Estes Park KOA

2051 Big Thompson Ave.

Estes Park, CO 80517

Reserve: 800-562-1887

Info: 970-586-2888

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

May 14, 2014
If you like being crammed into very close spaces--- I guess this is camping.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This camper's RV experience is regrettably accurate. Our RV sites are among the smaller spaces in the RV camping industry. Regrettably, if you are looking for a large RV site out in the woods or forest, Estes Park RV Parks do not have much to offer you.
May 13, 2014
Great friendly and helpful staff.
May 12, 2014
We had to leave early because of the snow storm, but we will be back!
May 12, 2014
Camp a little crowded but to be expected in such a location.
May 11, 2014
May 11, 2014
Very friendly staff. Sites a little tight. Other than that, a great stay
May 07, 2014
The staff was excellent. Very helpful Went out of their way to help us with our needs.
May 06, 2014
This was our first time camping at a KOA. Your staff was so helpful & friendly. They were willing & helpful with all of our questions.
May 05, 2014
Needed better dog walk area.
May 04, 2014
very peaceful, clean place to stay. Also, next door to lake walk, horse ranch, go carts/mini golf and river fishing. Somewhat pricey though.
May 03, 2014
Beautiful view of Long's Peak with fresh snow.
Apr 30, 2014
Apr 29, 2014
Had a nice time at the KOA in Estes Park, CO.
Oct 06, 2013
Very clean enjoyed ice cream social and watching kids enjoy the train. Great location for getting to downtown. Sites are very close together though but putting the picnic tables out front was a super good idea to make seem larger. While in Estes Park also stayed at Mary's Lake but would prefer KOA for location and cleaniness of site area.
Oct 02, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Enjoyed our stay... staff was friendly and the facility was clean. The sites, however, are too small.
Sep 16, 2013
Little disappointed that our camping area wasn't more private and that we didn't have our own fire ring at our campsite so we could have our own campfire.
Sep 16, 2013
I left the morning of Saturday September 14 and did not stay that night as your records indicate.
Sep 15, 2013
Our stay coincided with the terrible floods when Estes Park was cut off. Staff were friendly and helpful under considerable pressure allowing us to use office phone to rearrange flights. We finally managed to leave via Trail Ridge and catch flight.
Sep 14, 2013
Excellent staff and facilities, clean. Did not care for rv sites. ok for overnite stay only.Have stayed at better rv sites for less.
Sep 13, 2013
This is one of the oldest KOAs in the country. The size of the sites is a challenge, primarily because when the park was founded the sizes of units were much smaller, and there is little room for expansion. So, don't expect spacious parking. They do make up for this with excellent, friendly service and a clean facility. Location is great. WIFI improving.
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 11, 2013
The camping spaces were on top of each other. We had about 6 feet between us and the campers on both side of us. It was like camping in a apartment parking lot. The employees were friendly and facilities were nice and clean.
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
The guy leading us to our camp site, led us into a low wooden wall which took out 1 of our stabilizing Jack's and the stairs into our travel trailer. We had to go buy a small ladder to get into the rv. We were there for 4 nights for the Highland Festival. This is our 1 st stay at a KOA and we were all crammed in to tight. Not impressed, and sorry we bought a KOA membership. This was the KOA in Es
Sep 09, 2013
This campground is very overcrowded - not just that it was full but the spaces are small and tight. The proprietor while trying to insure a clean campground and that everyone is minding the rules was a bit too "ever present". It was as if he was just waiting for you to do something wrong. We won't be back.
Sep 09, 2013
Nice place, very nice people
Sep 09, 2013
We loved all of the campers and staff at this KOA. The train for the kids was adorable and we loved the ice cram and pancakes and everything is so inexpensive at this KOA. Very clean site and friendly staff.
Sep 08, 2013
The waste dump site was good but in a very poor location which blocks traffic on the one-way uphill entrance to the camp sites. It was also unfortunate that I was quoted one price when I reserved by phone and had to pay an increased fee when we checked in. In other places of business, a customer would be granted the price quoted upon the reservation. A gracious gesture would be a refund.
Sep 07, 2013
We completely enjoyed our stay in Estes Park. My husband was called away for a family emergency in the middle of our vacation, and I stayed on for a few days by myself. The staff were so helpful! They even helped me hitch my trailer and check lights before I headed out. The facilities are clean and the pancake breakfasts and activities were great. I would have stayed longer if there was space!
Sep 06, 2013
This camp. is not big enough for anything over 20'. You should be honest and not greedy and tell people you cannot accommodate them. Too narrow roads, sites too small and too many things/junk blocking the turns in and out. No where to park your vehicle. Dump station in the middle of the road, who ever heard of that?! Would not recommend this KOA to anyone.
Sep 05, 2013
Three stars because of the staff. Slots are really tight. Large rigs barely get in, next to me a slide almost hit my door, could not possibly put out my awning. If price was lower it might be worth staying there, price was the same as others.
Sep 05, 2013
Great staff! Great stay!
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
only issue that keeps Estes Park KOA from being a 10 is the cramped parking area for RVs. Just need 6 more feet width per RV site. Staff is the best... Restrooms outstanding!!!
Sep 03, 2013
Awesome place to stay and very friendly staff. We loved it and will deffently be back again.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
The KOA hosts were great! They served everyone and were happy to do so.
Sep 03, 2013
The facility is very cramped. We could not use our awning because the campers were close together. We were glad to be off the road and the staff were very helpful. The facility is clean but it needs to be larger.
Sep 03, 2013
Love the staff! Awesome location. Just wish we had a fire pit at our site.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
Host upon arrival - very friendly. Host during stay - very friendly. Host on departure day - I thought NOT so friendly.
Sep 02, 2013
Really nice place to stay, very quiet and gorgeous view. Nice people.
Sep 02, 2013
Staff has friendly and campground well kept, the campground quarters where very tight. I would like to have known that I would not be able to use my awning space because I have a TV mount on the side of my camper that I was not able to use and I had a slideout from another camper 4' out my door.
Aug 31, 2013
Very nice campground; I am not good at backing into sites but since they only had back-in sites, I made a reservation anyway. The KOA host gave me wonderful directions and backing in was a cinch!
Aug 31, 2013
The owners were friendly and very helpful. I only gave it 4 stars because of the layout of the park. There are no pull throughs and the back in sites are very close together.
Aug 29, 2013
Nice place, no bears, nice people who work there, will go there again
Aug 29, 2013
We like this KOA very much except for the fact that we were not able to use our awning as we were just inches, it seemed, from the camper in the next space. If we stay with you again we will probably request a space where we have a little more room or go somewhere else. Also we had to park our pickup in the visitor spaces. We like the fact that the trail is so close to the campground too.
Aug 29, 2013
This campground was extremely crowded. My husband 2013 truck got backed into the first night. Spaces were very tight. Although the staff as always at the KOA were extremely accommodating. The lack of any sort of grass made it pleasurable for our pets. Very crowded and all spots were so tight there was nowhere to park. Our neighbors kids were bouncing off our camper because there was no room.
Aug 29, 2013
Spots could be larger to be rated "9"

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.