Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 06, 2014
Love the campground and all of the activities! The cement around the pool needs a lot of work. Very rough in areas even in the pool. Would be nice to have a game room as well. Prices are good in the shop and the bounce pillow is awesome!!!
Jul 06, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
Very accommodating in the front office but we were told our campsite was level and it was not.
Jul 04, 2014
Bathrooms and showers were clean. The personnel were very helpful and friendly. All in all, a very pleasant stay.
Jul 04, 2014
Jul 04, 2014
Very nice with good amenities. Staff, well trained.On our list of KOA s 1 to 10 An 8
Jul 04, 2014
very poor internet bandwidth & difficult to retrieve e-mail; otherwise would have given higher ratings.
Jul 04, 2014
Jul 04, 2014
On your maps you give TV stations but I wish you would also give RADIO STATIONS in the area.
Jul 04, 2014
Very accommodating and nice people. Easy access to site. Nice wine tasting from nearby winery. Lots of activities for kids.
Jul 04, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
We had a really nice stay. Our campsite was large with a good sized gravel pad and nice grassy area. The activities over the weekend were fun. We got to enjoy the wines from the area. We had some fun playing basketball and ladderball. One of our days at the campground was rainy, but we were close enough to Des Moines to find plenty of other activities to do.
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Nice large sites! Wifi was functional although would intermittently disconnect.
Jul 01, 2014
Arrived late but everything was easy to find and facilities were nice and clean.
Jun 30, 2014
We only stayed one night here, but were impressed with the large, well maintained sites, clean bathrooms/laundry, a nice size pool and very friendly staff. We would definitely stay here again! Thanks for a pleasant camping experience.
Jun 30, 2014
Our family came in for our son's state baseball tournament and although the weather wasn't as cooperative as we hoped, the KOA campground was. Despite the downpour of rain,we managed a fun, relaxing & kid friendly entertaining accommodations. Greatly appreciate the simple setup of grounds, extremely clean bathroom/shower room, very friendly staff&many activities!Will b bak!!
Jun 30, 2014
Can't give it 5 stars this time. However our difficulty had NOTHING to do with the grounds or staff. They were as wonderful as they always are.
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Good, clean, right off interstate. Would stay again
Jun 30, 2014
Great stay! Staff super friendly. Will definetly stay there again!
Jun 29, 2014
We stay at this KOA often for an overnighter when travelling south As usual everything was top notch
Jun 29, 2014
Great. Friendly. Clean. Children enjoyed pillow and pool
Jun 29, 2014
We had a great time. Thank You
Jun 28, 2014
Nice CG. Clean and friendly. Great overnight stop.
Jun 28, 2014
Dust bowl, no trees. Most expensive we have stayed at. The only reason we gave it 2 stars is due to the water and electricity. Experience steers us toward Good Sam and away from KOA, compare this to Sauder Village and American Creek
Jun 28, 2014
Came in late and had to leave early, but dog facility was great and staff was helpful and friendly. Motion sensor light in the laundry room needs to be adjusted.
Jun 28, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
we just happened to find this KOA while traveling thru Iowa. We were truly welcomed at the front desk and we could order pizza delivered to our campsite. After a long day of traveling this was great. Would definitely stay here again.
Jun 27, 2014
Good place to stay.
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 26, 2014
Had a great time! The pool definitely needs some work but other than that, this was one of the best KOAs we have stayed at. Super friendly and helpful staff!!!!
Jun 26, 2014
Friendly staff, clean and neat facilities, spacious sites.
Jun 26, 2014
Friendly staff - felt the restrooms could have been cleaner and better maintained. Definitely not deserving of a 10* (Woodall) rating; in no way compares to the Dayton Tall Timbers Resort CG in Brookville, OH which is also rated !0*.
Jun 26, 2014
Jun 25, 2014
The new dog area is even better than the old one!
Jun 25, 2014
This was our first time staying here . The employes there were super helpful and very nice. The campsite was well maintained, quiet at night, and nice amienties. We have a big rig and it was easy to get into and out of the site. There was enough room between neighbors. We are looking forward to visiting again!
Jun 25, 2014
Very clean KOA. East access from I80. Sites are easy pull through for any type of RV. I was traveling from South Dakota and needed an overnight to camp. This was the perfect stop.
Jun 24, 2014
We were welcomed by friendly and helpful staff. The sites are quite level and easy to access. We really liked the divided dog park. Thanks for the pleasant overnight stay.
Jun 24, 2014
Served our purpose fairly well. Wi-Fi very poor response time, not very dependable. No TV cable! Lot of good activities for kid, nice location.
Jun 24, 2014
Great campgrounds, clean, well maintained. Friendly managers.
Jun 23, 2014
We love how clean it is. The kids love all the activities!
Jun 23, 2014
Nice campground in a quite location. Excellent staff and facilities. Very close to Madison County Bridges and John Wayne museum.
Jun 23, 2014
Good variety of activities and kids love the bouncy pillow. Well monitored, clean campground. Excellent dog area.
Jun 23, 2014
Pleasant helpful stay! Plenty of activities for kids and adults. The campground and facilities were clean and in great shape. We will be back.
Jun 23, 2014
Office help was friendly. Guide to site was good. Site was excellent. Restrooms were clean and convenient.
Jun 23, 2014
Side by side s are way too tight. Our slides literally hung over the tent - camper next to us. Not good!
Jun 23, 2014
We loved the dog park and swimming pool!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.