Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 23, 2017
Everything was very clean and well kept. All people were very nice and friendly in a happy manner.
Jul 23, 2017
Nice place! Sites are a little small but not bad. Friendly staff and the grounds are neat and clean!
Jul 23, 2017
It was great
Jul 23, 2017
we stayed one night in a very cramped side by side site. The sewer hook up was broken so someone had to hold in the required sewer cap when opening the valve.
Jul 23, 2017
What a beautiful KOA, nicest ever and very friendly staff
Jul 22, 2017
Super clean. Very friendly and inviting. Great location to tour the covered bridges. Lovely shaded K9 park for the pups....with scented bags =)! Quiet and inviting. Thank you!
Jul 22, 2017
Jul 22, 2017
Loved the place although its showing its age. Also it let someone bring in a school bus full of little kids to the pool and that was disruptive--we wanted more peace and quiet. Customer service was awesome though! People were amazing. Laundry machines were from the 70's and the pool was old as well and very small.
Jul 22, 2017
My kids love this campground. It's beautiful, lots to do, and friendly. Far enough from the hwy to be quiet, but close enough that it is convenient. Book early, cuz they fill up quick
Jul 22, 2017
Easy off/on from interstate. Very clean and staff very courteous. Wide pull through and great dog run.
Jul 22, 2017
Jul 22, 2017
TOO MUCH CHAOS AT THIS KOA. We had reservations for 2 units to be side by side. When we arrived we were split into separate sights. Their sights adjoin by coming in at opposite directions, causing dueling slide outs. WiFi also a problem. I asked to speak to the manager and I was told he was not on sight. It appears no one was in charge and explains the chaos. You have been warned. Avoid this KOA
Jul 22, 2017
We stay at a lot of KOAs. This one is awesome! The staff are super great! Highly recommend!
Jul 21, 2017
Nice, comfortable campground.
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 21, 2017
The staff were very freindly, many activities for children, a great doggy park, adult activities, park and facilities very clean. Really enjoyed my stay.
Jul 21, 2017
Very nice place. Bathrooms were very nice. Enjoyed our stay.
Jul 21, 2017
Clean nice
Jul 20, 2017
Great from start to finish! Modern, clean, and NICE!!!
Jul 20, 2017
it was awesome love thisplace
Jul 20, 2017
We were disappointed when we arrived a little early and our cabin wasn't ready. The person said they would get someone right on it. We waited on the patio over an hour for someone to show up to start cleaning. The campground is very well maintained and a great place to stay. We have had better interaction with staff in the past. We only had one staff member make us feel wanted
Jul 20, 2017
Great place only a couple tweeks we'd recommend...put a sliding door lock up high on inside of front door to not allow kids to reach it and possibly a short 5' wall between deck areas.
Jul 20, 2017
We stayed at your campground on our way out west and again on our way home, very pleased
Jul 20, 2017
Very helpful staff. The park appeared to be in transition - creating more sites and/or equipping sites with all amenities
Jul 19, 2017
Excellent stay and very friendly staff! Our 2 golden retrievers loved the Kamp K9 area!
Jul 19, 2017
no issues here, road needs some help, other than that nice KOA
Jul 19, 2017
Roads are very narrow, uneven gravel and corner or turns are sharp for longer rvs. Surrounding communties are more industrial than tourist friendly
Jul 18, 2017
We had a very good time. The cabins were nice and much better than being cooped up in a hotel while we visited Des Moines. The restroom facilities were quite nice and the kids enjoyed the activities. The pool was too small for the number of guests and the cabins and some sites were way too close to each other and it feels more like a parking lot than a nature type camping experience.
Jul 18, 2017
Great time. Very clean. We had the deluxe site with the patio. It was wonderful. Lots for the grandkids to do. The pool is awesome. Only negative is lack of shade.
Jul 18, 2017
This could be a 5 star campground if the roads were treated to keep the dust down and walkways were put in between the streets. Too many people cutting across occupied sites.
Jul 18, 2017
Thanks! Had a wonderful time!
Jul 18, 2017
The rewards program is not fair. We stayed 10 nights and only received one credit towards a free night while someone who stays one or two nights also gets one credit.
Jul 18, 2017
I wish I would have known about all the changes the owners have done! The owner was very helpful and what a great change that was just a stopover for the night before. Next time I will spend more time here! Great activities for the kids.
Jul 18, 2017
Very clean and well maintained KOA. The location off I-80 makes it convenient yet far enough off for no road noise. Newly remodeled bathrooms are great. Now the laundry needs to be remodeled and please let guests know all washers are set to cold water only also. We will definitely stay again when in the area!
Jul 18, 2017
Nice time. Next time, I'll stay away from the playground. Tent campers let their kids play at the playground at 5:30 am and our RV Windows were open and I was wide awake from 5:30 on.
Jul 18, 2017
Many amenities and excellent service!
Jul 18, 2017
Very friendly staff and good facilities. Would definitely stay there again.
Jul 18, 2017
We love this campground and the workers!!!
Jul 18, 2017
This KOA was very clean and nice. Lots of activities to do for kids. We had a great time. My only complaint is the additional cost for a few of the kid activities. The cost of staying here is more than any campground we've ever stayed in and I think having to pay $10/kid extra for a few of the activities is unnecessary.
Jul 18, 2017
This was one of the very best KOA's we have ever been to. The sites are long, wide and roomy. This campground had it all. Two nice dog parks, playground, a pond, things for kids to do and much more. Highly recommend
Jul 18, 2017
Very cramped, staff was not overly friendly. Not among the best.
Jul 18, 2017
Jul 17, 2017
Great facilities and staff
Jul 17, 2017
This is our second year staying here and I would 3rd ommend this campground to everyone!!the staff are awesome and are so accomodating.The action itids planned for the kids are great too!Keep up the good work and we look forward to staying again! The Chalupa family
Jul 17, 2017
We have stayed at this KOA at least five times now. It is clean and well run with many family activities. Kind of close to neighbors, however.
Jul 17, 2017
Absolutely loved staying here to celebrate my 60th birthday with family & friends! Cabins were wonderful, activities were fun, and the pool was a great way to get out of the heat & humidity! Loved the Pavilion area too! We will be back!
Jul 17, 2017
Nice place. Will stay here again.
Jul 17, 2017
Park was clean and well kept. Nice restrooms. Sites were level, but close as with most KOA campgrounds. WIFI and cable worked fine. Great for an overnight stay. We would stay here again.
Jul 16, 2017
Nice place and friendly folks
Jul 16, 2017
Extremely nice campground & facilities. Excellent RV Park for families, this place has everything. Spacious RV sites with plenty of grass between. Beautifully maintained by the owners. Very friendly staff.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award