Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 11, 2015
Overall a pretty good campground, except the streets are gravel and the playground not real nice. Wi-Fi is worthless.
Jul 11, 2015
Jul 11, 2015
great place to stay. easy in and out. nice people operate the site
Jul 11, 2015
We were so impressed that we are going to have a family reunion
Jul 11, 2015
Stopped here on our way back east , glad we did , staff and facilities were amazing, large camping spaces , brand new beautiful showers , nicest we've stopped at , booked online while driving , glad we did , they were sold out , got in around 8 ordered food in there nicely supplied store and they delivered it right to the campsite , pizza and breadsticks were actually pretty good , no complaints!
Jul 11, 2015
Great staff and service with outstanding grounds and facilities, All spaces were pull in and pull out.
Jul 10, 2015
Jul 10, 2015
Nice campground. We have stayed there many times over the past few years. Summer is a little too crowded for us senior citizens, but it works out for us on our way to the Denver area. Spring and fall probably will be better. Improvements to the campground are very nice. We can tell that you have put much time and money into it. The staff is very friendly and helpful also.
Jul 10, 2015
The restroom/shower facility was wonderful. I especially liked the fenced pet area. That gave Sydney a much needed running place.
Jul 09, 2015
Side by side parking is not my favorite way to camp. Would request to have a regular spot.
Jul 09, 2015
Staff is service oriented. Improvement area: work the camping site to make them at level for big rigs. Tx. Adel and their golf course are very nice.
Jul 09, 2015
Very clean. Appreciated after-hours self-check-in.
Jul 09, 2015
Friendly, accommodating staff. Great place.
Jul 08, 2015
Very hospitable staff, clean facility
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
Absolutely fantastic , however please check the level on site # 8 had to block up rear wheels on Motorhome. Thanks
Jul 07, 2015
The owners and staff are super friendly! This KOA is sparkling clean and easily accesssible from the highway. This was one of our overnight stops traveling west, and one of our favorites. We will return.
Jul 07, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
It is always nice to stay at this KOA. Everyone is over-the-top nice. I travel with a camper while I work across the country. They always greet me with smiling faces and keep the place immaculate. I highly recommend the Des Moines West KOA!!
Jul 07, 2015
The site and staff was amazing! We have stayed here a number of times and the upgrades are a definite improvement! Thank you and we look forward to staying with you again!
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
we had a good time camping here was about five families all together
Jul 06, 2015
Too loud after 10:00!
Jul 06, 2015
The people at this KOA were very friendly and welcoming. Facility was very clean and well maintained. I would definitely come back!
Jul 06, 2015
Every one was very polite and nice and helpful it is clean and well taken care of We loved it and will go back
Jul 06, 2015
A great place to stay. I don't think there could be a better KOA
Jul 06, 2015
Wow! Cleanest ever. Nicest wide grass space I've seen in a pull thru spot. Lots of kid activities. Even at peak July 4th, Chris and Jamie had smiles all day. The host were fully engaged and were real hosts. I was surprised how quiet camp was at 10 pm. They should call it a "KOA Resort". Other KOA's could learn from them. John, Tania and family - Apply Valley MN
Jul 05, 2015
Jul 05, 2015
No thanks
Jul 04, 2015
Fantastic service, clean and friendly environment!
Jul 04, 2015
Loved it! We will be back
Jul 04, 2015
Only stayed one night. Friendly staff.
Jul 04, 2015
Reasonable cost, clean, well organized, friendly. Kids liked your cg better than any other we stayed at. thanks
Jul 03, 2015
Clean restrooms and showers, though it would be nice to have more shower stalls available. Had fun activities for the kids. Well-manicured lawn. Friendly staff. Great overall experience!
Jul 03, 2015
welcomed warmly
Jul 03, 2015
Jul 03, 2015
very efficient and professional
Jul 03, 2015
Jul 02, 2015
Everyone was extremely helpful especially when my schedule changed and they helped to find me another spot to put my camper for the day.
Jul 01, 2015
Its a little far out of town but the facilities are GREAT!
Jun 29, 2015
Very helpful staff. Campground is clean and the sites are level.
Jun 29, 2015
Wonderful campground!! Grounds are beautiful, service is awesome and there are a lot of extra things to do!!
Jun 29, 2015
Arrived late and they were very helpful, however, the sites are very close.
Jun 29, 2015
We had a very nice stay at Des Moines West, IA KOA. The owners were very helpful and willing to accommodate our needs. The park was well maintained and the new features are wonderful. Our pets enjoyed the dog run. WE will stay here again.
Jun 29, 2015
Very nice place BUT there was a Tornado Warning and we were asked to get out of our RV and come to the office with our pets where everyone was then escorted to a basement except the few of us that had a pet. We had to stay in the bathroom with windows because the basement was pet free. I realized if the tornado hit we would be dead in the restroom rather than have the basement not be pet free
Jun 29, 2015
It was our first time out with our new camper. The park ranger who helped us to our spot was really helfpul! The whole grounds were clean and fresh and the pool was amazing! We will definitely return!!
Jun 28, 2015
We didn't even unhook as we were headed to So. Dakota so we didn't use any amenities just spent the night.
Jun 28, 2015
Jun 28, 2015
Most KOAs are not what they used to be it seems, but this was a very nice one. It's 1 1/2 miles from the interstate, so very little road noise. Of course we were near the back. Wonderful things for children to do and our grandsons enjoyed them. Helpful well informed staff. I gave this park a 4 star because of the lack of lawn care; however there was record rain this year. Grandma Sharon
Jun 28, 2015
Love what they did in the bathrooms.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.