Denver West / Central City KOA

605 Lake Gulch Rd Co Rd 6

Central City, CO 80427-0771

Reserve: 800-562-8613

Info: 303-582-3043

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 29, 2013
The staff is so friendly and the campgrounds are kept very clean. They always make us feel welcome! We've visited this site before and will definitely be back!
May 29, 2013
great people friendly atmosphere and awsesome amenities
May 29, 2013
Very nice place to stay and play and relax. Beautiful scenery will be back again.
May 29, 2013
I had an unfortunate experience when we checked in with an older lady that was behind the counter. She overheard the nice employee helping me mention my dog and ask what bread it was. When I told her it was a chihuahua the older woman threatened my dog's life if it barked. I didn't find her poor humor amusing, at all. An unfortunate way to start our stay. Extremely unwelcoming and unfriendly.
May 28, 2013
Very friendly staff. The site assigned was leveled concrete and more than long enough for my 5th wheel and tow vehicle.
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
This is one of the most beautiful KOA's in the nation. The staff is so friendly and helpful. Also, ALL facilities are clean and very well maintained. Every time I go to this park I never want to come home!
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
i HAVE TO SAY THAT i WAS VERY IMPRESSED WHEN THE OWNWER CAME AROUND TO EACH SITE AND ASKED IF ALL WAS GOOD OR ANY CONCERNS HE THEN GAVE US A DECXK OF PLAING CARDS. FROM KOA DO NOT FIND MANY PEOPLE LIKE THAT OR THEY REALLY CARE! LAT YEAR I DID NOT RENEW MY KOA BECAUSE OF A BAD OWNER AT A LOCATION BUT THESE PEOPLE JUST RENEWED MY HOPES IN CARRING PEOPLE!! MITCH COX 303-929-0260
May 28, 2013
Very friendly camp staff as well as nice amenities big spaces and lots of room between your neighbor. We will be back!!
May 28, 2013
very friendly staff very clean facilities
May 28, 2013
To hard to get to. up hill most of way. no place to eat in town except at casinos. Staff was friendly.
May 28, 2013
Very good time and staff went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of. Operations at the front desk were a little chaotic for what seemed like routine tasks of checking in guests and ringing up purchases. Camp could use a little organization and professionalism in this dept. Playground was huge hit. Railings near shop and playground provided many splinters. Facilities nice, clean.
May 28, 2013
Everyone was extremely nice and helpful! Love the layout of the campground and very well kept! Beautiful views!
May 28, 2013
Great view. Clean restrooms. Pizza and well stocked store. Staff was great.
May 28, 2013
Always a great place to stay. Can't wait to come back!!!
May 28, 2013
It is a wonderful site and well appointed if a bit more expensive than I would like. We have already mentioned it to several of our RV friends so you may have some other visitors as a result. you can't beat the views but that drive up is a challenge!
May 27, 2013
Loved the secluded camping spots available for tents!
May 27, 2013
May 26, 2013
The staff were wonderful, that Aussie touch perhaps? The campsite was great with amazing views over Central City. Also the pizzas were delicious. If we're ever back in this neck of the woods, we'll be sure to stay again! Terry & Michelle Cooper
May 25, 2013
Lots of ongoing work, lack of shady places. Nice people, good and clean facilities.
May 25, 2013
Difficult to get a motor home to campground. Check in lady not welcoming. Site very nice. Amenities mentioned in KOA book not complete
May 24, 2013
4 star rating if you take a back in spot with a view of the mountains. Other wise 3+ stars. Very nice hosts & easy pull throughs. 8 mile climb from I-70.
May 24, 2013
Loved the cleanliness and warmth of the bathrooms! loved the views!
May 23, 2013
Lovely place, very good information from the people in reseption.
May 23, 2013
May 22, 2013
Shame you have to drive down into Central City then back up to site. Hosts very friendly and helpful.
May 21, 2013
Friendly staff with that hometown feel.
May 21, 2013
Very friendly,helpful staff and a great location to enjoy the sights and casino's in Central City. Beautiful view of mountains from upper campgrounds.
May 20, 2013
May 20, 2013
May 20, 2013
I would rate the park much higher except for the ludicrous 12% grade to get into the park. When I told Desire` that they need to warn people about the access, the look on her face said very clearly that they don't warn people because they know it would cost business. The sites are awesome concrete slabs, very peaceful and quiet, the hook-ups are good, and the TV is good.The dog walk is a joke.
May 18, 2013
May 17, 2013
May 16, 2013
The park is very hard to get to. The people operating the park are not very knowledgable (they are new).
May 16, 2013
May 15, 2013
we love site #45 and how clean this campground is!
May 14, 2013
May 14, 2013
The only problem was getting to the Campground. The Campground itself was nice.
May 14, 2013
Very hard to get to,not the owners fault just the way it is.
May 13, 2013
It was the opening weekend for the campground, Had some issues with the office people, internet was down. All issues were resolved. I am sure it will be better as the summer goes on.
May 13, 2013
May 13, 2013
May 13, 2013
We had a great time. The staff is very friendly and the facilities immaculate.
May 13, 2013
May 13, 2013
Everyone one was extremely friendly and the campsite was as clean as they come. Thanks very much.
May 12, 2013
The only problem with y This KOA is that you drive right by it and have to go into central city and make a hairpin turn and climb a steep hill to get back to the KOA. They need a entrance back off the parkway.
May 12, 2013
The campgrounds are beautifully well maintained and have awesome views! The staff here are very excellent to deal with and extremely nice. Enjoyed our stay! The Stewarts, Dallas, TX
May 12, 2013
The front desk person, Desiree, made this stay fantastic! Her Aussie accent drew me in, and she was the PERFECT person to welcome us after a long driving day. Wish every KOA had a Desiree!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.