Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 21, 2014
The grounds are clean and well kept. Bathroom and laundry facilities are clean. The pool is nice but could use some work. We stayed on an electric tent site. It was very narrow with no shade. If I go back, I definitely would choose a different site. Overall great except for the barking dogs all night long. A place that is very pet friendly, too bad the pet owners weren't more respectful of others
Jul 20, 2014
Beautiful location, friendly staff, and sites had space between them.
Jul 20, 2014
Helpful and Friendly Staff - Connie enjoyed the activities for her 9 year old son. She didn't have to worry about him at all. What a very CLEAN and AWESOME park.
Jul 20, 2014
Good campground.
Jul 19, 2014
Great stay! Easy in and out, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Jul 19, 2014
We only strayed one night but had a great stay, the campground is extremely clean. I will definitely use this KOA again in the future.
Jul 19, 2014
staff very good. overall good experience. better than I had expected after several bad experiences at other koas. convenient to city
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Large spaces, well maintained
Jul 17, 2014
We enjoyed the stay. It was a nice extended stay. The only negative was the Wifi. We were never able to connect. Since we were extended stay guests, this would have made the stay much nicer.
Jul 17, 2014
Great
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Apparently "young" campground; most trees in 2/3 of campsites are close to sapling size. Restrooms could use an upgrade.
Jul 16, 2014
The site was even,the pool was great and the staff was very friendly.It was a good night.
Jul 16, 2014
We stayed so far in 4 KOA camp grounds and all have been great. There will be more as we continue our trip.
Jul 16, 2014
This is one of the cleanest campgrounds I've ever stopped at.
Jul 16, 2014
We didn't have a reservation and got off the road earlier than expected. They were very willing to accommodate us and even canceled our reservation at the other KOA! The pizza was great too!
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
This was one of the nicest KOA's we've ever experienced. Nicely kept grounds, clean facilities, great store... and pizza place!! We didn't swim because it was a cool evening (just there for one night), but our 5-year-old daughter loved the "jumping pillow." And we really liked the separate, grassy tenting area that was separate from all the RVs. It really felt like camping. :)
Jul 16, 2014
Clean and quiet sites were good and location great .... friendly service ..... very accommodating
Jul 15, 2014
Can't say enough for this place. We had a tornado warning while there and they called and went around the sites to insure everyone sought shelter in the laundry room then ultimately in the basement of the house next door. Great camp ground and hosts!!
Jul 15, 2014
We are traveling in a 44' motorhome and found getting in and out not to be difficult at all. Staff was friendly and facilities were clean and well maintained. Get place to stay when you are in the area.
Jul 15, 2014
Nice campground, wish we were staying for more than just one night. Long term tenants were a little noisy but eventually settled down.
Jul 15, 2014
Koa west des moines hss awesome friendly staff
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
I am getting really annoyed with cg's that advertise "free" wifi that you cannot even get your emails with. Otherwise, things were nice including a well kept dog park.
Jul 15, 2014
It was wonderful. Everyone on staff was friendly and very helpful
Jul 15, 2014
Friendly staff and nice store.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Great place to stay, very kid friendly. They have a lot of activities that keeps the kids entertained.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
I stayed one night in one of the tent sites. Loved the fact I could choose my site, and I picked one with a large tree that shaded me from the rain. Loved that the picnic tables were plastic, so easy to clean. Staff at check-in were helpful and polite. Only real complaint is the bathrooms could use a little deep cleaning, but otherwise I really enjoyed my stay!
Jul 14, 2014
Staff is so friendly and willing to help. Loved the new jumping pillow and movie screen. We'll be back!
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
We enjoyed this KOA very much. The only thing we would have changed is to have the showers and the restroom separate because of the steam and condensation. They also need to get some firewood that is more seasoned. We could not get our to catch. The grounds wee great. We stayed both coming and going on our trip.
Jul 14, 2014
Friendly, knowledgeable office staff. Resolved misunderstanding about arrival date quickly. Very well maintained facilities. Only negative is that many of the sewer connections are about 8 - 10 inches above ground level requiring water to run uphill.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Very helpful and friendly staff. Camp grounds were very clean and well managed. The pool was a little cloudy but appeared to be ok. Thank You!
Jul 13, 2014
My only complaint was the limited WiFi. I was unable to get on the internet. Otherwise my stay was perfect and the staff very friendly.
Jul 13, 2014
The people were nice and very helpful. As we just stayed for one night while traveling from Colorado to Michigan. It served our purpose. FYI the pull through sites are not level and the hook ups are in the middle of these longer sites. You will probably need extensions for one or more of your hook ups and more blocking than normal for your stab jacks. Bathrooms could use some updating but usable.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
clean & friendly...a+
Jul 13, 2014
Great stay. Wish there were more 50amp. Nicest owners.
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
Had a good stay. Reservations weren't handled correctly by a staff member there and no on ever apologized but got rather snarky over it instead. Other then that lots to do here.
Jul 12, 2014
We stayed for a few days and had lots of fun.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.