Denver West / Central City KOA

Open April 24 - October 4

Reserve: 800-562-8613

Info: 303-582-3043


605 Lake Gulch Rd Co Rd 6

Central City, CO 80427-0771

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

May 10, 2016
Fabulous time!
May 09, 2016
Friendly people, beautiful views, nice layout of the campground. We enjoyed our time there.
May 09, 2016
Great place to stay. Staff is extremely nice . Spaces are excellent and level. Gambling in a central City and Blackhawk is only a mile or two away but nice to get back after an evening to the peaceful camp.
May 09, 2016
Campground was very clean to include restrooms. Very large recreation room. Lots of table and chairs. There was a large TV and a couple of board games. Our campsite did not have a campfire pit. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great views. Would stay again.
May 09, 2016
Excellent location. Very convenient to casinos. Sites have many large stones, makes walking difficult.
May 09, 2016
Great view! Friendly, and helpful staff!
May 09, 2016
The Campground was very clean, wonderful people with good amenities.
May 07, 2016
Nice facility, up in the mountains overlooking the town of Central City. A little hard to get to but a very nice drive coming up the back way of 119.
May 07, 2016
Owners were great! Fantastic customer service, very friendly. They have put a lot of work into the campground and it shows!
May 07, 2016
Best views of the trip
May 07, 2016
Staff was friendly and helpful getting us into a site a day early and we enjoyed being up high in the mountains with a gorgeous view of the Rockies and being close to Central City and Black Hawk. And the pizza Friday night was great😀
May 02, 2016
Staff was friendly and helpful
May 02, 2016
With over 40 years of camping, this is the most hospitable and accommodating campground ever!! We were snowed in during an early spring storm and the owner spent countless hours clearing over 40 inches of snow so campers could get in and out. We spend half of our summer camping at this resort. We love it!!
Apr 30, 2016
Very nice sites and friendly staff. Only glitch was that the 20A outlet at our site did not function (#37), but we connected to the 30A outlet and all was well.
Apr 28, 2016
Preseason visit. WiFi not working. Only 3 local channels. Very clean facility. Staff very friendly and helpful. LOVE those hot tubs! Perfect for our spring shakedown trip.
Apr 27, 2016
Beautiful scenery from the pull-in sites at the top of the hill. Very clean campground with a helpful and friendly staff.
Apr 27, 2016
Friendly staff, very clean bathrooms, nice shop, beautiful area
Apr 26, 2016
Absolutely beautiful location with 369 degree mountain views. Activities for both kids and adults: mine tours, central city sight seeing, playground, and hot tubs.
Apr 25, 2016
Apr 20, 2016
It was off season so not a lot going on. Park was still clean and friendly
Apr 11, 2016
The view is great from the top area. It's very rocky which is good to avoid dust but kind of a pain to sit around the campfire. Gambling within minutes though as a perk. Very clean facilities.
Jan 06, 2016
Cold and beautiful!
Nov 05, 2015
Don't trust them


This person stayed for 41 nights would not follow the rules. Had complaints from other campers we had to ask them to leave. Sorry
Oct 26, 2015
We stayed for a few days and was great. The day we got there was in the middle of snow storm. Got all hooked up and relaxed in the peace and quiet. Very nice dog park for our little guys. Just wish the office and store would at least be open for 1/2 day during the cold weather instead of closing up.
Oct 22, 2015
Nice quiet place with hills to explore. Place was clean, staff friendly, close to town but not too close. Nice sites.
Oct 21, 2015
Oct 20, 2015
We went there because the State Campground we had planned on staying at was full. We were very happy with this campground - very clean, good wi-fi, picturesque. We will be coming back again by choice :)
Oct 18, 2015
Breathtaking views and great people, it just doesn't get any better than that
Oct 18, 2015
One of the few which are spacious and nice and quite.
Oct 16, 2015
Quick get-a-way up into the mountains. Very nice clean camp ground
Oct 15, 2015
We were rock climbing on Hwy 6. Very convenient location. Nice bathrooms & laundry. Nice dog park. Nice pads. Overall one of the nicest koa. Just wish you could take with someone instead of the recording to just come in.
Oct 13, 2015
Beautiful location, way up there in altitude! Neat little mining town. Wish we had been here earlier in the year when the shuttle to the town and casino was running. Great people behind the desk.
Oct 13, 2015
The KOA itself is a good stop-over set up. But the 8 miles off I-70 turned into a 45 steep climb to Central City, followed by an even worse climb up to the KOA. They should have told us to unhook before attempting it. We are a gas engine towing RV and we almost stalled out. Centraol City and nearby Black Hawk are very picturesque towns but they are both casino towns - lots of little casinos.
Oct 12, 2015
Very good staff. Fun place to stay
Oct 12, 2015
It was awesome!
Oct 11, 2015
Best campground ever! Love the showers, laundry area. Surprised I didn't see a Recycle can, that should be a no brainer. Extremely death defying driving your RV up the hill to get there, definitely needs a entrance in front of campground instead of going around and around, downhill again to Central City and then uphill to get to the same place to enter the campground. Duh! But it was a great view!
Oct 09, 2015
Absolutely a great campground although a little difficult to get to. Be sure to try the morning pancakes!
Oct 09, 2015
Beautiful area to camp, great views. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Facilities were clean and well maintained. Showers were clean and lots of hot water. we only stayed one night, would love to come back and stay longer
Oct 08, 2015
Nice location, though road is steep with tight turns to get to it.
Oct 08, 2015
Love this place for a quick stay out of denver very nice park.
Oct 07, 2015
All the way around - it was a GREAT stay and we would recommend it to anyone who asks.
Oct 07, 2015
Nathan was awesome!
Oct 07, 2015
very clean, nice people
Oct 06, 2015
Nice people, beautiful views
Oct 05, 2015
very friendly staff and clean.
Oct 05, 2015
this is a very nice campground. I found the people working there friendly and helpful. The only thing I would change is the pet walking area. It's filled with rocks and a little tricky when walking your pet there.
Oct 05, 2015
One of the things that really need to change is the 2-3 inch rock that you have around some of the fire pits. It's really uncomfortable to walk on and a little dangerous to have around a camp fire pit. Very close to home and real clean campground.
Oct 05, 2015
It's a great place to stay, very friendly, clean, beautiful views and close to a lot of fun things to do.
Oct 05, 2015
Very nice place
Oct 05, 2015
Very clean and friendly. Great location. Need more cabins.

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award