Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Thanks for a great stay, Jamie and Chris! We visited in a cabin while my dad was camping, and our kids had a great time!
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Lots of kids and things for them to do. Really great organization of the KOA park.
Jul 17, 2016
Already have friends from Colorado booking this location
Jul 17, 2016
Very nice and clean campground.
Jul 16, 2016
Jul 16, 2016
Would have given 5 stars if our site had been level and we weren't sitting in algae water for three days. Absolutely loved the dog parks and the overall setting.
Jul 15, 2016
Nice large pull through sites
Jul 15, 2016
Very clean and well kept. Very friendly people, and pizza delivered right to your door.
Jul 15, 2016
Nice park. Washing machine were all out of order
Jul 14, 2016
Enjoyed our stay. Would recommend this campground. The staff was exceptionally friendly!
Jul 14, 2016
I purchased ice, but the bald man with the phone earpiece on couldn't be bothered to unlock the ice bin - instead I had to wait for the woman in the office, even though she was busy on the phone, and he wasn't doing anything. The next morning, I ordered a breakfast pizza as we were leaving and thought it would be faster than cooking at home - the wait was almost 1 hour! And it was not good.
Jul 14, 2016
Great! Bathrooms were gorgeous and clean! OUTSTANDING activities for the kids! Only complaint was some noisy neighbors across the way who cussed later at night and kept their dog outside crying all night.
Jul 14, 2016
I think you should include the kids stuff with the rate for every night even if you have to bring the prize up so people who have more than one kid does not have to pay 10 dollars each kid for a bracelet that is way to much when a lot of people go to stay and leave to do things like adventure land that's what we did thanks for listening.
Jul 14, 2016
Overall a very good campground, with good staff.
Jul 14, 2016
We were only there for a quick overnight, but can say the showers and wi-fi here are the best of all the KOA campgrounds we've stayed at during our 3 week cross country trip. We'd definitely come back!
Jul 13, 2016
The sites were large enough for slides and lawn tables. Park extremely clean, park personnel were extremely helpful and eager to help in anyway. Over the park and personel were great and we are looking forward to our next stay in two weeks. Thanks Bob & Sandy Dow
Jul 13, 2016
Our second time staying and we will definitely be back. One of the nicest campgrounds we've been too, especially the bathrooms. Looking forward to camping with them again.
Jul 13, 2016
..We stay at KOA C,G all over the country.This was the second worst we have been at over the last 10 years. Nose to tail site and not wide enough or two large 5th wheels Our slides would have impacted the unit next to us if we moved over the fire pit on the other side was nearly under out main slide /Pulled back so our slides would not impact the Rv next to us and our 50 amp power cord was to sho
Jul 12, 2016
They were super friendly and the kids had a great time! It was a wonderful stay!
Jul 12, 2016
Lived the cabins!!!
Jul 12, 2016
The stay was great but the location was awful there was no shade in the evening and noticed all weekend that there were several spots open so disappointed we were not offered a better location!
Jul 12, 2016
Great dog park, lots of activities for kids. It would be great if there were more trees, but it is in Iowa.
Jul 12, 2016
Beautiful grounds and lots of trees for shade. Two camp sites share the same pad so it was a bit crowded. Nice store and very clean restrooms and showers.
Jul 11, 2016
I have couple of suggestions 1. Life guard or atleast floats should be handy for such a deep & steep pool. 2. I stayed in cabin K11. In the shower its really difficult to manage hot water using that knob. Other than that your place is excellent and staff are very friendly! I definitely suggest this place :-)
Jul 11, 2016
Swimming pool should have been better.
Jul 11, 2016
We stayed for the week while in town for a wedding. We stayed in cabin kl3 which we thought was the best cabin on site. The cabin itself was beautiful and the patio area was the same. We lived having some shade in the afternoon. We would recommend a sign that designates the parking space for the cabin because several times when we returned to the cabin we had to fin a different spot.
Jul 11, 2016
We just discovered this koa this year and have been back three times now and we will be back several more. It has a great atmosphere of fun and kind, happy employees. Everything is clean and well taken care of. It is our favorite campground for us and the kids. It's so nice to have a place like this we can take the family and have a great weekend together.
Jul 11, 2016
Everyone here is super friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay. The only issue I had was that they charge for the kids bouncy, small tractors and other items. I thought htye were free at other KOA's. Other than that absolutely loved this campground!
Jul 11, 2016
The showers were very clean and definitely updated. It is a very nice campground and would highly recommend it.
Jul 11, 2016
It is VERY kid friendly and the staff was awesome.
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 11, 2016
The weekends with activities are great if you are a grandparent taking grandchildren camping. Facilities are the best!!
Jul 11, 2016
Nice sites. Great dog park area. Only stayed overnight.
Jul 11, 2016
I was quite pleased with the staff and the facilities.
Jul 11, 2016
Enjoyed a lot and my kid had very good time.Thaks to KOA Facilities.
Jul 11, 2016
Love the activities something for all ages. Great place to get away for the week end.
Jul 11, 2016
Very, Very neat , friendly place to stay. We will be back!!!!
Jul 11, 2016
NA
Jul 10, 2016
Jul 10, 2016
Very helpful and friendly staff. Very clean facilities. We loved the paddle boats and the kitchen in the shelter.
Jul 10, 2016
We loved camping at your Koa and would love to return soon.
Jul 10, 2016
I made this suggestion to the manager: We were a group of about 14-15 families. While in pool a guy was drowning. There was no life guard or floats for me to throw to him. So I went in and pulled him from his sleeve to safety. You guys need to do more for safety in the pool.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have a shepard's hook, but we'll get some rings too based on your suggestion.
Jul 09, 2016
Jul 09, 2016
Great dog park
Jul 09, 2016
Best campground. Great people. Plenty of things for the kids to do. This was our first stay here but will definitely not be our last we plan to regularly visit this KOA. Thank you to the owners for the awesome hospitality.
Jul 09, 2016
We booked our next reservation before we left the premises.
Jul 09, 2016
everything was as I expect from KOA. Restrooms were clean and well maintained.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award