Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 26, 2014
Friendly staff, clean and neat facilities, spacious sites.
Jun 26, 2014
Friendly staff - felt the restrooms could have been cleaner and better maintained. Definitely not deserving of a 10* (Woodall) rating; in no way compares to the Dayton Tall Timbers Resort CG in Brookville, OH which is also rated !0*.
Jun 26, 2014
Jun 25, 2014
The new dog area is even better than the old one!
Jun 25, 2014
This was our first time staying here . The employes there were super helpful and very nice. The campsite was well maintained, quiet at night, and nice amienties. We have a big rig and it was easy to get into and out of the site. There was enough room between neighbors. We are looking forward to visiting again!
Jun 25, 2014
We enjoyed Lodge Cabin features.KOA staff are helpful. We felt right at home. Jumping pillow, walking trail, pool, fishing pond are awesome. We will be back.
Jun 25, 2014
Very clean KOA. East access from I80. Sites are easy pull through for any type of RV. I was traveling from South Dakota and needed an overnight to camp. This was the perfect stop.
Jun 24, 2014
We were welcomed by friendly and helpful staff. The sites are quite level and easy to access. We really liked the divided dog park. Thanks for the pleasant overnight stay.
Jun 24, 2014
Served our purpose fairly well. Wi-Fi very poor response time, not very dependable. No TV cable! Lot of good activities for kid, nice location.
Jun 24, 2014
Great campgrounds, clean, well maintained. Friendly managers.
Jun 23, 2014
We love how clean it is. The kids love all the activities!
Jun 23, 2014
Nice campground in a quite location. Excellent staff and facilities. Very close to Madison County Bridges and John Wayne museum.
Jun 23, 2014
Good variety of activities and kids love the bouncy pillow. Well monitored, clean campground. Excellent dog area.
Jun 23, 2014
Pleasant helpful stay! Plenty of activities for kids and adults. The campground and facilities were clean and in great shape. We will be back.
Jun 23, 2014
Office help was friendly. Guide to site was good. Site was excellent. Restrooms were clean and convenient.
Jun 23, 2014
Clean and a lot of fun activties for the kids.
Jun 23, 2014
Friendly staff. Helped us find a firepit ring and picnic table for our tent site. We'll return!
Jun 23, 2014
Side by side s are way too tight. Our slides literally hung over the tent - camper next to us. Not good!
Jun 23, 2014
We loved the dog park and swimming pool!
Jun 22, 2014
Jun 21, 2014
The campground was excellant. The only problem I had was all the lights during the night but managed with it. Great walking areas for my dogs, quiet and felt very secure there. Great place to stay. Have stayed there before and will stay again when the time comes. Staff is very friendly and fun to talk with.
Jun 21, 2014
Jun 20, 2014
Nice facility with close proximity to DSM.
Jun 20, 2014
The staff was very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The grounds were very well maintained and myself and my kids felt safe and well cared during our stay. It was a great family vacation, (would have stayed longer if I had the time!) Thank you, KOA Des Moines West!
Jun 19, 2014
In spite of tornado warnings, thunder, lightning and inches of rain we enjoyed our stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 19, 2014
very friendly staff far enough away from interstate not to hear traffic noise
Jun 18, 2014
We celebrated my daughter's 16th birthday at KOA, with a tent site and a cabin. She and her friends had a blast on the inflatable pillow. The staff was amazingly helpful carrying my firewood and killing wasps for our neighbors. Facilities were very clean, great dog park, activities very family-friendly and the cabin was very comfortable.
Jun 18, 2014
awesome accomodations, great staff over all great fathers day weekend...
Jun 18, 2014
Very nice, well kept campground. Easy in and out. Appreciated the help staff gave us when we pulled in from a bad storm that ripped our awning off. Great people.
Jun 18, 2014
It was a weekend we had been looking forward 2 and the first nite there was a guest across from us that had a gathering with at least 40+ people. They were literally in our face and loud. We did not attempt 2 have a bonfire and tried 2 go 2 bed early but they were loud. Other than that it was a descent stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hey Farrah, I'm sorry the group across from you was louder than desired. In the future, let us know right away, so we can fix it and not ruin your stay.
Jun 17, 2014
Very fun, clean, positive environment. Kids and adults have a blast! Excellent!
Jun 17, 2014
Expensive quoted a price over phone. When I arrived price was 10.00 higher. Very disappointed in KOA.
Jun 16, 2014
We always enjoy our stay at KOA. There is always a ton if things for our kids to do and everyone is always very friendly and helpful. We can't wait for our next stay.
Jun 16, 2014
Great time, lots if activities for the kids. They wanted to stay longer!
Jun 16, 2014
Our stay was nice. We were only passing through but the staff were super nice and the grounds very clean.
Jun 16, 2014
Our stay was great. The campsite was small and tight. Will try to get larger site for the next stay.
Jun 16, 2014
Wonderful as always. Fantastic staff that goes way out of their way to insure that you have an enjoyable stay!
Jun 16, 2014
We were really surprised by this park. Really well maintained and clean, Great store with hot food. The grounds were great and they have a ton of outdoor games including a jumping pillow. We wished we could have stayed longer.
Jun 16, 2014
We were there just for one night, but we have no complaints at all. The staff was good and the washing facilities for good.
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
This was a great place to get away for the weekend. My kids had a blast with all the activities, particularly the slip and slide.
Jun 16, 2014
Several units of friends stayed here and most were charged for value card without being told about it. Don't really like that way of doing business. Campgroud was great but for the price it seems there should not be charges for some of the amneties.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hey Bill, the only reason someone would get charged for a value card is when it saves you more than the cost of the stay to have the card, so you essentially get a card for free that way. Otherwise, nobody should be paying for a value card you didn't want. Please let me know if this was the case.
Jun 15, 2014
Great cabin and camp grounds. We enjoyed our visit.
Jun 15, 2014
Wifi simply doesn't work on any of our devices. McDonalds wifi is rock solid and connects immediately. Thank you
Jun 15, 2014
Sites way to close together. In fact I wouldn't even call them sites. Quiet hours should be enforced but were not. Way to many campers in such a small space

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hey Thomas, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Next time you come, I'd recommend one of our larger single sites, so you have a ton of room instead of the SxS sites you were in for this stay.
Jun 14, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
Very accommodating and helpful. Clean campground and restrooms. A nice place.
Jun 14, 2014
Beautiful park! Everything was so clean and staff was very friendly! Will definitely be coming back.
Jun 13, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.