Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 1:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 22, 2017
Sep 22, 2017
We enjoyed our stay very much. Clean facility and excellent service. Highly recommended
Sep 22, 2017
Great place, friendly helpful folks!
Sep 22, 2017
We were just an overniter, but we are very favorably impressed with the stay. Restrooms sparkled. The campsite was great. Keep up the good work!
Sep 22, 2017
Beautiful modern park. We had a cement patio with new table, chairs, nice BBQ, ,easy access to fishing and the usual friendly helpful KOA folk. Exceptional.
Sep 22, 2017
Sep 21, 2017
This is am excellent, well-run campground. Great sites and close to many sights.
Sep 21, 2017
Very nice campground. We would not hesitate to use it for a long stay.
Sep 21, 2017
Sep 21, 2017
My goodness, the cleanest campgrounds I have ever been to. The shower and washrooms were phenomenal! Could not have been more taken back by the friendly and helpful staff. Wii without a doubt be staying here in the future.
Sep 19, 2017
They had so many fun activities for kids and the adults. Great campground and glad to see they are adding on!!!!
Sep 19, 2017
Nice upgrades and expansions happening at this favorite KOA of ours.
Sep 19, 2017
Cable was not available for viewing the Emmys. That's the only reason we spent $50 for a campsite. Too expensive for late arrival and early departure.
Sep 18, 2017
Even with a couple hiccups, the staff was prompt to do what they could to resolve the issues (even during a rain storm). Our family enjoyed our stay as we normally do. Thanks Chris and Jamie for having a great campground. We missed seeing Vickie this weekend. She's a friendly face to see around the campground.
Sep 18, 2017
Chris & Jamie, plus all of their staff are always so extremely friendly and totally family orientated! They have an amazing group of workers that seem to not only do a great job with the kids activities, but the look like they enjoy their job! I wish we could camp so much more often at KOA, however we can only swing it 2-3 times a year if we're super blessed! Thank you Des Moines KOA West Holiday!
Sep 18, 2017
The staff is friendly and helpful and the site is relatively nice, we have decided we will probably stay away from there in the future. The sites are very un-level any more. And with the amount of gravel - both for sites and the roads through there, there is a LOT of dust that gets kicked up. Then the uncontrolled kids running through other sites and speeds cars/trucks drive through...
Sep 18, 2017
We had the best time!!! Their camp office is the best!! Love the pizza and wings AND they deliver right to your camp site, I don't have to leave my spot by the campfire. I won this years Annual Chili Cook Off too, a big thank you to them for giving me a free night of camping. We will be using it in October.
Sep 18, 2017
Great stay, we always have so much fun here. Kids loved the addition of the dunk tank at the pool. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. Our cabin was perfect for our large family. Can't wait to go back next month!
Sep 18, 2017
Great campgrounds lots to do clean well taken care of the only downside was low voltage at 30 amp service
Sep 18, 2017
Unfortunately, arrived at 9 p.m. and left mid-morning the next day. Typical friendly KOA staff, well kept grounds with spacious spots. Nice dog area. Traveling in a 32 foot Class C with 2 dogs. Would definitely come back and spend more time.
Sep 18, 2017
Due to a change in travel plans, we arrived on a very busy family weekend night with only a double site and 30 amp available. It was tight for our 45' with toad, but we managed. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Sep 18, 2017
The koa is close to home so we can check the trailer to see if any thing need to correct before we take it out for the longer trips. Then at the end we enjoy coming back to end the camping season here Thanks to the owners and staff we will see you all next season.
Sep 18, 2017
Stayed there with my camping trailer and my family enjoyed the cabins as they don't have a camping trailer. Loved the activities, kept our 4 y/o busy. Always clean . Always friendly and ready to help.
Sep 18, 2017
Took photos of how FILTHY our lodging was. Informed the management. They were not concerned at all. Would not punch out KOA card for the paid night. Campground had no water for 3/4 our trip. Offered NO apologies or amends! Very disappointed!
Sep 18, 2017
Too many people just cutting through your campsite. The pedal carts get taken to campsites and hoarded so other kids can't use them. Staff was friendly though and camp was clean. Bathrooms were very clean and they have a great playground for the kids.
Sep 17, 2017
Great Pizza
Sep 17, 2017
enjoyable
Sep 16, 2017
This was a quick stop-over for us, but turned into a lovely experience enjoying the town of Winterset and the covered bridges. Kampground was clean and quiet. We would definitely come here again to spend more time exploring the area.
Sep 16, 2017
Sep 16, 2017
Friendly staff, clean and well maintained campground. We had 2 grandchildren traveling with us. They had a ball and did not want to leave. Only negative is they need more trees.
Sep 16, 2017
great service, very clean, will return again
Sep 16, 2017
Sep 16, 2017
Sep 15, 2017
Beautiful location and lots to do. Just wish they would put down some new road rock to cut down on the severe dust.
Sep 15, 2017
Friendly staff and very helpful. Trash was picked up at least 2-3 a day. Only thing is that it was dusty.
Sep 15, 2017
Overall, a good stay. Park is quiet and clean. Services available in nearby Adel. Roads a bit dusty which results in dusty patio furniture.
Sep 15, 2017
i will let you no more. as of right now to replace the 30amp plug in my trailer and cordial be over100,00 dollars haven,t figured out what happened but at this time i am not happy.makes me wonder the week before the breaker was bad in lot11. stayed twice bad things happen both times, i have been a camper for over 30 years and have not had this happen before dennis
Sep 14, 2017
Sep 14, 2017
Very wonderful place, enjoyed our time there, clean and up to date facilities
Sep 14, 2017
Sep 14, 2017
Just an overnight passing through. We thought the whole place was just great! Very relaxing!
Sep 14, 2017
This is a WONDERFUL campground. Large well stocked store. Large campsites. Super friendly staff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Sep 14, 2017
Noisy, dusty, rude weekday staff. I have spent the night in quieter truck stops. The crew that checked us in were nice. The grumpy old men who seemed to take over on Monday should probably look for a line of work that does not deal with people.
Sep 14, 2017
The entire place is well taken care of. The bathrooms are newly remodeled and are gorgeous and spotless.
Sep 13, 2017
Sep 13, 2017
Sep 13, 2017
Very nice. Friendly and peaceful.
Sep 13, 2017
Very nice park.
Sep 13, 2017
Sep 12, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award