Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Cabin Reviews

Aug 25, 2015
Great campground! My son had a great time with water ballon machine:) my camping cabin was brand new and really nice! I would suggest maybe putting plastic sheet on queen bed mattress, in case of accidents or bed bugs.
Aug 25, 2015
Aug 25, 2015
Great campground. Tons for the kids to do. We stayed in a deluxe cabin which was GREAT! Thanks KOA!!
Aug 22, 2015
It was busy in Iowa with the state fair, so I understand that there was very little room. We were only able to book a pet-free cabin for our stay. Our only choice was to leave our cats in the car over night. However, isn't camping full of allergens? I explained that we had pet fur on our blankets, but the man at check out said that is okay. I am not sure if they did put us in a per-friendly cabin.
Aug 21, 2015
:)
Aug 20, 2015
Great staff!!
Aug 19, 2015
Cabin was nice and clean. This is one of the busiest KOA's we've stayed at with people coming and going all hours of the day and night. :) I think because it's a great stop off place to get some yummy hot pizza, swim in the pool, and relax for a couple of hours before traveling on! Great KOA for being such a busy one!!! :)
Aug 17, 2015
We had hard time finding it but that was our mistake. Took the wrong exit. Once there, we felt like honored guests. Facilities clean, well kept. TV was missing a means of power and one of the team brought an ext cord, remote. I did not expect a TV so was surprised. Great place, great people
Aug 17, 2015
Love it! We'll be back!
Aug 17, 2015
The hosts were so gracious and helpful. It was very quiet at night and the cabin was excellent. Very clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay there again next year. Thank you . . . .
Aug 16, 2015
nicely quiet, clean and activities for all ages. also pet friendly! was great to relax and meet other campers
Aug 16, 2015
I love KOA and Chris and Jamie. We will for sure be back. Best campground in central Iowa, hands down!
Aug 15, 2015
Aug 14, 2015
Nice and clean... Organized, polite & cheerful staff... Kamper Kabin was a nice & quiet option to a stale smelling motel.
Aug 13, 2015
What a wonderful experience. Excellent customer experience, awesome accommodations. Will be checking our calendars to see when we can come back... Top notch fun!
Aug 13, 2015
The campground itself was very nice. Cabins were clean. Restrooms cleaned and maintained. The only reason for the lower rating is because they took the dog park out. They advertised the dog park on the website. We were looking forward to letting our dogs run loose after a long ride in the car. Very disappointed they removed the dog park. Other than that we would definitely stay here again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I think you have our park confused with another park. We actually have 2 big dog parks. :)
Aug 12, 2015
Great cabins and service! Bathrooms were clean and really nice. The location is nice if you don't want to drive too far from Des Moines and it's close to Adel, also. Hosts were inviting and kind. Overall, we would stay there again.
Aug 12, 2015
Absolutely the BEST!
Aug 11, 2015
Very quite and clean. Very relaxing stay
Aug 11, 2015
Really enjoyed the time there. We stayed in a cabin which was very nice and reasonably priced. I'd like to see what the next size bigger is the next time I go to a KOA. Our grandson really enjoyed the jumping pillow. We all had a good time relaxing in the pool.
Aug 11, 2015
Very nice cabin, great modern bathroom facilities, pretty setting, friendly staff. Downside: we came in late at night and it was hard to find. This KOA is far removed from a town (more than expected) and could definitely use more of the standard KOA signage to guide drivers through the rural area. Also, some jerks stole our parking spot, but not the staff's fault.
Aug 10, 2015
Had a quiet stay while we did highway141 garagesales. A nice bed and roof over our head in between. Also soaked in the pool after a long day of garagesaling. Love the updates!!
Aug 10, 2015
We spent one night at this KOA as a stop over point on a long trip west. Excellent campground!Very well maintained, bathroom/showers were clean and staff was super friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.
Aug 08, 2015
super
Aug 07, 2015
Aug 05, 2015
clean quiet and comfortable no complaints
Aug 03, 2015
Enjoyed our two night stay immensely! Only complaint is the shower ran either freezing cold or boiling hot! Nothing in between.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 01, 2015
I came in late so it was nice to find the lights on and the air on. Thank you.
Jul 31, 2015
We stayed in the new lakeside cabin. We felt welcome and comfortable, and thankful for the additional touches of home! Dish towels, soaps, and laundry soap were appreciated! We had a lovely pizza, which made our stay even easier. We were thankfull for friendly and helpful staff!
Jul 30, 2015
We stayed in one of the cabins and will be re-booking soon!
Jul 28, 2015
We stayed in one of the new Camping Cabins and it was beautiful! Great facility and the convenience of pizza ordering and delivery ON SITE! Kids had a blast panning for gold!
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
I just stayed one night on my way out to Sturgis but it was very pleasant and I will stay there again at every opportunity I have.
Jul 26, 2015
Campgrounds very clean. Family fun and great kid activities. I highly recommend this campground.
Jul 25, 2015
Wifi didn't work so well:(
Jul 23, 2015
Only stayed one night but staff was very helpful. The camp was clean and well maintained. We had a beautiful cabin with half bath. We had our own deck, grill, sling swing and outside table and chairs!
Jul 20, 2015
There were so many fun activities for our kids to do. Very family friendly! Plus, it was very clean and well kept. We would recommend it to others! And we would be likely to return.
Jul 18, 2015
10/10, Excellent place to camp.
Jul 18, 2015
Good wyfy, beautiful clean bathrooms. Cable tv and the mattress in the cabin was comfortable. The deck was very nice and the folks there were very nice
Jul 16, 2015
We had a good time again this visit and we will be back!
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Great. Third year we stayed there. Had 2 new deluxe cabins. On sat 11 grandchildren joined us. What fun in the sun 😀. We will return next year.
Jul 13, 2015
This campground is amazing! We have been here in the past but not since the bathroom remodel and other additions. Everything is always clean, staff is always friendly. We will definitely be back and recommend this to others!
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
One of the nicest KOA's I have been in. Bathrooms were super clean, kabins were nicely landscaped with bushes, and they served up a delicious breakfast pizza.
Jul 11, 2015
Very nice KOA and well maintained
Jul 10, 2015
Fabulous!
Jul 10, 2015
Great stay!
Jul 09, 2015
Cabin and grounds were clean.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.