Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 17, 2015
Sadly, I got to my spot and lo and behold, someone else had taken it! How does that happen? I had a reservation and phoned ahead indicating I would be arriving late. I was assured it was not an issue and I had a spot reserved. I had to squeeze in behind the people that took my spot. No room for both of us but they didn't pack up and move. I would like a refund or partial refund of my money.
Aug 17, 2015
One of the best KOA's I have ever stayed. Clean and updated bathrooms. Have Hunts pizza and wings which were really good. If I came back this way I would differently stay here again.
Aug 17, 2015
very accomadating
Aug 17, 2015
Clean and level site. Friendly staff. Far enough from interstate to get a good nights sleep.
Aug 17, 2015
Our rental camping trailer was very clean...liked that :-) Very disappointed we could not use our reward points b/c we were a late check-in and were told we would have needed to be there before the office closed that first day. Also disappointed we needed to pay for kids to use the jumping pillow. Other campgrounds have this as an amenity with no cost.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It's unfortunate that KOA doesn't allow us to use the VKR points towards the reservation deposit, only at registration. I wish we could, because for anyone staying overnight only, it's hard to use since KOA's deposit in 1 night's stay.
Aug 16, 2015
Great bathrooms and showers. Pool looked inviting. Easy pull in and pull out
Aug 16, 2015
nicely quiet, clean and activities for all ages. also pet friendly! was great to relax and meet other campers
Aug 16, 2015
I love KOA and Chris and Jamie. We will for sure be back. Best campground in central Iowa, hands down!
Aug 16, 2015
Clean bathrooms. Nice pool.
Aug 15, 2015
Aug 15, 2015
Aug 15, 2015
Friendly and well manicured and clean! Great pizza, big rig friendly, and our kids loved the cabin sites!!
Aug 15, 2015
Great place to stay. Easy in/out for big rugs towing. Staff and owners are fantastic. My only complaint is the wifi. Everyone uses the Front wifi because the back does not work. SLOW SLOW
Aug 15, 2015
Great staff was always there to help. Had a great time with this KOA
Aug 15, 2015
staff was great, campground was very clean.
Aug 15, 2015
Checkin very friendly! Washrooms very clean! But campsites way too close to each other. My husband tripped over the firepit which was JUST outside our steps down and he fell on it and bruised and cut himself, and twisted his ankle. It could have been much worse as he landed almost on his face as his hands were full.
Aug 14, 2015
Nice big sites. Very friendly people.
Aug 14, 2015
Nice and clean... Organized, polite & cheerful staff... Kamper Kabin was a nice & quiet option to a stale smelling motel.
Aug 14, 2015
tres beau terrain
Aug 14, 2015
Our initial contact with this park was with a lady who was rude and unhelpful. She also messed up our reservations. Once we got there, the other staff was nice and extremely helpful in helping us get our reservation corrected. The facility was very nice and clean. A bad experience turned out very nice.
Aug 14, 2015
Aug 14, 2015
It was great good quality time with the girlfriend
Aug 14, 2015
The cable is so snowy, many of the channels won't auto-program. You can't watch it. The WIFI simply doesn't work...inadequate bandwidth for the number of users. Other than that, it's a great park with a great staff. We'll come back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Just for clarification, our cable TV works awesome. The only problems we've ever had with is inside the camper's rig. The picture is most definitely not snowy unless you don't program your TV correctly. Most of the time it's because the booster switch wasn't turned off.
Aug 13, 2015
Aug 13, 2015
What a wonderful experience. Excellent customer experience, awesome accommodations. Will be checking our calendars to see when we can come back... Top notch fun!
Aug 13, 2015
Aug 13, 2015
Aug 13, 2015
only stayed one night but we were very pleased with the park. very friendly staff and clean throughout.
Aug 13, 2015
Awesome KOA, best we've stayed at in our cross country trip! Very clean, nice and friendly staff. Hopefully we can return some day.
Aug 13, 2015
Arrived late and they went out of their way to still accommodate making a pizza and delivering right to our door.
Aug 13, 2015
The campground itself was very nice. Cabins were clean. Restrooms cleaned and maintained. The only reason for the lower rating is because they took the dog park out. They advertised the dog park on the website. We were looking forward to letting our dogs run loose after a long ride in the car. Very disappointed they removed the dog park. Other than that we would definitely stay here again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I think you have our park confused with another park. We actually have 2 big dog parks. :)
Aug 12, 2015
Great people and were very accommodating.
Aug 12, 2015
Great cabins and service! Bathrooms were clean and really nice. The location is nice if you don't want to drive too far from Des Moines and it's close to Adel, also. Hosts were inviting and kind. Overall, we would stay there again.
Aug 12, 2015
Absolutely the BEST!
Aug 12, 2015
We had a great time! Very friendly staff and the restrooms were very nice & very clean. Grandkids had a blast with all of the fun things to do. Will make this a yearly trip!
Aug 12, 2015
great
Aug 12, 2015
As a single traveler with a dog, my only need that wasn't met is a place (even an outhouse) to pee that I can bring my dog with me. I had to put my dog in the car every time I needed to go to the bathroom.
Aug 12, 2015
Many new upgrades that are nice. Staff is very helpful& friendly. Extremely clean park. Like the new K9 area.
Aug 12, 2015
We had a wonderful stay at KOA in Adel. The staff was amazingly friendly. The kids activities were wonderful. Very nice and clean and we loved the brand new bath house!
Aug 12, 2015
This was the 2nd nicest KOA we have stayed at in the last week! Friendly staff and very clean park. Will stay again if passing thru the area
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Very nice staff at the west des Moines Iowa koa
Aug 11, 2015
From the moment I arrived I felt very welcomed.Very helpful staff. Took me to my pull through site and helped me get situated. Very nice facilities. New bath house, pool and laundry.Very nice store and they did made to order pizza.
Aug 11, 2015
Great place!!
Aug 11, 2015
Clean sites and easy off and off. Friendly staff. No issues.
Aug 11, 2015
Loved being able to order a great pizza and have it delivered to our site. So nice after a long day on the road.
Aug 11, 2015
Very quite and clean. Very relaxing stay
Aug 11, 2015
Really enjoyed the time there. We stayed in a cabin which was very nice and reasonably priced. I'd like to see what the next size bigger is the next time I go to a KOA. Our grandson really enjoyed the jumping pillow. We all had a good time relaxing in the pool.
Aug 11, 2015
We loved this KOA, the staff was terrific . The grounds were kept up and clean. There is a lot to do for families who have children ,but yet the park was quiet.We will be staying here again!
Aug 11, 2015
Loud parties, no enforcement of quiet times, staff members didn't pick up after their dogs in a shared campsite. Most staff friendly.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.