Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 12, 2015
Absolutely the BEST!
Aug 12, 2015
We had a great time! Very friendly staff and the restrooms were very nice & very clean. Grandkids had a blast with all of the fun things to do. Will make this a yearly trip!
Aug 12, 2015
great
Aug 12, 2015
As a single traveler with a dog, my only need that wasn't met is a place (even an outhouse) to pee that I can bring my dog with me. I had to put my dog in the car every time I needed to go to the bathroom.
Aug 12, 2015
Many new upgrades that are nice. Staff is very helpful& friendly. Extremely clean park. Like the new K9 area.
Aug 12, 2015
We had a wonderful stay at KOA in Adel. The staff was amazingly friendly. The kids activities were wonderful. Very nice and clean and we loved the brand new bath house!
Aug 12, 2015
This was the 2nd nicest KOA we have stayed at in the last week! Friendly staff and very clean park. Will stay again if passing thru the area
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Very nice staff at the west des Moines Iowa koa
Aug 11, 2015
From the moment I arrived I felt very welcomed.Very helpful staff. Took me to my pull through site and helped me get situated. Very nice facilities. New bath house, pool and laundry.Very nice store and they did made to order pizza.
Aug 11, 2015
Great place!!
Aug 11, 2015
Clean sites and easy off and off. Friendly staff. No issues.
Aug 11, 2015
Loved being able to order a great pizza and have it delivered to our site. So nice after a long day on the road.
Aug 11, 2015
Very quite and clean. Very relaxing stay
Aug 11, 2015
Really enjoyed the time there. We stayed in a cabin which was very nice and reasonably priced. I'd like to see what the next size bigger is the next time I go to a KOA. Our grandson really enjoyed the jumping pillow. We all had a good time relaxing in the pool.
Aug 11, 2015
We loved this KOA, the staff was terrific . The grounds were kept up and clean. There is a lot to do for families who have children ,but yet the park was quiet.We will be staying here again!
Aug 11, 2015
Loud parties, no enforcement of quiet times, staff members didn't pick up after their dogs in a shared campsite. Most staff friendly.
Aug 11, 2015
Very nice cabin, great modern bathroom facilities, pretty setting, friendly staff. Downside: we came in late at night and it was hard to find. This KOA is far removed from a town (more than expected) and could definitely use more of the standard KOA signage to guide drivers through the rural area. Also, some jerks stole our parking spot, but not the staff's fault.
Aug 10, 2015
This is the nicest KOA we have ever stayed at. Friendly staff. Clean and updated facilities.
Aug 10, 2015
Had a quiet stay while we did highway141 garagesales. A nice bed and roof over our head in between. Also soaked in the pool after a long day of garagesaling. Love the updates!!
Aug 10, 2015
This place is awesome. One of the nicest campgrounds I have ever seen. Great facilities, well maintained grounds, and the location is far enough off the interstate (1.5 miles) you feel secluded, but have easy access to getting back on the road. We stayed here for an overnight in July and would definitely stop in again on our way through the area. Great park - you won't be disappointed.
Aug 10, 2015
We spent one night at this KOA as a stop over point on a long trip west. Excellent campground!Very well maintained, bathroom/showers were clean and staff was super friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.
Aug 10, 2015
Great for overnight stay. Very kind people.
Aug 10, 2015
We enjoyed many of the activities at the campground. From swimming to fishing to the playground.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
We mainly used the campground as a place to sleep, had plans in DesMoines most of the day Saturday, so didn't get to enjoy the (what appeared to be) fun filled events they had planned. Very nice, clean, and plenty to do here! Will definately need to come back again when we can hang out at the campground itself!
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
-Great Bathrooms -Great Pool -Fishing pond seems empty -Some campsites are extraordinarily close to each other -Nightly fee somewhat high priced -Kids only allowed to use play areas after purchasing a $10 wristband.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The $10 Fun Pass is a great value! It includes unlimited Jumping Pillow, $1 off any Gem Mining Bag, a FREE bucket of balloons for Water Wars, and a FREE half hour on the pedal bikes. It's completely optional, of course, but most folks love it.
Aug 09, 2015
Great stay. Would stay again.
Aug 09, 2015
Would have given 5 stars but: My only beef was with the poor wi-fi reception. It didn't ruin the stay as the owners and staff were very accommodating. The facility as a whole was great!
Aug 09, 2015
RV site was level. Great pizza on site. Delivered to our trailer.
Aug 09, 2015
Owner very nice. Quick service for pizza! Campground clean.
Aug 09, 2015
Shower and restrooms were clean. Staff was friendly.
Aug 09, 2015
It was short but the staff was very helpful and pleasant.
Aug 09, 2015
Loved the wine we bought at the camp store! Don't see that very often and it was quite enjoyable.
Aug 09, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
Great staff
Aug 09, 2015
Friendly staff clean restrooms good pizza
Aug 08, 2015
Aug 08, 2015
This was an extremely well run, very very nice campground
Aug 08, 2015
Hospitality was great
Aug 08, 2015
super
Aug 08, 2015
Friendly owner and bathrooms and showers amazingly clean and modern. The grassy tent sites are lovely.
Aug 07, 2015
Aug 07, 2015
Friendly folks and nice clean place. Not rated higher only due to few extra amenities.
Aug 07, 2015
Aug 07, 2015
Well designed, clean and comfortable park.
Aug 07, 2015
Great staff as most KOA's. Nice camp site. Fantastic WiFi. "Big Shot" Colorado Springs KOA should contact them to get the same system!
Aug 06, 2015
Spacious sites, all pull-thrus, a row of buddy sites, friendly and helpful staff. Lots of stuff for kids to do, amenities are first rate!
Aug 06, 2015
The campground was kept up well. The facilities were clean, and well kept. The employees were very helpful and friendly. This campground is great if you have children with the swimming, trampoline, and activities for kids.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.