Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

All Sites

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 08, 2017
Best KOA we have visited. Loved their deluxe site. We really enjoyed our stay. We will return!
May 08, 2017
May 08, 2017
Great weekend stay. Fun for the grandkids. Very clean bathrooms/showers. Staff very friendly and helpful!
May 08, 2017
The entire campground including our cabin was spotless. We spent more time at the cabin than we did at our destination, Des Moines. Now we are planning a family reunion. This place is SO grandkid friendly! The lake is beautiful and the surrounding countryside breathtaking. Thanks for making our stay a vacation!
May 08, 2017
This KOA had the cleanest, most up-to-date restrooms I have seen. Thanks.
May 08, 2017
We pulled in late. Our paperwork was waiting for us as promised. The camp was clean ! The bath/shower area had recently been updated and looked great. Although we only stayed overnight, it was everything we needed.
May 07, 2017
Very well maintained grounds, clean bathrooms.
May 07, 2017
Great
May 06, 2017
The young man was super nice, took us to our site and even offered to help us hook up. He'll make a great owner/manager some day-he's extremely dedicated. Sites are HUGE,all have nice grass, a shade tree & there's lots of grass to walk your dogs. Internet started out OK but got so slow it was unuseable. The cable TV went out so we watched antenna TV and those stations all came in real clear.
May 06, 2017
Best koa we've ever stayed in. Loved the grassy campsites. Loved the space at each site. Everything was neat and clean
May 06, 2017
It was quiet until someone thought it was cool to drive around and honk their horn in a fire truck...
May 06, 2017
Clean, spacious, friendly!
May 04, 2017
May 04, 2017
This park is perfect for our overnight stop on our travels. Friendly staff, very clean park.
May 04, 2017
Wonderful place. Clean Quiet Friendly
May 03, 2017
Be proud, your campground was very clean & modern.
May 03, 2017
May 02, 2017
The people who work there were so very helpful and so friendly like old friends. I was wonderful.
May 01, 2017
Nice and quiet. Picked up trash which was great. Lots of fun activities for kids
May 01, 2017
This is a wonderful KOA and we've stayed here a few times. We would rate it a 10 if the park was level and it wasn't so difficult to level the motorhome. It is not safe to lift rear wheels off the ground. It also causes the steps to be elevated making it difficult to get in/out.
May 01, 2017
May 01, 2017
It was raining the whole weekend we were there which was a bummer, but the facility is very nice and the staff is very helpful. The cabin we were in was very nice and well taken care of.
May 01, 2017
Would definitely come back!
May 01, 2017
The employees are very courteous, helpful, friendly. There new improvements very year. Is a great rv park!
May 01, 2017
The campground is clean and the area is very pretty. The weather on this weekend was rainy and cold - not their fault. They are doing work upgrading.
May 01, 2017
We loved the onsite pizza and wings delivery! Nice sites, grounds, showers. Staff was very nice.
May 01, 2017
Clean /level sites, friendly, escort to site, nice store, strong WIFi.. would definitely return.
Apr 29, 2017
It was odd that we never saw anyone at the office. Arrived at 2 PM on Wednesday- the office was closed. Our registration info was at the door and our site w directions was clearly marked. We did want to fill our propane tank, but figured we could fill up on departure. The next day the office was closed again, so we left without the propane fill. It's probably off season in late April, but....
Apr 29, 2017
Very nice campground. I'm not sure what I was expecting, but it was very nice. We were just passing through and needed a place to stay for the night, but my wife commented that she wished we could spend a couple of days there.
Apr 29, 2017
Very nice campground.
Apr 29, 2017
It was excellent. Sry helpful and friendly.
Apr 28, 2017
Extremely friendly and clean. Nice sized lots with fire pit and picnic table. 2 dog run areas. Lots of kids stuff.
Apr 28, 2017
Outstanding as always, local to John Wayne Birth place and the Bridges of Madison county. Great people and great place to stay for any length of time.
Apr 27, 2017
Loved our cabin, will stay again.
Apr 27, 2017
Had a nice spot, very friendly, helpful staff. Didn't care to have to pay for the grandkids to ride the bikes/trikes and use the trampoline pillow but they enjoyed the amenities. Bathrooms were very clean. We will plan to return. Thanks!
Apr 26, 2017
Such a fun and friendly place!! So many amenities and activities. The store and pizza shop is a fantastic plus. Fire pits and grills are a bonus!
Apr 25, 2017
Nice facility and they are obviously working to make it even better.
Apr 24, 2017
Everything was great, fantastic campground.
Apr 23, 2017
just what we wanted for our first camp out of the season. quiet. it could have been warmer but that isn't the KOA's fault:-)
Apr 21, 2017
We were visiting relatives and it was nice to have great campground to stay.
Apr 19, 2017
We had fun like always! One issue was the store wasn't open during the normal 9a-9p. It was only open 9a-11a then 3p-7p. Which made it very difficult if we were planning a meal of their pizza and didn't bring extra food. Luckily we went in right before 7p on that Friday and caught them right before they closed. I just wish this would've been posted online ahead of time, Facebook or website.
Apr 19, 2017
Only complaint was the height of the sewer connection it did not drain well at all. We stayed there in a 5th wheel. Very level sites wide and long overall pretty KOA. Would stay there again.
Apr 19, 2017
The patios with grills are very nice. It is peaceful and beautiful organized. The shopping items are great. Will stay here again
Apr 18, 2017
Very impressed with cleanliness and rv spaces as well as the friendly counter service
Apr 18, 2017
Great stopping point on our way home to St. Paul, MN. Looking into possibility of an extended family camping vacation at the resort.
Apr 17, 2017
This is a lovely newer park, great sites, we didn't use a cabin but they look very nice! Peaceful rural setting not far off 80. Small mix up with our check in but they made it right.
Apr 17, 2017
Our favorite place to camp! The staff is beyond amazing,the facilities are so nice and tons of things for my Grandkids to do. We LOVE it!
Apr 17, 2017
Well done. one of the nicest we've stayed at. We'll come again.
Apr 17, 2017
We enjoy this Koa so much!! They continue to make improvements and create a wonderful experience
Apr 15, 2017
You need to be able to log on to their WIFI without the world knowing your location.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry for the confusion Daniel, but logging into our free wifi has two options. You can check-in via facebook or enter our wifi password totally separate from facebook. Either method works perfectly...sorry this wasn't clear.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award