Decatur / Wheeler Lake KOA

44 CR 443

Hillsboro, AL 35643

Reserve: 256-280-4390

Info: 256-280-4390

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Campground Reviews

Sep 28, 2015
Wonderful campground!
Sep 21, 2015
Sep 20, 2015
We stayed Labor day weekend 2015. Max his wife and staff were very friendly and worked hard to keep the campground stocked and in good working order. Was nice and quiet with shade trees and a lake. All of the sites that say excess to the lake however not excisable due to weeds and water plant, but still give you a view of the lake. It is 35 miles from Huntsville.
Sep 20, 2015
Peaceful, clean and accommodating. Very friendly!
Sep 18, 2015
Excellent - I used FHU- wished I had went to the back side of park with just e/w. Great people, beautiful grounds, huge lake. A little way off of main hwy, but worth the drive.
Sep 17, 2015
Just needed a place to stop for the night...found it to be a pleasant surprise...could do a week of nothing but enjoying the lake under your tall pines...and now I know there's a Bob Gibson's BBQ near by, I'm coming back
Sep 14, 2015
Sep 11, 2015
Sep 09, 2015
Disappointed no cable, Internet and not enough for kids to do
Sep 08, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Sep 08, 2015
Great site and campground.
Sep 02, 2015
This was our first experience camping with our motorhome. Angie at the store was extremely helpful and very kind. The facilities were very clean and easy to get to. The campsites themselves were very well taken care of and cozy. There wasn't one site that was better than another site. They were all beautiful!! We will definitely be back!!!
Aug 30, 2015
We enjoyed a one night stay while on a long trip. If it was not raining we could of enjoyed camp grounds more. Staff very friendly.
Aug 27, 2015
We stayed here on our way up north in June and decided we liked it so much we returned on our way back home. We told friends of ours about your place and they stayed here as well. We will return next year on our way north. It is worth the 15 or so miles off the interstate. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable. KB from Florida
Aug 24, 2015
Aug 22, 2015
Great surprise! We will come back here-great views/lake! Hosts were very friendly and helpful.
Aug 20, 2015
We stayed 3 nights at this KOA. The staff were very helpful and freindly. My wife had 2 complaints with the bathrooms. You have to be continually turning the showers on because they are on a timer and there was no outlets for her hair drier
Aug 17, 2015
This former TVA property is a real gem! Staff was wonderful.
Aug 16, 2015
Stayed in the tent area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Bath house was clean and conveniently located. Definitely plan to go back again!
Aug 12, 2015
Enjoyed it very much. Loise and Max were very friendly. Angie was helpful and sweet.
Aug 10, 2015
Nice place and will probably return some day
Aug 05, 2015
Amélioration à faire aux salles de toilettes. Ajouter un comptoir, propreté des lieux.
Aug 03, 2015
Nice people, beautiful campground, everything neat as a pin - couldn't ask for more. Always have a good time when we visit.
Jul 30, 2015
AS pretty and well maintained this KOA is, the lack of a beach/swim area in the campground portion of the Camp was disappointing. Personally to have to drive, almost out of the camp, from you coach was not appreciated, especially when you had to share the beach with the many day visitors. However, the kayaking was great, despite the heat.
Jul 28, 2015
Very nice rural setting. Great place to go if you have dogs Nice open space for dogs. Owners were very nice and helpful with travel directions!
Jul 28, 2015
Lois, our hostess was great and got us set up in no time even though I didn't have a reservation. Good water fun on the lake.
Jul 20, 2015
Nice grounds and lakefront, facility improvements can be seen in many sites. TVA had allowed things to deteriorate before KOA took over. WIFI not at all reliable, worked OK only two of seven days. No cable working at full hookups, cables visible but not connected. TV and cellphone service both marginal. Nice people, much potential for facility improvement, will try another visit in the spring.
Jul 18, 2015
Jul 17, 2015
Angie is fantastic in the front office. Very outgoing and helpful. Love the campground and the site we had. Would be nice if the campstore sold worms for fishing.
Jul 08, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
Had trouble with flooding on the first site we were at but after letting the people in the office know we were moved to a different site and were able to enjoy the rest of our stay dry!
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 06, 2015
Great hospitality! Thank you for your help in getting us set up with a new rig.
Jul 06, 2015
Jul 03, 2015
Staff was very helpful
Jul 02, 2015
Everyone was so helpful, courteous and cheerful. Max was very helpful and friendly to us and we really appreciated his help. Angie always greeted us with a big smile.
Jul 02, 2015
Very nice place. Very friendly host. Would like to go back there again. Beautiful campground on lake.
Jul 01, 2015
Enjoyed our stay.
Jun 29, 2015
Depends on what you want. Not much or adults to do, but for us that was the purpose of the trip.
Jun 22, 2015
We had some travel problems, and Angie was great helping us. The site was positively beautiful.
Jun 21, 2015
Will be a great koa once the new management get it sorted, thanks, Gerry
Jun 20, 2015
Jun 17, 2015
Very nice! Host was very gracious. No satellite access in our pull through. Internet access poor.
Jun 15, 2015
Although this is a pretty camp ground, it's directly across from a nuclear power plant. This was our view. This is not the outdoorsy feel we're looking for.
Jun 13, 2015
Beautiful park, nice people, big sites. A little off the beaten path but well worth it
Jun 09, 2015
Showers and toilets need upgrading.Staff walked past toilets when they really needed to be cleaned.
Jun 03, 2015
Very friendly host. Nice grounds.
Jun 01, 2015
Very nice campground, wish we could have stayed longer. Beautiful setting.
Jun 01, 2015
This KOA has some of the most beautiful views directly from your campsite. It is incredible to wake up to a sunrise across the lake!
Jun 01, 2015
Super clean, super friendly staff and the location is very quaint and scenic. Highly recommend.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.