Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 19, 2013
KOA West Des Moines is very clean and kid friendly - they loved the swimming pool and fishing pond.
Aug 19, 2013
We wish it were closer to Des Moines.
Aug 19, 2013
Very clean and quiet campground!
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
The staff are very nice. The campground was well kept and clean. We enjoyed the pool and dog park. The only disappoint is no cable. On-site laundry was good to have also.
Aug 18, 2013
Enjoyed our stay. Thank you for your service. WOW, it was great
Aug 18, 2013
When we checked in there was another camper on our reserved spot. We paid extra for a larger end campsite. The manager said that they had been trying to get them to move and they would not. We were then taken to a small spot. The water valve was defective, and long story short- resulted in our camper completely flooding. We are devastated and will not be back.
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Friendly, clean, quiet and a beautiful pond. Very relaxing dog walk area which is important to us as we always travel with our 2 large dogs. I do believe they enjoyed this KOA the most. Thank you for a wonderful start to our trip to Grand Teton N.P.
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
beautiful camp, nice people, loved the dog park, good easy sites to enter and leave from. ALL IN ALL --- FABULOUS
Aug 15, 2013
Kamping Kabins need to be kept on the cool side as the humidity is a killer.
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
Very clean, great restrooms & showers. Staff very friendly.
Aug 15, 2013
Really appreciated the large clean fenced dog area. Bella needed a place to run after being in rv for a week and on leash.
Aug 15, 2013
Absolutely loved the dog park as my dog is a runner and it gave him a chance to run free.
Aug 15, 2013
Very friendly and comfortable. Would certainly stay again and will recommend to family and friends in Australia.
Aug 14, 2013
The person at the front desk was extremely helpful & friendly, I don't remember her name, but stayed at another since then.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
The people were extremely friendly and the campsites were in great condition. The campground was packed and everyone seemed to be having a great time.
Aug 13, 2013
We were there with other family members and we had a blast! Nice amenities, always something to do for young and old alike!
Aug 13, 2013
Wonderful time at the KOA, and will definately stay there next year! Unfortunatly, a neighbor stole some of our firewood but Phil from the KOA brought us some more which was awesome!
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
This CG was a dust bowl, by the time we got to our site, going as slow as we could, the back of our coach was covered with dust from the road, the wifi did not work even when they said it was fixed
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Love this campground! One of our favorites to stop on our way out west! Very clean and friendly!
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Love this campsite! It is very children friendly!!!!
Aug 12, 2013
Had a great stay! Staff were great. Buildings and grounds were clean and well maintained. We would stay again!
Aug 12, 2013
Very clean KOA. Nice big sites. No complaints. Wish they had a jumping pillow for kids.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Sites were to close together. Not enough space.Price was to high for what you had to offer. Fire pits didn't have a grill to cook on. No shade trees. People were very friendly, everything was clean and well organized.
Aug 12, 2013
We were just there overnight. Our grandkids enjoyed the pool and we used the laundry. Clean and inviting appearance.
Aug 11, 2013
Was only there for the night but had a great time. Looking to stay longer next visit.
Aug 11, 2013
Campsites a little to close to each other when you are parked side by side as they do in some sites. Very confusing at times trying to figure out whos sewer system is whos. Same thing with picnic tables

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Next time you're here we'd recommend staying in our larger single sites with both 30/50amp service. This way you'll have more room.
Aug 10, 2013
We love this place! Well maintained, close to golf, shopping, bike trails, friendly staff... Highly recommended!
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
Great swim in pool, helpful at office when checking in.
Aug 10, 2013
Campers that were in our site before us left a bunch of garbage by where a fire ring was. When we asked for a picnic table it was delivered promptly. We never did get the fire ring we asked for. Over all the stay was very nice. The WIFI could be improved.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
Nice clean place and good people running it. Could use cable though as we don't have dish for our trailer.
Aug 09, 2013
The people in the office were tremendously friendly and helpful. The park was terribly dusty and the bathrooms and showers need updating.
Aug 09, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.