Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 14, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Fun
Aug 12, 2014
Cabins were nice. The bathrooms need an update. The bathrooms were less than average.
Aug 12, 2014
easily accessible off US 80...we stayed in a regular cabin that was comfortable and quiet...staff was very pleasant and helpful....
Aug 12, 2014
Excellent facilities/property and very friendly staff. We have stayed at this location before and will do so again. The only amenity I would like to see added is cable TV. The available over the airway channels from Des Moines is minimal at best.
Aug 12, 2014
Great Wings
Aug 12, 2014
Nice people, hot showers and dish washing sink. Important for renters! We liked that there were so many tent sites available
Aug 12, 2014
Great fun for the grand kids and very helpful staff!! We really enjoyed it!!
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Sites were in good condition and working order. Pizza could be ordered and was a great idea.
Aug 11, 2014
We very much enjoyed our stay at the camp ground. The sites are clean and the staff was very kind and helpful. The store had every little thing that a camper might need for their stay which was also nice. If traveling to or through Iowa again, would easily stay there again.
Aug 11, 2014
It was ok just not enough 50 amps we were there for a reunion an stay to visit Iowa state fair we have a large 5th wheel which needs 50 amps for a stay more than a weekend
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Friendly and helpful staff. Clean site and restrooms. Easy pull through sites with some trees for shade. I would go back.
Aug 10, 2014
Service was excellent. The owner showed us to our site and even took our pizza order! The pizza was good too. Nice location about a mile off the road, so no road noise. Very family oriented KOA. Recommended.
Aug 10, 2014
Very friendly staff. Clean restrooms.
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Friendly people, the campground was full but well run and plenty of room. Will stay here again!
Aug 10, 2014
Just one night. We were very comfortable though. Thanks!
Aug 10, 2014
We only stayed one night on our way home to Kentucky from South Dakota It had rained and we had to drive through mud and the sewer pool was stinking so bad we could not set outside.
Aug 09, 2014
This KOA has the friendly works of all the camp grounds I have been to. The park is alway clean and neat. We like the idea that you could order a pizza and or chicken wings are they would deliver to your site. This park is a family friendly park , a lot of attivity . We had a great time.
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Only stayed over night. Rained the whole time. Did not tour the park or area. Staff was friendly, met our needs. I would stay their again.
Aug 09, 2014
Great people and great service
Aug 08, 2014
Facilities were great, most staff was very accommodating. Some of our family reunion group were frustrated that we were not all able to be together as a group since we had reservations since March. It was also frustrating that on top of the high price we payed to stay there each night, we also had to pay an additional rental for bikes and to jump on the inflated pillow. Otherwise, all great!
Aug 08, 2014
We were rained out our first night because our tent failed us. These people were very understanding and refunded the three nights we were planning on staying but could not because of the weather.
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Everyone was so very nice and helpful and most of all friendly! If we come back to Iowa we will stay here again! My daughter loved the pillow!
Aug 06, 2014
Lot of great improvements for families. Campground is well groomed.
Aug 06, 2014
Great KOA. Well thought out. Easy in & out. Very nice people at your counters.
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
Campground was full but we were given a 15 electric tent site. The staff was very helpful in getting us set up. Thank you for a good night's rest.
Aug 05, 2014
Nice park, Nice Staff. Would stay there again... :)
Aug 04, 2014
Hosts were very accommodating. Great stay & I'm sure we will be back again & I've already recommended this KOA Des Moines West to friends.
Aug 04, 2014
Overall a great campground, lots of activities. There are only 2 negative things to mention: 1) permanent local campers seem to believe rules do not apply to them ( IE: quiet time) Because they are such a large group and are there every weekend, they do not realizing there are travelers wanting a good night sleep. With a pop up camper or camper with tent end bunks, the sounds of voices and music
Aug 04, 2014
Very busy weekend. Bathrooms quite nasty. Very hard to get aroung campground with stroller or wheelchair because of the large gravel rocks, would be great if they paved the place. Paying for kids to jump on pillow seems not good and is very expensive compared to other KOAs that don't charge for it. Planned kids activities: poor, girl on phone whole time no interact w/ kids & didn't have supplies.
Aug 04, 2014
Staff was friendly. Grounds and facilities were clean and well cared for. Very happy with our stay.
Aug 04, 2014
I was very upset when we arrived. All the amenities that we had booked for (pillow, gem sluice) were additional charges. The pool was gross, paint rubbed off and bare concrete showing with the sides and deck all cracked. The garbage dumpsters were right in front and overflowing for the two days we were there, smelled horrible! Fishing pond is part of wastewater treatment lagoons! TERRIBLE!
Aug 04, 2014
Wanted to try the pool, but the hours. It was closed by 9 pm. When we had chance to use pool it was too busy full of kids. We did like that we could come late and had key waiting for our cabin. Wish beds were larger. Full size too small.
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
Wonderful experience. Camp hosts were great, we wanted to book another night but the campground was booked solid, the camp hosts said that even after check out we were more than welcome to stay and use the pool and other facilities. Also, sleeping cabins were very clean, kids loved jumping pillow and gem sluicing.
Aug 03, 2014
the campground was full and they made room for our pop-up in their tent area. thank you
Aug 02, 2014
Cabin was very clean and new looking. Campground was quiet and far enough from the 80 to not hear the traffic. Needed better wifi. Even Email was difficult and slow and unreliable.
Aug 02, 2014
Wifi could be better, more toilets, and showers, paper towels so I can clean up after myself.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.