Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 22, 2015
Our original site was given away in error. We were put in the back next to a very old camper in poor condition. They had a hound dog in the back of their pick up that howled every time we walked our dog.
Apr 20, 2015
Site was under construction. Wish we were told that when we made our reservations.
Apr 13, 2015
Nice new cabin, very clean. Was pleased to see dishes and coffee maker, soap and dish towels. Better than a hotel!
Apr 13, 2015
Apr 13, 2015
Very nicely situated by the body of water. Sites were neat and well maintained. The staff went above and beyond being helpful when our camper developed a problem while on site.
Apr 10, 2015
Easy on/off for a big rig!!
Apr 07, 2015
Beautiful campground, helpful, friendly hosts. Far enough from Des Moines Metro area and interstate to be quiet, yet close enough to be convenient. We are Full-timers and plan on using your campground as our "home base" when in the area from now on!
Apr 06, 2015
We only stayed one night but it was very clean and quiet!
Apr 06, 2015
Nice wide sites, pleasant and knowledgeable hosts. VERY quiet, away from the main highway but easy to get to.
Apr 05, 2015
Very nice and friendly staff. We were there early in the spring so they were doing their spring cleanup but the park has a great potential. We would stop back and stay again.
Apr 04, 2015
Very surprised after staying there a year ago much of the camp ground is still not functional including bath rooms, cable and wifi was unusable.
Apr 03, 2015
Thanks so much for the upgrade and the great time to grade all the papers that needed to be done. I WILL be back.
Apr 03, 2015
Full price for half of the items. day before April 1
Nov 06, 2014
Nov 03, 2014
Other than the internet going in and out, it was a great stay.
Nov 01, 2014
I stayed in a tent site, with electricity, on Sept.4. They were prepared for my late arrival. Washrooms were very clean. Wireless internet worked well at my site. The picnic shelter was great on a drizzly morning! Thanks!!
Nov 01, 2014
Oct 30, 2014
Oct 29, 2014
real grassy spots, kind of slow internet, very nice people
Oct 27, 2014
Great!
Oct 27, 2014
Oct 27, 2014
Sad to see the camping season come to end. But looking forward to next summer and all new family memories at KOA we love camping here
Oct 24, 2014
Oct 23, 2014
Great Kamp ground and the owners and staff were fantastic. They went out their way to locate an auto parts store for us so we could find a repair part for our motorhome.
Oct 22, 2014
We came in late on Monday eve Oct 20 2014 and were extremely tired from travelling all day. Went right to bed but were kept awake by someone's dog continually barking for about 2 hrs! We were in site 11 and the noise was from a trailer over by the cabins. It was not a very restful night and am sad that the dog owner was not very respectful of other campers! We have always enjoyed your koa.
Oct 22, 2014
Outstanding facility, very friendly staff.
Oct 22, 2014
Oct 22, 2014
Very friendly owner!! Clean and neat. Very pleasant stay!
Oct 21, 2014
Our first stay at a KOA. We loved it! Great location and our cabin was sweet!
Oct 21, 2014
Oct 21, 2014
Very obliging
Oct 21, 2014
This camper comment has been removed by KOA because it contained inappropriate content.
Oct 21, 2014
Very well kept campground with big spaces. Easy on and off I-80.
Oct 20, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
The place was great! Everyone, was so nice! We love that you all sell pizza. It was a life saver! The only disappointing was the amount of dog poop we had to dodge in our campsite. We'd still come back just don't want to dodge the poop.
Oct 19, 2014
Oct 17, 2014
great place, very roomy, clean and friendly
Oct 16, 2014
Oct 16, 2014
Wonderful place. Friendly, helpful people. Loved the dog parks.
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
the person that was there behind the counter was very nice and we love to stay there as my son is the athletic director in earlham, we also like to to antiquing in des moines, we stay in des moines at the sailorville campground most of the time because we are seniors and it is 20 dollars cheaper a nite, but this is a wonderful well maintained friendly place to stay. thanks marvel caskey
Oct 13, 2014
Actually, we stayed 2 nights. This KOA has gone the extra mile for amenities: the best dog park we've seen plus a fishing pond and a great playground. If we pass that way again, we'll definitely stay here.
Oct 13, 2014
Very clean. Friendly, efficient staff. GREAT dog park area!!!
Oct 13, 2014
I wish they would post the rates so campers would know weekend rates are higher. No complaints about the park or staff. Very friendly & helpful.
Oct 13, 2014
Limited office hours are not ideal. The stay was good and we will return again when in the area.
Oct 13, 2014
Really didn't stay at the campground much...mainly just to sleep, but the little bit we were there we liked it! Great customer service! Love the fact that you can have pizza (including breakfast pizza) delivered to your camper! What better way to serve breakfast on the morning you leave!!
Oct 13, 2014
Oct 13, 2014
very calm place but too far away from tent to restroom and too dark during the night.
Oct 13, 2014
Nice spot, peaceful weekend and wendi was so friendly and helpful.
Oct 11, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.