Decatur / Wheeler Lake KOA

Open March 1 - November 30

Reserve: 256-280-4390

Info: 256-280-4390


44 CR 443

Hillsboro, AL 35643

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 206 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Nov 13, 2015
Nov 03, 2015
Wonderful staff, beautiful grounds and views. 10 stars out of 5.
Nov 02, 2015
Awesome staff!! Beautiful campground!
Oct 30, 2015
No wifi except at office. No cable or sewer. Very spacious sites. Beautiful views of the lake.
Oct 26, 2015
The staff were very nice. The bathhouse did not have no electrical outlets,the water in the showers was just warm & they were push button. There was spiders and spider webs in the bathhouse.The sites are nice & large.
Oct 25, 2015
Only downside of the campground were the showers. You have to keep pushing a button to keep the small stream of water on (and it never gets hot enough). Also, the lights are on a timer and I ended taking part of shower in complete darkness. Other than that the place was beautiful and the staff is very friendly.
Oct 23, 2015
There was barely no wifi, although your publicity says there is some. You should also say it when cellulars are not getting any signal at all!
Oct 21, 2015
Liked the campground, but please turn off the fans in the bath house in temps of 30+ deg. and hopefully turn on the heat.
Oct 19, 2015
just stayed one night while heading south,will make a point to return again to stay longer during the summer.
Oct 19, 2015
Great place to stay. Quiet and peaceful bathhouse was cleanest that I have ever seen .staff was very friendly.
Oct 19, 2015
Friendly staff and very accommodating. The only thing that would make it better would be hiking/bike trails.
Oct 17, 2015
Fun! Fiun! Fun!
Oct 15, 2015
Clean, quiet, well maintained. Friendly check in, nice sites. We loved it
Oct 15, 2015
They were the most riders people l ever felt.Beginning nobody was there,they out eating so they told me to pull in site 3. 30 amp was broke,cable bad reception,but we were told cable was a prevlage and I ask for 30 amp.Yes I had a 50amp reduser ,but I refer to my power server We try to talk to them about taking a little money off the price.They act like dragons fire coming out of there eyes and m
Oct 13, 2015
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Oct 13, 2015
Best hosts love the view very clean , sorry I was only pass through I will return thx
Oct 12, 2015
This is our second visit to the Wheeler Lake, Alabama KOA. We love it here!
Oct 12, 2015
Great place, just wish their was sewer. We loved it and will be back very soon!
Oct 12, 2015
it is $12 - $15 per nite to high compared to the other campgrounds the area especially since there is not sewage hookup
Oct 12, 2015
Oct 07, 2015
Location was beautiful. Service was outstanding. Can't wait to go back.
Oct 07, 2015
Beautiful views, friendly and helpful staff, clean! We loved staying here!
Oct 05, 2015
We loved our stay, we are always looking for a quiet unplugged weekend when our family goes camping. And it was off season and wonderful. All the staff were extremely helpful and all smiles.
Oct 05, 2015
beautiful surroundings, clean, friendly staff
Sep 28, 2015
Wonderful campground!
Sep 21, 2015
Sep 20, 2015
We stayed Labor day weekend 2015. Max his wife and staff were very friendly and worked hard to keep the campground stocked and in good working order. Was nice and quiet with shade trees and a lake. All of the sites that say excess to the lake however not excisable due to weeds and water plant, but still give you a view of the lake. It is 35 miles from Huntsville.
Sep 20, 2015
Peaceful, clean and accommodating. Very friendly!
Sep 18, 2015
Excellent - I used FHU- wished I had went to the back side of park with just e/w. Great people, beautiful grounds, huge lake. A little way off of main hwy, but worth the drive.
Sep 17, 2015
Just needed a place to stop for the night...found it to be a pleasant surprise...could do a week of nothing but enjoying the lake under your tall pines...and now I know there's a Bob Gibson's BBQ near by, I'm coming back
Sep 14, 2015
Sep 11, 2015
Sep 09, 2015
Disappointed no cable, Internet and not enough for kids to do
Sep 08, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Sep 08, 2015
Great site and campground.
Sep 02, 2015
This was our first experience camping with our motorhome. Angie at the store was extremely helpful and very kind. The facilities were very clean and easy to get to. The campsites themselves were very well taken care of and cozy. There wasn't one site that was better than another site. They were all beautiful!! We will definitely be back!!!
Aug 30, 2015
We enjoyed a one night stay while on a long trip. If it was not raining we could of enjoyed camp grounds more. Staff very friendly.
Aug 27, 2015
We stayed here on our way up north in June and decided we liked it so much we returned on our way back home. We told friends of ours about your place and they stayed here as well. We will return next year on our way north. It is worth the 15 or so miles off the interstate. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable. KB from Florida
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 22, 2015
Great surprise! We will come back here-great views/lake! Hosts were very friendly and helpful.
Aug 20, 2015
We stayed 3 nights at this KOA. The staff were very helpful and freindly. My wife had 2 complaints with the bathrooms. You have to be continually turning the showers on because they are on a timer and there was no outlets for her hair drier
Aug 17, 2015
This former TVA property is a real gem! Staff was wonderful.
Aug 16, 2015
Stayed in the tent area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Bath house was clean and conveniently located. Definitely plan to go back again!
Aug 12, 2015
Enjoyed it very much. Loise and Max were very friendly. Angie was helpful and sweet.
Aug 10, 2015
Nice place and will probably return some day
Aug 05, 2015
Amélioration à faire aux salles de toilettes. Ajouter un comptoir, propreté des lieux.
Aug 03, 2015
Nice people, beautiful campground, everything neat as a pin - couldn't ask for more. Always have a good time when we visit.
Jul 30, 2015
AS pretty and well maintained this KOA is, the lack of a beach/swim area in the campground portion of the Camp was disappointing. Personally to have to drive, almost out of the camp, from you coach was not appreciated, especially when you had to share the beach with the many day visitors. However, the kayaking was great, despite the heat.
Jul 28, 2015
Very nice rural setting. Great place to go if you have dogs Nice open space for dogs. Owners were very nice and helpful with travel directions!
Jul 28, 2015
Lois, our hostess was great and got us set up in no time even though I didn't have a reservation. Good water fun on the lake.

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy