Des Moines West KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 515-834-2729

Info: 515-834-2729

Email

34308 L Avenue

Adel, IA 50003

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 27, 2017
Loved our cabin, will stay again.
Apr 27, 2017
Had a nice spot, very friendly, helpful staff. Didn't care to have to pay for the grandkids to ride the bikes/trikes and use the trampoline pillow but they enjoyed the amenities. Bathrooms were very clean. We will plan to return. Thanks!
Apr 26, 2017
Such a fun and friendly place!! So many amenities and activities. The store and pizza shop is a fantastic plus. Fire pits and grills are a bonus!
Apr 25, 2017
Nice facility and they are obviously working to make it even better.
Apr 24, 2017
Everything was great, fantastic campground.
Apr 23, 2017
just what we wanted for our first camp out of the season. quiet. it could have been warmer but that isn't the KOA's fault:-)
Apr 21, 2017
We were visiting relatives and it was nice to have great campground to stay.
Apr 19, 2017
We had fun like always! One issue was the store wasn't open during the normal 9a-9p. It was only open 9a-11a then 3p-7p. Which made it very difficult if we were planning a meal of their pizza and didn't bring extra food. Luckily we went in right before 7p on that Friday and caught them right before they closed. I just wish this would've been posted online ahead of time, Facebook or website.
Apr 19, 2017
Only complaint was the height of the sewer connection it did not drain well at all. We stayed there in a 5th wheel. Very level sites wide and long overall pretty KOA. Would stay there again.
Apr 19, 2017
The patios with grills are very nice. It is peaceful and beautiful organized. The shopping items are great. Will stay here again
Apr 18, 2017
Very impressed with cleanliness and rv spaces as well as the friendly counter service
Apr 18, 2017
Great stopping point on our way home to St. Paul, MN. Looking into possibility of an extended family camping vacation at the resort.
Apr 17, 2017
This is a lovely newer park, great sites, we didn't use a cabin but they look very nice! Peaceful rural setting not far off 80. Small mix up with our check in but they made it right.
Apr 17, 2017
Our favorite place to camp! The staff is beyond amazing,the facilities are so nice and tons of things for my Grandkids to do. We LOVE it!
Apr 17, 2017
Well done. one of the nicest we've stayed at. We'll come again.
Apr 17, 2017
We enjoy this Koa so much!! They continue to make improvements and create a wonderful experience
Apr 15, 2017
You need to be able to log on to their WIFI without the world knowing your location.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry for the confusion Daniel, but logging into our free wifi has two options. You can check-in via facebook or enter our wifi password totally separate from facebook. Either method works perfectly...sorry this wasn't clear.
Apr 14, 2017
Apr 14, 2017
Friendly staff....clean facility... Thank you!
Apr 12, 2017
Just stopped for the one night while traveling, will stop again. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. Restrooms are 100% nice quiet area.
Apr 12, 2017
Great people,friendly,doing great job to make it even better for family fun.we'll be back
Apr 11, 2017
early stay tought it was great
Apr 10, 2017
Apr 10, 2017
Great place to stay and will visit again. The only reason I didn't give it a higher rating is because the grill that is provided on the deluxe site was very dirty and no gas. Had to use my own bottle. Management was great and friendly. Campsite had some construction going on but it wasnt making our stay unpleasant. Great job!...
Apr 10, 2017
I would come back any day
Apr 10, 2017
Apr 09, 2017
This my 4th stay at KOA. The staff is always very nice. The improvements are great. My friends come to visit and have a great time. I will keep coming back.
Apr 09, 2017
Very nice up and coming place. Every time we visit they have improved the site even more and next year they will have winter sites so that we can stop on the way down to Florida in December. Whoppy!
Apr 08, 2017
A GREAT place to stay if one wants all amenities, such as super clean modern restrooms, trash pick up. Firewood delivery, and lots of activities for children. It is pricey, as are all KOAs. What we spent for three nights here, would buy two weeks at a Corps of Engineers camp. We stayed here because other campgrounds were not yet opened. Very friendly staff.
Apr 06, 2017
Vriendlief and comfortabel
Apr 05, 2017
Apr 03, 2017
campground under construction. office only open part of the day. Maybe opened before ready.
Apr 03, 2017
When finished this will be a show place.very nice now
Feb 06, 2017
The KOA was great to stay at when traveling out West. Would stay here again if this locale was where I needed to spend the evening once again. Thanx!
Nov 19, 2016
It was enjoyable. My family has decided that we need to camp here earlier in the year though.
Nov 15, 2016
A tous les KOA ou J'ai séjourné, le WIFI était de très mauvaise qualité. Il y aurait amélioration a apporter puisque vous faites votre publicité que l'accès WIFI est disponible, ce qui était rarement le cas. Pour le reste les KOA sont de bon terrains de campings.
Nov 10, 2016
Nov 10, 2016
We had a wonderful time. We would definitely stay again. Plenty of activities for the kids. We will be back.
Nov 01, 2016
Even though they were going to close the next day we would have stayed a week, it was that nice. Everyone who was working there, was extremely nice and friendly, it had everything you could ask for and very pet friendly, one of the nicest if not the nices dog parks (2) anywhere we have stayed ! AWESOME
Oct 31, 2016
Very nice people and great place for the family thank you
Oct 31, 2016
If I could give 10 stars, I would! We love staying here and so do my Grandkids. The staff is wonderful, the park itself is always well kept, clean and something new everytime we stay!
Oct 31, 2016
We love this KOA! The pull-through spaces are large with lots of room. The owners and staff are SO friendly and we love all of the planned activities. This KOA is so clean and is surrounding by rolling hills and fields. Iowa living at it's finest!
Oct 31, 2016
Great experience at this KOA. Last spring I had 3 bad experiences at KOA's on our way back to MI. I called the main office at KOA and no reply. I didn't renew my membership I had for years. Decided to take a chance at this KOA...worked great.
Oct 30, 2016
Your grounds are impeccable and it was our pleasure to stay at your site.My only wish was to stay longer.
Oct 28, 2016
Lovely clean park with nice level sites. Loved that the Kamp K9's were right behind our trailer. Would stay here again.
Oct 28, 2016
Superb service! We've stayed here a couple of times and find it to be very clean, and great pull thru spaces! Always working on updating and building something new! Highly Recommend it!
Oct 27, 2016
Just could stay one night- looked like a great campground especially for families!
Oct 27, 2016
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Oct 26, 2016
Great,very clean,wonderful cabins.
Oct 25, 2016
We stayed for the entire summer with these wonderful people. This is a fun family KOA site. Loved it!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps