Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Apr 13, 2015
Very nicely situated by the body of water. Sites were neat and well maintained. The staff went above and beyond being helpful when our camper developed a problem while on site.
Apr 10, 2015
Easy on/off for a big rig!!
Apr 07, 2015
Beautiful campground, helpful, friendly hosts. Far enough from Des Moines Metro area and interstate to be quiet, yet close enough to be convenient. We are Full-timers and plan on using your campground as our "home base" when in the area from now on!
Apr 06, 2015
We only stayed one night but it was very clean and quiet!
Apr 06, 2015
Nice wide sites, pleasant and knowledgeable hosts. VERY quiet, away from the main highway but easy to get to.
Apr 05, 2015
Very nice and friendly staff. We were there early in the spring so they were doing their spring cleanup but the park has a great potential. We would stop back and stay again.
Apr 04, 2015
Very surprised after staying there a year ago much of the camp ground is still not functional including bath rooms, cable and wifi was unusable.
Apr 03, 2015
Full price for half of the items. day before April 1
Nov 03, 2014
Other than the internet going in and out, it was a great stay.
Nov 01, 2014
Oct 30, 2014
Oct 29, 2014
real grassy spots, kind of slow internet, very nice people
Oct 27, 2014
Great!
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Sad to see the camping season come to end. But looking forward to next summer and all new family memories at KOA we love camping here
Oct 24, 2014
Oct 23, 2014
Great Kamp ground and the owners and staff were fantastic. They went out their way to locate an auto parts store for us so we could find a repair part for our motorhome.
Oct 22, 2014
We came in late on Monday eve Oct 20 2014 and were extremely tired from travelling all day. Went right to bed but were kept awake by someone's dog continually barking for about 2 hrs! We were in site 11 and the noise was from a trailer over by the cabins. It was not a very restful night and am sad that the dog owner was not very respectful of other campers! We have always enjoyed your koa.
Oct 22, 2014
Outstanding facility, very friendly staff.
Oct 22, 2014
Oct 22, 2014
Very friendly owner!! Clean and neat. Very pleasant stay!
Oct 21, 2014
Oct 21, 2014
Very obliging
Oct 21, 2014
This camper comment has been removed by KOA because it contained inappropriate content.
Oct 21, 2014
Very well kept campground with big spaces. Easy on and off I-80.
Oct 20, 2014
The place was great! Everyone, was so nice! We love that you all sell pizza. It was a life saver! The only disappointing was the amount of dog poop we had to dodge in our campsite. We'd still come back just don't want to dodge the poop.
Oct 19, 2014
Oct 17, 2014
great place, very roomy, clean and friendly
Oct 16, 2014
Oct 16, 2014
Wonderful place. Friendly, helpful people. Loved the dog parks.
Oct 14, 2014
the person that was there behind the counter was very nice and we love to stay there as my son is the athletic director in earlham, we also like to to antiquing in des moines, we stay in des moines at the sailorville campground most of the time because we are seniors and it is 20 dollars cheaper a nite, but this is a wonderful well maintained friendly place to stay. thanks marvel caskey
Oct 13, 2014
Actually, we stayed 2 nights. This KOA has gone the extra mile for amenities: the best dog park we've seen plus a fishing pond and a great playground. If we pass that way again, we'll definitely stay here.
Oct 13, 2014
I wish they would post the rates so campers would know weekend rates are higher. No complaints about the park or staff. Very friendly & helpful.
Oct 13, 2014
Limited office hours are not ideal. The stay was good and we will return again when in the area.
Oct 13, 2014
Really didn't stay at the campground much...mainly just to sleep, but the little bit we were there we liked it! Great customer service! Love the fact that you can have pizza (including breakfast pizza) delivered to your camper! What better way to serve breakfast on the morning you leave!!
Oct 13, 2014
Oct 13, 2014
Nice spot, peaceful weekend and wendi was so friendly and helpful.
Oct 11, 2014
We enjoyed our stay very much.professionalism was shown by everyone. We hope to return in a few days.
Oct 11, 2014
A very clean comfortable park !
Oct 10, 2014
We were late arriving. Some one came up to help us. Very nice and Every clean
Oct 09, 2014
Best Dog play area we have seen, and we've seen many. Really friendly and helpful staff. Got the Pizza and some wings delivered to our door. Both good and a welcome end to a long driving day. VERY quiet, as it is about a mile from the freeway. VERY nice grass and excellent sized spaces. We we wishing we could stay at this one longer. WiFi worked pretty well. Only thing missing was cable.
Oct 08, 2014
Located about a mile off the interstate so pretty quiet. Good access to pull thrus. Level gravel sites with good spacing. Laundry is VERY limited (4 Washer/Dryer).
Oct 08, 2014
Oct 08, 2014
Oct 08, 2014
Thanx to the Boss for helping me with the apartment
Oct 08, 2014
Everything was great with the facilties. The only frustration was the WIFI. When we phoned in advance to ask, he told me it was all working great, but when we arrived at the campground she said they were having trouble with anyone with Windows 8. I have Windows 8 and couldn't get on. I needed to do some things on Internet that night and would have appreciated knowing the problem in advance.
Oct 07, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
Oct 07, 2014
The West Des Moines KOA was perfect for an overnight stay - convenient to the interstate, level sites, well-stocked store and a large laundry. The owners were welcoming and helpful. One caveat - if your computer is a PC go to office for help on connecting to the Wifi.
Oct 06, 2014
I stayed at this campground two years ago, and really enjoyed it, but not so this time. In fact, we left one day early because of no internet service. The internet would come and go. Totally not dependent, and I work as a independent consultant, and have to have e mail. I wont stay here again until this is fixed.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.