Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Aug 12, 2013
Very clean KOA. Nice big sites. No complaints. Wish they had a jumping pillow for kids.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Sites were to close together. Not enough space.Price was to high for what you had to offer. Fire pits didn't have a grill to cook on. No shade trees. People were very friendly, everything was clean and well organized.
Aug 12, 2013
We were just there overnight. Our grandkids enjoyed the pool and we used the laundry. Clean and inviting appearance.
Aug 11, 2013
Was only there for the night but had a great time. Looking to stay longer next visit.
Aug 11, 2013
Campsites a little to close to each other when you are parked side by side as they do in some sites. Very confusing at times trying to figure out whos sewer system is whos. Same thing with picnic tables

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Next time you're here we'd recommend staying in our larger single sites with both 30/50amp service. This way you'll have more room.
Aug 10, 2013
We love this place! Well maintained, close to golf, shopping, bike trails, friendly staff... Highly recommended!
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
Great swim in pool, helpful at office when checking in.
Aug 10, 2013
Campers that were in our site before us left a bunch of garbage by where a fire ring was. When we asked for a picnic table it was delivered promptly. We never did get the fire ring we asked for. Over all the stay was very nice. The WIFI could be improved.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
Nice clean place and good people running it. Could use cable though as we don't have dish for our trailer.
Aug 09, 2013
The people in the office were tremendously friendly and helpful. The park was terribly dusty and the bathrooms and showers need updating.
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
Friendly staff and clean facilities .
Aug 08, 2013
Staff was very friendly, campgrounds clean, park itself not too close to interstate or major road. Camp site was a little small but fine for a night or two.
Aug 07, 2013
Parfait pour une ou deux nuits. A première vue on dirait un grand parking, mais au final les emplacements sont très spacieux, possibilité de partager le carré d'herbe a plusieurs (si vous venez a 2 VR) La piscine (chauffée) est grande et profonde j'ai vraiment apprécié mon séjour
Aug 06, 2013
I stay here whenever we come to Des Moines The quality has remained high through the years
Aug 06, 2013
We stayed for 2 nights while visiting the area on our way back to Michigan from Colorado. The campground was quiet, had level and grassy sites and everyone was very friendly. Keep up the great work.
Aug 06, 2013
Friendly, helpful staff and clean, well-maintained sites.
Aug 06, 2013
Great place Will go back. Camp hosts were really friendly
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
all was great, but the pool could of been warmer? on the cooler days
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Please plant more trees!
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
very helpful, very clean, and a great family atmosphere
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
The spots were not level enough for my 38 ft. length. Should have been on big rig lot.
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
Needs updating of the showers if you are the ones that had the broken floors in the shower that someone could get their feet hurt in.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have red mats in our showers to keep everyone's feet off the tiles, and we also don't have any broken tiles. :)
Aug 03, 2013
Aug 03, 2013
Great people, but sure needed that cup of coffee at 8. YOu open to late in the morning, if we need something last minute from your store. All else was perfect.
Aug 02, 2013
We enjoyed looking for John Wayne's birthplace and the bridges of Madison Co., which weren't too far from this location. It does sit on a hillside so parking was a bit of a balancing act.
Aug 01, 2013
We stayed here 1 night in 2012 as we were just passing through the area. We returned this year and spent three nights and had a terrific time visiting the bridges of Madison County, the Iowa Aviation Hall of Fame, the Freedom Rock, and the Blank Park Zoo. Great location for getting out to see the many sights in the area.
Aug 01, 2013
great place and nice people working there
Aug 01, 2013
loved the area to walk dogs very neat CG
Aug 01, 2013
Easy in & out, quiet, nice little store & pretty good price.
Jul 31, 2013
Very clean and well maintained camp ground. Staff very friendly. Enjoyed our stay!
Jul 31, 2013
We loved this koa. The staff was friendly and helpful. The site was awesome andbpeaceful with cornfields all around. Our dog loved the dog run area to play ball . Our kids enjoyed playing basketball,horseshoes,fishing at the pond. The kids enjoyed the pool too. The bathrooms and laundry area were clean and had plenty of hot water. Mom enjoyed the variety of local wines for purchase.A+koa
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Great, helpful staff. Love the dog run.
Jul 29, 2013
Supper nice campground. will stay again
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
The folks were friendly & welcoming...lots for the kids to do...they loved the young lady in charge of kids programs....lovely setting....the bathrooms need serious cleaning. We opted not to use the yucky showers.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
We've been staying at this KOA as we pass through for the last 3 summers because of the great dog area. It would be great if they cleaned the bathrooms after the pool closes since they are right next to the pool and get a lot of traffic during the day from wet kids.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.