Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 15, 2016
Enjoyed our stay. Lots of things for the kids to do!! Very friendly and helpful staff.
Aug 15, 2016
Had a fantastic weekend at this KOA. Entire staff was friendly and helpful. There were so many activities and amenities available.
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
Wonderful, staff was very friendly all that activities kept our kids very busy. It was a great place to stay. We will be back.
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
This was our first time staying at a KOA. We loved all the activities that were available. They kept the kids busy. There was 2 things we had issues with 1) the activity schedule. Our kids wanted to do the slip and slide and went over 10 min after it was supposed to start and it was done. 2) there was no shade in our north tent spot but we requested the south one next time which has lots of trees
Aug 15, 2016
AWESOME!I was amazed to see how much there was to do and the improvements since our last stay ~3yrs ago. Kudos to the owners. My kids loved the pool, paddle boat, slip n slide, dunk tank and many other activities that were offered. The bathrooms are updated and clean; only suggestion is outhouse on south side camping grounds.We will be back!
Aug 15, 2016
loved all the activities for the kids!
Aug 15, 2016
Surprised how many family activities this KOA has. I stayed alone passing through but next time I will bring the whole family. Beats a hotel any day!
Aug 14, 2016
Aug 14, 2016
Easy in, easy out, clean restrooms.
Aug 14, 2016
By far the nicest folks running a KOA that we came across on our cross country trip. Beautiful facilities and pool was well maintained.
Aug 14, 2016
Aug 14, 2016
Very nice location
Aug 14, 2016
Great campground. We called last minute and they got us in a delux site. Best cable hook up we had on our 10 day trip. Friendly staff.
Aug 14, 2016
En fait le camping etait bien par contre nous devons partager le fire ring. Alors cetait un peut bizzard car une tente etait deja installer et nous sommes arriver et preparer le feu et quand les gens sont revenu ils etaient mecontent. Peut etre prendre moins de clients afin que chacun aie leur emplacement
Aug 14, 2016
Was awesome great camp Staff was very friendly. Couldn't ask for any better Keep camp this great See u again soon
Aug 13, 2016
This was a perfect solution to a night before the fair. The only issues were the fan did not work in the bedroom and when the fuse was tripped, it proved too difficult to find the box to remedy the situation. We arrived late and left early so we did not have time to inquire.
Aug 13, 2016
Very clean, quiet, and friendly campground! Campground was full because of the Iowa state fair but staff was great!
Aug 13, 2016
Aug 12, 2016
Excellent KOA, we stayed in 12 KOA's on our cross country and back journey and this was one of the top 2. West Glacier was probably #1 only because of natural beauty. Escorted to site, plenty of things for the kids to do while I rested for next days journey. Kids favorite!
Aug 12, 2016
Aug 12, 2016
Amenities were excellent. there were a few activities for the children. Big complaint is with size of site. With neighboring campers with sideouts and canopy felt very uncomfortably close. i Believe that the KOA website for registering should be updated to verify that the camper is able to fit in the site
Aug 12, 2016
The kids liked the jumping pillow and the basketball/trampoline game, and that it had a fire ring. We did not like the lack of trees and the close proximity of the other campers.
Aug 12, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay at the Des Moines West, IA, KOA. We were led to our site, our site had a wonderful cement pad with swing, and a nice fire pit. The bathrooms were clean, modern and air conditioned. There was a nice area space to walk our dog. Although we didn't have children with us, there appears to be several things that they would enjoy doing.
Aug 11, 2016
Excellent, mais très court séjour dans ce KOA où nous sommes arrivés très tard. Tout nous attendait au poste d'accueil. Salle des toilettes et douches très propre. Nous le recommandons vivement!
Aug 11, 2016
Fun things for the kids to do everything is clean and well cared for the staff are excellent we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves
Aug 11, 2016
Aug 11, 2016
Best bathrooms of any KOA we've ever stayed at. Yours was the 5th KOA we've stayed at this summer. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We'll be back!
Aug 11, 2016
Lots of things for kids to do. Love the pizza delivery!
Aug 11, 2016
Nice people. The bathrooms? Hmmn.
Aug 10, 2016
The best KOA we have stayed in, staff friendly, grounds well taken care of and restrooms were up to date and clean
Aug 10, 2016
Nice people, clean, lots of activities but the one drawback was that the "permant campsites"didn't have dogs on leashes... Two unleashed big dogs ran out from under their trailer and at our small leashed dog as my husband walked her to the dog park. There was also a small black and white dog in our campsite for a lot of the time...
Aug 10, 2016
Over all, a great experience! We loved all the things to do! Very clean! Very helpful, friendly and accommodating staff! We had a great stay! Well done! Keep up the great work!
Aug 10, 2016
Excellent staff and accommodations. Thank you for your hospitality.
Aug 09, 2016
Perfect experience. I wish we could have stayed longer.
Aug 09, 2016
A really nice park to bad we were only here overnight.
Aug 09, 2016
Aug 09, 2016
Aug 09, 2016
Would stay again. Very enjoyable and great staff.
Aug 09, 2016
Everything was great expect we couldn't really tell where our site ended and the next one began and they were a little smaller than expdcted, great park activities and customer service.
Aug 09, 2016
Excellent sites, great people and nice pool.
Aug 08, 2016
Great Place!! The only complaint is when you arrive later in the day, you need to discount the activity wristbands.
Aug 08, 2016
The cabin was clean, the activities were fun and the staff was friendly. Perfect!
Aug 08, 2016
love this campground and all it has to offer - everything is wonderful!
Aug 08, 2016
Loved the cabins, so clean and comfy! Lots for the kids to do, staff was friendly and helpful. Loved the nature trail and options for staying here! Beware: the fishing pond has blue-green algae, didn't realize the danger there and we got sick. They should close it during blooms. We will know for next time. Wastewater pond stunk when the wind was just right-gross at dinner time.
Aug 08, 2016
Aug 08, 2016
Very little space between campers. 50 amp plug was recessed so difficult getting connected. Maintenance person said, I will be right back to see if I can fix. Never came back.
Aug 08, 2016
Place was clean. Wifi speed was fast. Camp store was filled with fun and reasonably priced merchandise. Lady at front desk helped us with our camper sewer hose as it was stuck in the bumper. Went out of her way to make sure we could get it out to use it that night. Thanks for a great stay.
Aug 08, 2016
Beautiful bathroom facilities!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award