Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 15, 2014
Koa west des moines hss awesome friendly staff
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
I am getting really annoyed with cg's that advertise "free" wifi that you cannot even get your emails with. Otherwise, things were nice including a well kept dog park.
Jul 15, 2014
It was wonderful. Everyone on staff was friendly and very helpful
Jul 15, 2014
Friendly staff and nice store.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Great place to stay, very kid friendly. They have a lot of activities that keeps the kids entertained.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
I stayed one night in one of the tent sites. Loved the fact I could choose my site, and I picked one with a large tree that shaded me from the rain. Loved that the picnic tables were plastic, so easy to clean. Staff at check-in were helpful and polite. Only real complaint is the bathrooms could use a little deep cleaning, but otherwise I really enjoyed my stay!
Jul 14, 2014
Staff is so friendly and willing to help. Loved the new jumping pillow and movie screen. We'll be back!
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
We enjoyed this KOA very much. The only thing we would have changed is to have the showers and the restroom separate because of the steam and condensation. They also need to get some firewood that is more seasoned. We could not get our to catch. The grounds wee great. We stayed both coming and going on our trip.
Jul 14, 2014
Friendly, knowledgeable office staff. Resolved misunderstanding about arrival date quickly. Very well maintained facilities. Only negative is that many of the sewer connections are about 8 - 10 inches above ground level requiring water to run uphill.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Very helpful and friendly staff. Camp grounds were very clean and well managed. The pool was a little cloudy but appeared to be ok. Thank You!
Jul 13, 2014
My only complaint was the limited WiFi. I was unable to get on the internet. Otherwise my stay was perfect and the staff very friendly.
Jul 13, 2014
The people were nice and very helpful. As we just stayed for one night while traveling from Colorado to Michigan. It served our purpose. FYI the pull through sites are not level and the hook ups are in the middle of these longer sites. You will probably need extensions for one or more of your hook ups and more blocking than normal for your stab jacks. Bathrooms could use some updating but usable.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
clean & friendly...a+
Jul 13, 2014
Great stay. Wish there were more 50amp. Nicest owners.
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
Had a good stay. Reservations weren't handled correctly by a staff member there and no on ever apologized but got rather snarky over it instead. Other then that lots to do here.
Jul 12, 2014
We stayed for a few days and had lots of fun.
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
Ship shape like all KOAs. Nothing negative to report.
Jul 11, 2014
Chris did a good job, nice & clean. Our pull out bed had a leak & Chris came to patch it right away. Downside was te firewood- it was not cured and green, so could not start a firewood, but had a lot of smoke.
Jul 11, 2014
great place to stay
Jul 11, 2014
Stayed 2 nights with 30' fifth wheel in adjoining spot with friends. If only high class hotels provided this type of outstanding service! Staff and owners were very visible during entire visit...ALL were friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and personable. The grounds are kept up daily and are extremely well-kept. Great dog park, playground, pool and trampoline. We're looking forward to bringing grand
Jul 11, 2014
Good stopover point heading west and returning east.
Jul 11, 2014
We were there during the change of owners. Both couples were very cordial and helpful. Very nice campground.
Jul 11, 2014
All employees very friendly and helpful. Told us about the pizza on premises and delivered it to our site. Mailed our postcards too. Very pleased with the experience. The sight was good too. Easy in and out!
Jul 11, 2014
was a clean campground, friendly people and helpful, quiet and peaceful would recommend to everyone.
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 10, 2014
Every thing about the campground is good; nice wide & long sites. It would be nice if cable was available.
Jul 09, 2014
Convenient to I-80. Very helpful and friendly staff.
Jul 08, 2014
We had a family wedding at a venue close by and the KOA campground was the perfect place to stay. Very friendly staff.
Jul 08, 2014
Jul 08, 2014
Jul 08, 2014
Love this location so close to the Bridges of Madison County.
Jul 07, 2014
Jul 07, 2014
Pool has algae problem not open for use . Prices are WAY too high could get motel for same price otherwise place was well kept & clean

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Riley, you must have us confused with another park, because our pool definitely does NOT have an algae problem and hasn't been shut down once this year.
Jul 07, 2014
Nice, clean, and we ordered pizza instead of cooking which was nice. We don't usually eat pizza but this one was really good.
Jul 06, 2014
Love the campground and all of the activities! The cement around the pool needs a lot of work. Very rough in areas even in the pool. Would be nice to have a game room as well. Prices are good in the shop and the bounce pillow is awesome!!!
Jul 06, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
Very accommodating in the front office but we were told our campsite was level and it was not.
Jul 04, 2014
Bathrooms and showers were clean. The personnel were very helpful and friendly. All in all, a very pleasant stay.
Jul 04, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.