Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

RV Reviews

Jul 03, 2013
Jul 03, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
Bathrooms not up to KOA standards. Broken tiles & what looked like black mold did not contribute to a pleasant experience. Outside campground was fine - hardly any dust due to gravel that covers the parking areas. Just disappointing bathrooms! Should be better at a KOA. Didn't expect such disrepair.
Jul 02, 2013
this is a very nice and friendly campground
Jul 02, 2013
Staff and owners were great. Smiling faces all around. I will be staying there again during my next trip.
Jul 02, 2013
Always a great time at Des Moines West KOA.
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
It is so good to have people that are sincere in there kindness and not a put on smile and fakeness. Keep up the good work
Jul 01, 2013
Perfect overnight place to stay while on the road, just far enough off the road to be quiet yet close enough for on-off convenience.
Jul 01, 2013
A wonderful, quiet place to stay. This was our second stay. The work campers were super!
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
the people who own and run this place are awsome. They also have a great pool and wine tastings, etc. Hope we get beck that way and will stay there for sure. Even have pizza delivery
Jul 01, 2013
Very clean, nice activities. Great dog run and playground.
Jul 01, 2013
this is a great campground! My only complaint is the women's showers. There are 3 stalls and only one of them works well. The middle one has a dribble for pressure and it turned cold on me halfway through. It did get hot again after I left it off for a period.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the feedback on the showers...we will immediately remove and clean the sink faucet screens and shower head screens. I'm really sorry about the hot water not coming back, but that's due to the screens being clogged too. Too little flow and the on-demand units don't work. Thanks!
Jun 30, 2013
They tried real hard to make our stay fun, wine tasting, good wifi, good pool.
Jun 30, 2013
excellent thank you!
Jun 30, 2013
Want to thank the owner who personally drove me into town to retrieve our truck which had to be towed for repairs
Jun 30, 2013
Staff very friendly and helpful. We found the washrooms a long way from our site.
Jun 29, 2013
Staff was very helpful and informative. Great location. BIG sites, easy in and out.
Jun 28, 2013
Jun 28, 2013
Jun 28, 2013
Very friendly staff. They even offer pizza and hot wings delivered to your door. Great stop along the highway with easy access.
Jun 27, 2013
Jun 27, 2013
Jun 27, 2013
Loved your campground. So quiet. Would deffinitly recommend it
Jun 27, 2013
Jun 27, 2013
It was a overnight stay, which was good as always.
Jun 27, 2013
Lousy internet access. Never could get access to it. Trash was piled high and smelled really bad. Fairly expensive for very few amenities. Bright spot was the young man that delivered a very tasty pizza and showed us to our site.
Jun 27, 2013
Second stay within 1 1/2 weeks. Just as happy with the second stay as the first. Clean, convenient and friendly.
Jun 26, 2013
The spaces are too close, there was noisy people way after 10 p.m. the sewerline to our rv was plugged and people just walked through our space. Mainly the space was way too close, with less than 3 feet between our slideout and our neighbors.
Jun 26, 2013
Awesome campground! Quiet and even grass with space between sites. We definitely will stay here again when traveling through. Friendly hosts.
Jun 25, 2013
Only stayed one night on the way out west. Had a really bad site that all the locals keep walking through which we thought was very rude. Sewer drain location was in middle of lot and could not connect. We had to pull out blocking the road at 6:00 am to dump before we left.
Jun 25, 2013
Jun 25, 2013
Jun 25, 2013
have stayed three times en route to points west. Great stopover campground with all things needed in place.
Jun 25, 2013
Jun 25, 2013
nice camp spaces and pool. quiet and friendly. good bathrooms.
Jun 25, 2013
very nice
Jun 25, 2013
Quiet and scenic. Helpful staff.
Jun 25, 2013
great time chatting with other campers about their travels and their rigs
Jun 25, 2013
all good. Whenever I notice that there have been adaptations for older, heavier or handicapped campers, I am impressed.Good to see such adaptations beginning to be implemented at all KOAs.
Jun 25, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
The KOA was very full the night we stayed and it felt like we were on top of one another like a parking lot. Also, the bathrooms were filthy with paper and garbage on the floor & the floors were very wet. They need to be cleaned more frequently when it is as full as it was. It was quiet at night which was a plus. Not sure if we would stay again.
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
clean and lots to do

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.