Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 20, 2016
Aug 18, 2016
Aug 16, 2016
The staff was friendly, they had lots of fun events around the campground. I was especially impressed with the cabin and how clean it was.
Aug 16, 2016
Friendly and helpful staff, nice clean cabin, fun activities for the kids
Aug 15, 2016
This was our 2nd stay and we love it.There will definitely be many more stays to come.
Aug 15, 2016
It was awesome!
Aug 15, 2016
Nothing negative! Great pool which is where I spent most of my time!
Aug 13, 2016
This was a perfect solution to a night before the fair. The only issues were the fan did not work in the bedroom and when the fuse was tripped, it proved too difficult to find the box to remedy the situation. We arrived late and left early so we did not have time to inquire.
Aug 13, 2016
Aug 11, 2016
Fun things for the kids to do everything is clean and well cared for the staff are excellent we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves
Aug 11, 2016
Aug 11, 2016
Best bathrooms of any KOA we've ever stayed at. Yours was the 5th KOA we've stayed at this summer. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We'll be back!
Aug 10, 2016
Over all, a great experience! We loved all the things to do! Very clean! Very helpful, friendly and accommodating staff! We had a great stay! Well done! Keep up the great work!
Aug 10, 2016
Excellent staff and accommodations. Thank you for your hospitality.
Aug 09, 2016
Perfect experience. I wish we could have stayed longer.
Aug 08, 2016
The cabin was clean, the activities were fun and the staff was friendly. Perfect!
Aug 08, 2016
Loved the cabins, so clean and comfy! Lots for the kids to do, staff was friendly and helpful. Loved the nature trail and options for staying here! Beware: the fishing pond has blue-green algae, didn't realize the danger there and we got sick. They should close it during blooms. We will know for next time. Wastewater pond stunk when the wind was just right-gross at dinner time.
Aug 06, 2016
Only complaint is all the flies!! But, don' t know if anything can be done for that since it is in the country.:(
Aug 04, 2016
This was our first stay a KOA with grandsons, 8,10&12. A perfect choices with the bounce pad and pool available.
Aug 04, 2016
We stayed in a deluxe cabin. Everything about the campground is clean. Every worker is accommodating, helpful and friendly!
Aug 04, 2016
It was very good. cabin was perfect and modern. clean. a few bugs. our freezer melted and soaked all our food in fridge. sad i had to pay $10 for the "amenities" that is not made clear on website. please have cereal in market. dont make me wash my dishes for $90 a nite. love the half bath. bed comfy. pool clean. staff friendly. sad no organized stuff weekdays. charge less weekdays? we get less.
Aug 03, 2016
Nice campground, friendly staff, clean pool. Stayed in Deluxe Cabin which was very nice. Cons: (1) No handicap bathrooms/showers in the campground. No grab bars, no wheelchair accessible showers. (2) Family members stayed in rental trailer - very bad experience. Electricity didnt work - notified owners who promised to send repair person. Left 3 days later still not repaired. DONT rent the trailer

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The travel trailer rental unit you rented has been replaced with a brand new Jayco Jay Flight 28BHBE, because the repairs necessary to fix the one you stayed in was more than it was worth, unfortunately.
Aug 01, 2016
This was our first time at KOA and camping in general. The deluxe cabin was amazing. Our kiddos had a blast!! Great activities for kids and adults. Thank you!!!
Aug 01, 2016
Aug 01, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
We were pleasantly surprised when we pulled up and saw all the fun activities for children in front on the campgrounds. The kids were thrilled and can't wait to come back. Very clean bathrooms and grounds. The store was well stocked and enjoyed the pizza and ice cream. The friendliness of the staff was amazing. You felt like you were part of theor KOA family. Great experience overall!
Jul 31, 2016
What a beautiful campground. Wish we had gotten in earlier to play on the jumping pad. lots of amenities. we had a bath in cabin so cant comment on the bath facilities. very friendly people.
Jul 29, 2016
excellent service with a smile ready to adjust to meet our needs. very clean and pleasant thx van dyke reun ion
Jul 29, 2016
It was perfect!
Jul 29, 2016
10x more than I anticipated. Our cabin was spacious, smelled like a brand new log cabin, and the amenities and fun things on the grounds were out of this world. Awesome place to stay. Will be back for sure.
Jul 27, 2016
Very Clean, very friendly staff. Would definitely stay there again. Glad you provided air-conditioned cabins for our stay in July!
Jul 26, 2016
Excellent customer service. Great food, atmosphere, clean bathrooms and showers. Great pool. Will definitely be back!
Jul 25, 2016
Kids had a blast! So much for them to do. The deluxe cabins were perfect for preparing big meals for a family, and were very clean. We will definitely be back!
Jul 24, 2016
Very clean and well kept grounds. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I will highly recommend this site to friends and family.
Jul 22, 2016
The staff was very welcoming, helpful and friendly. The grounds are maintained beautifully and very clean. We enjoyed our stay and will return.
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Great staff and fun activities
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Thanks for a great stay, Jamie and Chris! We visited in a cabin while my dad was camping, and our kids had a great time!
Jul 12, 2016
Lived the cabins!!!
Jul 11, 2016
I have couple of suggestions 1. Life guard or atleast floats should be handy for such a deep & steep pool. 2. I stayed in cabin K11. In the shower its really difficult to manage hot water using that knob. Other than that your place is excellent and staff are very friendly! I definitely suggest this place :-)
Jul 11, 2016
We stayed for the week while in town for a wedding. We stayed in cabin kl3 which we thought was the best cabin on site. The cabin itself was beautiful and the patio area was the same. We lived having some shade in the afternoon. We would recommend a sign that designates the parking space for the cabin because several times when we returned to the cabin we had to fin a different spot.
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
Enjoyed a lot and my kid had very good time.Thaks to KOA Facilities.
Jul 10, 2016
Very helpful and friendly staff. Very clean facilities. We loved the paddle boats and the kitchen in the shelter.
Jul 08, 2016
Kamping kabins are well kept and the ammenities are outstanding for over night or long term stays
Jul 06, 2016
Great experience! Beautiful location, super clean, lots to do! Staff was so friendly and kind! My children didn't want to come home!
Jul 05, 2016
Jun 30, 2016
Clean cabin, friendly staff, fun activities for kids, and dog friendly. Great experience!
Jun 29, 2016
Clean Updated Restroom Facilities. Nice to have Pizza option right there after traveling a long way and not many other options near the KOA. Jumping pillow was nice. Cabins have lots of privacy.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award