Estes Park KOA

2051 Big Thompson Ave.

Estes Park, CO 80517

Reserve: 800-562-1887

Info: 970-586-2888

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jun 09, 2014
The staff is awesome. The property is clean, manicured and maintained.
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
I would appreciate the rate for the 2 Room Kabin to account for 6 individuals staying there. I found it ridiculous to pay extra for individuals in the party when we had 6 people in the Kabin. The basic rate should include the number of people in the room. If I bring two kids with me to a hotel that can sleep up to four people, I don't pay extra for them. I am very disappointed.
Jun 09, 2014
Friendly staff, clean Kabin and bathrooms. Will come again.
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 08, 2014
Very friendly. Great place for the kids. Cabins were clean. Great pancakes! Would stay again.
Jun 03, 2014
The woman checking me in (Short gray bob hair cut) seemed put out not at all friendly. The socks I wore for about an hour each night were black it was so dirty. The park was so packed I could hear people in the RV behind me stomping with my cabin windows shut. NOT IMPRESSED NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!
Jun 02, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
We rented the Deluxe Cabin, which was clean when we arrived and stocked with essentials for our stay in the kitchen & with soap and toilet paper. It is a comfortable place to stay, and the swing, picnic table and barby we felt like we were camping glamour style - "glamping". On our last day, I tidied up and cooked up some bacon and eggs and the kids came back with fish from the lake - perfect.
May 31, 2014
Awesome place. The cabins and bathrooms were very clean and nice. Plus, the location was perfect.
May 29, 2014
We stay in the small cabins once a year when we come up from Nebraska. The staff is really friendly, and always make us feel welcome! Showers are always clean and stocked well. Right on the edge of town so easy to get around town, and not far from park entrance. The only things that I wish the cabins had were a small microwave, and larger trash cans. They have super small ones!
May 28, 2014
LOVE the new gas grills at the Kottages and also the flat screen TV. It is always a JOY to camp at your KOA! Our favorite spot to go! Thanks for all you do to take care of your campers!! You are the best!!
May 28, 2014
May 27, 2014
Everything about this campground is a pleasure. The grounds are well-kept, the bathroom and shower facilities are extremely clean and the staff super personable! We had a great time and I will definitely be back!
May 27, 2014
I only gave it four stars because we were expecting to build our own campfire at our cabin. However, we were quite disappointed there was not fire pit.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
What a beautiful view! And the managers were wonderful--Thank you for a great weekend!
May 27, 2014
May 26, 2014
Everyone wearing a "yellow KOA shirt" was wonderful - helpful and always nice! Additionally we LOVED our cabin! It was SO CLEAN!
May 26, 2014
What a wonderful KOA! Clean, friendly staff and great amenities for the kids! We will definitely be back!! Thank you!
May 25, 2014
Kamping Kabins super cute. Very clean; staff wonderful. Have been to some KOA's where there is a lot to do. This one very small and limited with activities. Lots to do around there but at the KOA itself, very limited. All in all it is a great place.
May 25, 2014
May 23, 2014
The deluxe cabin was great! Staff was very friendly and the grounds were well maintained. Would definitely recommend to anyone traveling to Estes Park, CO!!
May 21, 2014
We had a great kabin with a wonderful view.
May 19, 2014
Jim was super friendly and the place was clean and comfortable.
May 19, 2014
Very nice/inviting staff. Allowed me to check in early as the room was ready in advance. Excellent location to town and activities. Cabin and facilities were outstanding. This will be our new family vacation spot for Estes Park.
May 15, 2014
Wonderful management! We greatly enjoyed our stay even with the blizzard. Thank you!
May 12, 2014
It was my first stay at KOA. I was looking for an alternative to tent camping. I stayed in one of the cabinsand it was just what I was looking for. In addition to being pleased with the cabin, the entire staff couldn't have been more pleasant. Since it was my first vist, I had lots of questions and they answered them all completely and with a smile. I'm looking forward to many more stays at KOA.
May 12, 2014
We stayed during a promotion, (second day free). Didn't stay the second night because of impending bad weather,but had to pay a fee for checking out after check out time of the first day. I guess "free" isn't actually free.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Regretfully, this camper was confused. She was only charged for the one night she stayed here. There were no additional or late checkout charges at all. Wish there was a way to show this to the camper and have a negative review removed.
May 11, 2014
Very helpful staff and pleasant cabins! Fantastic breakfast at the cafe!
May 11, 2014
The pet policy is tantamount to extortion. Of all the KOA's we've used, this is our least favorite. Also, the men's bathroom was so malodorous that it was difficult to even use. Never again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm not sure what they mean about our pet policy. Their record indicates they had 2 dogs. We have lots of campers staying with us each summer with 2 or more dogs. On many nights each summer we might have 30-40 dogs on the campground. Sorry about our men's room odor. Wish they mentioned it to us.
May 06, 2014
I have been going to the Estes Park Koa for the last 6 years Jim and Ruth are awesome wonderful people they make Mt fiance and I feel as if We are family. Thank you Jim and Ruth
May 05, 2014
Apr 28, 2014
For a cabin in the mountains & cold weather, you would think that a bigger heater would be provided for guest. We froze to death during our night there. Also, the shower facilities were not very clean or up to date with mold on the ceiling. Then there was not a club house of sort to use a microwave or enjoy any other facility games or activities pool table, tv. This is the worst I have stayed at

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry this camper did not find our campground experience satisfactory. In our defense, we open May 1st each summer. They wanted to camp here a week before we opened. Historically, if we are here, we allow campers in with the caveat that we are not fully cleaned up or setup yet for the summer.
Feb 18, 2014
Our stay at this koa was very enjoyable. It is very close to town and Rocky Mountain National Park. We loved the one room cabin! The bathrooms were outdated and the shower heads were positioned for someone around 4 feet tall. Other than having to duck and squat to shower, we loved our overall experience! We would stay here again in the future.
Oct 01, 2013
Owners opened campground for elk fest after the flood in Estes Park. It was very thoughtful of them and the campers who made the effort seemed to be happy they did that for us. We had a great time.
Sep 30, 2013
Always have a great time when I'm at the koa in este park. Always great friends and great staff that is always friendly thanx
Sep 30, 2013
It was bit windy as a storm followed us in. The park was clean and the hosts were very friendly and accommodating two weeks after we had planned to stay because of the record rainfall that hit Colorado.
Sep 30, 2013
I was very pleased with our stay at Estes Park KOA. The location was good, the cabins were nice, and the staff was very helpful.
Sep 29, 2013
It's always a joy staying at this KOA. It's our go-to place when staying in Estes!
Sep 20, 2013
The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was excellent. The cabin was nice and comfortable. However, it was not as clean as it should have been (it was dirty in the corners, under and behind furniture).
Sep 18, 2013
First time staying in a two room cabin. It was really good. I would suggest that instead of two sets of bunk beds, that they replace on set with another double bed. I also was amazed that we were charged for a 2nd vehicle. I understand being charged extra for additional people, but not for the extra vehicle. I don't understand the why the charge.
Sep 18, 2013
Very clean and well-maintained. The owners were very accommodating to our wishes.
Sep 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the great hospitality. Such a pleasure to come and stay. We weren't sure just when we would be leaving due to the flood but it all worked out great and we can't wait to come up and visit again in the springtime. The Landis Family and Puppy
Sep 18, 2013
The staff were friendly and helpful. I am glad I got a cabin since it rained the entire time I was there. Thanks I will be back.
Sep 17, 2013
My family was camping at the Estes Park KOA during all of the horrific flooding. We were very grateful for all the help/info we received during our stay. Nebraska gal was very helpful and we were grateful for the updates she relayed on to us. Among all the chaos, the service was still good, bathrooms were in great condition, etc. We took Trail Ridge and made it home SAFE. Thank you for everything!
Sep 13, 2013
The cabin bed was too small for me to sleep comfortable. I am very tall I would suggest longer beds.
Sep 12, 2013
Sep 11, 2013
Very helpful and understanding.
Sep 11, 2013
The stay was great. The only thing that was uncomfortable for a retired person was to get out of bed since the bed is against the wall. Other than that everything was fine. We had a great time staying at Estes Park and seeing the sights.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.