Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 07, 2017
Good camp store. Great, clean bathrooms. Would not hesitate staying here again.
Jun 07, 2017
Great as always. Improvement were also great. Looking forward to next stay.
Jun 07, 2017
the staff were very helpful and courteous, well kept, except that trash was left out all day at sites,extremely dusty could not sit outside even when a golf cart drove by, would not stay again
Jun 07, 2017
Nice campground. The wonderful service from Jared really made the stay great. Good job!
Jun 06, 2017
Jun 06, 2017
We stayed for 3 weeks to visit family. Before holiday weekend (rate hiked for a week!) it was quiet, busy with mostly one nighters, and well maintained. Maintenance on the camp roads all day long was a noisy and dusty disturbance. Memorial Day weekend was noisy, packed and smoky. Afterwards, the staff did little to clean up the litter left behind. K9 pens were good sized.
Jun 06, 2017
Nice for a stop over Had to share picnic area with neighbors
Jun 06, 2017
Jun 06, 2017
Plenty of space, level sites, good room, helpful staff. Fresh gravel was a bit dusty, but a good rain will take care of that. If we're back through here, likely to stay here.
Jun 06, 2017
Friendly folks. Nice facilities.
Jun 06, 2017
we had amazing people helping us when we checked in and throught out our stay we loved all the activities for choc. lovers weekend
Jun 06, 2017
Our stay was nice enough. Very kid oriented. With young adults a lot of drinking and smoke from camp fires. Ourfirst time at KOA. Maybe to old for that kind of campground.
Jun 05, 2017
This is one of the very best campgrounds we have stayed at, private or KOA. Thank you for your hospitality. The sites were big and we did not feel cramped at all. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Jun 04, 2017
I and my friends are not local so I would have no chance to tell them where to go. The stay was fine. I was only there a short time so I cannot give 5 stars not having experienced the the whole site.
Jun 04, 2017
Always friendly and helpful.
Jun 03, 2017
Stay was good. Staff is super nice. Bathrooms are VERY clean. Only disappointment was the limited bandwidth of the WIFI.
Jun 02, 2017
The place is fantastic. Will definitely stay there again.
Jun 02, 2017
Quiet campground. Very clean restrooms and showers. Second year we stopped here on way to Montana. Will be back.
Jun 02, 2017
This was a very nice place. The sites were really spacious! The staff were helpful and courteous and the bathrooms were very well maintained. Even the dog park was great for our furry friends.
Jun 01, 2017
Jun 01, 2017
A great KOA! Lots of activities for everyone! Improvements are wonderful! We will be back next year for our Annual Family Campout!
Jun 01, 2017
We stayed 6 nights in a Motorhome. This KOA has made numerous improvements over the past year. It is the nicest KOA we have stayed at. We plan to return, and would recommend this KOA to anyone looking for a nice campground with many close day trip locations to visit. This KOA is a very family oriented location, with alot of activities for kids. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jun 01, 2017
well kept grounds. friendly, helpful people
Jun 01, 2017
We stayed for one night. Loved the modernizations of your facility. Bathrooms very clean. Nice gift shop. Appreciated the leveled sites.
Jun 01, 2017
Nice campground. Friendly staff. I
May 31, 2017
The entire place was clean and had fairly level sites. All pull through so it makes it easy.
May 31, 2017
Stayed 5 nights and spent most of that time in Des Moines. Was impressed with the facilities. Only complaint is the fire pits were a little too close together.
May 31, 2017
May 31, 2017
As always KOA-Adel Ia is an awesome place to camp. So many activities for kids & some adult things too! Jamie, Chris, and staff are awesome people and very kind and accommodating. We camp here as often as we can! No negatives here!
May 30, 2017
Awesome experience cant waut to go back. Friendly staff clean and well planned activiries. Thanks for all the hard work to make this a great place to stay
May 30, 2017
Excellent stay as always, the staff is great and our kids love the activities.
May 30, 2017
May 30, 2017
It was great.
May 30, 2017
Everything was ok. We checked in on Friday and the women's bathroom was spotless but by Sunday morning, my husband said the men's was filthy. No one was nasty but not overly friendly either. Lots for kids to do but not much for older people. Lots and Lots of dogs! It is quiet (except for the dogs). We paid for a large spot (quite pricey) and the other spots looked pretty packed together.
May 30, 2017
Great campground. Staff are very helpful and friendly.
May 30, 2017
Even with the rain it was a great time glad to kick off our 2017 camping seasons at one of our favorite campgrounds
May 30, 2017
We had a great time. The staff was extremely friendly and there were a lot of activities arranged for kids and adults.
May 30, 2017
Very clean friendly
May 30, 2017
WE loved it, our grandkids did not want to go home. The hayride was fun, the bouncing pillow, and swimming was a blast! It was a perfect weekend, and all our kids want to come back as soon as we can.... Thank You..
May 27, 2017
Everything was fabulous!! But the wifi was terrible! I like to check email while traveling and got logged off wifi way too many times! But the place and the people are fabulous!!
May 26, 2017
This is favorite overnight stop on your annual trips out west. Always clean! We love to see the additions & improvements to the grounds that have been made over the past few years.
May 26, 2017
Great staff and great pizza delivered to our site the restrooms and laundry were very clean
May 26, 2017
Outstanding campground! Very clean bathrooms, laundry area and campground in general. Staff went put of their way to be helpful. Will definitely be back when in the area.
May 26, 2017
Very nice place
May 26, 2017
The only thing that could have made the stay better would have been warmer temps and sunshine.
May 26, 2017
This is by far the nicest KOA that I've stayed at. Each year there are improvements and additions that make it even better. The grounds with lake, clubhouse, playground and pet area are super. Oh, and don't forget the sites with swings, tables & chairs and new bar b qs The staff is very helpful every time I visit.
May 25, 2017
We only stayed overnight and everything was fine! Staff was friendly and efficient. Everything on the site was clean and neat and worked well!
May 24, 2017
The fun zone was epic. 14/10. Would and will come back
May 23, 2017
we always have a great time
May 23, 2017
Great Pizza! We came back on our way back to Minnesota to again spend the night, primarily because not only was this KOA nicely laid out and the service was very good, but the "Pizza" was the final deciding factor for us. Dr. and Mrs. Lloyd Wallin, Apple Valley, MN.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award