Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 13, 2016
..We stay at KOA C,G all over the country.This was the second worst we have been at over the last 10 years. Nose to tail site and not wide enough or two large 5th wheels Our slides would have impacted the unit next to us if we moved over the fire pit on the other side was nearly under out main slide /Pulled back so our slides would not impact the Rv next to us and our 50 amp power cord was to sho
Jul 12, 2016
They were super friendly and the kids had a great time! It was a wonderful stay!
Jul 12, 2016
Lived the cabins!!!
Jul 12, 2016
The stay was great but the location was awful there was no shade in the evening and noticed all weekend that there were several spots open so disappointed we were not offered a better location!
Jul 12, 2016
Great dog park, lots of activities for kids. It would be great if there were more trees, but it is in Iowa.
Jul 12, 2016
Beautiful grounds and lots of trees for shade. Two camp sites share the same pad so it was a bit crowded. Nice store and very clean restrooms and showers.
Jul 11, 2016
I have couple of suggestions 1. Life guard or atleast floats should be handy for such a deep & steep pool. 2. I stayed in cabin K11. In the shower its really difficult to manage hot water using that knob. Other than that your place is excellent and staff are very friendly! I definitely suggest this place :-)
Jul 11, 2016
Swimming pool should have been better.
Jul 11, 2016
We stayed for the week while in town for a wedding. We stayed in cabin kl3 which we thought was the best cabin on site. The cabin itself was beautiful and the patio area was the same. We lived having some shade in the afternoon. We would recommend a sign that designates the parking space for the cabin because several times when we returned to the cabin we had to fin a different spot.
Jul 11, 2016
We just discovered this koa this year and have been back three times now and we will be back several more. It has a great atmosphere of fun and kind, happy employees. Everything is clean and well taken care of. It is our favorite campground for us and the kids. It's so nice to have a place like this we can take the family and have a great weekend together.
Jul 11, 2016
Everyone here is super friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay. The only issue I had was that they charge for the kids bouncy, small tractors and other items. I thought htye were free at other KOA's. Other than that absolutely loved this campground!
Jul 11, 2016
The showers were very clean and definitely updated. It is a very nice campground and would highly recommend it.
Jul 11, 2016
It is VERY kid friendly and the staff was awesome.
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
The weekends with activities are great if you are a grandparent taking grandchildren camping. Facilities are the best!!
Jul 11, 2016
Nice sites. Great dog park area. Only stayed overnight.
Jul 11, 2016
I was quite pleased with the staff and the facilities.
Jul 11, 2016
Enjoyed a lot and my kid had very good time.Thaks to KOA Facilities.
Jul 11, 2016
Love the activities something for all ages. Great place to get away for the week end.
Jul 11, 2016
Very, Very neat , friendly place to stay. We will be back!!!!
Jul 11, 2016
NA
Jul 10, 2016
Jul 10, 2016
Very helpful and friendly staff. Very clean facilities. We loved the paddle boats and the kitchen in the shelter.
Jul 10, 2016
We loved camping at your Koa and would love to return soon.
Jul 10, 2016
I made this suggestion to the manager: We were a group of about 14-15 families. While in pool a guy was drowning. There was no life guard or floats for me to throw to him. So I went in and pulled him from his sleeve to safety. You guys need to do more for safety in the pool.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have a shepard's hook, but we'll get some rings too based on your suggestion.
Jul 09, 2016
Jul 09, 2016
Great dog park
Jul 09, 2016
Best campground. Great people. Plenty of things for the kids to do. This was our first stay here but will definitely not be our last we plan to regularly visit this KOA. Thank you to the owners for the awesome hospitality.
Jul 09, 2016
We booked our next reservation before we left the premises.
Jul 09, 2016
everything was as I expect from KOA. Restrooms were clean and well maintained.
Jul 09, 2016
Great, staff ready to make stay enjoyable
Jul 09, 2016
1)I bought 3 (double-scoop)ice cream cones and the bill was $19.50! Way too pricey. & 2)we had people across from us (we were on 36) that didn't follow the "quiet hours" and between their diesel truck idling and roaring in and out of their site several times between midnight and 2am, we didn't get much sleep. Need to be able to contact someone to quiet them.
Jul 09, 2016
While they were full they were flexible enough to get me a cabin so I had some power for my RV. Very nice people and very clean.
Jul 08, 2016
Kamping kabins are well kept and the ammenities are outstanding for over night or long term stays
Jul 08, 2016
Staff was very friendly. After driving 8 hours we checked in around 7:30pm. when we asked for ice we were told they're out, but "we could drive back to town 4 miles away and they MAY have some" So after setting up our pop up, we drove back to town for ice. Pool was closed when we got back. We enjoyed our stay.
Jul 08, 2016
Jul 08, 2016
Great place, wonderful staff.. Love this place and will make it our campground when we visit Des Moines. .
Jul 08, 2016
Jul 07, 2016
Very nice people, beautiful spots & surrounding area👍
Jul 07, 2016
It was horrible. No shade, people were not friendly and there is nothing to do. Gave out free cups though

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I think you reviewed the wrong park... :)
Jul 06, 2016
Jul 06, 2016
The amenities were great for my whole family and staff were very helpful. Only issue is only one location for the bathrooms. For little ones, it was a task to get them there before the accident.
Jul 06, 2016
Very friendly staff.lots of activities.
Jul 06, 2016
Great location! Enjoyed the planned activities. All the happy smiles made for a great camping experience. Sites were snug, but it was enjoyable. We spent most of our stay day tripping to covered bridges of Madison County and the area wineries.
Jul 06, 2016
We were there for a week and did use the pool several times. Facilities were great. The only down side was we were a bit far from the showers.
Jul 06, 2016
Great experience! Beautiful location, super clean, lots to do! Staff was so friendly and kind! My children didn't want to come home!
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
Always clean and well maintained Great staff and customer service. Lots of kids activities.
Jul 05, 2016
This was our first time staying at a KOA! Our staying was amazing, our children had a blast with all the activities! Restrooms are the nicest and very well maintained!! Overall would highly recommend! We will be back again!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award