Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 31, 2017
A nice place and the people were very friendly.
Jul 31, 2017
Sites were too close together. It felt like a parking lot. Staff was surly, unhelpful, and had no time for us.
Jul 31, 2017
The campsite was pretty tight between the 2 campers. We had to park on the grass in order to open our slides and not hit the camper that was next to us. Over all it was a great weekend.
Jul 30, 2017
Great place to relax and enjoy doing nothing. Plenty of things to keep the kids occupied and have fun, too.
Jul 30, 2017
Perfect in every way!!! The electric tent sites located right next to the playground...quit at night...tons of activities for kids! One of our favorite KOAs!!!
Jul 30, 2017
Every thing was clean. It was easy to get to and the staff was great.
Jul 30, 2017
Very nice setting off interstate 2 m. Kid friendly lots of activity for children...great hosts & yummy ice cream 😀👍
Jul 30, 2017
We totally enjoyed staying there
Jul 30, 2017
Amazing facility best we've experienced you don't want to miss this koa !!
Jul 30, 2017
One of the better KOA parks.
Jul 29, 2017
This is a very nice campground. They have gone above and beyond to provide a excellent place to camp.
Jul 29, 2017
We stayed one night passing through. This KOA had everything we needed. And very friendly workers.
Jul 29, 2017
Like this KOA so much on the way to Kanss, that we decided to stay on our way home also. Loved the super patio on the end site.
Jul 29, 2017
Great park. Outstanding Staff ! A park to stay when in the area.
Jul 28, 2017
Enjoyed my stay and staff was very helpful. Loved the sightseeing in the area and the town of Winterset was a wonderful surprise with all the amenities.
Jul 28, 2017
great place to stay
Jul 28, 2017
Awesome place to stay, great staff, very clean facilities, this is our go to spot for central Iowa.
Jul 28, 2017
Glad we splurged on the extra large site! The others were pretty tight. Be aware that there is A $10/person wristband needed per stay for all activities, other than the pool, dunk tank, & pond. Slip'n Slide is only on Sat, so our kids missed that, but we loved our quiet weekday stay anyway. Very clean park, super nice bathrooms, pizza & ice cream were delicious!
Jul 27, 2017
Beautiful clean restrooms and showers. Sites are a little close together, but we were in a one night stay area, so that's okay. Sewers need updating with threaded pcv attachments. Nice, friendly staff.
Jul 27, 2017
So family friendly and the ammentities were great! Had a great first experience as new campers. Will definitely stay at another KOA in the future.
Jul 27, 2017
3rd time there as we have traveled I 80 in both directions. We have shared a site every time and it works for us. If we travel west on I 80 and the time is right we will stay there again.
Jul 26, 2017
It is a very nice campground. It is clean and has a nice pool. I like that you pick up the trash.
Jul 26, 2017
They staff there were super nice! The park was beautifully maintained. Plenty to do for the kids.
Jul 26, 2017
clean and friendly park with great sites. I will return!!
Jul 26, 2017
Clean, large sites, great store
Jul 26, 2017
Nice comfortable place to rest up great for kids
Jul 25, 2017
Jul 25, 2017
Great place. Bathrooms are awesome, pool area is awesome, wonderful employees, cant wait to go back.
Jul 25, 2017
Everything was clean and neat.
Jul 25, 2017
Nice KOA. Good location to shoot out for a run too. staff is super nice. Great place to layover for the night.
Jul 24, 2017
I don't have a reference to compare it to but we were pleased. Mostly pleased that my children didn't break anything. Thank you for the clean cabin.
Jul 24, 2017
Nice campground with all pull through sites which is very convenient when just over-nighting. Staff had error with reservation and did not have a site ready. We had to wait for nearly an hour to resolve. After long day of travel, was a unwelcome end to the day. They did treat us very fairly in resolving.If I stayed here again, I would call to confirm time of arrival to make sure site is ready.
Jul 24, 2017
Wonderful staff and campground. We stayed there again on our way back home!
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
Super - SUPER Friendly staff. Fun activities for the kids. Delicious pizza and buffalo wings. Nice pool with numerous chairs and loungers.
Jul 24, 2017
I told the staff that we would be arriving late. When we arrived, there were no clear instructions on where we were supposed to put up our tent. It didn't look like there were any designated spots, there were already a lot of tents in the area, and the tent area wasn't flat.
Jul 24, 2017
Had a great time! Grand babies enjoyed all the kid friendly amenities. Very clean and friendly folks. Will recommend to family and friends.
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
Staff is very unprofessional- had to listen to an argument over who was going to check us in (3 staff at desk and none of them wanted to). Gravel badly needed filled at our "luxury patio site" so much that it is a tripping hazard. Tried to call main office multiple times and no one will answer the phone. The pool is filthy. Lots of extra cars blocking roadways. Worst KOA we have ever stayed at
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
Great place! Easy in and out, pleasant staff. Like most KOA's way too many dogs.
Jul 24, 2017
I booked a specific campsite that was heavily shaded on Thurs and was told they would make sure nobody was there. I arrived a little after check in time and my spot was given to someone else and there was only 1 spot left. I was able to camp and they gave me a free pizza but I wasn't too happy about not getting the spot I requested at time of my reservation.
Jul 24, 2017
This was our second time staying here and just like the last, we really enjoyed the stay. We highly recommend you stay here!
Jul 24, 2017
Well taken care of property wth a lot of amenities to keep kids busy! My only dislike is that privacy is compromised by have patio areas face each other.
Jul 24, 2017
Our second stay here, and we would stay again. Very clean, comfortable, with a great staff.
Jul 23, 2017
Friendly staff, well kept park.
Jul 23, 2017
grate for overnight stay
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 23, 2017
Nice grounds, outstanding bathrooms, fantastic hosts. Highly recommended.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award