Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 15, 2015
We loved it and had a great time!
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
We were very pleasantly surprised with the amenities. It's very much a family oriented campground and someplace I think we'd stay again if in the area. I also want to say that they have the prettiest bathroom facilities I've ever seen at a campground.
Jun 15, 2015
Wonderful activities for the kids. They were busy all day. The nicest campground bathroom/shower house you will ever use.
Jun 15, 2015
Stayed in space#4 - guests have no concern for site privacy. Constant flow of kidz & dog owners cutting thru our site to dog park & playground. This needs better enforcement! Will not stay again.
Jun 15, 2015
very nice,clean and the pool was nice
Jun 15, 2015
great staff!!!
Jun 15, 2015
Great people and nice neat campground
Jun 15, 2015
Nice, happy patrons. Good sites. However, they should not charge extra for use of pool - especially since it wasn't clear on the amenities descriptions.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We've never charged for the heated swimming pool...sorry for the confusion.
Jun 14, 2015
Extremely nice KOA staff, new facilities, amenities, dog park, and playground. Homemade KOA pizza delicious!!!
Jun 14, 2015
Jun 14, 2015
Amazing updates from the last time we stayed. Can't wait to go back!
Jun 13, 2015
Thick bushes overgrown at cabin entrance. They got us and our gear wet when we entered cabin. There was a lot of mud on road. Hard to walk thru mud getting to shower house.
Jun 13, 2015
We had a very nice spot but it rained almost the whole time we were there so we didn't get out much. The only things wrong was that my husband sat on the picnic table bench to rest for a minute, and the whole table started to collapse. I do think that they were in the process of replacing them.
Jun 13, 2015
Great restrooms!
Jun 13, 2015
Very nice place to stay
Jun 12, 2015
We just did NOT have enough time to spend at this campground! We had our two grand children with us and there were SO many activities to keep them busy. The campground is very clean and well run. The office staff couldn't have been more helpful. Although we did not eat there, the pizza smelled delicious and the ice cream would certainly be a treat! We plan to return when we have more time!
Jun 11, 2015
Always love our stays here. Owners and staff go out of their way to make you feel at home and provide a nice, fun, place to stay.
Jun 11, 2015
Jun 11, 2015
Jun 11, 2015
Jun 10, 2015
This was our first KOA stay and it was wonderful! Not far off the interstate, it's quiet and had all the amenities we wanted. We enjoyed our lodge that fit out family of 4 perfectly- large deck with fire pit, propane grill, picnic table and porch swing. The grounds had plenty of attraction for our kids. The bathrooms and laundry were clean and neat. Only frustration was that our stay was too short
Jun 09, 2015
Excellent facilities and very friendly staff. Air conditioning in the shower rooms was great. Pizza and wings were very good. Cabin was very clean. Did not have the grandkids along but they would have enjoyed all there is to do.
Jun 09, 2015
This rating is comparison to a previous nights koa i was at. No fire pits, not a lot of room, showers were a bit dirty.
Jun 08, 2015
Customer service is outstanding! There are many extra activities offered for all age groups. Bathroom & shower house are beautiful!! We will be back!
Jun 08, 2015
Jun 08, 2015
The cabin we stayed in KL14 was amazing!!!!! Just upset when we came the pool wasn't filled and nobody called to let us know it had been emptied. The staff gave us a discount which we really appreciated. All in all It was a great experience and plan on bringing my husband and children for a stay this summer!
Jun 08, 2015
Great place to spend the weekend. We will definitely return.
Jun 08, 2015
Staff was AWESOME!!!! They made it feel like we were just staying in a friend's backyard.
Jun 08, 2015
Nice par. Great staff,
Jun 08, 2015
Very clean & quiet campground. We travel very much and ALWAYS choose KOA for our overnight stays. Safe & comfortable! Takes the guess work out of choosing a place to park!
Jun 08, 2015
We enjoyed our visit verywell every one treat us wonder full
Jun 08, 2015
Sites to close.
Jun 07, 2015
This family has poured their heart and soul into making this a fun, family and pet friendly place to stay. Great atmosphere.
Jun 07, 2015
Good people. We had a good stay, quiet and reasonable room. Dog yards were nice for the dogs.
Jun 07, 2015
Staff are very friendly.
Jun 07, 2015
KOA staff were very polite and helpful. Facilities were clean but septic system was slow.
Jun 07, 2015
I was impressed that the room didn't t smell bad, we had dogs and the hotel was dog friendly. We enjoyed the continental breakfast. Plan on staying there again on the way back home in a month.
Jun 06, 2015
Tremendous place -- quiet, well maintained, large lots. The dog run is the BEST EVER, and the trails around the fishing pond have lots of critters for the dogs to get excited about. Love this place!
Jun 05, 2015
Pleesant hosts. Nice facility
Jun 04, 2015
Very nice KOA. It isn't near anything loud and the accommodations are great. A lot of stuff for families with kids.
Jun 04, 2015
Jun 04, 2015
Jun 04, 2015
Very nice
Jun 04, 2015
This was a good campground the staff was friendly and helpful. Would return to this place again.
Jun 04, 2015
Campground was clean and offered nice recreational options, most of which we could not use. For us, the cost was too high.
Jun 04, 2015
nice campground-just watch the entry-we had to pay 4 $250. because we ran into the gutter of their building which according to them happens "a lot"!!My husband could have probably fixed for $10. Oh well, they need a warning sign.
Jun 03, 2015
The staff was nice. I don't understand why it's so difficult for KOAs to put clients in areas that are not muddy. I hate to have to continually ask for a better spot.
Jun 03, 2015
Great stay. Only wifi was not the best.
Jun 03, 2015
excellent wonderful staff. good fishing. would stay again.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.