Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 11, 2014
Stayed 2 nights with 30' fifth wheel in adjoining spot with friends. If only high class hotels provided this type of outstanding service! Staff and owners were very visible during entire visit...ALL were friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and personable. The grounds are kept up daily and are extremely well-kept. Great dog park, playground, pool and trampoline. We're looking forward to bringing grand
Jul 11, 2014
Good stopover point heading west and returning east.
Jul 11, 2014
We were there during the change of owners. Both couples were very cordial and helpful. Very nice campground.
Jul 11, 2014
All employees very friendly and helpful. Told us about the pizza on premises and delivered it to our site. Mailed our postcards too. Very pleased with the experience. The sight was good too. Easy in and out!
Jul 11, 2014
was a clean campground, friendly people and helpful, quiet and peaceful would recommend to everyone.
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 10, 2014
Every thing about the campground is good; nice wide & long sites. It would be nice if cable was available.
Jul 09, 2014
Convenient to I-80. Very helpful and friendly staff.
Jul 08, 2014
We had a family wedding at a venue close by and the KOA campground was the perfect place to stay. Very friendly staff.
Jul 08, 2014
Jul 08, 2014
Jul 08, 2014
Love this location so close to the Bridges of Madison County.
Jul 07, 2014
Jul 07, 2014
Pool has algae problem not open for use . Prices are WAY too high could get motel for same price otherwise place was well kept & clean

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Riley, you must have us confused with another park, because our pool definitely does NOT have an algae problem and hasn't been shut down once this year.
Jul 07, 2014
Nice, clean, and we ordered pizza instead of cooking which was nice. We don't usually eat pizza but this one was really good.
Jul 06, 2014
Love the campground and all of the activities! The cement around the pool needs a lot of work. Very rough in areas even in the pool. Would be nice to have a game room as well. Prices are good in the shop and the bounce pillow is awesome!!!
Jul 06, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
Very accommodating in the front office but we were told our campsite was level and it was not.
Jul 04, 2014
Bathrooms and showers were clean. The personnel were very helpful and friendly. All in all, a very pleasant stay.
Jul 04, 2014
Jul 04, 2014
Very nice with good amenities. Staff, well trained.On our list of KOA s 1 to 10 An 8
Jul 04, 2014
very poor internet bandwidth & difficult to retrieve e-mail; otherwise would have given higher ratings.
Jul 04, 2014
Jul 04, 2014
On your maps you give TV stations but I wish you would also give RADIO STATIONS in the area.
Jul 04, 2014
Very accommodating and nice people. Easy access to site. Nice wine tasting from nearby winery. Lots of activities for kids.
Jul 04, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
We had a really nice stay. Our campsite was large with a good sized gravel pad and nice grassy area. The activities over the weekend were fun. We got to enjoy the wines from the area. We had some fun playing basketball and ladderball. One of our days at the campground was rainy, but we were close enough to Des Moines to find plenty of other activities to do.
Jul 01, 2014
Personnel was very friendly and helpful. Our cabin was extremely clean and comfortable. Our hookup up tasks went smoothly. It was only a stop-over, so we didn't have a chance to use the fun things and relax, but our neighbors all seemed to be having fun. Thanks for a good experience.
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
My wife and I were traveling to Ohio from California and we made that KOA our only stop. We were really surprised by how nice and clean the place was, and how friendly the staff was! We also stayed there on our return trip! Definitely recommend it!
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Nice large sites! Wifi was functional although would intermittently disconnect.
Jul 01, 2014
Arrived late but everything was easy to find and facilities were nice and clean.
Jun 30, 2014
We only stayed one night here, but were impressed with the large, well maintained sites, clean bathrooms/laundry, a nice size pool and very friendly staff. We would definitely stay here again! Thanks for a pleasant camping experience.
Jun 30, 2014
We stayed at one of the 4 person cabins. Two adults and two teenage boys. It was plenty of room, as we were only in there to sleep and able to move around ok. What a fun weekend and the employees were so awesome. Lots of fun things to do, very clean and good size pool! My favorite is that they have plenty of chairs at the pool! We'll be back!
Jun 30, 2014
This KOA was great! We had family group of 17, and my family rented a cabin. They had activities lined up for campers and owners were friendly. Only issue I had was the mattresses were a little too firm. However my children and I loved it!
Jun 30, 2014
Our family came in for our son's state baseball tournament and although the weather wasn't as cooperative as we hoped, the KOA campground was. Despite the downpour of rain,we managed a fun, relaxing & kid friendly entertaining accommodations. Greatly appreciate the simple setup of grounds, extremely clean bathroom/shower room, very friendly staff&many activities!Will b bak!!
Jun 30, 2014
Can't give it 5 stars this time. However our difficulty had NOTHING to do with the grounds or staff. They were as wonderful as they always are.
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Good, clean, right off interstate. Would stay again
Jun 30, 2014
Great stay! Staff super friendly. Will definetly stay there again!
Jun 29, 2014
The cabin we stayed in was clean except there was food all over the chairs (as if someone just wiped it from the table to the chairs-gross!) and I also didnt appreciate the fee for the jumping pillows-$10 a person is a LOT! I think you could simply add a small amount to the cabin rental and include it. We definitely won't spent the extra cash on that! We felt tricked into it.
Jun 29, 2014
We stay at this KOA often for an overnighter when travelling south As usual everything was top notch
Jun 29, 2014
Great. Friendly. Clean. Children enjoyed pillow and pool
Jun 29, 2014
We had a great time. Thank You
Jun 28, 2014
Nice CG. Clean and friendly. Great overnight stop.
Jun 28, 2014
Dust bowl, no trees. Most expensive we have stayed at. The only reason we gave it 2 stars is due to the water and electricity. Experience steers us toward Good Sam and away from KOA, compare this to Sauder Village and American Creek
Jun 28, 2014
Came in late and had to leave early, but dog facility was great and staff was helpful and friendly. Motion sensor light in the laundry room needs to be adjusted.
Jun 28, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.