Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 24, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
We had a great time at the KOA. There were tons of activities for our kiddos to do. The staff were friendly and helpful. If we find ourselves in Des Moines again we will be staying at the KOA!
Jul 23, 2014
Campground was clean but the campers are stacked in like cord wood. This is the first KOA where we had to share a patch of grass with another camper. The pool desperately needs to be remodeled! Way too small for campground! We swam in the pool first thing in the morning, lots of things floating in it including a frog. Lifted hand out a water and along came long hairs..gross!
Jul 22, 2014
We had a fantastic time at the KOA in Adel. The facilities were clean, activities were fun, and everyone was happy to help. We will definitely be going back often and recommending this camp ground to family and friends!
Jul 22, 2014
Pool was disgusting!!! Dirty and not skimmed at all! Also, it was breaking apart. Sharp concrete on bottom and along sides cutting kids feet up.
Jul 22, 2014
While the staff was extremely helpful in allowing us to change sites from a very muddy site to a slightly better one, the campgroung was not maintained up to usual KOA standards. The roads and sites need more gravel, and the pool is crumbling. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 22, 2014
Great!!!
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
we had a great time and your staff was very helpful and pleasant.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Friendly staff. Waved anytime they drove or walked by our site. Very impressed by Saturday nights story teller, she did a fantastic job.
Jul 20, 2014
Beautiful location, friendly staff, and sites had space between them.
Jul 19, 2014
Great stay! Easy in and out, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Jul 19, 2014
We only strayed one night but had a great stay, the campground is extremely clean. I will definitely use this KOA again in the future.
Jul 19, 2014
staff very good. overall good experience. better than I had expected after several bad experiences at other koas. convenient to city
Jul 17, 2014
Large spaces, well maintained
Jul 17, 2014
We enjoyed the stay. It was a nice extended stay. The only negative was the Wifi. We were never able to connect. Since we were extended stay guests, this would have made the stay much nicer.
Jul 17, 2014
Great
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Apparently "young" campground; most trees in 2/3 of campsites are close to sapling size. Restrooms could use an upgrade.
Jul 16, 2014
The site was even,the pool was great and the staff was very friendly.It was a good night.
Jul 16, 2014
We stayed so far in 4 KOA camp grounds and all have been great. There will be more as we continue our trip.
Jul 16, 2014
This is one of the cleanest campgrounds I've ever stopped at.
Jul 16, 2014
We didn't have a reservation and got off the road earlier than expected. They were very willing to accommodate us and even canceled our reservation at the other KOA! The pizza was great too!
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Clean and quiet sites were good and location great .... friendly service ..... very accommodating
Jul 15, 2014
We are traveling in a 44' motorhome and found getting in and out not to be difficult at all. Staff was friendly and facilities were clean and well maintained. Get place to stay when you are in the area.
Jul 15, 2014
Koa west des moines hss awesome friendly staff
Jul 15, 2014
I am getting really annoyed with cg's that advertise "free" wifi that you cannot even get your emails with. Otherwise, things were nice including a well kept dog park.
Jul 15, 2014
Friendly staff and nice store.
Jul 14, 2014
Great place to stay, very kid friendly. They have a lot of activities that keeps the kids entertained.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Staff is so friendly and willing to help. Loved the new jumping pillow and movie screen. We'll be back!
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Friendly, knowledgeable office staff. Resolved misunderstanding about arrival date quickly. Very well maintained facilities. Only negative is that many of the sewer connections are about 8 - 10 inches above ground level requiring water to run uphill.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
My only complaint was the limited WiFi. I was unable to get on the internet. Otherwise my stay was perfect and the staff very friendly.
Jul 13, 2014
The people were nice and very helpful. As we just stayed for one night while traveling from Colorado to Michigan. It served our purpose. FYI the pull through sites are not level and the hook ups are in the middle of these longer sites. You will probably need extensions for one or more of your hook ups and more blocking than normal for your stab jacks. Bathrooms could use some updating but usable.
Jul 13, 2014
clean & friendly...a+
Jul 13, 2014
Great stay. Wish there were more 50amp. Nicest owners.
Jul 12, 2014
Had a good stay. Reservations weren't handled correctly by a staff member there and no on ever apologized but got rather snarky over it instead. Other then that lots to do here.
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
Ship shape like all KOAs. Nothing negative to report.
Jul 11, 2014
great place to stay
Jul 11, 2014
Stayed 2 nights with 30' fifth wheel in adjoining spot with friends. If only high class hotels provided this type of outstanding service! Staff and owners were very visible during entire visit...ALL were friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and personable. The grounds are kept up daily and are extremely well-kept. Great dog park, playground, pool and trampoline. We're looking forward to bringing grand
Jul 11, 2014
Good stopover point heading west and returning east.
Jul 11, 2014
We were there during the change of owners. Both couples were very cordial and helpful. Very nice campground.
Jul 11, 2014
All employees very friendly and helpful. Told us about the pizza on premises and delivered it to our site. Mailed our postcards too. Very pleased with the experience. The sight was good too. Easy in and out!
Jul 11, 2014
was a clean campground, friendly people and helpful, quiet and peaceful would recommend to everyone.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.