Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 14, 2017
We had a full hookup 50 amp site reserved/prepaid $57. The check-in attendant put us on a 30 amp site extreme close to neighbors who had not picked up 6 large dog poop piles around the entrance to our front door/along the passenger slides. This was an event weekend, and clearly the camping masses had never been "coached" on camping etiquette! After request, we moved to 50 amp. Overpriced KOA.
Aug 14, 2017
Very nice Clean and always a Great stay at another KOA
Aug 14, 2017
would have been good except for the golf carts running around . it seems like someone came in that was friends of one of your long term guest . they were running around visting with them and cutting through the empty camp site next to us very annoying your camp ground is not so big that a golf cart is needed. maybe after you get done with your expansion it will be.
Aug 13, 2017
Friendly staff, clean
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Very impressed from the Get-Go. Staff warm and friendly, we were escorted to our site and were blown away with a large gas grill and a charcoal grill on site with patio furniture!! We don't see that very often in a Campground. Lots of activities for kids. Very well run.
Aug 13, 2017
we took two of our grand kids great time
Aug 13, 2017
Very nice facility. I was disappointed that I had to pay more when I arrived. I'm not sure I'll reserve there again if the rate charged will change before I arrive.
Aug 13, 2017
Construction going on left limited space for tent camping. The site we were assigned wasn't very level. The camp store closed early leaving us unable to get needed supplies and had to run into town.
Aug 13, 2017
Friendly staff
Aug 12, 2017
Great park Friendly employees ð
Aug 12, 2017
We really liked the layout & the big spaces. This koa offered a lot of family friendly activities however everything cost extra. We paid the same rate as Newton koa and their jump pad & activities were all part of the price. It was very difficult for our kids to see all of these fun activities but not able to enjoy them. Wish we would have been informed prior to our stay.
Aug 12, 2017
Absolutely amazing showers! Beautifully decorated and extremely clean. Thank you!
Aug 12, 2017
We spent our 2nd time there this summer. We were impressed with the employees. They are very friendly and accommodating . We will definetely be back.
Aug 12, 2017
Nice clean very kid friendly
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
Very nice experience. The cabin was beautiful.
Aug 11, 2017
A tidy little cabin and quiet campground. It seemed to have lots of activities for kids and we saw lots of happy people. A lovely stay
Aug 11, 2017
Loved this place , everyone was friendly, the food delivered when I called the office. Definitely will stay their again.
Aug 11, 2017
It's been 10 years since our last stay there. It was nice then but it has been much improved. We were very impressed. Will no doubt stop again.
Aug 11, 2017
We stayed in a cabin that was nice but needed a cleaning you could see the floors weren't moped for a long time and there was some loose trash around the campground.
Aug 10, 2017
Good place to staff. Nice campground and good staff.
Aug 10, 2017
Nice campground. Everything worked well. Liked having someone taking you to the site.
Aug 10, 2017
Woke up by neighbors because sites are too close together. Only stayed one night. Gravel sites. No railroad or highway noise,as we have experienced I'm some KOAs.
Aug 10, 2017
Last visit before current visit was about 10 years ago. The improvements made to the facility during that time were "unbelievably" surprising and pleasant. All future trips west from our home in Northern Virginia to Utah/Colorado will now be planned around a stop at Des Moines West KOA. Congratulations on a very fine facility.
Aug 10, 2017
a very nice and modern campground with clean facilities, WIFI was fast and stable, noise from interstate or other traffic was minimal, pizza-shack located at the grounds was reasonably priced In Summary: nearly perfect campground!
Aug 10, 2017
Pool could be bigger and a hot tub would be nice. Especially in the mid-west where it can be cold and a hot tub is a soothing soak. Facilities, especially the rest rooms were exceptionally clean.
Aug 09, 2017
Very dusty and the campsite behind us looked like red necks lived there and the guy had wood piled up and he keep throwing logs on it just to watch it smoke. I'm allergic to smoke and when we left I smelled like smoke.
Aug 09, 2017
Very well set-up. Excellent entrance u& exitl
Aug 09, 2017
Great site. Helpful staff, especially the young man from Chicago! Iowa is really far from my home in NY but if I do come to Iowa ever again I would be happy to camp with you
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Enjoyed it very much. Lot of things to do, if you so desire. Clean and spacious sites. Staff very friendly. One of the top KOA's that we have stayed at.
Aug 09, 2017
"These restrooms are better than most hotel restrooms!" -comment from another camper that I totally agree with :) Nice clean cabin & bathrooms. Pool was the perfect temperature. Friendly staff.
Aug 09, 2017
Excellent location and very nice staff. Kids loved all the activities and the spots were clean and spacious.
Aug 09, 2017
Wonderful stay!! Only thing to change Tis gap under gates of dog park too big for my little dog who escaped other than that thank y'all so much we enjoyed.
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
We love this campground. Every time we are heading home to Wisconsin from "out West", we stop at this KOA! The pool is great, love the pizza, and all the sites are clean/comfortable. The people here are nice and our kids have so much fun. We actually look forward to going home so that we can stay here!!!!
Aug 09, 2017
We only stay with you once a year on our way back from Colorado. We did notice such nice improvements this year!! There is so much for families to do, improved campsites, and very friendly employees. The young man who gave me a ride to our campsite was sooooo nice! h, and thanks for picking up garbage. Very dog friendly too. Kathy
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Excellent location and friendly helpful staff. Clean restrooms
Aug 08, 2017
Liked the campground, was not treated well at check in. One man started the check in then dropped it to go do something else. He told a girl working there to finish my check in without telling her where we were in the process. Made a mess of the whole process. The girl did good despite his dumping it on her.
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
Great place for the kids!
Aug 07, 2017
We absolutely loved it, the staff, environment, cleanliness, and most of all the activities for the kiddos. Thank you so much we will be back!!
Aug 07, 2017
Great family time. Pool is amazing as is the bouncing pillow. Kids' activities are really nice. Love the new swing set/climbing playset.
Aug 07, 2017
The best KOA we have stayed at. So many activities for the kids. So many things to do in a very clean kept up campground. Many improvements since last year when we were there. Highly recommend especially to campers with kids
Aug 07, 2017
There was construction underway over by the tent sites, but it didn't seem to be any inconvenience. The staff were very helpful and attentive in the disruption and all the campers seemed to have great attitudes as a result.
Aug 07, 2017
Nice place that is expanding to accommodate more guests. Tons of activities for the kids. Chris and Jamie and the staff are awesome!!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award