Decatur / Wheeler Lake KOA

44 CR 443

Hillsboro, AL 35643

Reserve: 800-562-3640

Info: 256-280-4390

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Campground Reviews

Jun 29, 2015
Depends on what you want. Not much or adults to do, but for us that was the purpose of the trip.
Jun 22, 2015
We had some travel problems, and Angie was great helping us. The site was positively beautiful.
Jun 21, 2015
Will be a great koa once the new management get it sorted, thanks, Gerry
Jun 20, 2015
Jun 17, 2015
Very nice! Host was very gracious. No satellite access in our pull through. Internet access poor.
Jun 15, 2015
Although this is a pretty camp ground, it's directly across from a nuclear power plant. This was our view. This is not the outdoorsy feel we're looking for.
Jun 13, 2015
Beautiful park, nice people, big sites. A little off the beaten path but well worth it
Jun 09, 2015
Showers and toilets need upgrading.Staff walked past toilets when they really needed to be cleaned.
Jun 03, 2015
Very friendly host. Nice grounds.
Jun 01, 2015
Very nice campground, wish we could have stayed longer. Beautiful setting.
Jun 01, 2015
This KOA has some of the most beautiful views directly from your campsite. It is incredible to wake up to a sunrise across the lake!
Jun 01, 2015
Super clean, super friendly staff and the location is very quaint and scenic. Highly recommend.
May 31, 2015
It was not a very pleasant stay. We were over charged for our stay. Which they still have not refunded our money. And the worst part of our stay was the women shower/restroom. Not cleaned at all in the 3 days we were there. Holiday weekend means full campground. NO TOILET paper. Poop on the walls, an inch of sand on the floors. They were told and did nothing. We left a day early.
May 27, 2015
Beautiful campground staff very courteous & helpful. The only complaint I have is the price. If pricing was reasonable that campground woul be full all summer.
May 27, 2015
Very nice staff. We visited during the heavy rains. Had to leave a little late because of road slowdowns headed West to Houston, but staff was very accommodating! Nice pool and jacuzzi!
May 26, 2015
Very nice!
May 26, 2015
The staff was friendly however there was a few issues. The campground bathhouse was frequently out of toliet paper and handsoap. They allowed someone with an ATV to ride around like it was a golfcart which they do allow. The beach swimming area was covered in stick and debris. One of the kids play sets was roped off do to being aged. We will be back but these issuses on our mind.
May 26, 2015
We had a great stay. The staff was amazing and so helpful.
May 26, 2015
Staff was super friendly Our campsite was great. However bathrooms are only cleaned once a day and were dirty and out of toilet paper by evening. Bathrooms should be cleaned and checked at least 4 or 5 times day especially on a busy holiday weekend n
May 26, 2015
May 19, 2015
Beautiful, quiet, clean, and just plain nice!
May 18, 2015
We love this campground. The sites are not close so you have plenty of room. Sites are also clean. We love being on the water and seeing the fish jumping. Everyone is very helpful & friendly. We are going back in 2 weeks.
May 17, 2015
Really enjoyed our site which was very close to the lake. Very enjoyable neighbors too. The only thing that bugged us was the trash that was laying next to one of the sites next to us was never picked up. When we were leaving the next day it was still laying there. I really don't thing that is a good habit to let the trash lay for so long due to the wild life.
May 13, 2015
nice park. great for watersports and is really well kept.
May 13, 2015
Extremely overpriced. Not well maintained. No amenities.
May 11, 2015
May 07, 2015
May 06, 2015
There is a definite NEED for more Full hook ups, a fenced Dog play area and FULL TIME ON THE PREMISES People came unto the campgrounds and the place was locked up tight so they left. I did enjoy myself and the peace and quiet despite the need for the things I have already mentioned. --- The Murphy's
May 05, 2015
it was beautiful and quiet, however the slave cemetery was not explained and off putting, it would have been nice to know some history about it
May 02, 2015
outstanting
Apr 30, 2015
Beautiful campground! One of the nicest we have been at.
Apr 17, 2015
Quiet KOA, hope for more full service drive thru sites.
Apr 16, 2015
What a beautiful KOA site. Problems are, difficult access from interstate highway, marginal wifi, few full service sites, and no cable TV. Jim and the Ladies in the office were very helpful.
Apr 15, 2015
Nice park now. It will be very nice when complete.
Apr 13, 2015
had a great time.
Apr 13, 2015
The campgroud setting is beautiful. The host were nice and the sites were level. There was not any activities planned and very little information was provided at check in. The bathhouse needs a major renovation. The lake is beautiful.
Apr 12, 2015
This place was awesome. Max is one of the most nicest man I have ever meet. Very helpful. Best campground host ever. Would highly recommend this koa.
Apr 08, 2015
The staff was very pleasant and helpful. This is a beautiful campground right on the lake. This would be a wonderful summer vacation place.
Apr 06, 2015
Great! Would love to go back. Have already recommended it to two others.
Mar 31, 2015
We had a great vacation at the Wheeler Lake Alabama campground.
Mar 29, 2015
Great
Mar 26, 2015
Nice location. Nice people. Great fishing.
Mar 24, 2015
Needs improvement
Mar 19, 2015
Mar 14, 2015
This place was just ok.
Feb 17, 2015
No one available at the site... no checkin , no support, It should have been noted at the time of reservation that no one would be there. Very disappointing and very unlike other KOA's we have stayed at...
Dec 01, 2014
Nov 30, 2014
Nice views of the lake.
Nov 03, 2014
Compared to some other KOA facilities they have work to do on playground and pool areas. The beach area was very nice. It was wooded and quite beautiful. Very polite staff.
Oct 27, 2014
The staff was very friendly. The campgrounds was clean and peaceful. Some of the sites were very narrow and if you have a slide it would present a problem. We will be going back again. Joe T.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.