Decatur / Wheeler Lake KOA

Open March 1 - November 30

Reserve: 256-280-4390

Info: 256-280-4390

Email

44 CR 443

Hillsboro, AL 35643

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 237 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 26, 2016
Imagine your on a lake, the sun is shining, geese and goslings are floating near the campsite. Ducks and all types of birds are visible. The area is quiet, calm, and peaceful while you recline in your chair and read a book or take a nap. The folks at the KOA are friendly and hospitable making you feel like family.
Apr 26, 2016
What a dump!!! Sap dripping from pine trees all over my truck and RV. Noise all night long because of trucks racing up and down the only road that leads to the grounds. So called swimming area was full of trash and debris. KOA should close this place. I will not return.
Apr 26, 2016
Wonderful spacious lots. This is my favorite campsite of all. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to go back.
Apr 25, 2016
Love it here. I do wish you would get rid of the speed bumps. The narrow windy road isn't conducive to speeding and the speed bumps rattle everything in the RV
Apr 25, 2016
Had a great time! Late arrival was no problem. Mosquitoes were a bit bad, but we were right by the water. A little bug spray and citronella candles helped a lot.
Apr 25, 2016
I have a minor complaint about this particular KOA. My GPS took me to a dirt road while trying to find the campground. I was able to turn around safely and get to the correct destination. When I mentioned this detour to the lady registering us, she said this happens quite often with GPS. It seems to me, it would be a great service to KOA customers to place a few signs on the roads.
Apr 22, 2016
Quiet, picturesque. See staff friendly & efficient.
Apr 22, 2016
Off the beaten path but great staff and very quiet
Apr 22, 2016
The lady that took our reservation over the phone and also checked us in at our arrival was very nice and did a great job!! It was obvious she likes her job.
Apr 17, 2016
We enjoy the quiet out there in the woods.
Apr 15, 2016
Angie was a great hostess. She found us lost before we got to the campground late one evening and she turned around and drove us back to the KOA. She was super accomodating!
Apr 14, 2016
Apr 11, 2016
terrible!
Apr 10, 2016
Very clean, quiet, easy entry/exit. We will be back.
Apr 10, 2016
Great time awesome view of the lake.
Apr 09, 2016
Apr 04, 2016
I had a great time. The other campers were nice, the bathrooms were clean, and the staff was great. Make sure you meet Angie and Mr. T., they helped with anything i needed during my stay. They only thing I didn't like was how close it was to brownsferry nuclear plant. From a few sites, the scrub towers are directly across the lake, but there are plenty of spots where you don't have to see them.
Apr 01, 2016
My wife, dogs, and I loved it here.
Mar 31, 2016
Campground manager very nice and helpful.
Mar 29, 2016
Fantastic experience. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Mar 27, 2016
Very nice and clean park. Hated to leave
Mar 24, 2016
The staff was great and very helpful. Wish we could have stayed longer
Mar 23, 2016
Mar 22, 2016
We were just passing through and stayed one night. It was fine but a little off the beaten path.
Mar 22, 2016
Mar 21, 2016
Best campground anywhere!
Mar 20, 2016
Will be back, loved the facility staff friendly overall fantastic!
Mar 19, 2016
We had a wonderful time. It was so quite & relaxing. We both really needed some down time. We're really looking forward to coming back in April
Mar 14, 2016
thanku Angie for your southern hospitality. We hope to see you again next year.
Mar 14, 2016
The staff was very friendly & helpful, making sure our stay was pleasant. It is a lovely site. Campgrounds were very well kept.
Dec 01, 2015
The weather was not very nice during our stay at this newly converted to KOA campground. Lakes the basics I'm familiar with at KOAs. Like a K-9 Area with bags to pick up, paved sites, cable television, etc. But there are great views and lots of trees.
Nov 13, 2015
Nov 03, 2015
Wonderful staff, beautiful grounds and views. 10 stars out of 5.
Nov 02, 2015
Awesome staff!! Beautiful campground!
Oct 30, 2015
No wifi except at office. No cable or sewer. Very spacious sites. Beautiful views of the lake.
Oct 26, 2015
The staff were very nice. The bathhouse did not have no electrical outlets,the water in the showers was just warm & they were push button. There was spiders and spider webs in the bathhouse.The sites are nice & large.
Oct 25, 2015
Only downside of the campground were the showers. You have to keep pushing a button to keep the small stream of water on (and it never gets hot enough). Also, the lights are on a timer and I ended taking part of shower in complete darkness. Other than that the place was beautiful and the staff is very friendly.
Oct 23, 2015
There was barely no wifi, although your publicity says there is some. You should also say it when cellulars are not getting any signal at all!
Oct 21, 2015
Liked the campground, but please turn off the fans in the bath house in temps of 30+ deg. and hopefully turn on the heat.
Oct 19, 2015
just stayed one night while heading south,will make a point to return again to stay longer during the summer.
Oct 19, 2015
Great place to stay. Quiet and peaceful bathhouse was cleanest that I have ever seen .staff was very friendly.
Oct 19, 2015
Friendly staff and very accommodating. The only thing that would make it better would be hiking/bike trails.
Oct 17, 2015
Fun! Fiun! Fun!
Oct 15, 2015
Clean, quiet, well maintained. Friendly check in, nice sites. We loved it
Oct 15, 2015
They were the most riders people l ever felt.Beginning nobody was there,they out eating so they told me to pull in site 3. 30 amp was broke,cable bad reception,but we were told cable was a prevlage and I ask for 30 amp.Yes I had a 50amp reduser ,but I refer to my power server We try to talk to them about taking a little money off the price.They act like dragons fire coming out of there eyes and m
Oct 13, 2015
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Oct 13, 2015
Best hosts love the view very clean , sorry I was only pass through I will return thx
Oct 12, 2015
This is our second visit to the Wheeler Lake, Alabama KOA. We love it here!
Oct 12, 2015
Great place, just wish their was sewer. We loved it and will be back very soon!
Oct 12, 2015
it is $12 - $15 per nite to high compared to the other campgrounds the area especially since there is not sewage hookup
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps