Denver West / Central City KOA

605 Lake Gulch Rd Co Rd 6

Central City, CO 80427-0771

Reserve: 800-562-8613

Info: 303-582-3043

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jun 21, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
Staff was very friendly and courteous, beautiful location! Wasn't particularly fond of how my particular site was set up, but that's my only complaint.
Jun 15, 2015
Our family of 4 very much enjoyed the KOA campsite, it had a lot to offer and the friendly customer service was so wonderful! Keep up the great work! God bless!
Jun 08, 2015
The tent sites in the trees are amazing! Facilities are great. The only improvement would be to have the driver pick up the trash later in the day. It woke up the family!
Jun 08, 2015
Great place with a great staff. They are so helpful and friendly.
Jun 08, 2015
Staff was helpful and friendly. Gravel tent pads were convenient and drained well in a small rainstorm. We will camp here again.
Jun 07, 2015
Tent sites were way too close together, especially for the price.
Jun 04, 2015
We enjoyed the hot tubs and the really clean showers. Nice staff and tv room.
May 31, 2015
Unable to receive refund due to early departure. I know that this is a policy, but I don't have to like it.
May 29, 2015
Our tent site was clean and conveniently located close to everything. The staff was wonderful as well.
May 26, 2015
This was my first KOA experience of the 24 years that I have been in this country. Great facility. Great views. Good for families with kids. Impressed by the antique homes in the town of Central City, and a peaceful setting.
May 25, 2015
Friendly staff, very clean bathrooms and campgrounds. Great place to get away from the city for a while, i will be coming back for sure!
May 25, 2015
If you are from Texas remember it is still cold in the mountains in may. We nearly froze but it was worth it for the great views
May 23, 2015
Unfortunately the wifi did not work and the ladies did not know how to fix it. Additionally, $37.00 was really expensive for a tent site. The amenities offered were not available all night and closed at 8pm. The employees locked up the common room right after we ordered pizza and had to finish eating outside in the rain. Not very accommodating.
May 19, 2015
Perfect and fun!
May 17, 2015
The only reason we left early was because it was super cold. The bathrooms were amazing along with the camp site itself. Keep up the good work.
May 06, 2015
Great place to stay. Chuck the owner and his staff are friendly and helpful. The facilities are very clean, free wi-fi, and best of all HOT TUBS!!! Have stayed on multiple times over last 3 years and look forward to seeing them again later this year and next>
May 03, 2015
Beautiful view from this KOA. Great staff too!
Apr 27, 2015
I gave this KOA 2 stars because of the scenery. If it wasn't for that I would give 1 star. The hosts at this KOA were rude and terrible communicating to their customers. Not only did they lie to us about lodgings but the guy also spoke to us with no respect or courtesy fitting for a KOA host. We've used a lot of KOA's on our trip and other hosts have been great. Not the case at this place.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

What she does not tell you is she was told no pets in the cabins when the reservation was made. Then when she showed up tried to sneak a dog into the cabins.
Apr 25, 2015
Chuck was awesome. Even though there was 34 inches of snow he showed every hospitality imaginable. It was really clean and everyone there was so helpful. They made sure the roads were plowed so we could drive our mini van around and not get stuck in all the snow.. Which happens a lot in a mini van.. It was absolutely wonderful and we highly recommend staying at this campground!
Oct 21, 2014
Sep 17, 2014
Great KOA. Facilities were very clean and well maintained. Staff was very nice.
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
Staff was very helpful, the bathrooms/showers/hot tubs were well-maintained and *super* clean. The campsite is beautiful and has lots of updates/extras.
Sep 14, 2014
we enjoyed the hot tub after driving all day and the breakfast .
Sep 08, 2014
I camped here in a tent with my daughter. The site afforded privacy and was very well maintained. The bathrooms were very clean and the laundry facilities were ample.
Sep 07, 2014
Great place running water, restrooms, two hot tubs, fire pits, charcoal grill, and all you can eat pancakes in the a.m., most important is the excellent and ultra friendly staff
Sep 05, 2014
We have been camping for 37 days, and that included about 15 KOA's and this one was the best for friendliness, cleanliness, & facilities. Our tent site on the hill felt like being in the wilderness, the hot tubs were great, but it was the workers that stood out. Thanks to the employees that were camping on the hilltop for being so helpful and friendly! Bruce & Nancy Head, Celina, OH
Sep 03, 2014
It was a short but great stay. The staff was great.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 01, 2014
We had a dead battery and management jumped it right away.....so helpful.
Aug 25, 2014
Love this KOA. The location is close enough to Denver that staying here for a Denver-based trip is easy, but you are also away from the City in a quiet location.
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Very nice facilities and clean campground. Nice and helpful staff. Right next to the highway which can be loud at night. And sadly there were power lines in the middle of our mountain view. Not very remote but had a great time camping and a big fire!
Aug 11, 2014
We arrived on sat.about 9am and from that point on they did everything possible to make our stay GREAT. Everything was clean and the people were helpful and nice. we plan on staying there again next year! Mark from Minnesota
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Great staff, facilities and location. Some road noise towards entrance, but a bargain any way you look at it!
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
This is a newer KOA; staff is friendly; I asked one of them to get my towels off the table and put them in my tent; she did not do that; they were soaking wet and dirty when I got back. Can't be depended on to do what they say. I would stay here only when rain is NOT in the forecast.
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
Tent site great. Bathrooms good size and clean. NEED better directions especially for those coming in at night
Aug 06, 2014
Staff is very friendly. Came and stayed for one night as we were traveling through. Showers clean and warm. Tent camp sites are shaded and not on top of each other. Would stay here again when traveling through next time.
Aug 01, 2014
The tent sites in the wooded areas are really not camper friendly. You have to walk up a hill to transport camping gear. The female hostess was rude and snotty and definitely not hospitable. It rained the two nights that we were there and we checked out three days early. When I walked by some of the other staff they did not even smile or acknowledge that I was a GUEST there. NEVER AGAIN!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry about the rain.
Jul 31, 2014
Mama bear and two cubs visited the camp. Free lift to Central City. Supper friendly staff. Great campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you, please pass on the word about us, it was wonderful having you.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
This KOA was not a good choice for us. It is miles away and UP (almost +4,000 ft!)from Golden, CO. It is inconvenient to go anywhere from the site. Also tent site was up a hill from car parking and so we were hauling stuff up and down the entire time. Finally, there is no dog run. It looks like one is planned though. On a good note, Mike is a happy talkative and astute camp manager.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.