Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Sep 06, 2013
Sep 05, 2013
Sep 05, 2013
as always, had a great time. the weather and pool and wine tasting were great.
Sep 05, 2013
GREAT AREA SUPERB FACILITIES, THANKS WE'LL BE BACK AGAIN. FRED & VICKI
Sep 05, 2013
Excellent camp ground, and all Facilities were spotless. Excellent Place to stay.
Sep 05, 2013
One night stay on way to Yellowstone. Quiet and secure. Staff courteous and friendly.
Sep 04, 2013
As always, it's pure pleasure anytime we get out to KOA. The staff is always so friendly and courteous - one of the main reasons we go. It's not my first time at KOA and it definitely won't be my last!! Here's to many more to come - thanks Chris and your great staff for making KOA a home away from home!
Sep 04, 2013
Had a fabulous time! Chris and Jamie are both awesome and we always enjoy staying at their KOA!!
Sep 04, 2013
All of the staff is very friendly. Facilities are always clean. Kids activities are fun. We always enjoy staying here.
Sep 04, 2013
Clean campground with responsive staff. We arrived a few minutes after nine, and did not have a campsite on our welcome packet. The staff responded quickly and the problem was resolved
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Everything was fine except we could have had a better picnic table. It was very wobbly. We had a relaxing and enjoyable long weekend. Thank you for all your efforts.
Sep 03, 2013
My family and I always have fun when we camp here. I want to give a huge SHOUT out to 2 of your employees Ron & Vicki Palmer 2 of the nicest, helpful, and AWESOME pizza makers always with a smile and so friendly Thank you for having such wonderful and hard working employees at the two of them!
Sep 03, 2013
Had a great weekend!
Sep 03, 2013
Nice, clean park. Sites are close together and most are in direct sun. But, ownership and staff are most courteous. Kids love it. Will more than likely stay again sometime.
Sep 03, 2013
The pictures online made it look like there would be more shade. The pool deck needs work and store needs paint. First KOA I've been to with gravel paths. We had a group and my husband later pointed out we were supposed to be set up differently. Not sure what happened since we were the last to check in.
Sep 03, 2013
love the fact that restrooms have a/c. Hate to take a shower when bath house is like a sauna.
Sep 03, 2013
Lots of activities for kids and adults! Super friendly staff!
Sep 03, 2013
Such a friendly staff. They sure make you feel comfortable!
Sep 03, 2013
Best camping ever. We'll be back.
Sep 03, 2013
Have stayed there 5 times. Only negative was decrease in electric power for A/C with temp 95-105 Degrees in July!!
Sep 03, 2013
The campground is convenient from the interstate but very crowded. The sites are too close.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Most parks in the Des Moines area are completely booked on Holiday Weekends. Please don't rule us out if you're traveling through in the future, on a non-holiday weekend. We're normally a very quiet, peaceful RV Park.
Sep 03, 2013
Prices in store outrageous... Sites crammed in together... Park could have been cleaner... no attempt to clean up when people leave... not worth $40 plus a night

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, but I have to admit I almost think you might have our park mixed up with another one you've stayed at recently. We rarely, if ever, get any complaints about our store prices or that our park isn't clean. But, nevertheless, we're sorry you didn't enjoy it.
Sep 03, 2013
Nice campground, but we weren't thrilled that we essentially shared a gravel pad with another trailer in opposite directions - WAY too close for my liking, especially for the cost.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Mark, we're sorry you felt cramped in the SxS sites. Next time try one of our premium 30/50amp full hookup pullthrough sites, and I think you'll be pleasantly surprised with the size of the sites. With your late reservation during a holiday weekend, our SxS sites are usually all that's left.
Sep 02, 2013
We love coming here. The people are great, the camp ground is clean and the pool and cabins are fun! We live very close by but stay once a year as a family tradition!!! We love it!
Sep 02, 2013
Very appreciative of the family friendly activities--the great staff--the well maintained grounds. My family had a wonderful experience.
Sep 02, 2013
Other than the severe storm that passed through, everything was great! Friendly staff and guests!
Sep 02, 2013
Nice Kamp in a secluded location. Friendly and helpful staff. Tent sites were really on a slope,and that's the reason for only 4 stars, but everything else was good

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hey. Yeah, our South Side tenting areas are a tad more uneven than our north side, which is nice and level. In the future, when you book a reservation with us, please request the north tenting area.
Sep 01, 2013
was in area to visit friends so did not use many of facilities but very clean, and very nice people managing it.
Sep 01, 2013
Friendly staff and well maintained large sites. Close to Interstate access yet quiet and pastoral setting.
Sep 01, 2013
Different costumers then the previus ones, it was long week-end. Verry friendly and accomedating.Doors from toilets and showers very awkward,should be changed if possible.Overal rating: good.
Aug 31, 2013
Aug 31, 2013
Aug 30, 2013
Aug 30, 2013
very nice sites and koa people very helpful
Aug 30, 2013
Extremely clean.Very nice KOA. Employees very friendly.
Aug 29, 2013
As always, a constant among it's peers...
Aug 28, 2013
We make a plan to stop at least twice a summer (going and returning)as we always feel a warm welcome. THANKS
Aug 28, 2013
We have been to a lot of KOA's and this rated among the best!!! Great owners that made us feel very welcomed; Beautiful cabin, the nicest one we've ever stayed in!; and wonderful friendly camp workers. When we get back to the area for more yummy sweet corn, we will definately stop!!!! We'll also spread the word about you guys! Thanks for a wonderful stay!!!! :)
Aug 28, 2013
It was fine for tenting. The washrooms were a little far away. It was a fairly well lit area. All in all I would stay there again.
Aug 27, 2013
The only complaint would be that the side by side spots are very close to your neighbor. Otherwise it was a very nice place to stay.
Aug 27, 2013
Nice campground, very friendly, clean. Stay there each year coming and going to South Dakota.
Aug 27, 2013
We only stayed one night as we were passing through. Great service, nice dog area. Was nice that pizza was available. Level gravel sites which were large. Wifi was fine. Would stay again when we pass through.
Aug 27, 2013
2nd time in less than a week. Great place to stay. Very quite. Very nicely kept.
Aug 26, 2013
The staff was great!
Aug 26, 2013
This was my family's first chance to go camping, and everything was much better than expected. Events for the kids, comfortable cabins, and an overall clean park.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
nice facilities, nice people
Aug 26, 2013
nice park and staff

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.