Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 28, 2016
We had a mini- vacation with our grandchildren from ages 2 &13. Lovely patio site was a nice surprise! The kids loved the pool, jumping pad, and ice cream!
Jun 28, 2016
Love the activities for the kids, we had grandkids with us and they loved it! Nice clean campground! We will return.
Jun 28, 2016
Jun 28, 2016
A very clean well maintained campground. With the exception of one gal working behind the desk, the hosts were very friendly.
Jun 28, 2016
They were having a very busy night, but they were doing their best to accommodate the crowds and keep everything running smoothly. The tent sites are very small and the restroom is a long walk, but the public facilities are very nice and this would be an excellent park to bring kids to, because there is so much fun stuff to do. We really enjoyed the pool. The staff was very nice to us.
Jun 28, 2016
Very friendly staff. A nice place to rest after a full day of travel.
Jun 28, 2016
Very friendly staff, nice sites with grass, and fun atmosphere for the kids!
Jun 27, 2016
Great staff!
Jun 27, 2016
Top notch campground with top notch owners!
Jun 27, 2016
Bathrooms are a bit too far away, but the whole campground and facilities are nice, kept up, family friendly, and the people are Iowa nice.
Jun 27, 2016
Very nice campground. Loved having pizza delivered to our RV door! Just wish it had more trees.
Jun 27, 2016
camped for my daughter 10th bday this weekend...they loved all of the activities.
Jun 27, 2016
Thanks for friendly atmosphere and various times of day trash pick up. Had a great time
Jun 27, 2016
We had a great time. Lots for kids and families to do. Very friendly staff!! We will be back:-)
Jun 27, 2016
We drove in to this campground believing we had a reservation. It turned out that we didn't have a reservation, I had made it at Newton KOA in error. Luckily, there was one cancellation and they gave us the site. We only spent the night so I really cannot comment much I the campground. I can say the bathrooms at the main building were the BEST KOA bathrooms I have ever seen!
Jun 27, 2016
Jun 27, 2016
Great friendly staff, nice gift shop and beautiful neat lots. Whole park is very pretty.
Jun 27, 2016
Lovely big grassy area for tents. The lightening bugs in the corn field next door were a fortuitous plus! Helpful, friendly staff.
Jun 26, 2016
Good level pull throughs. Modern and well maintained facilities. The pool was pretty small and the lounge chairs had broken slats. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The sites were very large for a KOA.
Jun 25, 2016
Clean bathrooms otherwise not much. We didn't even stay for our 2nd night - lost the money, but didn't care
Jun 25, 2016
The park was very clean, and the lots very level. There were no trees or shade. The people were very friendly and helpful. The cable did not work.
Jun 25, 2016
Nice quiet close to The Bridges of Madison County!
Jun 25, 2016
We were on the road 13 hours and needed to sleep. We arrived called and we arrived about 9:00 p.m. Very friendly staff and the grounds were kept up. We did not use any of your facilities, just slept and gone again at 7:00 a.m. Thank you!
Jun 25, 2016
Enjoyed the pond area.
Jun 24, 2016
Clean, quiet and easy to get to.
Jun 24, 2016
Jun 24, 2016
I liked all the upgrades the new owners have done!! We will stay again.
Jun 23, 2016
Jun 23, 2016
The park itself was quite nice, but the rate was $10 more than the rate published on the website. And the staff at this KOA was not very friendly.
Jun 22, 2016
Jun 22, 2016
For us this location is ideal to stop at while traveling between Vermont and Colorado. And it is just far enough from the highway and is clean and friendly. We'll see you again!
Jun 22, 2016
I rented one of the newer cabins that sleeps 4. It was laid out very well and CLEAN. The public bathrooms and shower were extremely nice. Also very clean and up to date.
Jun 22, 2016
The staff were fantastic! Very helpful and kind. The tent sites were extremely small and had little to no room for parking. Luckily, no one camped next to us so we could use that spot. A few more trees would be great!!
Jun 21, 2016
Jun 21, 2016
Everything was clean. Workers very accommodating
Jun 21, 2016
Rude staff, small sites and litter on site.
Jun 20, 2016
Fabulous! It was quiet the scenery was beautiful around the campground and there seem to be so much for kids to do.
Jun 20, 2016
Fantastic!!! Love all the group planned activities. So much for the kids to do!
Jun 20, 2016
Jun 20, 2016
very clean lots of stuff for kids to do plenty of dogs
Jun 20, 2016
We enjoyed our stay so much, we extended it a day. The cabin was clean, staff was awesome. Cleanest restrooms I have ever seen. I will be back next year.
Jun 20, 2016
Jun 20, 2016
Our stay was great. Very clean, many activities, very friendly and helpful service. Would definitely stay again.
Jun 20, 2016
Great activities for kids.
Jun 20, 2016
Our family had a great time during our visit last weekend. Cabin was clean and comfortable, Restroom facilities were the best we've seen, and lots of fun activities for both of our boys aged 4 and 14! We will definitely be back.
Jun 20, 2016
We've stayed here several times. We live over 100 miles from it so we use it as a layover rather than as a destination. They provide a several attractive activities for the family. Service is always prompt and courteous. My only minor complaint is that site #60 has the sewer connection well above the level of the drain outlet of our trailer. This is an excellent KOA and we'll be back.
Jun 20, 2016
I was not given a picnic table and the 10pm quiet time rule was not enforced. Other than that...wonderful experience. I was very impressed with your remodeled men's room!
Jun 20, 2016
the dragging of the rock on a daily basis didn't do much. I would suggest calcium salts to control the dust.
Jun 20, 2016
Jun 20, 2016
Beautiful campground with large sites. Everyone was so helpful and kind after our long day of travelling.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award