Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 20, 2015
Wonderful We have stayed here the last 3 years. Love seeing the new changes. Next trip there will be with the grandsons. Thanks for all you do for your guests.
Jul 20, 2015
never answer there phone even for res.
Jul 20, 2015
Could use more help. Took 30 mins to check in and we had reservations with site numbers.
Jul 20, 2015
LOVED the facilities... The store with icecream and fresh made pizza was fabulous. The others should follow your example. Thank you for great time.
Jul 19, 2015
Quick, efficient check-in. Great staff. One of the cleanest and neatest we've seen. Many activities for families - "themed weekends" a great idea. K9 park great. Lake and surrounding grounds fabulous.
Jul 19, 2015
Just stayed one night. Friendly helpful staff. The only complaint I have is that the rate is way overpriced. Almost $50.00???
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
Great new showers. Would like a little more pressure. Pleasant friendly staff!
Jul 18, 2015
Lots of things for kids to do. Loved the pool since it was 100 out most of the week! Very friendly and helpful staff.
Jul 18, 2015
We loved our weeklong stay at the West Des Moines KOA. Near to the fun city and perfect for relaxation and TONS of fun for our 5 year old son.
Jul 18, 2015
10/10, Excellent place to camp.
Jul 18, 2015
Good wyfy, beautiful clean bathrooms. Cable tv and the mattress in the cabin was comfortable. The deck was very nice and the folks there were very nice
Jul 18, 2015
Very clean. Nice service and we enjoyed the made to order pizza from the clubhouse. Good for kids, too.
Jul 17, 2015
Great KOA! Unusual, but very nice layout. Obviously designed and amenitiies provided by RV owners. Regret that this was just a one night stay. Look forward to returning for longer stays in the future.
Jul 16, 2015
Staff great, but we were in the middle section with side by side connections, and the slide outs on the same site, were so far over on our sites, that we had to be careful when we opened truck door. Actually could not open truck door all the way. Probably would not stay here again unless given site not in the middle.
Jul 16, 2015
Staff greeted us warmly and were very helpful. The facilities were neat and clean. Easy access to sites and exiting was also a breeze.
Jul 16, 2015
We had a good time again this visit and we will be back!
Jul 16, 2015
Jul 15, 2015
I like that this campground had a gift shop.
Jul 15, 2015
Every thing was good. We were able to use our satellite tv after we moved out from under to huge tree.
Jul 14, 2015
Great facilities & staff. A tornado warming with a siting of a tornado close by, the staff went around to everyone in the campground to warn them and tell them to take shelter which we did in the main building then moved to a neighboring basement. The concern for the campers was very appreciated. The only negative I can say is that the 30 amp pull thru's were way to close to each other.
Jul 14, 2015
We only stayed one night, but we were very impressed with how well-kept this campground was. We'll definitely consider staying in KOA campgrounds in the future.
Jul 14, 2015
Great park with exceptional shower facilities. The pool is wonderful but the $5 cost for the bounce pillow is a little much. I had 3 kids with me which is why only rated at 4 instead of 5.
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Great. Third year we stayed there. Had 2 new deluxe cabins. On sat 11 grandchildren joined us. What fun in the sun 😀. We will return next year.
Jul 13, 2015
This campground is amazing! We have been here in the past but not since the bathroom remodel and other additions. Everything is always clean, staff is always friendly. We will definitely be back and recommend this to others!
Jul 13, 2015
The staff was great and the campground was satisfactory. Needs work. But we would stay again.
Jul 13, 2015
The campsite was level, the restrooms were spotless, and the staff had all kinds of activities planned for the kids. It was a great little family get away.
Jul 13, 2015
It was a last minute decision to camp and KOA found some room for us. Supplies were there and delivered very nice stay.
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Wonderful! Staff were approachable and accomodating. Grounds were well maintained, pool was clean. Lots for kids to do and those bathrooms were cleaner than some hotels we have been in!. Movies on the big screen plus they made and delivered hot pizza if we ordered it!!!!! Will absolutely put this facility in our list of places to return to!
Jul 13, 2015
Excellent & clean CG! The kid activities were great and the girls running them did a great job! One suggestion is to cap the extra wristband activity fee per family. At $10 per kid and 3 kids, $30 is steep considering we brought their bikes and only wanted to use the giant jumping pillow. Capping at $20 per family should generate more revenue compared to the zero generated as I was not paying $30
Jul 13, 2015
This campground was great. Plenty for a family to do, with many activities. The bathrooms were fantastic and the other facilities were kept up. The actual campsites were close together and your neighbors are really near. This is really the only negative.
Jul 13, 2015
Loved it. Saw fireflies. Nice people. My favorite stay so far.
Jul 12, 2015
One of the nicest KOA's I have been in. Bathrooms were super clean, kabins were nicely landscaped with bushes, and they served up a delicious breakfast pizza.
Jul 12, 2015
pleasant, very clean, and friendly
Jul 12, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
Friendly staff. Clean bathrooms and campsites. Odd location but once you're in, it's good.
Jul 12, 2015
Cramped sites. No trees. This was not the best KOA. They charge extra for things that should be included. Bathrooms and pool are nice though.
Jul 11, 2015
Great week of camping even with the "non" July weather (blankets and coats Iowa odd) we had a blast and great time with the staff and other campers what a great family campground cant wait to camp again. Thank you for the great week
Jul 11, 2015
Overall a pretty good campground, except the streets are gravel and the playground not real nice. Wi-Fi is worthless.
Jul 11, 2015
Jul 11, 2015
great place to stay. easy in and out. nice people operate the site
Jul 11, 2015
We were so impressed that we are going to have a family reunion
Jul 11, 2015
Stopped here on our way back east , glad we did , staff and facilities were amazing, large camping spaces , brand new beautiful showers , nicest we've stopped at , booked online while driving , glad we did , they were sold out , got in around 8 ordered food in there nicely supplied store and they delivered it right to the campsite , pizza and breadsticks were actually pretty good , no complaints!
Jul 11, 2015
Great staff and service with outstanding grounds and facilities, All spaces were pull in and pull out.
Jul 11, 2015
Very nice KOA and well maintained
Jul 10, 2015
Jul 10, 2015
Fabulous!
Jul 10, 2015
Nice campground. We have stayed there many times over the past few years. Summer is a little too crowded for us senior citizens, but it works out for us on our way to the Denver area. Spring and fall probably will be better. Improvements to the campground are very nice. We can tell that you have put much time and money into it. The staff is very friendly and helpful also.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.