Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 09, 2016
Would stay again. Very enjoyable and great staff.
Aug 09, 2016
Everything was great expect we couldn't really tell where our site ended and the next one began and they were a little smaller than expdcted, great park activities and customer service.
Aug 09, 2016
Excellent sites, great people and nice pool.
Aug 08, 2016
Great Place!! The only complaint is when you arrive later in the day, you need to discount the activity wristbands.
Aug 08, 2016
The cabin was clean, the activities were fun and the staff was friendly. Perfect!
Aug 08, 2016
love this campground and all it has to offer - everything is wonderful!
Aug 08, 2016
Loved the cabins, so clean and comfy! Lots for the kids to do, staff was friendly and helpful. Loved the nature trail and options for staying here! Beware: the fishing pond has blue-green algae, didn't realize the danger there and we got sick. They should close it during blooms. We will know for next time. Wastewater pond stunk when the wind was just right-gross at dinner time.
Aug 08, 2016
Aug 08, 2016
Very little space between campers. 50 amp plug was recessed so difficult getting connected. Maintenance person said, I will be right back to see if I can fix. Never came back.
Aug 08, 2016
Place was clean. Wifi speed was fast. Camp store was filled with fun and reasonably priced merchandise. Lady at front desk helped us with our camper sewer hose as it was stuck in the bumper. Went out of her way to make sure we could get it out to use it that night. Thanks for a great stay.
Aug 08, 2016
Beautiful bathroom facilities!
Aug 08, 2016
It was a pleasure to see a young staff seem to enjoy what they were doing.
Aug 07, 2016
This is a very nice little campground out in the beautiful rolling hills of Iowa. The folks who run it are very friendly and helpful. It is also very clean. Make a reservation, you won't regret it!
Aug 07, 2016
Got us in at a moments notice thankyou!
Aug 07, 2016
This was a great campground!!!
Aug 07, 2016
This is a very nice, clean, KOA with many activities for families. We've stayed there four times. The last two times, we have been placed in the middle row, where you are MUCH too close to your neighbors.
Aug 06, 2016
Only complaint is all the flies!! But, don' t know if anything can be done for that since it is in the country.:(
Aug 06, 2016
The only issue we had was the campsite was not level. We did not reserve the deluxe site with patio,Grill,and swing but will definitely do so in the future. Very friendly staff.
Aug 06, 2016
The only issue we had was the campsite was not level. We did not reserve the deluxe site with patio,Grill,and swing but will definitely do so in the future. Very friendly staff.
Aug 06, 2016
This is literally, the friendliest and cleanest KOA I have ever stayed at. So much to do, private sites, just unbelievable.
Aug 06, 2016
Very nice, clean, friendly staff, quite
Aug 06, 2016
We came in for a night, passing through from WY to MD and wished we could have stayed longer.
Aug 05, 2016
Aug 05, 2016
Very nice KOA. Easy pull-thru sites with very large spaces between each site.
Aug 05, 2016
Very nice. Clean, comfortable, lots of things to do (basketball, horseshoes,bouncer for the kids). Great!
Aug 05, 2016
From arrival to departure service was excellent, employees were considerate, always smiling. Delivered propane and food directly to our 5th wheel. Weekends brought live entertainment, hay rides and plenty of kids activities. Great place to say.
Aug 04, 2016
This was our first stay a KOA with grandsons, 8,10&12. A perfect choices with the bounce pad and pool available.
Aug 04, 2016
Had an amazing weekend and the music was awesome !!
Aug 04, 2016
Aug 04, 2016
Clean, busy campground. Staff helpful, great location.
Aug 04, 2016
We stayed in a deluxe cabin. Everything about the campground is clean. Every worker is accommodating, helpful and friendly!
Aug 04, 2016
It was very good. cabin was perfect and modern. clean. a few bugs. our freezer melted and soaked all our food in fridge. sad i had to pay $10 for the "amenities" that is not made clear on website. please have cereal in market. dont make me wash my dishes for $90 a nite. love the half bath. bed comfy. pool clean. staff friendly. sad no organized stuff weekdays. charge less weekdays? we get less.
Aug 04, 2016
We stayed twice this summer and will stay again on our travels. Sites are fairly level, campsite well stocked with a variety of merchandise, pizza was great and most of all they were friendly.
Aug 03, 2016
Thanks for the great Pizza, sure nice after a long drive, also the pancakes was a great way to start the days travel with a full belly. Thanks Bob & Sandy
Aug 03, 2016
This KOA is located 10 to 15 miles from the western Des Moines suburbs and just 2 miles from Interstate 80. Sites were long for our big rig. Facilities and grounds well kept or upgraded. Many activities occupied campers during the "Christmas in July" weekend. We would stay here again.
Aug 03, 2016
It was wonderful. Modern, clean , pretty and the staff was amazing.
Aug 03, 2016
Very friendly helpful staff..
Aug 03, 2016
Warm clean swimming pool with recent new concrete deck. Tent site is flat and thick grass. Comfortable. Also, beautiful lavatory. Newly done.
Aug 03, 2016
Aug 03, 2016
Nice campground, friendly staff, clean pool. Stayed in Deluxe Cabin which was very nice. Cons: (1) No handicap bathrooms/showers in the campground. No grab bars, no wheelchair accessible showers. (2) Family members stayed in rental trailer - very bad experience. Electricity didnt work - notified owners who promised to send repair person. Left 3 days later still not repaired. DONT rent the trailer

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The travel trailer rental unit you rented has been replaced with a brand new Jayco Jay Flight 28BHBE, because the repairs necessary to fix the one you stayed in was more than it was worth, unfortunately.
Aug 02, 2016
Had a great time
Aug 02, 2016
This was a family camping outing and the entire family is trying to pick the next weekend to stay!
Aug 02, 2016
Only a mile point 7 away from highway traffic noise, this place has long, wide spots, games for the kids and a friendly staff. I'll be going back.
Aug 02, 2016
Clean, Neat, and Fun place to stay
Aug 02, 2016
We enjoyed our stay a lot, had lots of activities for the kids. Staff was very helpful and friendly! Very clean facilities. Best KOA in our experience!
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
Great place to go camping with the kids! Will definitely return. Staff was so helpful and polite during our entire stay!
Aug 02, 2016
wonderful clean excellent!
Aug 02, 2016
Excellent facility, great people and services
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award