Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 13, 2017
Friendly staff, clean
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Very impressed from the Get-Go. Staff warm and friendly, we were escorted to our site and were blown away with a large gas grill and a charcoal grill on site with patio furniture!! We don't see that very often in a Campground. Lots of activities for kids. Very well run.
Aug 13, 2017
we took two of our grand kids great time
Aug 13, 2017
Friendly staff
Aug 12, 2017
Great park Friendly employees ð
Aug 12, 2017
We really liked the layout & the big spaces. This koa offered a lot of family friendly activities however everything cost extra. We paid the same rate as Newton koa and their jump pad & activities were all part of the price. It was very difficult for our kids to see all of these fun activities but not able to enjoy them. Wish we would have been informed prior to our stay.
Aug 12, 2017
Absolutely amazing showers! Beautifully decorated and extremely clean. Thank you!
Aug 12, 2017
We spent our 2nd time there this summer. We were impressed with the employees. They are very friendly and accommodating . We will definetely be back.
Aug 12, 2017
Nice clean very kid friendly
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
Loved this place , everyone was friendly, the food delivered when I called the office. Definitely will stay their again.
Aug 11, 2017
It's been 10 years since our last stay there. It was nice then but it has been much improved. We were very impressed. Will no doubt stop again.
Aug 10, 2017
Good place to staff. Nice campground and good staff.
Aug 10, 2017
Nice campground. Everything worked well. Liked having someone taking you to the site.
Aug 10, 2017
Woke up by neighbors because sites are too close together. Only stayed one night. Gravel sites. No railroad or highway noise,as we have experienced I'm some KOAs.
Aug 10, 2017
Last visit before current visit was about 10 years ago. The improvements made to the facility during that time were "unbelievably" surprising and pleasant. All future trips west from our home in Northern Virginia to Utah/Colorado will now be planned around a stop at Des Moines West KOA. Congratulations on a very fine facility.
Aug 10, 2017
Pool could be bigger and a hot tub would be nice. Especially in the mid-west where it can be cold and a hot tub is a soothing soak. Facilities, especially the rest rooms were exceptionally clean.
Aug 09, 2017
Very dusty and the campsite behind us looked like red necks lived there and the guy had wood piled up and he keep throwing logs on it just to watch it smoke. I'm allergic to smoke and when we left I smelled like smoke.
Aug 09, 2017
Very well set-up. Excellent entrance u& exitl
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Enjoyed it very much. Lot of things to do, if you so desire. Clean and spacious sites. Staff very friendly. One of the top KOA's that we have stayed at.
Aug 09, 2017
Excellent location and very nice staff. Kids loved all the activities and the spots were clean and spacious.
Aug 09, 2017
Wonderful stay!! Only thing to change Tis gap under gates of dog park too big for my little dog who escaped other than that thank y'all so much we enjoyed.
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
We love this campground. Every time we are heading home to Wisconsin from "out West", we stop at this KOA! The pool is great, love the pizza, and all the sites are clean/comfortable. The people here are nice and our kids have so much fun. We actually look forward to going home so that we can stay here!!!!
Aug 09, 2017
We only stay with you once a year on our way back from Colorado. We did notice such nice improvements this year!! There is so much for families to do, improved campsites, and very friendly employees. The young man who gave me a ride to our campsite was sooooo nice! h, and thanks for picking up garbage. Very dog friendly too. Kathy
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Excellent location and friendly helpful staff. Clean restrooms
Aug 08, 2017
Liked the campground, was not treated well at check in. One man started the check in then dropped it to go do something else. He told a girl working there to finish my check in without telling her where we were in the process. Made a mess of the whole process. The girl did good despite his dumping it on her.
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
Great place for the kids!
Aug 07, 2017
We absolutely loved it, the staff, environment, cleanliness, and most of all the activities for the kiddos. Thank you so much we will be back!!
Aug 07, 2017
Great family time. Pool is amazing as is the bouncing pillow. Kids' activities are really nice. Love the new swing set/climbing playset.
Aug 07, 2017
The best KOA we have stayed at. So many activities for the kids. So many things to do in a very clean kept up campground. Many improvements since last year when we were there. Highly recommend especially to campers with kids
Aug 07, 2017
Nice place that is expanding to accommodate more guests. Tons of activities for the kids. Chris and Jamie and the staff are awesome!!
Aug 07, 2017
Clean, the sites are decent size. Adequately staffed. Lots os activities for kids Internet unsatisfactory, seemed overloaded Most peddle bicycles were broken Overall we will do it again next year
Aug 07, 2017
We love staying here!!
Aug 07, 2017
love the size of the campsites!! Everything is kept so clean~there is so much for kids to do~only complaint is it gets a little dusty from the gravel
Aug 07, 2017
Fricking Awesome
Aug 07, 2017
My only complaint is that there aren't many showers compared to the number of sites.
Aug 06, 2017
Had an Awesome time. Loved dunking my grandkids in the dunk tank. Great place for FUN Family bonding.
Aug 06, 2017
Outstanding service!!! Fabulous amenities!!! Absolutely great place for the Grandchildren!!! Will definitely stay again!!!
Aug 05, 2017
Nice KOA, showers are awesome and the people are great! Only cons is small pool for the size of the campground and the gravel is very dusty as you drive on the roads. Would have been nice if they used a washed gravel for their roads.
Aug 05, 2017
Awesome KOA, picturesque, clean, one of the BEST we have stayed in.
Aug 05, 2017
ok
Aug 05, 2017
A great place to stay, first class setting and great staff.I'll be back
Aug 05, 2017
This camp ground is always good. They are expanding so that will help the downside which is trying to get in. The staff is great.
Aug 04, 2017
I have camped at KOA across many states. This is the first one I didn't feel welcome. The site I was given was pretty tight for my 32ft TT. The electrical was a mess. Pretty sure there is a lot code issues here. Sewer Hookup was not position so the connection would stay secure. Nice they are expanding to a year round sites should probably correct the existing sites first.Ran out of room more 2 say
Aug 04, 2017
Well the staff was very nice an helpful. But we didn't care for the gravel roads at all. Tracking in dust an it being in the air all day long. Had to just watch regular TV because cable didn't work. Then there was a riding toy to close to the site we first was assigned an it put a dent in our R V. Didn't notice it until we got home.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award