Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 30, 2015
There were no designated camping sites. We were told to pick a spot in a field and there you go. They also advertised no freeway noise which was not the case, I could hear the freeway all night and in general the place was noisy.
Jun 30, 2015
Nice cabin and reasonable rate but couldn't figure out how to get the water unit to work. We had arrived after 9 pm and our access information was available on the bulletin board. Perhaps some directions for the water unit could be printed out and taped to the water unit in the cabin so campers would know how to obtain hot/cold water.
Jun 29, 2015
Very helpful staff. Campground is clean and the sites are level.
Jun 29, 2015
We had a great time and there are so many things to do and the kids keep busy.
Jun 29, 2015
I loved it there! All of the staff were very friendly and went out of they're way to make our stay nice. The campground was very well taken care of and the bathrooms were immaculate compared to other campgrounds. I would definitely go out of my way to stay there again!!
Jun 29, 2015
Great campsite! Far enough off the hwy to be quiet, but close enough to the hwy to be easy to find. Lots of fun activities for kids!
Jun 29, 2015
Wonderful campground!! Grounds are beautiful, service is awesome and there are a lot of extra things to do!!
Jun 29, 2015
Arrived late and they were very helpful, however, the sites are very close.
Jun 29, 2015
We had a very nice stay at Des Moines West, IA KOA. The owners were very helpful and willing to accommodate our needs. The park was well maintained and the new features are wonderful. Our pets enjoyed the dog run. WE will stay here again.
Jun 29, 2015
Very nice place BUT there was a Tornado Warning and we were asked to get out of our RV and come to the office with our pets where everyone was then escorted to a basement except the few of us that had a pet. We had to stay in the bathroom with windows because the basement was pet free. I realized if the tornado hit we would be dead in the restroom rather than have the basement not be pet free
Jun 29, 2015
It was our first time out with our new camper. The park ranger who helped us to our spot was really helfpul! The whole grounds were clean and fresh and the pool was amazing! We will definitely return!!
Jun 28, 2015
We didn't even unhook as we were headed to So. Dakota so we didn't use any amenities just spent the night.
Jun 28, 2015
Jun 28, 2015
Most KOAs are not what they used to be it seems, but this was a very nice one. It's 1 1/2 miles from the interstate, so very little road noise. Of course we were near the back. Wonderful things for children to do and our grandsons enjoyed them. Helpful well informed staff. I gave this park a 4 star because of the lack of lawn care; however there was record rain this year. Grandma Sharon
Jun 28, 2015
Love what they did in the bathrooms.
Jun 27, 2015
Nice and clean. Friendly staff. A great place to stay!
Jun 27, 2015
Very convenient for travel on I-80.
Jun 27, 2015
over crowded not enough showers for that many sites short staff an site next to us turn off our electric when they hooked up did not know until 7am when they were leaving left complaint with your staff. sites too close together.
Jun 27, 2015
We stayed here with our family and enjoyed our stay. Very clean facility and staff very accommodating.
Jun 27, 2015
Jun 26, 2015
Our stay at your campground was very pleasant. It's a clean, quiet campground. We will certainly stay again when we are in the area.
Jun 26, 2015
Jun 26, 2015
It was Great
Jun 26, 2015
bad weather- they kept us safe- nice people!
Jun 25, 2015
.
Jun 25, 2015
Very impressed with campground and staff. Thanks
Jun 25, 2015
enjoyed stay overnite
Jun 25, 2015
Jun 24, 2015
Jun 24, 2015
Awesome! We'll be sure to return.
Jun 24, 2015
Was great. Thank you
Jun 24, 2015
Two nights of quiet and a peaceful view of the lake was just what I needed, and received at the Des Moines West, IA KOA. What a great place with great service.
Jun 23, 2015
They ran out of thin crust pizza, No rules for children's etiquette for respecting others Too far from anything
Jun 23, 2015
We are not super experienced in the camper world, however this KOA was exceptional. The value was great. The spaces were well kept and roomy. Chris and Jamie have put a lot of work into this KOA. We will be using it again when we come back through.
Jun 23, 2015
We were pleased to see that they had a pool and things for the kids to do. Also very nice that they had pizza and wings that they delivered right to our campsite! Super friendly!
Jun 23, 2015
Jun 23, 2015
Very nice park. Nice size sites,pretty view of pond at our site. Best pet park we've seen, and very nice people. Pool was warm and we had a great time. It was a long walk to bathroom was the only downside. We would definitely stay here again.
Jun 22, 2015
we were extremely happy with our sty. Very friendly staff. we loved the location away from the big city. Lots of activities going on --fun place
Jun 22, 2015
loved the dog park, it was huge and divided into two sides. all REAL grass. sites were nice, all had tables and trees. staff was awesome especially Wendy who gave us instructions in case of a tornado ! the night we were there it was storming with a tornado watch so we were a bit unnerved but they had a plan if needed. they were a lot of fun.
Jun 22, 2015
Fantastic campgrounds! The kids loved all the activities! Already planning our next visit!
Jun 22, 2015
The sites are easy to enter and leave. The grounds are clean. It's quiet. It has two nice enclosed pet yards. The pizza is excellent. Finally, the staff are wonderfully friendly!
Jun 22, 2015
We had a fantastic weekend with grandkids there, lots of activities and the staff was excellent. Will be there again soon....
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
nicest KOA we have stayed at so far. Well maintained and good spacing. Thank you.
Jun 22, 2015
The camp groung has a good layout, the sites are large,
Jun 22, 2015
Very disappointed in the site I was given, I would not stay again or recommend.
Jun 21, 2015
Place was so much fun, lots to do. Friendly and helpful staff. And beautiful sunsets. This place is a must if you plan on staying in Des Moines
Jun 21, 2015
Many things for the kids to do to keep them from being bored. Didn't experience any mosquitoes. Surprised that there was very little noise for a lot of people being there.
Jun 21, 2015
Nice, well kept park. Fun for young children, easy for Big Rigs to maneuver in and out.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.