Denver West / Central City KOA

605 Lake Gulch Rd Co Rd 6

Central City, CO 80427-0771

Reserve: 800-562-8613

Info: 303-582-3043

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 11, 2014
We had a nice site up top and the staff was great. Very clean restrooms and when we didn't feel like cooking they had pizza onsite.
Aug 11, 2014
Very friendly staff.
Aug 11, 2014
Excellent location, close to Denver. Spectacular views!
Aug 11, 2014
We had a very nice stay. There were nice views from all of the campsites. Pizza delivery (from within the park) and all you can eat pancakes was a nice touch.
Aug 11, 2014
All the staff was nice and made us feel welcome. Everything about the campground was clean and comfortable and very scenic. I would highly recommend it to Denver locals like us who want to get out of town to relax and/or gamble. I especially recommend it to out of staters who want a touch of mountains and history without driving clear across the state (if driving isn't your favorite thing).
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
It would be nice to have a bathroom and showers on the top level for those campers.
Aug 10, 2014
The KOA was new for us. We enjoyed the site and the view. While the customer service was casual, the staff did their best to ensure we had a good experience.
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
The staff was very friendly and helpful in everyway. I would stay here again if I come to Colorado
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 09, 2014
Awesome view! Clean and comfy.
Aug 08, 2014
We spent 6 nights here The site had fabulous views . The owner , Chuck was very helpful as was the staff ,especially Sharon
Aug 08, 2014
Great campground. One of the managers was very helpful to us as first time campers at an RV campground site. View of mountains was awesome!
Aug 08, 2014
Beautiful facilities, clean, quiet, and way outside city. Great sites, full hook ups. Our biggest challenge was getting to campground, very steep hills and right turns to get to campground.
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
Very delightful stay at 9000'
Aug 06, 2014
A very positive and enjoyable experience. This staff treated us like old friends and made sure our stay was the best it could be. Grounds was maintained and clean. Great clubhouse that served pancakes every morning, clean showers and hot tubs. We also tried the excellent pizza they offer that's delivered straight to your campsite. Highly recommend staying here!
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
This has by far been my favorite KOA camping experience. The camp was so well taken care of, beautiful and organized. The staff are all so friendly and helpful. We will be back some day.
Aug 05, 2014
The Spencer family went above and beyond to make our stay great. They also did a great job with the race day events.
Aug 05, 2014
The amenities are great. Very clean showers and restrooms. Very friendly staff.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Came to Central City as part of a city sponsored car race/show event. Stayed at the KOA. Great views, great management, clean and well run park. Cool temps, definitely better than driving up from Denver each day.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
The drive to get to the campground from I 70 is steep, curving and long. Once you finally get to Central City, you have to climb back up to the KOA. Our F350 struggled pulling our 38 ft. fifth wheel up the mountain again and thru the hairpin curves. The mountain view from the sites is pretty, but obscured by apartment buildings right in front of you.
Aug 01, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
It was a wonderful campground with wonderful workers!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your support and your kind comments.
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Inconvenient to get to. Once checked in, staff did not interact with guests unless the guests went into the office. The view is great once in campground!
Jul 29, 2014
They did not have bear proof trash cans and did not warn visitors that there were a mother and her cubs in the campground regularly. They are putting pets and families at risk! When asked they admitted that the bears raided the trash cans but were in the park for only minutes. There are tents with children next to the trashcans. My dog was tied up only a few feet from where the bears were see

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do have it posted that bears have been seen in the area. Our tent sites are not next to the trash cans. We also would never recommend leaving your loving pet tied up outside unattended.
Jul 28, 2014
We had a wonderful time, the sites were clean, fairly level and the staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend this KOA to my friends. Thank you.
Jul 28, 2014
Always enjoy the hospitality and ammenities at this KOA
Jul 28, 2014
Center spaces by the office are very stark. Lots of traffic, early morning noise. owners/managers very friendly and camp is very neat and clean. Good store, laundry, hot tub and shuttle avail to Blackhawk.
Jul 28, 2014
I'm hesitant to give this place the rating it deserves. It is already hard to get into during prime season. I don't really want to recommend because that will only make it harder to get a place! Scenic, clean & well-maintained. The staff was helpful and caring. The only quirky thing about this camp is the akward route you have to take up to central city and then back down the mt. to the camp.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Nice KOA with many amenities and great views but there are a couple of reasons I did not rate it higher. Although the park is very pet friendly be advised the entire park is rock or gravel except for the RV pads which are very nice concrete. My labs like to run and retrieve and there's no grassy area to do that for your pets. A fenced in play area would be nice. Steep grades, take hwy 119 to KOA.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
A beautiful place to stay! Very well maintained.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
We had a great stay at Denver West. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The view from our campsite was nothing short of beautiful. The amenities at the park made our stay comfortable. We will definetely stay there again.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Gorgeous views and great camp sites! Love the hot tubs also.
Jul 26, 2014
You could collect outgoing mail and take iit to post office when you pick your mail up like all other parks do as many do not have tow cars!
Jul 26, 2014
Nice clean camp sites, friendly people.
Jul 26, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.