Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 26, 2015
Facilities were clean and well maintained.
May 26, 2015
We had a great time even with the wonderful Iowa weather. Just one thing there are alot of children at this campground and I would suggest perhaps the man with the pony tail may want to slow down when driving the golf cart
May 26, 2015
I love this camp ground it is very clean, the staff is always great and I love all the activities for the kids.
May 25, 2015
This is a nice quiet KOA that we've used in the past, but the bathrooms and showers were out of service, waiting for parts. Staff was very nice.
May 25, 2015
The stay was great! .lots of fun things for kids and small extras like garbage pick up that make it a better stay. how but a recycle pick up for cans and bottles?
May 25, 2015
We tent camped on a site with electricity- fun! We always have a great time at the KOA and my boys never want to leave!
May 25, 2015
Very enjoyable.
May 24, 2015
Great owners, and I'm sure usually it's a great place to stay, grass was nice to set up the tents. Unfortunately, very muddy, and no trees so we were totally exposed to the sun, the other campers, and no privacy. And in a muddy messy because it rained (the car almost got stuck bc there's no real parking spots at the tent sights). Lastly, the sights are REALLY close together, no privacy at all!
May 23, 2015
The staff is amazing and the park is top notch. Will definitely recommend to others. Allready have as a matter of fact
May 23, 2015
Great people very clean with huge sites
May 23, 2015
I really appreciated the friendly and helpful staff!
May 23, 2015
May 22, 2015
love the new patios,however the gravel pads when wet from rain is nasty, Still can't get the white crushed gravel dust out of my step carpets
May 21, 2015
Nice clean and modern restrooms
May 20, 2015
Beautiful
May 20, 2015
Very nice and friendly people. Good pizza delivered to the Rv with a smile.
May 19, 2015
We rented 3 of the one room camping cabins for our girl scout camping trip. Chris and Jamie also allowed us the use of the pavilion for our bridging ceremony and parent pot luck. We had a great time and our Kabins were warm and dry even when a terrific thunderstorm rolled in.
May 19, 2015
the stay was comfortable and the grounds were clean. the staff was friendly and helpful. Nice to see trees and green grass in the site areas! Thanks for a pleasurable stay!
May 18, 2015
Love the Adel KOA. Easy in, easy out. Nice to see so many improvements.
May 18, 2015
May 18, 2015
Very friendly staff. Could not help the noise factor we experienced since it was thunder roaring all night.
May 17, 2015
Right where I needed it to be.
May 16, 2015
May 15, 2015
May 14, 2015
Great spot.Friendly helpful owners. Fantastic showers/bathrooms,upscale tiles
May 14, 2015
We only stayed the night and left early. Quiet and easy in/out.
May 13, 2015
Staff was very friendly and nice. They seems to be in process of some new updates around the campground and the bathrooms were updated. We stayed in their new deluxe camping cabin and it was perfect for our situation. We were in town just for the weekend, but didn't want to pack all the camping equipment since i'm 9 months pregnant and have two preschoolers.The kids enjoyed the weekend activities.
May 13, 2015
Stayed one night and all was good especially pizza
May 12, 2015
May 12, 2015
Enjoyed our stay....Thank you for the Dog Runs...very secure and clean. Love the all pull through feature.
May 12, 2015
Chris & his wife have a great KOA, friendly and very professional. Great park unless there is a lot of rain.
May 12, 2015
This is a nice KOA compared to most that we've stayed at. My only complaint is how muddy my truck and trailer got driving through the park. As usual for KOA (the reason I don't stay at them very often), the price is way too high!
May 11, 2015
We enjoy our stay each and every time we stay at this KOA. We've stayed at numerous KOA's over the years over various states and no one compares to the service and commitment to their customer's satisfaction as do Chris and Jamie.
May 11, 2015
Chris and Jamie are wonderful hosts- it has become a tradition to spend Mother's Day weekend at Des Moines West KOA. And each year we are more impressed by what they have done to improve this campground.
May 11, 2015
We had a girls weekend and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The staff is always so friendly and the accommodations are impeccable! Definitely will be back!
May 11, 2015
We had a great two day stay in a 4 person camping lodge! When we arrived the host was very helpful and pleasant. The lodge was immaculate and welcoming. Our kids made many new friends. They had a blast! They throughly enjoyed the numerous kid friendly activities and the bounce pillow. We plan to return soon!
May 11, 2015
Theirs 4or 5 couples that went to school together and we meet here and have a very good time and we love Zac
May 11, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. Good people and good times! The bathroom facilities are beautiful and our kids enjoyed the jumping pillow.
May 11, 2015
Nice clean and comfortable place to stay,lots for the kids to do. Great family friendly hosts.
May 11, 2015
May 11, 2015
Friendly and helpful staff, truly full hookup, well kept pull-thrus. There were plenty of relevant activities to do for the kids and adults alike. Some areas were under construction so those activities were not available.
May 11, 2015
Our stay very good as usual. They making this campground better and better every time we return. I would recommend a stay here.
May 11, 2015
Excellent campground in every way. Clean, organized, and full of offerings from pet & children playgrounds to site delivered fresh pizza. Mgt and staff are very friendly & accomidating and make you feel welcome & part of the KOA family!
May 11, 2015
Showers and restrooms are new and very well constructed. Nice and quiet setting.
May 09, 2015
GREAT PLACE GREAT STAFF
May 07, 2015
Nice park, nice folks. Enjoyed our one-night stay.
May 07, 2015
Great spaces and the camp host/reception was very friendly and helpful. Love KOA
May 05, 2015
Clean facilities and friendly staff. We enjoyed having access to a pet friendly cabin.
May 04, 2015
Great and welcoming staff - very well maintained - beautiful clean restrooms - a true destination campground
May 03, 2015
Great campground! Well kept, clean. Beautiful restrooms and showers.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.