Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 18, 2017
Thanks! Had a wonderful time!
Jul 18, 2017
The rewards program is not fair. We stayed 10 nights and only received one credit towards a free night while someone who stays one or two nights also gets one credit.
Jul 18, 2017
I wish I would have known about all the changes the owners have done! The owner was very helpful and what a great change that was just a stopover for the night before. Next time I will spend more time here! Great activities for the kids.
Jul 18, 2017
Very clean and well maintained KOA. The location off I-80 makes it convenient yet far enough off for no road noise. Newly remodeled bathrooms are great. Now the laundry needs to be remodeled and please let guests know all washers are set to cold water only also. We will definitely stay again when in the area!
Jul 18, 2017
Nice time. Next time, I'll stay away from the playground. Tent campers let their kids play at the playground at 5:30 am and our RV Windows were open and I was wide awake from 5:30 on.
Jul 18, 2017
Many amenities and excellent service!
Jul 18, 2017
Very friendly staff and good facilities. Would definitely stay there again.
Jul 18, 2017
We love this campground and the workers!!!
Jul 18, 2017
This KOA was very clean and nice. Lots of activities to do for kids. We had a great time. My only complaint is the additional cost for a few of the kid activities. The cost of staying here is more than any campground we've ever stayed in and I think having to pay $10/kid extra for a few of the activities is unnecessary.
Jul 18, 2017
This was one of the very best KOA's we have ever been to. The sites are long, wide and roomy. This campground had it all. Two nice dog parks, playground, a pond, things for kids to do and much more. Highly recommend
Jul 18, 2017
Very cramped, staff was not overly friendly. Not among the best.
Jul 18, 2017
Jul 17, 2017
Great facilities and staff
Jul 17, 2017
This is our second year staying here and I would 3rd ommend this campground to everyone!!the staff are awesome and are so accomodating.The action itids planned for the kids are great too!Keep up the good work and we look forward to staying again! The Chalupa family
Jul 17, 2017
We have stayed at this KOA at least five times now. It is clean and well run with many family activities. Kind of close to neighbors, however.
Jul 17, 2017
Absolutely loved staying here to celebrate my 60th birthday with family & friends! Cabins were wonderful, activities were fun, and the pool was a great way to get out of the heat & humidity! Loved the Pavilion area too! We will be back!
Jul 17, 2017
Nice place. Will stay here again.
Jul 17, 2017
Park was clean and well kept. Nice restrooms. Sites were level, but close as with most KOA campgrounds. WIFI and cable worked fine. Great for an overnight stay. We would stay here again.
Jul 16, 2017
Nice place and friendly folks
Jul 16, 2017
Extremely nice campground & facilities. Excellent RV Park for families, this place has everything. Spacious RV sites with plenty of grass between. Beautifully maintained by the owners. Very friendly staff.
Jul 15, 2017
Friendly staff, spacious and well maintained sites. Rating would have been higher if pets would have not been allowed to "going" wherever and kids walking through our site.
Jul 15, 2017
Used this KOA for one night but was very impressed by how clean the grounds a facility was and would use this KOA again in our travels.
Jul 14, 2017
Great campground for kids! Ours had a blast. Sites are a bit small but manageable. Staff was great.... they worked their butts off all weekend long. Planning our weekend for next year already. This was our first KOA and it was a great experience.
Jul 14, 2017
Super campground! People extremely nice, clean facility.
Jul 14, 2017
Good place, clean and well kept. Only stayed overnight so I can't review to much.
Jul 14, 2017
Jul 14, 2017
Site 55 needs gravel. Was a muddy mess after 40 mins of rain.
Jul 14, 2017
Great place will stay there again.
Jul 14, 2017
Great folks nice camp ground
Jul 14, 2017
Jul 14, 2017
Jul 13, 2017
I can't think of enough great things to say about this place! The hosts were very friendly, the grounds are gorgeous, the sites are spacious, there are lots of things to do in the park, and it was just an awesome place!
Jul 13, 2017
great sites
Jul 13, 2017
Clean, nice dog park, good play areas, good pull-thrus
Jul 12, 2017
Cabin was very clean, most staff is extremely nice, and we will be back. The pool could have been cleaner.
Jul 12, 2017
Left. Me standing at the Chk in counter 20 mins. Attitude problem of some of the employees
Jul 12, 2017
Nice and clean with many things for kids to do. As for a non participating activity person the fee was a little pricey.
Jul 12, 2017
Outside of a broken water line our stay was nice.
Jul 11, 2017
I wish they could do something about the dust raised when vehicles go by your sight.
Jul 11, 2017
We like this campground very much. (Lots of lightening bugs in June!) This year, however, the tent spots were under construction and they did not have a place planned for us. They did give us an RV site and were very nice. I just wonder where we would have ended up if we had gotten in after the office was closed.
Jul 11, 2017
Jul 11, 2017
We had a great time camping. We rented an RV. The only thing that bothered us was not being able to use the awning. It was extremely hot and we were not able to sit in the shade of the awning. The kids activities were great.
Jul 11, 2017
Your KOA was neat and clean with friendly staff. I'd like to suggest you plant more trees in the main part of the campground. The Sun really heated us up. Thank you
Jul 11, 2017
Jul 11, 2017
Our second stay at this KOA. Very happy with choice!
Jul 11, 2017
the cabin was very nice. water would not get very warm for a shower. it was also frustrating you had to pay more to get into some activities for the kids. the campground was nice and clean.
Jul 11, 2017
Nice place very nice staff
Jul 10, 2017
Very busy place. Staff were very polite and helpful
Jul 10, 2017
We LOVE this place! Activities and amenities are awesome. We take our grandkids every summer now. Thank you for your new improvements, especially the Gaga Pit!
Jul 10, 2017
Excellent place to stay. I stayed to nights a 2 different times. But when making your reservation, remember to ask for specific amps for your RV. I was bumped off a good site due to not have the right reservation. Also request patio so you have more room and the ability to set up a tent. The patioes also have grills.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award