Decatur / Wheeler Lake KOA

44 CR443

Hillsboro, AL 35643

Reserve: 800-562-3640

Info: 256-280-4390

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Campground Reviews

Dec 01, 2014
Nov 30, 2014
Nice views of the lake.
Nov 03, 2014
Compared to some other KOA facilities they have work to do on playground and pool areas. The beach area was very nice. It was wooded and quite beautiful. Very polite staff.
Oct 27, 2014
The staff was very friendly. The campgrounds was clean and peaceful. Some of the sites were very narrow and if you have a slide it would present a problem. We will be going back again. Joe T.
Oct 27, 2014
We had a awesome stay here! One of the workers (Max) helped my husband back our rv into our site. It was our maiden voyage with our first camper. Then the lady in the office helped us learn how to empty our tanks! Great people and a great place!
Oct 25, 2014
BEAUTIFUL campground. A bit off the beaten path, but worth the extra miles. Roomy sites right on the lake! We were just traveling through, wished we could stay longer.
Oct 23, 2014
Great site, great park, best KOA bathroom I have ever seen. If you can get over seeing the prominent Nuclear Power plant, this is a perfect KOA.
Oct 21, 2014
Oct 16, 2014
Good park & good location
Oct 16, 2014
Great location! Only comment is that I wish they had internet available at the campsites.
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 05, 2014
Great for a new KOA! Need sewer connections Need kayak and canoe rental BUT Very clean, quite, and friendly!
Oct 05, 2014
Amazing sites without sewer. Too few with but the campground is on a great lake, full of fish, ducks and eagles. Understanding there are plans to develop more sewer sites and hopefully better showers. Still rates high on our 7 week trek around the USA
Oct 01, 2014
Full Hook-up sites are next to people that live there. There was nobody in the park and they put someone right next to us. Beautiful location, not easy getting a "Big Rig" around.
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 28, 2014
no dock or water access from campground. dock in need of repair. stepped on my glasses and greatly scratched lenses due to no lighting in shower area! these will be costly to replace. uneven grade of site n needed to go back to camper for flashlight as no lighting to see lock for coding and ingress to bathroom
Sep 27, 2014
Sep 27, 2014
Very quiet and large area to spread out away from neighbors. Flat sites, nice swim beach, friendly staff. They are still working on a few things to bring it up to the fantastic level. We'd stay again!
Sep 25, 2014
Sep 23, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 16, 2014
Nice campground but needs some TLC.We stayed on site # 22 and it had a great view of the lake. But if someone was on site # 23 they would block your view. About site # 23 it is only large enough for a popup. The owners should consider making a boat dock off of this site. They could have a fish sink and a nice swing for the campers to look out over the lake. They also need to update the wiring.
Sep 15, 2014
Thank you for our free promotional night stay at Wheeler Lake KOA. The staff was pleasant and hospitable. The park and lake were beautifully groomed. This KOA has potential for a higher rating. We stayed in a full hook-up site where we expected wi-fi and cable TV; however, neither were available. The park has only been open since a March 2014, so hopefully that will be fixed.
Sep 15, 2014
Great place to visit and helpfull attendants and freindly neighbors.
Sep 08, 2014
wonderful staff, very clean, quiet and different layout which was nice. being new they don't have cable but antenna works great also no hot spots but internet up at store, STAFF very pleasant, surrounded by water it is nice.
Sep 07, 2014
Great hosts! Stayed at the pull through. Wished we could have stayed longer. Need signs on I-65 because it is worth the drive!
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
Beautiful waterfront. Peaceful and relaxing.
Sep 03, 2014
Kid's loved the beach!
Sep 03, 2014
Prices are to high compared to other parks in This area. No sewers no wifi services very poor cell service. Cable on boat launch safety issue. Park was not weeded on the river side lots of weeds. Could be a very nice walking trail if maintained.
Sep 01, 2014
Sep 01, 2014
Was not there all the time, but everything was great while I was there. The facility was well maintained, and looked great. It was peaceful and quiet. nice. thanks.
Sep 01, 2014
Poor amenities due to no cable Tv, WiFi, and only a few full hook ups.Electric was lost due to some storms and nobody could tell us anything. They offer a dumping service for 7 dollars which we scheduled but again they couldn't provide an exact time. The positive side is owners are very nice and the KOA is surrounded by water. Very nice beach!
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
It's a new KOA and does not have all the amenities that the other KOA's have. It's a beautiful campgrounds and the people were friendly.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Beautiful site on the water. Wonderful hosts. Very friendly. Campground needs WiFi.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Wonderful friendly staff! We enjoyed our weekend fishing even though we didn't catch anything. Would have given 5 stars if it was full hook up rather than just W/E.
Jul 20, 2014
Staff where very very accommodating. They took the time to take me on their side by side to find a waterfront spot that my 40 ft motorhome would fit into and be able to level. They also stated if I saw any limbs that where to low they would trim them so we could make it in and out from the waterfront spots. Awesome views and a wonderful staff.
Jul 19, 2014
We had a very good stay. The best thing about this campground is the number of sites right on the water, the worst is none of those sites have full hookup and the bathhouse is not centrally located. The beach is nice but I would not let it be used for dayuse as many of those people liked to be picked up after.(slobs)
Jul 15, 2014
love to camp here, but your rates are to high, even with the discount
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Very nice but it seems we CAn't get a spot where we would like to be no Matter how far in advance I book
Jul 10, 2014
Very nice weekend. Boat ramp needs some attention. Cable could be dangerous& loose screws on dock.. Needs nite lite near boat ramp
Jul 02, 2014
Overpriced.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.