Denver West / Central City KOA

605 Lake Gulch Rd Co Rd 6

Central City, CO 80427-0771

Reserve: 800-562-8613

Info: 303-582-3043

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 05, 2013
We enjoyed our stay very much. Everyone was so friendly and the campground is clean and orderly. Great job.
Aug 05, 2013
This is the 2nd time we've been in a KOA campground. This weekend's experience was a touch above awesome. We made new friends, everyone at the site was friendly, campers and staff and the beauty and short drive off the beaten path was more than worth it. WE WILL DEFINETLY BE BACK, sooner than later and look forward to hiking and spending some time in Central City in the valley below. Thanks
Aug 04, 2013
we absolutely loved this place!! the views were simply amazing! Best KOA ever
Aug 04, 2013
A nice clean facility. Road in is twisty and steep. Sites are well maintained. Washrooms/showers were immaculate. We loved the kampground but were disappointed in Central City itself due to the fact it was pretty much all casinos or thrift stores and we are not gamblers!
Aug 04, 2013
Arrived late at night, was given an alternate tent campsite to accommodate setting up more easily after dark. The place was really good at customer service. Liked the storage available in the showers to manage shampoos, soaps, razors and such. Hot tub was a disappointment both how it is situated more for winter weather and the fact it was unavailable during my stay, early August.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry about the hot tubs but someone thought it would be funny to put bubble bath in them. Bubbles were cool looking but not fun to clean up.
Aug 03, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
Personal shuttle to town appreciated. The tent areas are beautiful, great view. Our favorite KOA of our vacation. Cliff and Pat
Aug 02, 2013
Our campsite had a beautiful view, and the entire campground was pristine. The scenery is spectacular, and the campground reflects that beauty. My only suggestions would be to provide a dump station as opposed to availability at only two sites, and to have more locations for dumping trash. We will definitely return.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Not sure about the dump station thing and only having two sites with sewer. Every site in the campground has one or two sewer hook ups. Sorry for any confusion.
Aug 01, 2013
This was a treat! The tent site is surrounded by trees. The campground is high up in peaks west of Denver near an historic, picturesque town. The staff was cheerful and helpful.
Aug 01, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Just the nicest people. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The store was well stocked too. The site was well maintained and level with plenty of space to sit outside. Great views too.
Aug 01, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Nice camp site. Concrete pads. Nice bath house.
Jul 31, 2013
Great location & staff.
Jul 31, 2013
Love the upper lot and its fantastic views. Great service and friendly folks. A tough drive in for anything 40 foot or longer. The steep grades will stress you rig.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
We recently stayed at the Denver West KOA in Central City for 5 nights and it was definitely one of the nicest facilities we have ever stayed at. The staff was very accomodating, views were unbelievable, and campsite was clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay here again!
Jul 30, 2013
I love this place so much. I would never come home if I didn't have to. The staff at this particular KOA are the nicest people and so very helpful. The facilities are extremely well kept and I would highly recommend this KOA to anyone.
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
it is a very tough climb in a class A.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry but we do accommodate 40 foot rigs everyday many with tows. Without any problems. Largest one this year 77 feet total length.
Jul 29, 2013
Very clean and well maintained park with beautiful views. There were two hot tubs but nothing else to do and a long steep drive down to get to anything except casinos.
Jul 29, 2013
Campground is fine, facilities excellent, but access road deserves special warning for gas MH with tow vehicle. Nightmare to drive in and almost as bad back out of town.
Jul 29, 2013
Really well maintained facility, with friendly staff and beautiful surroundings. Loved it! We will be back if we can!
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
One if the most beautiful views we ever had! Worth the crazy roads to get to it. Had a premium site (#3) and well worth it.
Jul 28, 2013
Great stay but they have to get an on ramp from the parkway. I almost did not get my RV up that road through town. I loved this KOA but will not be back until they get that road issue fixed. The road is the only reason I did not give it 5 stars.
Jul 27, 2013
Staff was very helpful and friendly. Shuttle to Central City was great. Great views from upper sites. Well stocked store.
Jul 27, 2013
We didn't like traveling that far in the mountains off of the interstate, but the campground was nice and the people were very nice.
Jul 25, 2013
Spectacular! Not only is the campground beautifully maintained, the view is breath taking. A word of caution-the 9,000' elevation made it difficult for me to breathe.
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Best KOA in America! They had everything and in perfect order.
Jul 25, 2013
Best KOA in America! It was a perfect stay.
Jul 25, 2013
Staff were very helpful and courteous. We did not have any difficulty driving to the campground with our 40 ft RV while towing a car. We would definitely return.
Jul 25, 2013
It was a great stay. The shuttle to town was also great!!! I will be back.
Jul 25, 2013
Very nice. Need to have an access road from Central City Pkwy so you don't have to travel the narrow winding road thru town. A grass area for dogs would be nice.
Jul 24, 2013
Glad you took over Chuck! The group will be back!
Jul 24, 2013
We met so many nice people. The facilities were outstanding!!! Clean, friendly, helpful. When my daughter needed medical attention the camp was the best! I highly recommend!
Jul 24, 2013
We were pleasantly surprised. Stayed in site 45 and appreciated the view and privacy.
Jul 24, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
We only stayed one night. I wish we would have planned for more. What a great view!!!!!!!!
Jul 23, 2013
We had the best sight and the staff was very helpfull.
Jul 23, 2013
it was great. just wish hot tub would have stayed open later. because we did not get back until late after the races.
Jul 23, 2013
Loved the view we had, very peaceful BUT the climb is something else.
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
This KOA is awesome. Had a great stay and one of the nicest places I've been camping. Very clean and has everything you need. Everyone is extremely helpful/friendly and you can get a shuttle from there to nearby Central City if you'd like to go see town.
Jul 23, 2013
Perfect as always! Staff does a wonderful job! Thanks!
Jul 23, 2013
We just purchased a new Class A and wanted to try it out. This campground was a perfect place for that. Friendly staff and campers. Pancake breafest and pizza delivered to your campsite, what can be better!!! Will stay here again!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.