Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

3418 L Avenue (GPS)

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 09, 2015
Sep 09, 2015
Even though we only stayed one night we liked the campground very much.We even checked out the Rv spaces for next year. Very friendly people!!
Sep 08, 2015
We always have a great time at KOA West Des Moines but this past weekend was the best! Chris, Jamie, and Zachary have made this a destination park for our friends and family! Great job Rademachers and staff!
Sep 08, 2015
We had a very relaxing time which is what we needed on this particular weekend. We knew we would find it if we camped at this KOA.
Sep 08, 2015
We had one of the premium sites and it was great. We've stayed at this KOA many times and it is always a good experience. They had remodeled the restrooms since the last time we were there and there were clean an attractive. One complaint. They put a handicap stall in the men's restroom but didn't put any bars and put in a low stool. Not good for us old people.
Sep 08, 2015
Very clean and staff were very pleasant. Convienient location for our visit to the Bridges of Madison County.
Sep 08, 2015
Very friendly, clean environment. Parking could be made more clear for the Kamping Kabins.
Sep 08, 2015
We love the Adel KOA. Chris and Jamie have done a great job updating the facility and always have great things for the family to do every weekend. This is our number 1 spot to go every year. Thank you for the great family time and memories you help us create!
Sep 08, 2015
Only drawback was the double site we were in and didn't know that was the typ of lot we were getting. But it was in a great location for the kids, the fire pits are kind of awkward in that they're located right next to your neighbors camper. All in all, awesome staff and facilities! Great job!
Sep 08, 2015
The cabin we had was great. Fit four adults and five children just fine. The extra events scheduled for the holiday weekend were very fun. the kids especially enjoyed the bounce pad.
Sep 08, 2015
The $10 per kid (with 8 kids) was extreme, seeing how all but 2 were 3yrs old or younger. Also, paying $10 for the 3 kids that camped was not right to me. I believe when we registered, we were told that we did not have to pay for the kids camping there.
Sep 08, 2015
Lots of activities for the kids to do! I love the two huge dog park areas.
Sep 08, 2015
overall this is a very nice campground. one of the best we have even been to. There is a lot of additional charges for amenities that others do not charge for. I did like all the kids activities available.
Sep 08, 2015
Everything was clean and the help was very good. Will stay again.
Sep 08, 2015
Had a terrific stay. New bathrooms are awesome and the staff was very friendly.
Sep 08, 2015
The facility is wonderful and clean. All the staff was very polite, helpful and friendly. Enjoyed our time.
Sep 08, 2015
Great place, clean and quiet.
Sep 07, 2015
The staff was very helpful and it was a nice and clean campground
Sep 07, 2015
Sites could be 5 ft wider for each camper
Sep 07, 2015
Sep 06, 2015
The hosts were helpful with getting us to our site and with getting us to the dump site hook up. It was a nice and fairly quiet place to stay.
Sep 06, 2015
The cabin was very clean could use an umbrella on the deck though. The staff were all very nice and helpful, and pizza was amazing and delivered. Will definitely be back.
Sep 06, 2015
Sep 06, 2015
We love the DSM KOA! Lots of family memories made. The kids enjoy all the activities available. Bathrooms and pool always kept up well. Great place to stay!!
Sep 06, 2015
One of the best we have used.Everthing worked.Staff was well trained and eager to help
Sep 06, 2015
Like staying in a park
Sep 05, 2015
This KOA represents the reason I chose KOa when I can
Sep 05, 2015
Sep 04, 2015
Very nice staff!
Sep 04, 2015
Sep 04, 2015
The hosts were angelic, and the facility was spotless. Loved the activity selection. Electricity at site was not working, only issue.
Sep 04, 2015
Great folks in charge here. Excellent pizza; had the very clean swimming pool all to ourselves. Easy access to propane tank. Very accommodating and helpful managers.
Sep 04, 2015
Love the trash pickup and love the pizza delivery. Very clean. Nice dog area.
Sep 03, 2015
Sep 03, 2015
arrived late but key was left out for us. Cabin was great, very clean. Only stayed over night left very early.Really didn't see everything but seemed nice what we did see.
Sep 03, 2015
This was a beautiful and well maintained facility. The nicest KOA I have been to.
Sep 03, 2015
it was great always enjoy staying in adel koa.
Sep 03, 2015
Very clean all over and quiet.
Sep 03, 2015
I would like to give this place a better rating but it just has things wrong with it. It is a great place to stay over night or weekend but for two months it has short comings. I never saw the manager owner one time driving around and enforcing any rules, sewer connections, parking on grass or three or four vehicle at one space In fact I never met him. Unlike all my other stays at a KOA. J.R.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

J.R. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay here entirely. We addressed the few issues you had immediately. Whether it was me personally as the owner, or one of our staff, I'm not sure why that really matters as long as the issue was taken care of, which they were.
Sep 02, 2015
Friendly owners and nice sites.
Sep 02, 2015
Love the place, staff is / was great.
Sep 01, 2015
Staff very friendly and accommodating; campground well maintained; WIFI worked very well; would stay here again.
Sep 01, 2015
The staff was fantastic. Keep it up!
Sep 01, 2015
It is the best campground we have ever stayed at.........
Sep 01, 2015
It has been a few years since we have been here and I can appreciate the changes (cabins, pool, recreational facilities, etc.). The cable was fine but the Wi-Fi dropped a few times in the evening when I tried to send out an e-mail after spending 15 minutes on it. I found a few staff members kind of grumpy and/or unfriendly.
Sep 01, 2015
Aug 31, 2015
We had a wonderful stay!
Aug 31, 2015
We had a great time and have already suggested it to several families. It is a hidden gem!
Aug 31, 2015
Lots to do for the kids, large grassy area. One of the nicer ones.
Aug 31, 2015
Beautiful RV park with new amenities. Friendly staff. We stay there as often as we can as we RV across America!!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award