Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

May 02, 2016
Our cabin was very clean and comfy! Our 10 year old child enjoyed sleeping in the bunk bed. The Bathroom in our cabin was very clean as well.
Apr 28, 2016
very clean facility, employees very friendly, the best koa i've visited.
Apr 27, 2016
We had a very nice time. The cabin we rented was very clean and comfortable.
Apr 04, 2016
When showed up main office a mess they waited till last min to set there camp ground up. So there for we had to listen to them work all weekend instead of enjoying the outdoors. Bathrooms said clean daily but wasn't the men's room was filthy
Apr 04, 2016
Stayed in the delux cabin, very nice an clean!
Apr 02, 2016
We were there right when the campground was closing for thseason for a large family event. The facility worked fine for that but most of the amenities were no longer open.
Nov 02, 2015
Very clean, friendly staff, cabins were nice
Oct 30, 2015
Wonderful! ! Have never been to a koa with as nice of bathrooms and shower s. Definitely would stay again! !
Oct 26, 2015
We stayed here on our trip going out West and on our trip home. We'll be sure to stay here again. Cabin was great, clean, roomy, comfortable. Staff is very friendly
Oct 16, 2015
Campground is in a beautiful location. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.
Oct 15, 2015
clean, friendly and comfy!
Oct 12, 2015
Amazing campground and amazing staff! The services on site, such as pizza, firewood, and ice, helped make our trip a lot easier, and the bathrooms were really nice and immaculate. Definitely an amazing KOA!
Oct 10, 2015
Will plan to stay here again in the future! People are friendly, facility is very clean. Nice setting and clean campground area! Keep up the great work!!!!
Oct 06, 2015
This was probably the best KOA campground my wife and I have ever stayed at. We're only a few hours away and are planning on making a regular stop a few times a year. The owners were extremely friendly and flexible. The campground is beautiful and well kept up. Cannot wait to stay again! Thank you guys!
Oct 05, 2015
Our family has never stayed at a koa before and we didn't know how amazing it is! The Des Moines west koa was so clean and beautiful. The cabins were amazing and the Halloween activities were not only fun but very creative!! We cannot wait to come back!!
Oct 03, 2015
enjoyed wine tasting
Sep 28, 2015
We had such a nice time! Lovely Halloween weekend!
Sep 26, 2015
the people that run this KOA obviously really enjoy their job and it shows. they put a lot of extra effort into the facilities.
Sep 21, 2015
Fabulous!
Sep 21, 2015
We had a very enjoyable camping weekend! We stayed at one of the new lodges. The lodge was cute and comfy on the inside.however we spent most of our weekend on the deck! The deck as well as the porch swing was amazingly cozy! Definitely planning on staying at Des Moines West KOA again soon!
Sep 18, 2015
First stay at a KOA. Never expected all the activities and gracious host of the campgroundpersonal. Jamie is so helpful and made are group of 40 stay so complete! I will stay here for years to come. Thank you Dan mills
Sep 14, 2015
Excellent KOA - super clean, welcoming hosts, accommodating to our large group. Already checking dates to come back next year! THANK YOU!!!!!
Sep 14, 2015
THANK YOU FOR A VERY NICE WEEKEND, YOUR CAMPGROUND IN BEAUTIFUL. WE WILL BE BACK. THE CABINS ARE GREAT.
Sep 14, 2015
Our cabin was clean clean clean. The group of people we were visiting reported great service all around. We will probably return early next year just to do some sight-seeing.
Sep 11, 2015
Very clean and the facilities were very well-kept The restrooms and showers were the best
Sep 09, 2015
Even though we only stayed one night we liked the campground very much.We even checked out the Rv spaces for next year. Very friendly people!!
Sep 08, 2015
Very friendly, clean environment. Parking could be made more clear for the Kamping Kabins.
Sep 08, 2015
The cabin we had was great. Fit four adults and five children just fine. The extra events scheduled for the holiday weekend were very fun. the kids especially enjoyed the bounce pad.
Sep 06, 2015
The cabin was very clean could use an umbrella on the deck though. The staff were all very nice and helpful, and pizza was amazing and delivered. Will definitely be back.
Sep 03, 2015
arrived late but key was left out for us. Cabin was great, very clean. Only stayed over night left very early.Really didn't see everything but seemed nice what we did see.
Aug 31, 2015
We had a wonderful stay!
Aug 31, 2015
We had a great time and have already suggested it to several families. It is a hidden gem!
Aug 25, 2015
Great campground! My son had a great time with water ballon machine:) my camping cabin was brand new and really nice! I would suggest maybe putting plastic sheet on queen bed mattress, in case of accidents or bed bugs.
Aug 25, 2015
Aug 25, 2015
Great campground. Tons for the kids to do. We stayed in a deluxe cabin which was GREAT! Thanks KOA!!
Aug 22, 2015
It was busy in Iowa with the state fair, so I understand that there was very little room. We were only able to book a pet-free cabin for our stay. Our only choice was to leave our cats in the car over night. However, isn't camping full of allergens? I explained that we had pet fur on our blankets, but the man at check out said that is okay. I am not sure if they did put us in a per-friendly cabin.
Aug 21, 2015
:)
Aug 20, 2015
Great staff!!
Aug 19, 2015
Cabin was nice and clean. This is one of the busiest KOA's we've stayed at with people coming and going all hours of the day and night. :) I think because it's a great stop off place to get some yummy hot pizza, swim in the pool, and relax for a couple of hours before traveling on! Great KOA for being such a busy one!!! :)
Aug 17, 2015
We had hard time finding it but that was our mistake. Took the wrong exit. Once there, we felt like honored guests. Facilities clean, well kept. TV was missing a means of power and one of the team brought an ext cord, remote. I did not expect a TV so was surprised. Great place, great people
Aug 17, 2015
Love it! We'll be back!
Aug 17, 2015
The hosts were so gracious and helpful. It was very quiet at night and the cabin was excellent. Very clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay there again next year. Thank you . . . .
Aug 16, 2015
nicely quiet, clean and activities for all ages. also pet friendly! was great to relax and meet other campers
Aug 16, 2015
I love KOA and Chris and Jamie. We will for sure be back. Best campground in central Iowa, hands down!
Aug 15, 2015
Aug 14, 2015
Nice and clean... Organized, polite & cheerful staff... Kamper Kabin was a nice & quiet option to a stale smelling motel.
Aug 13, 2015
What a wonderful experience. Excellent customer experience, awesome accommodations. Will be checking our calendars to see when we can come back... Top notch fun!
Aug 13, 2015
The campground itself was very nice. Cabins were clean. Restrooms cleaned and maintained. The only reason for the lower rating is because they took the dog park out. They advertised the dog park on the website. We were looking forward to letting our dogs run loose after a long ride in the car. Very disappointed they removed the dog park. Other than that we would definitely stay here again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I think you have our park confused with another park. We actually have 2 big dog parks. :)
Aug 12, 2015
Great cabins and service! Bathrooms were clean and really nice. The location is nice if you don't want to drive too far from Des Moines and it's close to Adel, also. Hosts were inviting and kind. Overall, we would stay there again.
Aug 12, 2015
Absolutely the BEST!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award