Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
A great place to stay. I don't think there could be a better KOA
Jul 06, 2015
Wow! Cleanest ever. Nicest wide grass space I've seen in a pull thru spot. Lots of kid activities. Even at peak July 4th, Chris and Jamie had smiles all day. The host were fully engaged and were real hosts. I was surprised how quiet camp was at 10 pm. They should call it a "KOA Resort". Other KOA's could learn from them. John, Tania and family - Apply Valley MN
Jul 05, 2015
Jul 05, 2015
No thanks
Jul 04, 2015
Fantastic service, clean and friendly environment!
Jul 04, 2015
Great stay, friendly staff, clean campground and amenities. Lots of fun for our children. Stucker- nc
Jul 04, 2015
Loved it! We will be back
Jul 04, 2015
Only stayed one night. Friendly staff.
Jul 04, 2015
We were here 10 years ago, and the 26 - 28th stay was awesome!!! My 13 & 14 year old can't wait to come back. Thank you so much!!!
Jul 04, 2015
Reasonable cost, clean, well organized, friendly. Kids liked your cg better than any other we stayed at. thanks
Jul 04, 2015
Clean and well run by friendly folks. Bathrooms were great and our kids enjoyed the jumping pillow.
Jul 03, 2015
The newly remodeled restrooms are beautiful. Staff was friendly and helpful (special thanks to Roxanne and Lowell!) Not a bad one-night stop for some weary travelers.
Jul 03, 2015
Clean restrooms and showers, though it would be nice to have more shower stalls available. Had fun activities for the kids. Well-manicured lawn. Friendly staff. Great overall experience!
Jul 03, 2015
welcomed warmly
Jul 03, 2015
Jul 03, 2015
very efficient and professional
Jul 03, 2015
Jul 02, 2015
Everyone was extremely helpful especially when my schedule changed and they helped to find me another spot to put my camper for the day.
Jul 02, 2015
Jamie was very friendly and helpful checking me in and everyone else I met there was as nice as can be. The grounds were pretty and well maintained. I very much enjoyed my stay and will remember Des Moines West KOA in the future! The tent camping area was great. Thanks again!
Jul 02, 2015
Jul 01, 2015
Its a little far out of town but the facilities are GREAT!
Jun 30, 2015
There were no designated camping sites. We were told to pick a spot in a field and there you go. They also advertised no freeway noise which was not the case, I could hear the freeway all night and in general the place was noisy.
Jun 30, 2015
Nice cabin and reasonable rate but couldn't figure out how to get the water unit to work. We had arrived after 9 pm and our access information was available on the bulletin board. Perhaps some directions for the water unit could be printed out and taped to the water unit in the cabin so campers would know how to obtain hot/cold water.
Jun 29, 2015
Very helpful staff. Campground is clean and the sites are level.
Jun 29, 2015
We had a great time and there are so many things to do and the kids keep busy.
Jun 29, 2015
I loved it there! All of the staff were very friendly and went out of they're way to make our stay nice. The campground was very well taken care of and the bathrooms were immaculate compared to other campgrounds. I would definitely go out of my way to stay there again!!
Jun 29, 2015
Great campsite! Far enough off the hwy to be quiet, but close enough to the hwy to be easy to find. Lots of fun activities for kids!
Jun 29, 2015
Wonderful campground!! Grounds are beautiful, service is awesome and there are a lot of extra things to do!!
Jun 29, 2015
Arrived late and they were very helpful, however, the sites are very close.
Jun 29, 2015
We had a very nice stay at Des Moines West, IA KOA. The owners were very helpful and willing to accommodate our needs. The park was well maintained and the new features are wonderful. Our pets enjoyed the dog run. WE will stay here again.
Jun 29, 2015
Very nice place BUT there was a Tornado Warning and we were asked to get out of our RV and come to the office with our pets where everyone was then escorted to a basement except the few of us that had a pet. We had to stay in the bathroom with windows because the basement was pet free. I realized if the tornado hit we would be dead in the restroom rather than have the basement not be pet free
Jun 29, 2015
It was our first time out with our new camper. The park ranger who helped us to our spot was really helfpul! The whole grounds were clean and fresh and the pool was amazing! We will definitely return!!
Jun 28, 2015
We didn't even unhook as we were headed to So. Dakota so we didn't use any amenities just spent the night.
Jun 28, 2015
Jun 28, 2015
Most KOAs are not what they used to be it seems, but this was a very nice one. It's 1 1/2 miles from the interstate, so very little road noise. Of course we were near the back. Wonderful things for children to do and our grandsons enjoyed them. Helpful well informed staff. I gave this park a 4 star because of the lack of lawn care; however there was record rain this year. Grandma Sharon
Jun 28, 2015
Love what they did in the bathrooms.
Jun 27, 2015
Nice and clean. Friendly staff. A great place to stay!
Jun 27, 2015
Very convenient for travel on I-80.
Jun 27, 2015
over crowded not enough showers for that many sites short staff an site next to us turn off our electric when they hooked up did not know until 7am when they were leaving left complaint with your staff. sites too close together.
Jun 27, 2015
We stayed here with our family and enjoyed our stay. Very clean facility and staff very accommodating.
Jun 27, 2015
Jun 26, 2015
Our stay at your campground was very pleasant. It's a clean, quiet campground. We will certainly stay again when we are in the area.
Jun 26, 2015
Jun 26, 2015
It was Great
Jun 26, 2015
bad weather- they kept us safe- nice people!
Jun 25, 2015
.
Jun 25, 2015
Very impressed with campground and staff. Thanks
Jun 25, 2015
enjoyed stay overnite
Jun 25, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.