Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 04, 2014
Great staff and many fun activities. We will be returning for our next annual family campout!
Sep 04, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
Had a great weekend. Swimming, bouncing pillow, fishing, 4wheel cars, Campfires & Smores.
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
The staff is amazing! I've campted there two times this year: once in a cabin and the other time in a tent. Both times, the staff was so friendly and helpful. That's what it's all about. Keep up the great work and we'll see you even more next year! Also, pool and bathrooms were very clean. Kids had a blast and had fun fishing too.
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Nice large lots
Sep 02, 2014
nice place, not much shade. Pool needs work, very rough on your feet.
Sep 02, 2014
This is by far the best KOA I have stayed at. The number of activities kept my family entertained and to have something for all is wonderful. My son loved the bounce pillow and gem mining the best.
Sep 02, 2014
Wifi. Most of the time it was impossible to load up. Frustrating. The Water Treatment pond at end of sites emitted less than pleasant smells. Why were many of the 30 amp sites back to back? Who wants only 1 ft (yes, 1 foot) between their camper and someone else's camper when once picks the better than average KOA campgrounds? Other than that, good. Good hosts. Good activities. Well kept.
Sep 02, 2014
Arrived late in motor home, after hours. Weloome package was prepared and ready for our arrival since we reserved on-line. Very nice park, professionally managed.
Sep 02, 2014
It was great and plan to bring the whole family next year instead of going to a BIG name park for our family get together.
Sep 02, 2014
We had a great stay. Very help staff, a clean campground. Very clean bathrooms and showers. Will very likely have a return visit. Lots of things for the kids and everyone else to do.
Sep 02, 2014
Well-run campground, great spot for families with children, great activities for families.
Sep 01, 2014
A very good campground with a focus on family destination camping....Nicely laid out sites except for those back to back ones where the poor campers unlucky enough to get on them suffers compromised privacy.
Sep 01, 2014
Best accomidating KOA I have yet to stay at.
Sep 01, 2014
Packed for Labor Day weekend. Our dump connection was not visible when we arrived - a recent storm had covered it in mud; a campground attendant dug it out when notified. Pool appeared to be dirty (i.e., pool tiles needed scrubbing) when we drove by, so we never investigated - but a lot of people were in it, so it must not have been too bad.
Aug 31, 2014
Aug 31, 2014
Aug 31, 2014
Aug 31, 2014
site was wet and muddy and dirty with last campers refuse - there had been much rain but the back sites are next to a sewage lagoon and don't look like they ever dry out - the front sites were much nicer - our site was so gross we tried to go outside as little as possible - every time we took the dogs out the door we slipped in mud

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We had so much rain before you arrived. I'm sorry for the inconvenience. It was fixed the next day. Thanks for the feedback.
Aug 30, 2014
The welcome was warm and friendly, the camp was very nice, and no one is responsible for all the rain we had at bight! We would definitely stay there again.
Aug 30, 2014
Great two day stay. Clean facilities and camp. Great Dog Park/Run; two areas within one to run our dog. KOA people very friendly. Recommend this KOA.
Aug 29, 2014
My wife and I prefer to stay in KOA's as we travel because they are usually close to the Interstate Highway, upscale accommodations, wifi and cable hookups (we don't have to deploy anything), and friendly managers. The Des Moines KOA was no exception. It was a very nice campground and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We would stay again when traveling through the area.
Aug 29, 2014
Aug 28, 2014
Very nice as always
Aug 28, 2014
This was our 2nd time at Des Moines West KOA - just as good as 1st. Very friendly, helpful staff who allowed us a different space than the one they had selected for us so we would have southern sky for our satellite tv. Laundry room clean; Our dog Bailee loved the big, grassy K-9 Camp - best dog park we have ever seen at any KOA or other RV Park. Thanks for a great stay!
Aug 28, 2014
A bit of the Interstate but easy to find.
Aug 28, 2014
Aug 28, 2014
Aug 28, 2014
Very clean
Aug 26, 2014
The campground was okay, campground and cabin was clean. Enjoyed the kids activities. The pool needs to be redone, it was dirty, hand railing loose, to deep for kids and needs to be resurfaced.
Aug 26, 2014
Great place nice and quiet.Good customer service, but price seemed a bit high to us!
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
great people, great campground, easy access from I80. We stay in a camping cabin a couple of times a year and it is always clean
Aug 25, 2014
Awesome place awesome staff
Aug 25, 2014
The cabin was very nice. It would be better if you didn't have to pack all your bedding and kitchenware on top of everything else. The pool was nice but needs to be renovated...the surface was very rough and tore our feet up. Playground equipment was for older children. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Aug 25, 2014
Nice campground and surroundings. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean bathroom and facilities. Location is not too far from the street, which in one hand good, on the other it was too noisy for sleeping in a tent and hearing highway traffic noise,
Aug 25, 2014
We'll kept campground with wonderful hosts.
Aug 25, 2014
Nice quiet park. Lots of new upgrades/changes. My kids loved all of the activities that were offered. We look forward to staying again!
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Kids enjoyed all the activities this weekend and staff.
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 24, 2014
Aug 24, 2014
Great staff. Sites really close together. It rained and was pretty muddy outside the door. Clean restrooms.
Aug 24, 2014
Interior roads are too narrow. The serpentine exit route is challenging especially with all the cars and golf carts parked everywhere. Make sure that Big Rigs are parked on a Big Rig site.
Aug 23, 2014
Awesome park...fantastic activities for families, nice big & wide level sites, extremely well kept, always adding new amenities...perfect for our month long stay.
Aug 23, 2014
Wonderful stay. Staff friendly and helpful. Please be sure and ask staff about the Rusty Duck

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.