Estes Park KOA

2051 Big Thompson Ave.

Estes Park, CO 80517

Reserve: 800-562-1887

Info: 970-586-2888

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 20, 2013
The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was excellent. The cabin was nice and comfortable. However, it was not as clean as it should have been (it was dirty in the corners, under and behind furniture).
Sep 18, 2013
First time staying in a two room cabin. It was really good. I would suggest that instead of two sets of bunk beds, that they replace on set with another double bed. I also was amazed that we were charged for a 2nd vehicle. I understand being charged extra for additional people, but not for the extra vehicle. I don't understand the why the charge.
Sep 18, 2013
Very clean and well-maintained. The owners were very accommodating to our wishes.
Sep 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the great hospitality. Such a pleasure to come and stay. We weren't sure just when we would be leaving due to the flood but it all worked out great and we can't wait to come up and visit again in the springtime. The Landis Family and Puppy
Sep 18, 2013
The staff were friendly and helpful. I am glad I got a cabin since it rained the entire time I was there. Thanks I will be back.
Sep 17, 2013
My family was camping at the Estes Park KOA during all of the horrific flooding. We were very grateful for all the help/info we received during our stay. Nebraska gal was very helpful and we were grateful for the updates she relayed on to us. Among all the chaos, the service was still good, bathrooms were in great condition, etc. We took Trail Ridge and made it home SAFE. Thank you for everything!
Sep 16, 2013
Enjoyed our stay... staff was friendly and the facility was clean. The sites, however, are too small.
Sep 16, 2013
Little disappointed that our camping area wasn't more private and that we didn't have our own fire ring at our campsite so we could have our own campfire.
Sep 16, 2013
I left the morning of Saturday September 14 and did not stay that night as your records indicate.
Sep 15, 2013
Our stay coincided with the terrible floods when Estes Park was cut off. Staff were friendly and helpful under considerable pressure allowing us to use office phone to rearrange flights. We finally managed to leave via Trail Ridge and catch flight.
Sep 14, 2013
Excellent staff and facilities, clean. Did not care for rv sites. ok for overnite stay only.Have stayed at better rv sites for less.
Sep 13, 2013
The cabin bed was too small for me to sleep comfortable. I am very tall I would suggest longer beds.
Sep 13, 2013
This is one of the oldest KOAs in the country. The size of the sites is a challenge, primarily because when the park was founded the sizes of units were much smaller, and there is little room for expansion. So, don't expect spacious parking. They do make up for this with excellent, friendly service and a clean facility. Location is great. WIFI improving.
Sep 12, 2013
Sep 12, 2013
Sep 11, 2013
Very helpful and understanding.
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 11, 2013
The camping spaces were on top of each other. We had about 6 feet between us and the campers on both side of us. It was like camping in a apartment parking lot. The employees were friendly and facilities were nice and clean.
Sep 11, 2013
The stay was great. The only thing that was uncomfortable for a retired person was to get out of bed since the bed is against the wall. Other than that everything was fine. We had a great time staying at Estes Park and seeing the sights.
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 11, 2013
Very nice, clean, and quiet. I just got back yesterday and have so far told four people how great it is!
Sep 11, 2013
Stayed here before my trip into the back country of RMNP. Very helpful staff. Bathrooms were clean and store was not too expensive. The road is right next to the campground which is busy and loud.
Sep 10, 2013
The guy leading us to our camp site, led us into a low wooden wall which took out 1 of our stabilizing Jack's and the stairs into our travel trailer. We had to go buy a small ladder to get into the rv. We were there for 4 nights for the Highland Festival. This is our 1 st stay at a KOA and we were all crammed in to tight. Not impressed, and sorry we bought a KOA membership. This was the KOA in Es
Sep 10, 2013
Friendly staff, nice facility, clean bathrooms and nice laundry room.
Sep 10, 2013
This was a very nice campground for young families. However, the tent & Rv Sites are too cramped. We felt like we were all sleeping on top of each other and parking at the tent site was nearly impossible without a smart car.
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
I would like to have seen more kabins with kitchen/bathrooms. We requested in advance to have all our accommodations to be close as we had a large party. That didn't happen nor we we told when we requested it that it wasn't possible
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
This campground is very overcrowded - not just that it was full but the spaces are small and tight. The proprietor while trying to insure a clean campground and that everyone is minding the rules was a bit too "ever present". It was as if he was just waiting for you to do something wrong. We won't be back.
Sep 09, 2013
We have stayed here before, and very likely to stay here once again. Thanks for the great times!!
Sep 09, 2013
Great place to stay, great people. Some campers need to be reminded about "quiet time", but staff and campground are wonderful.
Sep 09, 2013
Nice place, very nice people
Sep 09, 2013
The tent area was basically right next to the highway with just a wood fence to mask noise. Campers were allowed to set up after midnight and then drunk campers showed after 1AM. Billets are very small and on top of each other. Was required to stay two nights after horrible first night.
Sep 09, 2013
Great place! Clean, well-laid out campground. Friendly people! We will definitely be back!
Sep 09, 2013
It was a nice place.
Sep 09, 2013
We loved all of the campers and staff at this KOA. The train for the kids was adorable and we loved the ice cram and pancakes and everything is so inexpensive at this KOA. Very clean site and friendly staff.
Sep 08, 2013
The waste dump site was good but in a very poor location which blocks traffic on the one-way uphill entrance to the camp sites. It was also unfortunate that I was quoted one price when I reserved by phone and had to pay an increased fee when we checked in. In other places of business, a customer would be granted the price quoted upon the reservation. A gracious gesture would be a refund.
Sep 08, 2013
Sep 08, 2013
Sep 07, 2013
We completely enjoyed our stay in Estes Park. My husband was called away for a family emergency in the middle of our vacation, and I stayed on for a few days by myself. The staff were so helpful! They even helped me hitch my trailer and check lights before I headed out. The facilities are clean and the pancake breakfasts and activities were great. I would have stayed longer if there was space!
Sep 07, 2013
Very nice KOA..staff nice..bedroom in the two room deluxe Very small and cramped. That was our only negative
Sep 07, 2013
Sep 06, 2013
This camp. is not big enough for anything over 20'. You should be honest and not greedy and tell people you cannot accommodate them. Too narrow roads, sites too small and too many things/junk blocking the turns in and out. No where to park your vehicle. Dump station in the middle of the road, who ever heard of that?! Would not recommend this KOA to anyone.
Sep 06, 2013
Sep 05, 2013
Three stars because of the staff. Slots are really tight. Large rigs barely get in, next to me a slide almost hit my door, could not possibly put out my awning. If price was lower it might be worth staying there, price was the same as others.
Sep 05, 2013
Great staff! Great stay!
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 04, 2013
I really enjoyed the cabin, the staff were very friendly.
Sep 03, 2013
only issue that keeps Estes Park KOA from being a 10 is the cramped parking area for RVs. Just need 6 more feet width per RV site. Staff is the best... Restrooms outstanding!!!
Sep 03, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.