Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 29, 2015
campground has dump drops higher than trailer black and gray valves.
Aug 29, 2015
Great Staff, Very Helpful. Enjoyed our stay and will return in the future. Thank you for making a home away from home.
Aug 29, 2015
Great service and courteous owners.
Aug 29, 2015
Wish they had cable TV. Air stations are limited.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I think you have our park confused with somebody elses, because we definitely have Cable TV. :)
Aug 28, 2015
Very nice campground and great K9 park facilities! Nice large grassy site. Wi-Fi on the weak side would be my only complaint. Otherwise, one of the nicest campgrounds ever!!
Aug 26, 2015
You have a very beautiful facility...clean, fun, things for everyone - even the dog! We hope to come back next year and use the camp as a base to travel around the local sights. We really enjoyed it.
Aug 26, 2015
We really liked this campground. The rest rooms looked brand new and were immaculate. The kids area and the fishing pond were great. The only negative is with their WIFI. We could access the WIFI but it had no strength to do anything. We tried on four different devices at all different times even under the WIFI antenna.
Aug 26, 2015
Very nice grassed tent sites. Had chicken wings delivered to our tent, awesome!
Aug 25, 2015
Awesome campground. We had a patio site and it was wonderful. Friendly staff. We had a patio site - we highly recommend it!
Aug 25, 2015
Large clean campsites, great place for kids and dogs, convenient access to shopping via I-80, friendly staff
Aug 25, 2015
We have stayed here several times and always been extremely satisfied, great friendly staff.
Aug 25, 2015
Exceptional in every way.
Aug 25, 2015
Perfect. Love the heated pool. Kids loved the jumping pillow. Showers were very well maintained! Loved the ease of the website for making reservations!
Aug 25, 2015
Great campground! My son had a great time with water ballon machine:) my camping cabin was brand new and really nice! I would suggest maybe putting plastic sheet on queen bed mattress, in case of accidents or bed bugs.
Aug 25, 2015
Aug 25, 2015
Great campground. Tons for the kids to do. We stayed in a deluxe cabin which was GREAT! Thanks KOA!!
Aug 25, 2015
It was a. Rey clean and quiet campground. Easy to park and set up. Actually the caretakers set it up for late entry and that worked really well for our late arrival. Thank you
Aug 24, 2015
the best KOA park that we have ever stayed at
Aug 24, 2015
Our experience was very satisfying. The pool, grounds and especially the bathrooms were extraordinarily clean. We all enjoyed the delivery pizza. The only suggestion I have is to provide some drainage for the tents sites. A heavy rain resulted in standing water for three days in front of our tent. The clay used for fill in that part of the park did not allow for drainage of rainwater. Thanks.
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 24, 2015
Very clean campground and nice staff. The onsite pizza and wings were awesome.
Aug 24, 2015
What a great campground and awesome staff. We will be back.
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 24, 2015
Drunk, noisy neighbors....luckily the thunderstorm chased them to bed early. This kampground is great though, nothing beats having pizza delivered to your tent!
Aug 24, 2015
Great service; was our first stay at a KOA. Loads of different things to do when your not out exploring elsewhere.
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 23, 2015
Great place! New bathrooms, cabins, pool facelift are very nice.
Aug 23, 2015
Shocked at how nice this little campground is! Great store and pizza! Excellent Dog Park! Very clean and beautiful.
Aug 22, 2015
I thought it was a very nice park. The only problem that we noticed was the amount of noise when somebody drove behind our camper or when a vehicle went by on the road. Our site was towards the front of the park. The traffic noise seemed very loud. Everything else was very new and very clean.
Aug 22, 2015
It was busy in Iowa with the state fair, so I understand that there was very little room. We were only able to book a pet-free cabin for our stay. Our only choice was to leave our cats in the car over night. However, isn't camping full of allergens? I explained that we had pet fur on our blankets, but the man at check out said that is okay. I am not sure if they did put us in a per-friendly cabin.
Aug 22, 2015
It was excellent and will definitely stay again!
Aug 21, 2015
:)
Aug 21, 2015
Nice clean campground. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Loved the new showers. Lots of neat things for the Grandkids to do
Aug 21, 2015
The sites were very close! Once my site next door to us was used. I couldn't open any of my driver side doors that's how close we were.
Aug 20, 2015
very nice facility. A little noisy with a lot of vehicular traffic, but still enjoyed our time.
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Great staff!!
Aug 19, 2015
excellent bathrooms
Aug 19, 2015
Cabin was nice and clean. This is one of the busiest KOA's we've stayed at with people coming and going all hours of the day and night. :) I think because it's a great stop off place to get some yummy hot pizza, swim in the pool, and relax for a couple of hours before traveling on! Great KOA for being such a busy one!!! :)
Aug 19, 2015
it was great we booked for 2 other stays
Aug 19, 2015
We loved having the option of having a hot pizza delivered to our campsite after a long day of driving. Everyone was very friendly and helpful
Aug 18, 2015
More trees would be nice!
Aug 18, 2015
Enjoyed the patio site. The swing and BBQ were very nice touches. The staff were very accommodating to us by holding our spot open for one day while we drove to Moscow IA to have a jack problem looked at. Would stay there again. We were in a 45ft Motorhome.
Aug 18, 2015
Very family friendly and staff was courteous--pool was great and all areas very clean--kids and adults loved it--lots of fun activities!
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
We had hard time finding it but that was our mistake. Took the wrong exit. Once there, we felt like honored guests. Facilities clean, well kept. TV was missing a means of power and one of the team brought an ext cord, remote. I did not expect a TV so was surprised. Great place, great people
Aug 17, 2015
Love it! We'll be back!
Aug 17, 2015
The hosts were so gracious and helpful. It was very quiet at night and the cabin was excellent. Very clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay there again next year. Thank you . . . .
Aug 17, 2015
THE NEWLY REMODELED RESTROOMS/SHOWERS WERE VERY NICE. THERE WERE LOTS ACTIVITIES FOR KIDS.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.