Estes Park KOA

2051 Big Thompson Ave.

Estes Park, CO 80517

Reserve: 800-562-1887

Info: 970-586-2888

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
Camp a little crowded but to be expected in such a location.
May 12, 2014
We stayed during a promotion, (second day free). Didn't stay the second night because of impending bad weather,but had to pay a fee for checking out after check out time of the first day. I guess "free" isn't actually free.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Regretfully, this camper was confused. She was only charged for the one night she stayed here. There were no additional or late checkout charges at all. Wish there was a way to show this to the camper and have a negative review removed.
May 11, 2014
May 11, 2014
Very helpful staff and pleasant cabins! Fantastic breakfast at the cafe!
May 11, 2014
Very friendly staff. Sites a little tight. Other than that, a great stay
May 11, 2014
May 11, 2014
The pet policy is tantamount to extortion. Of all the KOA's we've used, this is our least favorite. Also, the men's bathroom was so malodorous that it was difficult to even use. Never again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm not sure what they mean about our pet policy. Their record indicates they had 2 dogs. We have lots of campers staying with us each summer with 2 or more dogs. On many nights each summer we might have 30-40 dogs on the campground. Sorry about our men's room odor. Wish they mentioned it to us.
May 07, 2014
The staff was excellent. Very helpful Went out of their way to help us with our needs.
May 06, 2014
I have been going to the Estes Park Koa for the last 6 years Jim and Ruth are awesome wonderful people they make Mt fiance and I feel as if We are family. Thank you Jim and Ruth
May 06, 2014
This was our first time camping at a KOA. Your staff was so helpful & friendly. They were willing & helpful with all of our questions.
May 05, 2014
May 05, 2014
Needed better dog walk area.
May 04, 2014
very peaceful, clean place to stay. Also, next door to lake walk, horse ranch, go carts/mini golf and river fishing. Somewhat pricey though.
May 03, 2014
Beautiful view of Long's Peak with fresh snow.
Apr 30, 2014
Apr 29, 2014
Had a nice time at the KOA in Estes Park, CO.
Apr 28, 2014
For a cabin in the mountains & cold weather, you would think that a bigger heater would be provided for guest. We froze to death during our night there. Also, the shower facilities were not very clean or up to date with mold on the ceiling. Then there was not a club house of sort to use a microwave or enjoy any other facility games or activities pool table, tv. This is the worst I have stayed at

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry this camper did not find our campground experience satisfactory. In our defense, we open May 1st each summer. They wanted to camp here a week before we opened. Historically, if we are here, we allow campers in with the caveat that we are not fully cleaned up or setup yet for the summer.
Feb 18, 2014
Our stay at this koa was very enjoyable. It is very close to town and Rocky Mountain National Park. We loved the one room cabin! The bathrooms were outdated and the shower heads were positioned for someone around 4 feet tall. Other than having to duck and squat to shower, we loved our overall experience! We would stay here again in the future.
Jan 04, 2014
Clean restrooms, friendly staff, thanks!
Oct 06, 2013
Very clean enjoyed ice cream social and watching kids enjoy the train. Great location for getting to downtown. Sites are very close together though but putting the picnic tables out front was a super good idea to make seem larger. While in Estes Park also stayed at Mary's Lake but would prefer KOA for location and cleaniness of site area.
Oct 02, 2013
Oct 01, 2013
Owners opened campground for elk fest after the flood in Estes Park. It was very thoughtful of them and the campers who made the effort seemed to be happy they did that for us. We had a great time.
Sep 30, 2013
Always have a great time when I'm at the koa in este park. Always great friends and great staff that is always friendly thanx
Sep 30, 2013
Wonderful. We have stayed here before and will again and I can't wait till we can stay again.
Sep 30, 2013
It was bit windy as a storm followed us in. The park was clean and the hosts were very friendly and accommodating two weeks after we had planned to stay because of the record rainfall that hit Colorado.
Sep 30, 2013
I was very pleased with our stay at Estes Park KOA. The location was good, the cabins were nice, and the staff was very helpful.
Sep 29, 2013
It's always a joy staying at this KOA. It's our go-to place when staying in Estes!
Sep 20, 2013
The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was excellent. The cabin was nice and comfortable. However, it was not as clean as it should have been (it was dirty in the corners, under and behind furniture).
Sep 18, 2013
First time staying in a two room cabin. It was really good. I would suggest that instead of two sets of bunk beds, that they replace on set with another double bed. I also was amazed that we were charged for a 2nd vehicle. I understand being charged extra for additional people, but not for the extra vehicle. I don't understand the why the charge.
Sep 18, 2013
Very clean and well-maintained. The owners were very accommodating to our wishes.
Sep 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the great hospitality. Such a pleasure to come and stay. We weren't sure just when we would be leaving due to the flood but it all worked out great and we can't wait to come up and visit again in the springtime. The Landis Family and Puppy
Sep 18, 2013
The staff were friendly and helpful. I am glad I got a cabin since it rained the entire time I was there. Thanks I will be back.
Sep 17, 2013
My family was camping at the Estes Park KOA during all of the horrific flooding. We were very grateful for all the help/info we received during our stay. Nebraska gal was very helpful and we were grateful for the updates she relayed on to us. Among all the chaos, the service was still good, bathrooms were in great condition, etc. We took Trail Ridge and made it home SAFE. Thank you for everything!
Sep 16, 2013
Enjoyed our stay... staff was friendly and the facility was clean. The sites, however, are too small.
Sep 16, 2013
Little disappointed that our camping area wasn't more private and that we didn't have our own fire ring at our campsite so we could have our own campfire.
Sep 16, 2013
I left the morning of Saturday September 14 and did not stay that night as your records indicate.
Sep 15, 2013
Our stay coincided with the terrible floods when Estes Park was cut off. Staff were friendly and helpful under considerable pressure allowing us to use office phone to rearrange flights. We finally managed to leave via Trail Ridge and catch flight.
Sep 14, 2013
Excellent staff and facilities, clean. Did not care for rv sites. ok for overnite stay only.Have stayed at better rv sites for less.
Sep 13, 2013
The cabin bed was too small for me to sleep comfortable. I am very tall I would suggest longer beds.
Sep 13, 2013
This is one of the oldest KOAs in the country. The size of the sites is a challenge, primarily because when the park was founded the sizes of units were much smaller, and there is little room for expansion. So, don't expect spacious parking. They do make up for this with excellent, friendly service and a clean facility. Location is great. WIFI improving.
Sep 12, 2013
Sep 12, 2013
Sep 11, 2013
Very helpful and understanding.
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 11, 2013
The camping spaces were on top of each other. We had about 6 feet between us and the campers on both side of us. It was like camping in a apartment parking lot. The employees were friendly and facilities were nice and clean.
Sep 11, 2013
The stay was great. The only thing that was uncomfortable for a retired person was to get out of bed since the bed is against the wall. Other than that everything was fine. We had a great time staying at Estes Park and seeing the sights.
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 11, 2013
Very nice, clean, and quiet. I just got back yesterday and have so far told four people how great it is!
Sep 11, 2013
Stayed here before my trip into the back country of RMNP. Very helpful staff. Bathrooms were clean and store was not too expensive. The road is right next to the campground which is busy and loud.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.