Des Moines West KOA

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 31, 2015
Wonderful park. Staff very friendly and helpful. WiFi a bit iffy at times.
Jul 31, 2015
The employees were great. The location was very quiet and easy to get to and back to interstate. Site was very level and clean and the restrooms were well maintained. I would use this as a sleep stop on my way to other destinations in the future.
Jul 31, 2015
Very nice enjoyed our stay.
Jul 31, 2015
Best KOA campground we have stayed in and as KOA VIPs, we've stayed in plenty. Kid and pet friendly, organized activities and themes for kids, serene fishing pond, spacious sites, wonderful staff, manicured and well maintained park environment. Even makes & delivers delicious pizzas!
Jul 31, 2015
We stayed in the new lakeside cabin. We felt welcome and comfortable, and thankful for the additional touches of home! Dish towels, soaps, and laundry soap were appreciated! We had a lovely pizza, which made our stay even easier. We were thankfull for friendly and helpful staff!
Jul 31, 2015
Helpful staff,food service was a nice addition, clean grounds, peaceful.
Jul 31, 2015
Jul 31, 2015
Pros: This KOA is very nice. Clean washrooms. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Cons: Had to swim around the leaves in the pool. The WiFi which I asked about is less than marginal. We weren't told about this when I booked the site. I depend on it for things I need to take care of for my storage business. Apparently there is no quiet time as it can be very noisy after hours.
Jul 31, 2015
The kids were so excited for all the fun activities. I was impressed how clean and well kept the property looked.
Jul 30, 2015
We stayed in one of the cabins and will be re-booking soon!
Jul 30, 2015
Great shady tent sites away from highway noise
Jul 30, 2015
Okay Nothing exceptional
Jul 29, 2015
We stayed four nights during our last stay in July 2015. We stayed here previously for two nights. The staff are friendly, the campground is well supervised, the bathrooms are modern and clean, and the area is very quiet with no planes, trains, or highway noises. Our teenages enjoyed the pool and the bouncing pillow. We prefer to stay here when in the Des Moines area.
Jul 29, 2015
Should be called - Limited Free Wifi. You were asked not to use Netflix, ect. This was an issue for us. Bouncing pillow was great for my son.
Jul 29, 2015
This place was unexpectedly amazing. From the 5 star bathrooms, pool, and convenience store. My only complaint is that the tent camping doesn't have a separate area and the fire pits did not have grill tops, but other than that this place is amazing!
Jul 28, 2015
We had a great stay. We really liked the improvements they have made over the past year! It really makes paying so much for a campsite worth it. We would like the jump pillow to be just part of the rate instead of having to purchase even more when we arrive.
Jul 28, 2015
Very nice people and loved the pizza.
Jul 28, 2015
We stayed in one of the new Camping Cabins and it was beautiful! Great facility and the convenience of pizza ordering and delivery ON SITE! Kids had a blast panning for gold!
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
need more shade trees
Jul 27, 2015
Very nice campground with lots of family activities especially for kids. There are plenty of theme weekends throughout the season--ours was Christmas in July which was fun to observe. Also a nice local wine tasting was a fun experience. A heavy rain in the middle of the night did not seem to affect the area the next morning--drainage must be excellent. It is a bit far from the metro area but quiet
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Not only was there adequate staff, but they were a bunch of great people! The facility was clean and modern. We will be returning with the Grandkids next time because of the many things for them to enjoy as well. Did I mention the staff!!!! Thanks for a great stay. Jim
Jul 27, 2015
Nice campground, great hosts. Could have more frequent trash pickup. Thanks!!!
Jul 26, 2015
I just stayed one night on my way out to Sturgis but it was very pleasant and I will stay there again at every opportunity I have.
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
I am an insurance adjuster and travel all over the United States.The best KOA I have ever stayed at. The people there are so friendly and go out of their way to make sure that everything is just right. The owners are doing a magnificent job on representing the KOA family you should the proud of them. Kenneth Lode 817-821-4893 Fort Worth Texas.
Jul 26, 2015
This koa was a pleasant surprise. We were going on the Boone train ride and other tourist attractions. This koa was centrally located. We loved the two area dog run,the spacious pads and cleanliness. We plan on coming back.
Jul 26, 2015
Great staff, great sites, great activities, very clean and updated facilities! This was our first visit to a KOA. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to future visits!
Jul 26, 2015
These facilities are clean and modern and the staff is great! Thanks for a great place to stay.
Jul 26, 2015
We love this campground and your staff.
Jul 26, 2015
Best KOA we've stayed at yet!
Jul 26, 2015
Middle campsites are a tight fit. Not many shade trees. Clean and neat. Staff are friendly.
Jul 26, 2015
Campgrounds very clean. Family fun and great kid activities. I highly recommend this campground.
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
Des Moines West, IA gets an A+ in all facets of the camping experience for the travelling camper. Customer service was as good as you can get. Friendly, courteous and helpful. This was our second visit and will stay again if in the area.
Jul 25, 2015
Everyone was very friendly and helpful very nice park. would stay again if we come through there again.
Jul 25, 2015
Very nice facilities & amenities.
Jul 25, 2015
Lovely little campground close to a quaint old Iowa town (Adel, IA). Perfect for a stopover. Nice folks, superclean bathroom and shower.
Jul 25, 2015
Wifi didn't work so well:(
Jul 25, 2015
Very nice overnight stay.
Jul 25, 2015
Staff as friendly and very helpful. I'm new to camping and the staff made it very easy for me and answered all my questions. Site was clean and was to get in and out of.
Jul 24, 2015
Excellent customer service! Great pool, shower house and store which offers pizza, wings, ice cream and much more! They really place the customer first!
Jul 23, 2015
Extremely pleased
Jul 23, 2015
Only stayed one night but staff was very helpful. The camp was clean and well maintained. We had a beautiful cabin with half bath. We had our own deck, grill, sling swing and outside table and chairs!
Jul 22, 2015
Loved the staff and owner. Loved the location, convenient but quiet. Pool was great and the bathroom/showers were awesome. New and clean. Please visit Winterset in Madison County to see covered bridges and Birthplace of John Wayne. Very cute towne. Don't forget the Pizza.(delivered fresh and hot to your campsite.)
Jul 22, 2015
Good stop over KOA. Nicest bath house I've seen. Clean bath house and laundry area.
Jul 22, 2015
This was our 3rd visit here. It keeps getting better. A very nice family campground with friendly people, largesites and clean grounds. I would recommend to anyone passing through or wanting to stay for a few days. We were in a 40ft 5th wheel.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.