Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 03, 2016
Warm clean swimming pool with recent new concrete deck. Tent site is flat and thick grass. Comfortable. Also, beautiful lavatory. Newly done.
Aug 03, 2016
Aug 03, 2016
Nice campground, friendly staff, clean pool. Stayed in Deluxe Cabin which was very nice. Cons: (1) No handicap bathrooms/showers in the campground. No grab bars, no wheelchair accessible showers. (2) Family members stayed in rental trailer - very bad experience. Electricity didnt work - notified owners who promised to send repair person. Left 3 days later still not repaired. DONT rent the trailer

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The travel trailer rental unit you rented has been replaced with a brand new Jayco Jay Flight 28BHBE, because the repairs necessary to fix the one you stayed in was more than it was worth, unfortunately.
Aug 02, 2016
Had a great time
Aug 02, 2016
This was a family camping outing and the entire family is trying to pick the next weekend to stay!
Aug 02, 2016
Only a mile point 7 away from highway traffic noise, this place has long, wide spots, games for the kids and a friendly staff. I'll be going back.
Aug 02, 2016
Clean, Neat, and Fun place to stay
Aug 02, 2016
We enjoyed our stay a lot, had lots of activities for the kids. Staff was very helpful and friendly! Very clean facilities. Best KOA in our experience!
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
Great place to go camping with the kids! Will definitely return. Staff was so helpful and polite during our entire stay!
Aug 02, 2016
wonderful clean excellent!
Aug 02, 2016
Excellent facility, great people and services
Aug 02, 2016
Exceptionally welcoming staff, beautifully maintained campground and facilities. Especially nice enclosed dog area. Would definitely stay there again if in the area.
Aug 02, 2016
Deluxe sites are great
Aug 02, 2016
Very nice campground. It's understandable that they have won awards, here. The only negative, which pertains to all of the KOA's where I have stayed, WIFI is pretty useless.
Aug 02, 2016
Very friendly hosts, easy check in, nice pool and store 😃
Aug 01, 2016
Chris and Jamie always make sure their guests have a good time during their stay. We have lived in this area for many years and this is our go to place for a weekend of camping.
Aug 01, 2016
This was our first time at KOA and camping in general. The deluxe cabin was amazing. Our kiddos had a blast!! Great activities for kids and adults. Thank you!!!
Aug 01, 2016
Aug 01, 2016
Our family loves camping at the KOA! Great staff and a very well kept campground. Kids love all the fun activities!
Aug 01, 2016
Christmas in July what a great weekend.We enjoyed our stay as always we camp here alot but wanted to say that Mike is a great person always has a smile and always willing to help you out and no matter how busy it is at check in desk he always has a great attitude and takes the time to answer questions without making you feel like you are holding him up so thank you for having such a great employee
Aug 01, 2016
Aug 01, 2016
Another good stay. Had fun at Christmas in July! Kids had a blast and weather was perfect!
Aug 01, 2016
Wonderful
Aug 01, 2016
Very happy with the activities to keep the kids busy they had a blast
Aug 01, 2016
One night stop over during a motorcycle trip and I was very impressed with how nice this KOA is and the staff is extremely friendly.
Aug 01, 2016
It would have been better if quiet time was enforced. We were very close to a group of young adults partying all night. We tried to ask them to be quiet many times and they were drunk and obnoxious talking inappropriately, while we had a 10 year old with us and were trying to have a family outing.
Aug 01, 2016
Wonderful place with a very progressive staff. Great accommodations.
Aug 01, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
Good basic KOA. We got in late and left early so really can't rate it properly but we had no problems as usual.
Jul 31, 2016
We were pleasantly surprised when we pulled up and saw all the fun activities for children in front on the campgrounds. The kids were thrilled and can't wait to come back. Very clean bathrooms and grounds. The store was well stocked and enjoyed the pizza and ice cream. The friendliness of the staff was amazing. You felt like you were part of theor KOA family. Great experience overall!
Jul 31, 2016
What a beautiful campground. Wish we had gotten in earlier to play on the jumping pad. lots of amenities. we had a bath in cabin so cant comment on the bath facilities. very friendly people.
Jul 31, 2016
This is the BEST KOA we've stayed at!! Facility is well kept, A LOT of activities on site for kids and adults and the owners are very personable! We will definitely stay here again!!
Jul 31, 2016
Nice environment and friendly staff... Would have rated it a 5 except that the terraced sites are not bad but not actually level either.. used blocks under front PS tire to keep from lifting tire off ground...WiFI tries to take everybody into Facebook ... where they then tell crooks and the world that you're there-so your house is empty and prime for breaking into (it happens)- b careful with it.
Jul 31, 2016
This was amazing, I reserved on line that day, received a call within hours outlining after hour check in. It was exactly as described and an very easy process. The place was clean, well maintained and current. Our first ever stay was at the KOA outside the Grand Canyon earlier in the week and we were AMAZED. I am hooked on the quality and affordability of KOA and will be back for sure.
Jul 30, 2016
You have accommodated our reunion exceptionally. We were very pleased with our stay. Thank you so much for making our reunion a success.
Jul 30, 2016
We had a great week! Excellent accomodations. very clean campground.
Jul 30, 2016
Just one negative...did not really like that two sites shared the same grass area at the site we were assigned. No privacy at all, it worked out okay, but still, a little privacy is nice.
Jul 29, 2016
excellent service with a smile ready to adjust to meet our needs. very clean and pleasant thx van dyke reun ion
Jul 29, 2016
It was perfect!
Jul 29, 2016
This KOA is outstanding. We stayed there last year for the first time and made a return trip this year. Felt great to be back!
Jul 29, 2016
10x more than I anticipated. Our cabin was spacious, smelled like a brand new log cabin, and the amenities and fun things on the grounds were out of this world. Awesome place to stay. Will be back for sure.
Jul 29, 2016
It was an amazing time
Jul 28, 2016
Very accommodating hosts in spite of a party that refused to leave the site we reserved, all worked out well! Love the bathrooms and friendly employees as well. You might want to invest in some grab bars for your handicap bathrooms/showers to make it easier for them to use. Thank you for everything!
Jul 28, 2016
We enjoyed our stay. Your coffee place was clean staff was helpful
Jul 28, 2016
Jul 27, 2016
Very Clean, very friendly staff. Would definitely stay there again. Glad you provided air-conditioned cabins for our stay in July!
Jul 27, 2016
We were very pleased with the cleanliness of the entire campground. All the staff was helpful and friendly and loved that you delivered the pizza we ordered. We are already looking forward to staying again. Thank you.
Jul 27, 2016
Awesome activities and amenities for the kids. They had a blast! Deluxe site was beautiful and spacious. Provided a much needed rest day from the road. Definitely will stay again!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award