Denver West / Central City KOA

605 Lake Gulch Rd Co Rd 6

Central City, CO 80427-0771

Reserve: 800-562-8613

Info: 303-582-3043

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 06, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
Beautiful, well kept up place. Was worth the uphill drive!
Jul 06, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
Excellent facility. Breathtaking views, convenient items at store, and the hot tubs were a bonus after all day of trail riding (two miles away)
Jul 05, 2014
The staff was wonderful and the campsite looked great! I had a great time and would gladly go back.
Jul 05, 2014
One word.....AWESOME!
Jul 04, 2014
The view and area are spectacular. The road from town was scary. Make sure your brakes are in good working order.
Jul 04, 2014
We went up to Celebrate my son's 21 birthday. The staff was very helpful and friendly and very pet friendly. We will be back.
Jul 03, 2014
The campground is great. The views are spectacular. The road to the campground is terrible. Very steep and we felt like we pushed our motorhome to the limit to get up the hill. Learned later that many have lost transmissions trying it.
Jul 03, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at Central City KOA. Our only question is why do the dog leash rules apply to guests and not to work-campers? We saw three attacks by such an unleashed dog. Also, more dumpster capacity is needed.
Jul 03, 2014
brought church youth group for tent camping and it was fantastic!! pizza delivery on friday night after setting up camp made for a great stressfree evening
Jul 03, 2014
1 night stay, just passing through. Very nice facility, clean and well kept. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Awesome location in Rocky Mountains.
Jul 03, 2014
A wonderful KOA but very difficult to get to due to winding steep road.
Jul 03, 2014
Great campground. Really enjoyed stay. Need to mention that campground is at a high altitude especially for people with lung ailments.
Jul 03, 2014
Camping at 8970 ft.... Wow! Very nice campground. Quite a winding road to get there.
Jul 03, 2014
love the views
Jul 03, 2014
Pleasant helpful staff. The views from our site were breathtaking. Wonderful time. A BIG Thanks Denver West KOA!!!!!
Jul 03, 2014
For newcomers to this area, it would have been nice to warn us of the incredibly beautiful but slightly treacherous drive from 70 to the campground.
Jul 02, 2014
Stayed here when it was "Gambler's Edge". It is as nice now as ever. I made reservations in Januaury for a June arrival and asked for a specific site and was accomodated. Thanks.
Jul 02, 2014
My wife and I just finished a 41 day 7000 mile camping trip out to Utah and Colorado. We both concluded that the most scenic campground was the Denver West/Central City KOA in Colorado. The staff was helpful,friendly and professional. The only suggestion would be to advise campers of the "OH MY GOD HILL" and unhook any tow vehicle before trying to get to the campground. Thanks for a wonderful stay
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Really nice, clean campground. The staff is very helpful and nice. Would definitely stay here again.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Our view over the city was amazing, and watching the surrounding thunderstorms across the valley almost made me happy it was raining. The free shuttle into town was unexpected and a great surprise. Thanks
Jul 02, 2014
This was my first stay at a KOA, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. As a senior woman camping alone I felt very comfortable and safe. I enjoyed the General Store. The prices were good and there were some really nice things that you just don't see. The restrooms, rec room, and showers were very clean. The staff was friendly and enthusiastic. The other campers I met were nice. Thank you!
Jul 02, 2014
Located on top of a mountain overlooking Central City, this campground offers beautiful views and has a nice setting. It is a good distance away from Denver and the roads to the campground are very steep. The campground is fairly well maintained, but does not offer many amenities (ex. pool, arcade, etc.) However, I would consider visiting this campground again in the future.
Jul 02, 2014
Nice clean facility and very warm and friendly staff. Great location to explore the mining history of this area and also the beautiful Rocky Mountains. So many day trips couldn't fit them all in. Will b back! Red Rocks was awesome!
Jul 02, 2014
The campground is great - very clean and amazing views. The staff were friendly and helpful. But the drive from the freeway to the campground is a nightmare - very tight turns, including a hairpin bend uphill. Doing that with a 34' travel trailer was a challenge! If there were an access road off Central City Pkwy it would be vastly improved.
Jul 02, 2014
Great facility considering it's on top of a mountain. Awesome and friendly staff. Breathtaking views right from our campsite. Couldn't ask for much more. We will be back!
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Great stay with great people. Love the spot. Love the environment.
Jul 02, 2014
Would have been better but a drunk lady screaming kept everyone awake for over an hour. Would have been nice to have security or someone stop it earlier.
Jul 02, 2014
We had a great stay! The facilities were well maintained & kept extremely clean. The couple managing the place were great & very helpful. Not as senic as we were hoping, but a great stay.
Jul 02, 2014
Just a great place all around. On-site pizza a real plus! Would have been 5 stars except the WiFi was a bit iffy at times.
Jul 02, 2014
The road in to the campground is very convoluted but worth the trouble as the views are tremendous.
Jul 02, 2014
Great!
Jul 02, 2014
The personnel did a good job-helpful. The facilities were clean and in good working order. The negative were the "boulders" you called gravel in your landscape. They were very difficult to maneuver, especially my husband who uses a cane.
Jul 02, 2014
Was a great place on top of hill where you can see surrounding area.
Jul 02, 2014
This camp ground was absolutely perfect. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the facilities offered everything we wanted. We will be back often!
Jul 02, 2014
Good location to Central City and loved the pancake breakfast!
Jul 02, 2014
Not the easiest drive to the campground but nice level site with easy access awaited us on arrival. Lots of mining history and interesting sites within easy driving range. I would definitely stay again.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Great location, good view, great service
Jul 02, 2014
We love that it is clean, has several amenities and close enough for a get a way and far enough to relax. We wish there was an exit off the Central City parkway instead of the winding hills down and up to it through Central City.
Jul 02, 2014
Nice campground. Only drawback, is the drive past the park down a steep hill into Central City then right back up the steep hill. Be nice if you get county to put an exit off Central City Pkwy.
Jul 02, 2014
This is a beautiful KOA. I loved the pull-in sights on the top of the hill.
Jul 02, 2014
Kind friendly and awsum veiw. Great wi-fi. All ready told family and friends about our stay. Thanks again! The Mahaneys
Jul 02, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.