Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
friendly staff, but we seemed to share a site with another popup camper. Could have shook hands with them we were so close.
Jul 17, 2013
Great place for overnight stay along I-80. Quiet. Very friendly staff; nice touches like wine tasting & ice cream social.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
NC
Jul 17, 2013
Clean, friendly people, helpful.
Jul 16, 2013
WE HAVE ALREADY PAST IT ON ABOUT HOW GREAT YOUR CAMPGROUND IS. However, we did have to complain to Mr.Forbes in regards to loud campers and he did talked to them and they did quite down we should have said something sooner.we would definitely stay there again.
Jul 16, 2013
Site was un-level and not paved. Roads were white rock and very dusty. Most sites had no shade. Would stay here again only in an emergency.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Very nice stopover campground. Clean facilities and friendly staff. No complaints!
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Very clean, shaded, nice folks running the place. Will stay there again!
Jul 15, 2013
Very nice campground. Large grassy sites. Level parking for camper. Beautiful Iowa countryside setting.
Jul 15, 2013
A wonderful peaceful stay. Ordered pizza, did wine tasting .. Lots of events for all ages. Staff was friendly & helpful. We had a spot with a mature tree so we had shade from the hot sun.
Jul 15, 2013
Too short. Kampgound very nice. The staff was very helpful.
Jul 15, 2013
Great campground! Clean. Kids activities and the worker who headed them up was great! Our kids really enjoyed him.
Jul 15, 2013
We were greeted by fire ants and the neighbor had plumbing issues that disturbed our kamping area. We were not offered any sympathy or accommodations for our trouble. Campers were squeezed in tightly. We loved the pool & activities. We will stay again
Jul 15, 2013
This is a great camp ground with very friendly staff, we wish we would have had more time to spend in the area. Definately will come again i the future.
Jul 15, 2013
Campground was nicely maintained despite it's age. Campsites were spacious with tables and fire rings. We took our grandchildren to weekend activities which were poorly run and supervised by teenager. All activities started late (as much as 40 minutes) The Slip and Slide was great fun, but very dangerous to younger children because proper supervision was lacking.
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
We were only in over night, bu foun restrooms and showers (particularly the women's) to be in need of of repair and cleaning. The condition of the facilities did not support the per night cost compared to other sites we stayed at during our trip. For example...a beautiful state park in Colorado with spacious, full service pull through sites, and modern well maintained showers cost $43/day.
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Large nice sites. Staff was very nice, informative and helpful. Thank you for a great stay, even if it was only one night.
Jul 15, 2013
Jul 14, 2013
Extremely friendly and clean! Great place to stop over, easy ins and outs! Pizza was great! Good line up of activities too!
Jul 14, 2013
Stayed there 4 times in a motorhome. Very nice campground
Jul 14, 2013
Enjoyed our stay very much. The building needs some paint on the outside.
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 14, 2013
Loved the wine tasting and ice cream social. Good camp store.
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 14, 2013
They took us to our campsite, the bathrooms were clean, everyone was very friendly.
Jul 14, 2013
The handles in the pool are loose and dangerous
Jul 14, 2013
Nice grounds, good space, nice pool. Only drawbacks were closing of pool at 9PM and VERY low water pressure in women's showers. Barely a trickle.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It took us a few days, but we finally found the culprit to the low water pressure in the showers. I know it doesn't help your experience any, but now the showers have plenty of water pressure and they're nice and hot. Sorry for the inconvenience, but thanks for letting us know the problem.
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
Our 3 grandsons loved the pool.
Jul 13, 2013
Very nice people and clean and quiet campground.
Jul 13, 2013
Love the new dog play area.
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
Park not adequately monitored as kids were yelling and adults making lots of noise till about midnight!
Jul 11, 2013
It was Fantastic with friends and family!! The slip in slide for kids was great, but the adult one was hilarious!!!
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 11, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.