Decatur / Wheeler Lake KOA

44 CR 443

Hillsboro, AL 35643

Reserve: 256-280-4390

Info: 256-280-4390

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Campground Reviews

Aug 24, 2015
Aug 22, 2015
Great surprise! We will come back here-great views/lake! Hosts were very friendly and helpful.
Aug 20, 2015
We stayed 3 nights at this KOA. The staff were very helpful and freindly. My wife had 2 complaints with the bathrooms. You have to be continually turning the showers on because they are on a timer and there was no outlets for her hair drier
Aug 17, 2015
This former TVA property is a real gem! Staff was wonderful.
Aug 16, 2015
Stayed in the tent area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Bath house was clean and conveniently located. Definitely plan to go back again!
Aug 12, 2015
Enjoyed it very much. Loise and Max were very friendly. Angie was helpful and sweet.
Aug 10, 2015
Nice place and will probably return some day
Aug 05, 2015
Amélioration à faire aux salles de toilettes. Ajouter un comptoir, propreté des lieux.
Aug 03, 2015
Nice people, beautiful campground, everything neat as a pin - couldn't ask for more. Always have a good time when we visit.
Jul 30, 2015
AS pretty and well maintained this KOA is, the lack of a beach/swim area in the campground portion of the Camp was disappointing. Personally to have to drive, almost out of the camp, from you coach was not appreciated, especially when you had to share the beach with the many day visitors. However, the kayaking was great, despite the heat.
Jul 28, 2015
Very nice rural setting. Great place to go if you have dogs Nice open space for dogs. Owners were very nice and helpful with travel directions!
Jul 28, 2015
Lois, our hostess was great and got us set up in no time even though I didn't have a reservation. Good water fun on the lake.
Jul 20, 2015
Nice grounds and lakefront, facility improvements can be seen in many sites. TVA had allowed things to deteriorate before KOA took over. WIFI not at all reliable, worked OK only two of seven days. No cable working at full hookups, cables visible but not connected. TV and cellphone service both marginal. Nice people, much potential for facility improvement, will try another visit in the spring.
Jul 18, 2015
THE ONLY PROBLEM IS LOCAYION. THE MANAGER WAS EXTREMELHY HELPFULL AND KIND
Jul 17, 2015
Angie is fantastic in the front office. Very outgoing and helpful. Love the campground and the site we had. Would be nice if the campstore sold worms for fishing.
Jul 08, 2015
LOVE STAYING AT DECATUR /WHEELERLAKE AL. SAW SOMETHING FOR THE FRIST TIME THAT BOTHERED ME PEOPLE WALKING AROUND WITH OPEN CONTAINERS OF LIQUOR IN CAMPGROUNDS. REPORTED IT AND WAS TOLD THEY COULD DO NOTHING BECAUSE IT WAS PRIVATLY OWNED.
Jul 07, 2015
Had trouble with flooding on the first site we were at but after letting the people in the office know we were moved to a different site and were able to enjoy the rest of our stay dry!
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
Great hospitality! Thank you for your help in getting us set up with a new rig.
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 03, 2015
Staff was very helpful
Jul 02, 2015
Everyone was so helpful, courteous and cheerful. Max was very helpful and friendly to us and we really appreciated his help. Angie always greeted us with a big smile.
Jul 02, 2015
Very nice place. Very friendly host. Would like to go back there again. Beautiful campground on lake.
Jul 01, 2015
Enjoyed our stay.
Jun 29, 2015
Depends on what you want. Not much or adults to do, but for us that was the purpose of the trip.
Jun 22, 2015
We had some travel problems, and Angie was great helping us. The site was positively beautiful.
Jun 21, 2015
Will be a great koa once the new management get it sorted, thanks, Gerry
Jun 20, 2015
Jun 17, 2015
Very nice! Host was very gracious. No satellite access in our pull through. Internet access poor.
Jun 15, 2015
Although this is a pretty camp ground, it's directly across from a nuclear power plant. This was our view. This is not the outdoorsy feel we're looking for.
Jun 13, 2015
Beautiful park, nice people, big sites. A little off the beaten path but well worth it
Jun 09, 2015
Showers and toilets need upgrading.Staff walked past toilets when they really needed to be cleaned.
Jun 03, 2015
Very friendly host. Nice grounds.
Jun 01, 2015
Very nice campground, wish we could have stayed longer. Beautiful setting.
Jun 01, 2015
This KOA has some of the most beautiful views directly from your campsite. It is incredible to wake up to a sunrise across the lake!
Jun 01, 2015
Super clean, super friendly staff and the location is very quaint and scenic. Highly recommend.
May 31, 2015
It was not a very pleasant stay. We were over charged for our stay. Which they still have not refunded our money. And the worst part of our stay was the women shower/restroom. Not cleaned at all in the 3 days we were there. Holiday weekend means full campground. NO TOILET paper. Poop on the walls, an inch of sand on the floors. They were told and did nothing. We left a day early.
May 27, 2015
Beautiful campground staff very courteous & helpful. The only complaint I have is the price. If pricing was reasonable that campground woul be full all summer.
May 27, 2015
Very nice staff. We visited during the heavy rains. Had to leave a little late because of road slowdowns headed West to Houston, but staff was very accommodating! Nice pool and jacuzzi!
May 26, 2015
Very nice!
May 26, 2015
The staff was friendly however there was a few issues. The campground bathhouse was frequently out of toliet paper and handsoap. They allowed someone with an ATV to ride around like it was a golfcart which they do allow. The beach swimming area was covered in stick and debris. One of the kids play sets was roped off do to being aged. We will be back but these issuses on our mind.
May 26, 2015
We had a great stay. The staff was amazing and so helpful.
May 26, 2015
Staff was super friendly Our campsite was great. However bathrooms are only cleaned once a day and were dirty and out of toilet paper by evening. Bathrooms should be cleaned and checked at least 4 or 5 times day especially on a busy holiday weekend n
May 26, 2015
May 19, 2015
Beautiful, quiet, clean, and just plain nice!
May 18, 2015
We love this campground. The sites are not close so you have plenty of room. Sites are also clean. We love being on the water and seeing the fish jumping. Everyone is very helpful & friendly. We are going back in 2 weeks.
May 17, 2015
Really enjoyed our site which was very close to the lake. Very enjoyable neighbors too. The only thing that bugged us was the trash that was laying next to one of the sites next to us was never picked up. When we were leaving the next day it was still laying there. I really don't thing that is a good habit to let the trash lay for so long due to the wild life.
May 13, 2015
nice park. great for watersports and is really well kept.
May 13, 2015
Extremely overpriced. Not well maintained. No amenities.
May 11, 2015
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.