Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Had a great time. Weather hot. Enjoyed the pool!
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Very nice park, friendly staff and best of all good pizza
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff. Made extra effort to make our stay great.
Jul 21, 2013
PROS: had a great campsite, easy check in, employees willing to help, store had everything one needed CONS: Bathrooms needed paper towels along with the air blowers. The paper towels would give guests the opportunity to wipe up water spills and just plain clean up after themselves! WOULD STAY AGAIN - THANK YOU
Jul 21, 2013
Nice sights. Pool clean well maintained. Pet area nice clean. Had a good stay.
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
Nice level sites, we stop here every year when passing through. Everyone was very friendly.
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
nice off interstate campground, only there one night, clean and friedly
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
Great staff, clean campground, quiet.
Jul 19, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
I had lots of fun
Jul 19, 2013
Nice cabin and the staff was friendly
Jul 19, 2013
I had an awesome time.
Jul 19, 2013
very nice and clean park. our greyhounds really loved the added perk of a fenced in area special for them to run!
Jul 19, 2013
it was the best time I had camping in 30 years of camping. the people who ran this campgrounds were the nicest I have ever been with
Jul 19, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
I liked the extra activities for the kids and the campground was very clean. The store could have been stocked a little better and open earlier in the morning.
Jul 18, 2013
This was a stop on our way to a final destination (where we'll be for 7 weeks). It was a nice KOA, but further from the freeway than we prefer to stay. Because of that, if we were traveling through the area again, we'd try to find something closer to the highway 35 freeway.
Jul 18, 2013
The Kabin was clean but advertised amenities were not provided. The showers were ICE COLD. There was a sign that said to allow 2 minutes for the water to heat up but it never warmed up. The wifi was so slow and intermittent that it was impossible to even check email. The Kabin electricity was cut around 8am so we had no lights or air conditioning while packing up.
Jul 18, 2013
Great staff. Beautiful campground. As a dog owner, I loved the big dog run. My dogs were able to burn off energy by playing with other dogs.
Jul 18, 2013
Although we were there only one night we enjoyed our stay. Free from mosquitoes, fish in the pond. I fly fish and they took two of my flies, most likely because I didn't tie them one right. We will certainly be back when we are going in that direction.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
friendly staff, but we seemed to share a site with another popup camper. Could have shook hands with them we were so close.
Jul 17, 2013
Great place for overnight stay along I-80. Quiet. Very friendly staff; nice touches like wine tasting & ice cream social.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
NC
Jul 17, 2013
Clean, friendly people, helpful.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
WE HAVE ALREADY PAST IT ON ABOUT HOW GREAT YOUR CAMPGROUND IS. However, we did have to complain to Mr.Forbes in regards to loud campers and he did talked to them and they did quite down we should have said something sooner.we would definitely stay there again.
Jul 16, 2013
Site was un-level and not paved. Roads were white rock and very dusty. Most sites had no shade. Would stay here again only in an emergency.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Very nice stopover campground. Clean facilities and friendly staff. No complaints!
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Very clean, shaded, nice folks running the place. Will stay there again!
Jul 15, 2013
Very nice campground. Large grassy sites. Level parking for camper. Beautiful Iowa countryside setting.
Jul 15, 2013
A wonderful peaceful stay. Ordered pizza, did wine tasting .. Lots of events for all ages. Staff was friendly & helpful. We had a spot with a mature tree so we had shade from the hot sun.
Jul 15, 2013
Too short. Kampgound very nice. The staff was very helpful.
Jul 15, 2013
Great campground! Clean. Kids activities and the worker who headed them up was great! Our kids really enjoyed him.
Jul 15, 2013
We were greeted by fire ants and the neighbor had plumbing issues that disturbed our kamping area. We were not offered any sympathy or accommodations for our trouble. Campers were squeezed in tightly. We loved the pool & activities. We will stay again
Jul 15, 2013
Great shaded site. Clean well kept pool. Clean washrooms. Friendly people.
Jul 15, 2013
This is a great camp ground with very friendly staff, we wish we would have had more time to spend in the area. Definately will come again i the future.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.