Decatur / Wheeler Lake KOA

Open March 1 - November 30

Reserve: 256-280-4390

Info: 256-280-4390

Email

44 CR 443

Hillsboro, AL 35643

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 294 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 20, 2016
No Cable, WiFi only at office which is a long way from camping sites. Bathroom has NO paper towels & no hand soap & little AC. Only few sites have direct access to lake, others have grassy fields in front. No pool. Not your typical KOA standards! $5 amenity fee added. Was told it is KOA Tax???? Are you kidding me! Plus, if you like croaking frogs, you will love this place.
Jun 20, 2016
This is our 2nd time to camp here. We are returning this week-end, also. Angie is the GREATEST!!! Sites are clean, bath house is clean, cool, and well stocked. Camp store is well stocked. All the employees are friendly and willing to go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need and that you are having a good time. We love watching the waterfowl, turtles and squirrels.
Jun 16, 2016
Super friendly and efficient. Very quiet. Very pretty and clean.
Jun 15, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at Decatur/Wheeler Lake. The staff was very friendly and the place was so clean. We will consider on staying here again....
Jun 15, 2016
We didn't care for the spot we had and a real bad Oder at this camp site
Jun 14, 2016
Just stayed one night passing through but the campground/lake were beautiful
Jun 13, 2016
A great time and close to home. Very well maintained and the employees are extremely helpful and friendly.
Jun 12, 2016
Nice, helpful staff. Allows extra time to check-out, if needed, with no additional charge. Very clean & quiet.
Jun 09, 2016
Jun 08, 2016
Jun 07, 2016
Nice park, very friendly on phone, got there after hours so didn't get to meet in person. Would definitely stay here again.
Jun 04, 2016
We stayed in a pop up and did not have a restroom which made us dependent on the KOA's. The restrooms were unattended for 2 1/2 days. We had to leave the site several times for personal uses. Besides that the park does have potential. Just dirty.
Jun 03, 2016
The staff was nice and helpful. Our spot was perfect. The camp grounds were very clean. It was so nice and peaceful there.
Jun 03, 2016
LOVED IT! Don't care for the "dump system" Needs some work on the road in the campground and retaining walls falling down. Duck poop and pavilions need more cleaning.
Jun 03, 2016
Top notch campground!!!!
Jun 03, 2016
We are from the UK and first time doing camping in a R.V. People were so friendly and helpful. Having stayed at 5 other KOA sites would put this one up with the best.
Jun 02, 2016
Angie...Thank you for renting us a Great Spot. Really liked alot of the spots you guys offer. We loved the views and Cleanliness!!!
Jun 02, 2016
The stay was good, the water frontage is great. I think it is stupid that if u pay for a month & leave before the month is up, u lose the remaining days,i f u pay for a month u should get a month, the remaining days should be there if u ever wanna come back. I also think the price is to high not to have full hook up. Ur holiday rate, u had nothing to offer for the holiday, no fireworks anything
Jun 02, 2016
The campgrounds were great. My only complaint is that I have not gotten a response about refund for one night when we could not make it to camp. My complaint is on the none response.
Jun 02, 2016
Great stay, sunrise over the lake was breath taking!
Jun 01, 2016
I love that this campground is on the water, but it could use some improvements. Its very weedy and no one does any mowing or weed eating. Also, the shower heads are very low pressure and need descaling. There was also no soap in the bathroom
Jun 01, 2016
We enjoyed our stay very much! The location is FABULOUS! Off the road, nowhere near a noisy interstate - completely peaceful and quiet. Almost all the sites have a view of the lake, ours was right up to the shore. The croaking bullfrogs sang to us an night. This is what camping is all about!
May 31, 2016
We love this KOA. The staff is very friendly and so easy to work with. The only reason I cannot give this a five star rating is the lack of cable, wifi, and full hook up. But the setting is so beautiful and peaceful that those things are rarely missed. Have stayed he before and will definitely stay here again!!!
May 31, 2016
Very nice campsites, clean restrooms. Pleasant staff. Thanks for the enjoyable stay.
May 31, 2016
We had a,great time. Our first camping trip together. Very nice place, bathrooms extra clean, garbage pick 4 or 5 times a day. Grounds extra clean. Loved it. Staff were all so friendly and helpful. Only thing I could suggest would be boat parking in water at bank by our camper. Will stay again
May 31, 2016
We love this campground. The only things missing are some walking trails and a pool. They do have a beach area but the water in the lake is so dirty and polluted. The bathrooms & showers are extremely clean. The staff is very friendly.
May 31, 2016
May 31, 2016
This is a great spot. The staff is excellent and be sure and say hi to Angie. She made sure everything was taken care of. I was treated like family.
May 31, 2016
If you would add a pool it would be the best campground in the area
May 31, 2016
False advertising! Very disappointed in this koa at decatur. Website advertises wifi, but they don't tell you it's by the office only, which is very far from the rv campground. The grass needed mowing desperately, lots of bugs, ants & mosquitoes. Very few places to bank fish, so unless you have a boat, forget about fishing. At $49/nt we expected better.We left a day early & won't go back.
May 31, 2016
Everything was good. Beach could've been cleaner and better kayak launch spot. All was good though.
May 29, 2016
Everyone that works at this KOA is very nice.The bathrooms are clean and the lake is beautiful.We also made a life time friend while we were there.
May 29, 2016
ONE BATHROOM,one shower. Are you kidding me ?
May 28, 2016
restrooms dirty,grounds un ceptr sites have no swer systm, not made aware when making resv., its old and rundown...
May 26, 2016
Beatuiful view.... peaceful and quit....
May 24, 2016
Nestled in an idyllic setting, we slept soundly and awakened refreshed. We only wished we had planned to stay more than 1 night! Thank you for making our late night check-in so easy! Happy trails!
May 23, 2016
May 22, 2016
LOVE having a site on the water. Spacious sites. Our 2nd time here & will be back. Did not know they had pumping service until our 6th day there or would have used the service. Our grass/weeds needed cutting at our site. Overall LOVED our stay. GREAT hosts!!! :)
May 21, 2016
Wonderful and the staff was very welcoming:)
May 21, 2016
Loved the primitive tent site by the lake. Very relaxing and loved hearing the waves crest on the shore during the night. Well maintained, great people!!
May 18, 2016
Everything was great except the electricity was out in the bathrooms close to us. It came back on the second day though.
May 18, 2016
May 12, 2016
Great
May 09, 2016
Lovely campsite on Wheeler Lake.
May 09, 2016
Really enjoyed our stay, camp grounds were clean and quite at night, very peaceful and relaxing visit. The showers and rest rooms were very clean and well maintained. We will be back!
May 09, 2016
Very clean and fruendly
May 09, 2016
The camp ground hosts are absolutely the nicest people. They are very accommodating and helpful. The campground is very clean.
May 08, 2016
Wifi was not available at camp site.
May 08, 2016
The manager, Angie, is always helpful and accommodating. Facilities are kept clean and in good working order.
May 06, 2016
The staff is wonderful, very helpful. The park,bathrooms, wtc. Are very clean. The view is to die for! Quiet peaceful, serene.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals