Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 26, 2014
Friendly folks...nice to have pizza delivered to our rig...nice campsite close to bathroom.
May 25, 2014
May 25, 2014
We love staying in this relaxing country campground. Great new dog park!! Will certainly come back! Nice owners and staff! Friendly!
May 23, 2014
This KOA has always been a great place. It's even better with so many additional amenities added by the new owners. Very pleasant staff. Very clean facilities. Great stay.
May 23, 2014
The campground was very quiet and restful. The pool wasn't open yet but that was not a big deal since our stay was towards the end of May. We plan on returning again. A member of the staff was available to assist us since we are new RV campers. Very helpful and friendly.
May 23, 2014
May 23, 2014
This was an average RV park but much more expensive. KOA is not the best choice for those looking for value.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hey Ken, We're sorry you weren't happy with your stay and the value we provided to you. I'd love to hear from you on what amenities you'd like us to work on, so your next stay at our park or another KOA is more valuable to you. We value your opinion and hope to accommodate you in the future.
May 22, 2014
The staff was very friendly and helpful. When we were delayed arriving, they had the needed paperwork out for us, so we knew where we were supposed to park. The bathrooms was very clean.
May 22, 2014
May 20, 2014
Very nice campground and cabin. Staff very helpful. Quiet and peaceful!
May 20, 2014
Great Place Good people We always try to stay at KOA
May 20, 2014
Cabin ok. But, when checked in computer did not work, lady at the counter seemed confused and extremely disorganized. Your campsite store did not have very obvious supplies.Have firewood, no firestart We had a fire first night. There were holes in the fire pit and leaves that were damp and smelled terrible. Office closes at 7pm which I think is unprofessional. Should be open at least til 8 or 9
May 20, 2014
Staff was great campground is clean had a great time and will return!
May 20, 2014
May 19, 2014
Excellent staff and excellent facilities.
May 19, 2014
It was good. The bathroom was a little far from the cabin.Otherwise was good.
May 19, 2014
Was ok
May 19, 2014
Lovely place , large sites , beautiful views of a pond with Canadian geese ...and walking trails we will return .
May 19, 2014
LOVED ALL THE ADDITIONS AND IMPROVEMENTS
May 18, 2014
Even though the weather wasn't the best,the staff were wonderful!!!
May 18, 2014
We enjoyed our one night stay.
May 18, 2014
Great stay. We were treated so well. We called to say we would be late getting in. They stayed until we got there. So Cool. The cozy cabin was very clean and comfy.
May 18, 2014
Outstanding place to stay - very friendly staff and YES a place to come back to.
May 16, 2014
we alwas have a good time and never any trouble trusts kids to run around
May 16, 2014
May 16, 2014
Des Moines KOA is always a great place to stay. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the park is quiet, clean, and very comfortable. The additions to the park are wonderful.
May 15, 2014
our stay here could have been a disaster due to a tornado warning but they went out of their way to ensure our safety and to make sure we were comfortable.we will stay again on our next trip .
May 13, 2014
Very nice campground! Really enjoyed our stay.
May 13, 2014
We always have a great time at the KOA by Adel. We did leave a day early this time due to some bad weather coming so we're looking forward to our next stay when we can stay longer.
May 13, 2014
Very clean campground with lots of activities. Someday need a pavilion or activity room. Spacious camp site. Friendly/responsive staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Susan, check out our facebook pages...our pavilion is going in as we speak: http://www.facebook.com/desmoineskoa or http://www.facebook.com/desmoineswestkoa
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
As ALWAYS, great place to camp, the owners are one in a million.
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
I'm a return guest. I really enjoy this campground; love the location and the kabin! I was really disappointed, however, that the dog park had been (I've been told temporarily) closed down and replaced by a bouncy pillow (fee for use). I wish I had been advised that the fenced dog park feature was not available when I made my reservations, by phone, for a kabin that allowed dogs.
May 12, 2014
We enjoyed everything about your campground, from the new Jumping Pillow(what a hit) from all the great organized activities you offer. Very friendly staff, from pizza delivery(which was outstanding) to firewood delivery! Highly Recommend this KOA! We will be back again for sure! Thank you
May 12, 2014
This KOA is kept clean and the campsites are well maintained. We stayed in a camping cabin and is was clean inside. The outside was very well kept, nice plants and other greenery. We loved the swing and the covered porch. Thank you for doing the stay one nite get the 2nd nite free offer it makes it a little easier on the pocket book for our trip to Des Moines.
May 12, 2014
The new Jumping Pillow was a huge success with my children! Looking forward to a great camping season!!
May 12, 2014
They were great people! Very nice and clean campground.
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
Great. A little wet.
May 12, 2014
$10 just to jump on jumping pillow is ridiculous! And do not like how some sites are shared with other campers.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Lisa, I'm sorry you felt that $10/person for unlimited use of the jumping pillow, a free 1/2 hour bike rental, and $1 off gem mining wasn't a good value for your family. If you have any suggestions, we're all ears on how to provide more value to our campers.
May 11, 2014
Beautiful park and well maintained. The kids loved the park. We will definitely be back!
May 09, 2014
Clean, quiet campground conveniently close to Des Moines. Needs more shade trees.
May 07, 2014
May 07, 2014
The hosts were gracious & the park was top notch. Full service, we'll maintained sites. Will stop here again in the future.
May 07, 2014
May 07, 2014
May 06, 2014
Very nice facilities, green grass at camp site, nice scenery. Just a nice camp ground.
May 06, 2014
I have never had an unpleasant stay at your campground. It is close to my family and has always been a friendly environment.
May 06, 2014
Very nice campground. Very friendly and helpfull staff.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.