Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 18, 2015
Friendly staff, nice and clean, new owners are reworking some of the sites, very nice K-9 park - room for dogs to run. If we are in the area again we would stay here
Jun 18, 2015
This is a great place. Clean, easy in easy out, staff is great. You can tell the pride of ownership. Thanks for the great stay
Jun 18, 2015
Jun 18, 2015
Just GREAT as always
Jun 17, 2015
staff was friendly. A few trees, grounds good for those with satellite. Cable was good. Wifi an issue was unable to connect. instructions weren't clean. Never able to get to page to enter password provided. Have added a few premium sites with paved patio, swing, new grills, patio table/chairs. Cabins were the best looking we had seen at a KOA and were adding more. We camped here in a Motorhome
Jun 17, 2015
This is our second time at staying at this KOA. We were greeted by friendly and very helpful personnel who accommodated our needs. Great facilities and fenced dog park. I will definitely recommend Des Moines West KOA.
Jun 16, 2015
Cleaner than many hotels I have stayed at!
Jun 16, 2015
Very family oriented and a very nice staff. We will definitely be staying again!
Jun 16, 2015
Everything was great. Rain made things tough...other than that it was perfect.
Jun 16, 2015
Our daughter had a blast on the pillow and the bathrooms were amazing!!!
Jun 16, 2015
Jun 16, 2015
The kids love the bounce pillow and the bathrooms are amazing!
Jun 16, 2015
GREAT INTERNET SERVICE, NICE NEW BATHROOMS. ONE OF MY FAVORTIE KOA'S !!!
Jun 16, 2015
Great new restrooms and showers, lots of kids activities. They charge ectra for all the activities including the pool. Would rather pay more up front, feels like being nickle and dimed to death.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hey Michaelann, maybe you're confused with another park, but we don't charge for the heated swimming pool...never have...never will. We also don't charge for our organized activities, outside of the occasional craft that includes a product that costs money.
Jun 15, 2015
Stayed in the cabin right across from the pond. It was ideal for our young boys first fishing experience. He caught more than 5 small fish and he was so excited! The owners and staff where so friendly and accommodating.This campground was an oasis for children and adults alike. I will definately return again!
Jun 15, 2015
The site is quite and well managed. They just updated bathroom and shower facility. Staffs are friendly and accommodating.
Jun 15, 2015
We had a wonderful weekend with our children. Our kids range in age from 8 to 17 and they all had a great time! We made lots of fun memories and will definitely be back.
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
Easy pull through sites. Prices for fun pass rather steep for an overnight stay.
Jun 15, 2015
We loved it and had a great time!
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
We were very pleasantly surprised with the amenities. It's very much a family oriented campground and someplace I think we'd stay again if in the area. I also want to say that they have the prettiest bathroom facilities I've ever seen at a campground.
Jun 15, 2015
Wonderful activities for the kids. They were busy all day. The nicest campground bathroom/shower house you will ever use.
Jun 15, 2015
Stayed in space#4 - guests have no concern for site privacy. Constant flow of kidz & dog owners cutting thru our site to dog park & playground. This needs better enforcement! Will not stay again.
Jun 15, 2015
very nice,clean and the pool was nice
Jun 15, 2015
great staff!!!
Jun 15, 2015
Great people and nice neat campground
Jun 15, 2015
Nice, happy patrons. Good sites. However, they should not charge extra for use of pool - especially since it wasn't clear on the amenities descriptions.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We've never charged for the heated swimming pool...sorry for the confusion.
Jun 14, 2015
Extremely nice KOA staff, new facilities, amenities, dog park, and playground. Homemade KOA pizza delicious!!!
Jun 14, 2015
Jun 14, 2015
Amazing updates from the last time we stayed. Can't wait to go back!
Jun 13, 2015
Thick bushes overgrown at cabin entrance. They got us and our gear wet when we entered cabin. There was a lot of mud on road. Hard to walk thru mud getting to shower house.
Jun 13, 2015
We had a very nice spot but it rained almost the whole time we were there so we didn't get out much. The only things wrong was that my husband sat on the picnic table bench to rest for a minute, and the whole table started to collapse. I do think that they were in the process of replacing them.
Jun 13, 2015
Great restrooms!
Jun 13, 2015
Very nice place to stay
Jun 12, 2015
We just did NOT have enough time to spend at this campground! We had our two grand children with us and there were SO many activities to keep them busy. The campground is very clean and well run. The office staff couldn't have been more helpful. Although we did not eat there, the pizza smelled delicious and the ice cream would certainly be a treat! We plan to return when we have more time!
Jun 11, 2015
Always love our stays here. Owners and staff go out of their way to make you feel at home and provide a nice, fun, place to stay.
Jun 11, 2015
Jun 11, 2015
Jun 11, 2015
Jun 10, 2015
This was our first KOA stay and it was wonderful! Not far off the interstate, it's quiet and had all the amenities we wanted. We enjoyed our lodge that fit out family of 4 perfectly- large deck with fire pit, propane grill, picnic table and porch swing. The grounds had plenty of attraction for our kids. The bathrooms and laundry were clean and neat. Only frustration was that our stay was too short
Jun 09, 2015
Excellent facilities and very friendly staff. Air conditioning in the shower rooms was great. Pizza and wings were very good. Cabin was very clean. Did not have the grandkids along but they would have enjoyed all there is to do.
Jun 09, 2015
This rating is comparison to a previous nights koa i was at. No fire pits, not a lot of room, showers were a bit dirty.
Jun 08, 2015
Customer service is outstanding! There are many extra activities offered for all age groups. Bathroom & shower house are beautiful!! We will be back!
Jun 08, 2015
Jun 08, 2015
The cabin we stayed in KL14 was amazing!!!!! Just upset when we came the pool wasn't filled and nobody called to let us know it had been emptied. The staff gave us a discount which we really appreciated. All in all It was a great experience and plan on bringing my husband and children for a stay this summer!
Jun 08, 2015
Great place to spend the weekend. We will definitely return.
Jun 08, 2015
Staff was AWESOME!!!! They made it feel like we were just staying in a friend's backyard.
Jun 08, 2015
Nice par. Great staff,
Jun 08, 2015
Very clean & quiet campground. We travel very much and ALWAYS choose KOA for our overnight stays. Safe & comfortable! Takes the guess work out of choosing a place to park!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.