Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 20, 2016
nice clean and quiet staff very frendly
Aug 20, 2016
Aug 20, 2016
Great campground
Aug 20, 2016
Nice campground..we stayed in a fifth wheel... sites are a little close....good pizza.
Aug 19, 2016
Sites too close together, not enough bathrooms or showers, need to pay for kids activities!
Aug 18, 2016
Staff was super friendly. You can tell they enjoy working there. It is been being update and beautiful facilities.
Aug 18, 2016
Close to my destination and nice country location (away from noise & traffic). Does need larger laundry facilities.
Aug 18, 2016
Aug 18, 2016
Very accommodating. We enjoyed our stay there.
Aug 18, 2016
We had a blast! I appreciate so much the super friendly staff and all of the activities offered to the kids!!! Highly recommended!!!
Aug 18, 2016
It was very clean and well run. Grass between the sites was very nice and lots of stuff for the kids to do.
Aug 17, 2016
extremely friendly staff, clean, quiet.
Aug 17, 2016
This was our second year staying at KOA with the grandkids and they had a blast! The only thing we would suggest is updating some of the picnic tables. Other than that, it was awesome!
Aug 17, 2016
Love the Piazza delivered to the R V
Aug 16, 2016
The staff was friendly, they had lots of fun events around the campground. I was especially impressed with the cabin and how clean it was.
Aug 16, 2016
Our favorite campground of our road trip from NC to WY and back! Best KOA bathrooms ever! Very quiet for tent camping! Great play area for children! RV sites are close together. Not far from Winterset which is the cutest town we visited.
Aug 16, 2016
This is an exceptionally nice KOA and a great place for a family with children. We are a retired couple but it was nice to see so many families enjoying themselves.
Aug 16, 2016
Friendly and helpful staff, nice clean cabin, fun activities for the kids
Aug 15, 2016
This was our 2nd stay and we love it.There will definitely be many more stays to come.
Aug 15, 2016
Very nice campground. I would like to see another comfort station. The campground was full, and 2 stalls isnt enough. I would still go back.
Aug 15, 2016
It was awesome!
Aug 15, 2016
Nothing negative! Great pool which is where I spent most of my time!
Aug 15, 2016
Check in is too slow. Price for kids wristband is too high. Our site was nice and the staff was friendly enough. The cable tv was analog.
Aug 15, 2016
They have one of the best bath houses of any KOA we have stayed in! The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
Enjoyed our stay. Lots of things for the kids to do!! Very friendly and helpful staff.
Aug 15, 2016
Had a fantastic weekend at this KOA. Entire staff was friendly and helpful. There were so many activities and amenities available.
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
Wonderful, staff was very friendly all that activities kept our kids very busy. It was a great place to stay. We will be back.
Aug 15, 2016
Aug 15, 2016
This was our first time staying at a KOA. We loved all the activities that were available. They kept the kids busy. There was 2 things we had issues with 1) the activity schedule. Our kids wanted to do the slip and slide and went over 10 min after it was supposed to start and it was done. 2) there was no shade in our north tent spot but we requested the south one next time which has lots of trees
Aug 15, 2016
AWESOME!I was amazed to see how much there was to do and the improvements since our last stay ~3yrs ago. Kudos to the owners. My kids loved the pool, paddle boat, slip n slide, dunk tank and many other activities that were offered. The bathrooms are updated and clean; only suggestion is outhouse on south side camping grounds.We will be back!
Aug 15, 2016
loved all the activities for the kids!
Aug 15, 2016
Surprised how many family activities this KOA has. I stayed alone passing through but next time I will bring the whole family. Beats a hotel any day!
Aug 14, 2016
Aug 14, 2016
Easy in, easy out, clean restrooms.
Aug 14, 2016
By far the nicest folks running a KOA that we came across on our cross country trip. Beautiful facilities and pool was well maintained.
Aug 14, 2016
Aug 14, 2016
Very nice location
Aug 14, 2016
Great campground. We called last minute and they got us in a delux site. Best cable hook up we had on our 10 day trip. Friendly staff.
Aug 14, 2016
En fait le camping etait bien par contre nous devons partager le fire ring. Alors cetait un peut bizzard car une tente etait deja installer et nous sommes arriver et preparer le feu et quand les gens sont revenu ils etaient mecontent. Peut etre prendre moins de clients afin que chacun aie leur emplacement
Aug 14, 2016
Was awesome great camp Staff was very friendly. Couldn't ask for any better Keep camp this great See u again soon
Aug 13, 2016
This was a perfect solution to a night before the fair. The only issues were the fan did not work in the bedroom and when the fuse was tripped, it proved too difficult to find the box to remedy the situation. We arrived late and left early so we did not have time to inquire.
Aug 13, 2016
Very clean, quiet, and friendly campground! Campground was full because of the Iowa state fair but staff was great!
Aug 13, 2016
Aug 12, 2016
Excellent KOA, we stayed in 12 KOA's on our cross country and back journey and this was one of the top 2. West Glacier was probably #1 only because of natural beauty. Escorted to site, plenty of things for the kids to do while I rested for next days journey. Kids favorite!
Aug 12, 2016
Aug 12, 2016
Amenities were excellent. there were a few activities for the children. Big complaint is with size of site. With neighboring campers with sideouts and canopy felt very uncomfortably close. i Believe that the KOA website for registering should be updated to verify that the camper is able to fit in the site
Aug 12, 2016
The kids liked the jumping pillow and the basketball/trampoline game, and that it had a fire ring. We did not like the lack of trees and the close proximity of the other campers.
Aug 12, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay at the Des Moines West, IA, KOA. We were led to our site, our site had a wonderful cement pad with swing, and a nice fire pit. The bathrooms were clean, modern and air conditioned. There was a nice area space to walk our dog. Although we didn't have children with us, there appears to be several things that they would enjoy doing.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award