Denver West / Central City KOA

Open April 24 - October 4

Reserve: 800-562-8613

Info: 303-582-3043

Email

605 Lake Gulch Rd Co Rd 6

Central City, CO 80427-0771

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 04, 2015
There is a CRAZY road to get to the campground, but it is such a nice place! I would stay there again in a heartbeat.
Aug 04, 2015
We were fortunate to have the Central City overlook out of our motorhome. Nothing compares to this beautiful view of that valley!
Aug 04, 2015
The campsite was nice. It had clean big bathrooms. The camp site was a little small but fine. The store was open from 8am to 9pm so that was nice but they don't have alcohol so bring some of you want it. There were a lot of other thing like a playground, hot tub, and a place that cooks pizzas at night and pancakes in the morning. The site we stayed in was very secluded as well.
Aug 04, 2015
The best koa we have ever stayed in. Super clean. Nice staff. Amazing view. We will be back and tell others about it
Aug 04, 2015
Clean and well organized! Free shuttle into Central City.
Aug 04, 2015
What a beautiful view we had in site 1. It was so peaceful there. Get place to stay.
Aug 04, 2015
Very clean and very helpful staff. Views are beautiful.
Aug 04, 2015
First time there, liked the place overall. The tent sites are up a hill which means if you have a car you have to pack your gear up a hill. The management was nice and the addition of a Hunt Bros. Pizza on site was great.
Aug 04, 2015
The location is nice and close to Denver, services provided are good. A little bit too organized for me, I like the state parks better. What I didn't like were the motorbikes, ATV's and cars that made a lot of noise in the evening hours.
Aug 03, 2015
Like they say, there's camping and there's KOA. Personally I prefer camping.
Aug 03, 2015
The campground and employees were wonderful. The only downfall was that some of the guests do not abide by the quiet hours. Very disappointing that Harley riders have to rev up their bikes at 6:00am daily. If they would just start them and go on their way, it wouldn't be so bad, but they sit there and idle or give it gas so the whole campground can hear them. Wish this was addressed in handout.
Aug 03, 2015
Had a great time; really liked be able to go to Rocky Mt. Nat. Park. The experience of getting there was a brand new for someone who never had to deal with grades of more than 6 percent.
Aug 03, 2015
Great stay.
Aug 03, 2015
Very friendly, nice concrete pads,great tent sites, nice dog area difficult to get there
Aug 03, 2015
Good stay as usual. Only problem was a broken sewer connection on 47 but we worked around it. Thanks.
Aug 03, 2015
The location was amazing - great views, very clean. But the (young) front desk person was rude, especially when I pointed out that her answers to our questions about transportation to/from town after dark were the exact opposite of what I heard when I made the reservation (by phone). Sad that their customer service is lacking.
Aug 03, 2015
Great site overlooking Black Hawk and Central City. Friendly Staff, a neat, clean Park.
Aug 03, 2015
Great place , Clean and I got there on buffalo wing night
Aug 03, 2015
Great visit! Everyone was friendly and helpful.
Aug 03, 2015
Always a pleasant stay with nice staff and clean quiet accommodations.
Aug 02, 2015
Very nice campground. Very quiet and clean.
Aug 02, 2015
You need to be a mountain goat to get to the camp ground. Need to have exit off highway and not have to back track through town up steep, narrow and twisty road.
Aug 02, 2015
Did not like being by a walk way to the office and showers.To much traffic with everyone walking by looking into our trailer otherwise I would like to come back to different camp site.
Aug 02, 2015
We had a beautiful view from our camper, enjoyed the pizza they served, and the pancakes the next morning.
Aug 01, 2015
The facilities where small. Not very many amenities. Not a tent friendly camp ground or area. Would not stay again.
Aug 01, 2015
Was a little hard to get to in the near dark, but our site was lovely and the staff very helpful. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Aug 01, 2015
It was a nice campground, clean and comfortable. In a nice location.
Jul 30, 2015
loved it, we will be back
Jul 30, 2015
It was the great stay!
Jul 30, 2015
We love this camp and have stayed several times. Super bath and shower house, great camping sites, neat little store, and always friendly staff.
Jul 29, 2015
Great place and great owners
Jul 29, 2015
It was great
Jul 29, 2015
We loved it. Leslie Smith in the kitchen was particularly nice. Our driver Bruce was the best. Food excellent.
Jul 29, 2015
Nice people, great views, clean restrooms. Sites make drive up the mountain worth it! Wish there was better dog area.
Jul 29, 2015
Nice KOA
Jul 29, 2015
Beautiful setting, wonderful hot showers, friendly and helpful staff! Delicious hot pizza after a long drive.
Jul 29, 2015
People were great & friendly.
Jul 28, 2015
we had booked this site 3/1/15 and was told in May it was booked with someone else. I always book with this site in the comments and I knew we booked it first but I think my comment requesting this site went unseen so it was booked to someone else. We were pleasantly surprised when we checked in that you actually gave us this site because we did book it first so thank you for correcting this!!
Jul 28, 2015
Awesome camp hosts. Love the mountain top vistas.
Jul 28, 2015
I think this is a great place to stay if you have an RV or if you are interested in group camping. The individual tent sites are limited, although if you were able to reserve one, it will be shady, which is nice. Staff are friendly, and helpful and the location is great!!!
Jul 28, 2015
The campground is very nice. However, our experience was quite traumatic. We had tickets to the Central City Opera House for 8:00 p.m. One of the couples who work at the campground committed to us (two women) that they would pick us up after the opera. The number they gave us wasn't accurate and I got only a recording when I called the campground number. We were stranded in Central City.
Jul 28, 2015
Very nice KOA
Jul 28, 2015
This KOA is so good, i changed my plans to come back for another stay. Being on top of this mountain is wonderful for watching the weather roll by. The staff is warm and friendly.
Jul 27, 2015
Had great time clean friendly host would like office to open at7:00 instead of 8:00
Jul 27, 2015
2 thing getting there would be easier off parkway and a little dusty otherwise perfect.
Jul 27, 2015
Still our favorite place to stay, great to get back here this year!
Jul 27, 2015
Excellent
Jul 27, 2015
It was clean and everybody did a nice job and all my needs were met with exceptional service
Jul 27, 2015
Very nice park close to Denver for a quick weekend trip nice store clean bathrooms the only down side I see there is a lot of people seem to live there and the upper spots are kind of close together.
Jul 27, 2015
Nice campground, but not really Denver!!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award