Decatur / Wheeler Lake KOA

Open March 1 - November 30

Reserve: 256-280-4390

Info: 256-280-4390

Email

44 CR 443

Hillsboro, AL 35643

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 261 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 28, 2016
restrooms dirty,grounds un ceptr sites have no swer systm, not made aware when making resv., its old and rundown...
May 26, 2016
Beatuiful view.... peaceful and quit....
May 24, 2016
Nestled in an idyllic setting, we slept soundly and awakened refreshed. We only wished we had planned to stay more than 1 night! Thank you for making our late night check-in so easy! Happy trails!
May 23, 2016
May 22, 2016
LOVE having a site on the water. Spacious sites. Our 2nd time here & will be back. Did not know they had pumping service until our 6th day there or would have used the service. Our grass/weeds needed cutting at our site. Overall LOVED our stay. GREAT hosts!!! :)
May 21, 2016
Wonderful and the staff was very welcoming:)
May 21, 2016
Loved the primitive tent site by the lake. Very relaxing and loved hearing the waves crest on the shore during the night. Well maintained, great people!!
May 18, 2016
Everything was great except the electricity was out in the bathrooms close to us. It came back on the second day though.
May 18, 2016
May 12, 2016
Great
May 09, 2016
Lovely campsite on Wheeler Lake.
May 09, 2016
Really enjoyed our stay, camp grounds were clean and quite at night, very peaceful and relaxing visit. The showers and rest rooms were very clean and well maintained. We will be back!
May 09, 2016
Very clean and fruendly
May 09, 2016
The camp ground hosts are absolutely the nicest people. They are very accommodating and helpful. The campground is very clean.
May 08, 2016
Wifi was not available at camp site.
May 08, 2016
The manager, Angie, is always helpful and accommodating. Facilities are kept clean and in good working order.
May 06, 2016
The staff is wonderful, very helpful. The park,bathrooms, wtc. Are very clean. The view is to die for! Quiet peaceful, serene.
May 05, 2016
Clean. Helpful. Informative. Caring
May 04, 2016
In 2015 we spent at least one weekend per month during the season here..enjoyed it so much we just knew that in place of pulling the camper down for a weekend or two each month we would park all season this year. This is a great park especially for kids of all ages. We always have our 5 yr old grandson with us and he loves it. Our grown children and their families are bringing theirs down.
May 04, 2016
I like the lakeside RV slots. The campground is older and could use some cleanup and updating. Overall, felt safe, the utilities worked well, the RV slot was paved and had a large living area. Like the boat ramp at the RV park, however, very limited on ability to leave boat in water overnight.. We'll give it a try again later this summer.
May 03, 2016
May 03, 2016
Advertised wi-fi only works at the office. Misleading information critical to my booking
Apr 29, 2016
Apr 27, 2016
We had a wonderful stay at the Wheeler Lake KOA. The staff was amazing and the camp was well kept.
Apr 26, 2016
Imagine your on a lake, the sun is shining, geese and goslings are floating near the campsite. Ducks and all types of birds are visible. The area is quiet, calm, and peaceful while you recline in your chair and read a book or take a nap. The folks at the KOA are friendly and hospitable making you feel like family.
Apr 26, 2016
What a dump!!! Sap dripping from pine trees all over my truck and RV. Noise all night long because of trucks racing up and down the only road that leads to the grounds. So called swimming area was full of trash and debris. KOA should close this place. I will not return.
Apr 26, 2016
Wonderful spacious lots. This is my favorite campsite of all. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to go back.
Apr 25, 2016
Love it here. I do wish you would get rid of the speed bumps. The narrow windy road isn't conducive to speeding and the speed bumps rattle everything in the RV
Apr 25, 2016
Had a great time! Late arrival was no problem. Mosquitoes were a bit bad, but we were right by the water. A little bug spray and citronella candles helped a lot.
Apr 25, 2016
I have a minor complaint about this particular KOA. My GPS took me to a dirt road while trying to find the campground. I was able to turn around safely and get to the correct destination. When I mentioned this detour to the lady registering us, she said this happens quite often with GPS. It seems to me, it would be a great service to KOA customers to place a few signs on the roads.
Apr 22, 2016
Quiet, picturesque. See staff friendly & efficient.
Apr 22, 2016
Off the beaten path but great staff and very quiet
Apr 22, 2016
The lady that took our reservation over the phone and also checked us in at our arrival was very nice and did a great job!! It was obvious she likes her job.
Apr 17, 2016
We enjoy the quiet out there in the woods.
Apr 15, 2016
Angie was a great hostess. She found us lost before we got to the campground late one evening and she turned around and drove us back to the KOA. She was super accomodating!
Apr 14, 2016
Apr 11, 2016
terrible!
Apr 10, 2016
Very clean, quiet, easy entry/exit. We will be back.
Apr 10, 2016
Great time awesome view of the lake.
Apr 09, 2016
Apr 04, 2016
I had a great time. The other campers were nice, the bathrooms were clean, and the staff was great. Make sure you meet Angie and Mr. T., they helped with anything i needed during my stay. They only thing I didn't like was how close it was to brownsferry nuclear plant. From a few sites, the scrub towers are directly across the lake, but there are plenty of spots where you don't have to see them.
Apr 01, 2016
My wife, dogs, and I loved it here.
Mar 31, 2016
Campground manager very nice and helpful.
Mar 29, 2016
Fantastic experience. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Mar 27, 2016
Very nice and clean park. Hated to leave
Mar 24, 2016
The staff was great and very helpful. Wish we could have stayed longer
Mar 23, 2016
Mar 22, 2016
We were just passing through and stayed one night. It was fine but a little off the beaten path.
Mar 22, 2016
Mar 21, 2016
Best campground anywhere!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals