Estes Park KOA

2051 Big Thompson Ave.

Estes Park, CO 80517

Reserve: 800-562-1887

Info: 970-586-2888

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Tent Reviews

Aug 24, 2015
Limited amount of showers and toilets for campers to use. Had to use outhouse potties in the tent area.
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 24, 2015
Campsite too small and too close to the road, noisy.
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 23, 2015
Nice campgrounds. Hard to maneuver some of it on a motorcycle. Horse corrals near the tent camping produced a nice aromantic
Aug 23, 2015
Aug 22, 2015
After 36 hrs of no sleep,lots of hiking, and kayaking, we were given ice cream and a beautiful view of the Rockies! Loved waking up in Estes! Thanks for the great hospitality!
Aug 22, 2015
Clean facilities, quiet, great view of the Rockies. Very close drive to grocery stores, downtown Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park! Staff was friendly and welcoming.
Aug 21, 2015
we felt like we were on the side of the road with cars driving by. no good view of anything. aroma of horses..
Aug 20, 2015
Loved it right from the start! Our name was on the board to welcome us, check in was quick and pleasant! Very friendly and helpful workers at this KOA. We even had the pancake breakfast and it was delicious!! Liked this location also because of the shuttle bus pick up in front of the campground to go into Estes Park. Would highly recommend this campground.
Aug 17, 2015
The staff was very nice and helpful. Facilities were clean and well maintained. However, the tent sight was right next to the main road, so very loud and didn't give us the camping vibe we were hoping to get.
Aug 16, 2015
The staff was great and some of the amenities were nice,but our camp site was over near the horse ranch and 20 feet from the stinky porta potties:((((( it stunk!! On both sides. We had no view and there was a horse who was whining all night. Imagine trying to sleep through all of that:( we left a night early and couldn't even get a refund. We would not stay here again
Aug 14, 2015
Friendly, clean, convenient, informative, meet interesting people, very worth the cost. Good location and beautiful vistas.
Aug 13, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Great family camping experience, HOWEVER, the parking situation in the tent cam area should be re-thought. There were so many cars during our stay that, had we had any sort of emergency during the night, we would have had no way of getting out (WE were in T23 down at the very end). Otherwise, great!
Aug 12, 2015
Positives: Staff members were very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms and showers were very clean. Negatives: The tent area is located close to the highway and was quite noisy due to the traffic. Also, a horse corral adjacent to the tent camping area smelled of horse manure.
Aug 11, 2015
This was a 2nd annual girls trip. Last year we camped during 4th of July weekend. We decorated our campsite. I left a flag. Come back a year later and it's still flying. We love KOA. They're friendly, knowledgable of the area, and clean. Looking forward to coming back again.
Aug 10, 2015
Excellent Campgroung facilities, and kids activities.Great view of the mountains, this is a very scenic campground. This is by far my favorite place to camp.
Aug 10, 2015
The tent area was right next to a horse corral and the smell was overwhelming. The ground was rock hard it was next to impossible to use the stakes that came with the tent. We ended up buying "industrial" stakes at the koa store. I will say everyone was very friendly and the site was very secure.
Aug 10, 2015
Great people. NICE place, just a bit too close to highway.
Aug 10, 2015
The campground and staff were lovely, but the proximity to such a busy road made it very loud and not very camp-like.
Aug 09, 2015
They have a wonderful staff, location and amenities. Cathy was very helpful, as well as Jim and Butch. We will be back.
Aug 09, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
Great location and breakfast!
Aug 09, 2015
tent sites are not really motorcycle friendly. may not go back
Aug 09, 2015
The staff were wonderful, especially Cathy, Butch and Jim. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be coming back.
Aug 08, 2015
The people there that were taking care of the campground were super nice campground was clean and everybody was friendly even the people that came in and out of the campground
Aug 07, 2015
Nicely arranged, however, way to few bathrooms and showers for the amount of people.
Aug 07, 2015
We stayed in the tent site and clearly we were the lowest priority. We were right next to a busy road and farthest from bathrooms. There is not much room for tents. The wifi also would not work at tent site.
Aug 04, 2015
Campground was nice. Bathroom and showers were clean.
Aug 04, 2015
Camp site against the busy road was pretty noisy. I am sure we would have been happier up the hill away from the noise.
Aug 04, 2015
Bathrooms were clean and we liked the couple of family bathrooms. However tenting near the stables was VERY smelly and our site was small with no shelter.
Aug 03, 2015
The facilities were clean. The staff was friendly. The only complaint is that the river running in front of the camp ground is on the other side of the highway so you get all the traffic noise.
Aug 03, 2015
You need better wifi!!
Aug 03, 2015
Site for tents were to close to the highway. Gravel and rock surface for tents was not enjoyable.
Aug 03, 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Estes Park KOA. The hosts and other employees very friendly and great facilities.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
Clean, lots of amenities.
Aug 02, 2015
Very noisy at night in the campground. Right next to busy highway with lots of road noise.
Aug 02, 2015
It was very loud with cars and motorcycles passing along the road all night long. It was the worst nights sleep that I've ever had, if I even did sleep that night.
Aug 01, 2015
This was our second stay here, but would have been even better if our tent site was not in between the porta potties and the horse corals on the other side, stinky....
Aug 01, 2015
Jul 31, 2015
Awful place. The campground is extremely small. Our site was about 10 feet from the main road. We heard cars all night and smelled the rancid horse barns down the street that smelled like they hadn't been cleaned in weeks. We also had thousands of red ants all over our site. Lastly, the spot that was allotted for our tent had large rocks in it. Do not stay here!!!
Jul 29, 2015
Stay was fine other than constant traffic noise and wind, factors you have no control over. Location relative to Estes Park and RMNP was great.
Jul 29, 2015
Workers were great!
Jul 29, 2015
Cramped sites. No cable unless you pay for full hookup. Failed to provide full ice cream toppings. Neighbor stole our extension cord. Glad to be gone from there
Jul 28, 2015
A bit noiisy from people-1 AM
Jul 28, 2015
We were tenting and the water and bathrooms were very far away. They had port-a-potties in the area which was helpful, but smelled if your site was too close. Our site was right next to a horse corral that smelled bad too. We made the best of it... but there were other people closer to the latrines that were totally upset. It was nice that there were fences marking the sites. But no Shade!
Jul 28, 2015
The campsites for pop up campers was very tight and felt like we were right on top on each other and the tent campers. Also we were located right next to the very loud and busy road. I would be put the RV's that are more sound proof closer to the road and the tents and pop ups further away. Didn't get much sleep there.
Jul 28, 2015
Friendly, Convenient and well-kept
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.