Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 04, 2015
We tented and the site was smooth and lots of grass. No rocks/mud.
Aug 03, 2015
Enjoyed our two night stay immensely! Only complaint is the shower ran either freezing cold or boiling hot! Nothing in between.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
The owners and workers at this KOA are super people. They were very helpful and quick to act if there was something that needed attention....a great place to stay!
Aug 03, 2015
We loved the owners!! The restrooms were amazing and the campground was very clean.
Aug 03, 2015
We requested two spots that we could park awning-to-awning, and we were accommodated nicely. There was much to do with the grandkids (aged 4, 3, 2 and 1)..they especially liked the bouncy area and the pool. I do wish there was more room for those campers who are actually staying for the amenities as opposed to those who are just stopping for the night. They aren't outside and using the fire pit
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Very friendly and efficient check-in process even though they were very busy. Easy in and easy out. The campground is only a mile and a half from the interstate highway so it's easy to get to but it's far enough that you don't hear any road noise.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
We love the showers. The store is really nice. Camping was great and the the pizza deliver to our camp. The pizza was very good. Enjoyed the Chinese lanterns.
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
great facility very nice park helpful and friendly host will stay here the next time we are in the area
Aug 01, 2015
Aug 01, 2015
the staff at koa was great and also helpful thank you koa
Aug 01, 2015
You guys are doing a great job.
Aug 01, 2015
Very friendly staff & there were many activities for our grandchildren to choose from. The convenience store had many things to choose from for our possible needs.
Aug 01, 2015
I came in late so it was nice to find the lights on and the air on. Thank you.
Aug 01, 2015
Only comment would be that some of the sites are smaller and campers looked packed together.
Aug 01, 2015
Very nice and clean campground . People very friendly and helpful .
Aug 01, 2015
The two woman working there were great, we got pizza and chicken it was delivered quick and hot and was very good. Everything was clean and welcoming...just thought having to pay extra for the bouncy was a bit much.
Jul 31, 2015
Wonderful park. Staff very friendly and helpful. WiFi a bit iffy at times.
Jul 31, 2015
The employees were great. The location was very quiet and easy to get to and back to interstate. Site was very level and clean and the restrooms were well maintained. I would use this as a sleep stop on my way to other destinations in the future.
Jul 31, 2015
Very nice enjoyed our stay.
Jul 31, 2015
Best KOA campground we have stayed in and as KOA VIPs, we've stayed in plenty. Kid and pet friendly, organized activities and themes for kids, serene fishing pond, spacious sites, wonderful staff, manicured and well maintained park environment. Even makes & delivers delicious pizzas!
Jul 31, 2015
We stayed in the new lakeside cabin. We felt welcome and comfortable, and thankful for the additional touches of home! Dish towels, soaps, and laundry soap were appreciated! We had a lovely pizza, which made our stay even easier. We were thankfull for friendly and helpful staff!
Jul 31, 2015
Helpful staff,food service was a nice addition, clean grounds, peaceful.
Jul 31, 2015
Jul 31, 2015
Pros: This KOA is very nice. Clean washrooms. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Cons: Had to swim around the leaves in the pool. The WiFi which I asked about is less than marginal. We weren't told about this when I booked the site. I depend on it for things I need to take care of for my storage business. Apparently there is no quiet time as it can be very noisy after hours.
Jul 31, 2015
The kids were so excited for all the fun activities. I was impressed how clean and well kept the property looked.
Jul 30, 2015
We stayed in one of the cabins and will be re-booking soon!
Jul 30, 2015
Great shady tent sites away from highway noise
Jul 30, 2015
Okay Nothing exceptional
Jul 29, 2015
We stayed four nights during our last stay in July 2015. We stayed here previously for two nights. The staff are friendly, the campground is well supervised, the bathrooms are modern and clean, and the area is very quiet with no planes, trains, or highway noises. Our teenages enjoyed the pool and the bouncing pillow. We prefer to stay here when in the Des Moines area.
Jul 29, 2015
Should be called - Limited Free Wifi. You were asked not to use Netflix, ect. This was an issue for us. Bouncing pillow was great for my son.
Jul 29, 2015
This place was unexpectedly amazing. From the 5 star bathrooms, pool, and convenience store. My only complaint is that the tent camping doesn't have a separate area and the fire pits did not have grill tops, but other than that this place is amazing!
Jul 28, 2015
We had a great stay. We really liked the improvements they have made over the past year! It really makes paying so much for a campsite worth it. We would like the jump pillow to be just part of the rate instead of having to purchase even more when we arrive.
Jul 28, 2015
Very nice people and loved the pizza.
Jul 28, 2015
We stayed in one of the new Camping Cabins and it was beautiful! Great facility and the convenience of pizza ordering and delivery ON SITE! Kids had a blast panning for gold!
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
need more shade trees
Jul 27, 2015
Very nice campground with lots of family activities especially for kids. There are plenty of theme weekends throughout the season--ours was Christmas in July which was fun to observe. Also a nice local wine tasting was a fun experience. A heavy rain in the middle of the night did not seem to affect the area the next morning--drainage must be excellent. It is a bit far from the metro area but quiet
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Not only was there adequate staff, but they were a bunch of great people! The facility was clean and modern. We will be returning with the Grandkids next time because of the many things for them to enjoy as well. Did I mention the staff!!!! Thanks for a great stay. Jim
Jul 27, 2015
Nice campground, great hosts. Could have more frequent trash pickup. Thanks!!!
Jul 26, 2015
I just stayed one night on my way out to Sturgis but it was very pleasant and I will stay there again at every opportunity I have.
Jul 26, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.