has a foul odor when the wind blows VERY DISSATISFIED
Jul 17, 2014
Not a good site for tent camping. Too close together and have to set up on gravel. It is on the main road so it is noisy all of the time. It does not feel like you are camping at all. They charge way too much money for a terrible site. I wish we would have stayed in the national park as this was a waste of money.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Helpful staff. OK location, but tent sites were 30' from the HWY. Close to the town and Park, though.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
I stayed in a site for camping. There was a powerful smell of horse manure and horse urine. The site is ugly and situated 30 ft from the busiest road in Estes Park with lots of traffic noise. The price was the highest I have ever paid at a KOA campground. This site is a cesspool. Avoid it at all costs.
Jul 12, 2014
Folks were very accommodating. I like the activities planned for us.
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
I love KOA's, but the tent sites at this one are just too close to the horses (smells). Would also really appreciate a smaller trash can for the tent site.
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 09, 2014
The campground was wonderful. It was clean and the view was beautiful. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much!
Jul 07, 2014
We truly enjoyed our stay. The fishing was great! All the amenities were awesome and the cleanliness of the bathrooms and showers was truly appreciated. Everyone was super friendly. The only drawback was the noise from the traffic.
Jul 06, 2014
a lot of stones at site...
Jul 06, 2014
We pitched a tent at the Estes Park KOA and would not recommend it. Our tent site was located downwind from a dusty stable with 60+ horses. The tent site itself was a gravel driveway. To top it off the showers were dingy and moldy. We have stayed at other KOAs and have never been disappointed - until we stayed here.
Jul 02, 2014
THE TENT AREA IS AWFUL! WAY BELOW THE STANDARD YOU WOULD EXPECT OF A KOA!
Jul 01, 2014
The campsite where I stayed was a great spot except for the wind was high during the stay so dust was flying around. I would suggest picking a campsite which is blocked by brush.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.