Decatur / Wheeler Lake KOA

44 CR 443

Hillsboro, AL 35643

Reserve: 800-562-3640

Info: 256-280-4390

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Campground Reviews

May 18, 2015
We love this campground. The sites are not close so you have plenty of room. Sites are also clean. We love being on the water and seeing the fish jumping. Everyone is very helpful & friendly. We are going back in 2 weeks.
May 17, 2015
Really enjoyed our site which was very close to the lake. Very enjoyable neighbors too. The only thing that bugged us was the trash that was laying next to one of the sites next to us was never picked up. When we were leaving the next day it was still laying there. I really don't thing that is a good habit to let the trash lay for so long due to the wild life.
May 13, 2015
nice park. great for watersports and is really well kept.
May 13, 2015
Extremely overpriced. Not well maintained. No amenities.
May 11, 2015
May 07, 2015
May 06, 2015
There is a definite NEED for more Full hook ups, a fenced Dog play area and FULL TIME ON THE PREMISES People came unto the campgrounds and the place was locked up tight so they left. I did enjoy myself and the peace and quiet despite the need for the things I have already mentioned. --- The Murphy's
May 05, 2015
it was beautiful and quiet, however the slave cemetery was not explained and off putting, it would have been nice to know some history about it
May 02, 2015
outstanting
Apr 30, 2015
Beautiful campground! One of the nicest we have been at.
Apr 17, 2015
Quiet KOA, hope for more full service drive thru sites.
Apr 16, 2015
What a beautiful KOA site. Problems are, difficult access from interstate highway, marginal wifi, few full service sites, and no cable TV. Jim and the Ladies in the office were very helpful.
Apr 15, 2015
Nice park now. It will be very nice when complete.
Apr 13, 2015
had a great time.
Apr 13, 2015
The campgroud setting is beautiful. The host were nice and the sites were level. There was not any activities planned and very little information was provided at check in. The bathhouse needs a major renovation. The lake is beautiful.
Apr 12, 2015
This place was awesome. Max is one of the most nicest man I have ever meet. Very helpful. Best campground host ever. Would highly recommend this koa.
Apr 08, 2015
The staff was very pleasant and helpful. This is a beautiful campground right on the lake. This would be a wonderful summer vacation place.
Apr 06, 2015
Great! Would love to go back. Have already recommended it to two others.
Mar 31, 2015
We had a great vacation at the Wheeler Lake Alabama campground.
Mar 29, 2015
Great
Mar 26, 2015
Nice location. Nice people. Great fishing.
Mar 24, 2015
Needs improvement
Mar 19, 2015
Mar 14, 2015
This place was just ok.
Feb 17, 2015
No one available at the site... no checkin , no support, It should have been noted at the time of reservation that no one would be there. Very disappointing and very unlike other KOA's we have stayed at...
Dec 01, 2014
Nov 30, 2014
Nice views of the lake.
Nov 03, 2014
Compared to some other KOA facilities they have work to do on playground and pool areas. The beach area was very nice. It was wooded and quite beautiful. Very polite staff.
Oct 27, 2014
The staff was very friendly. The campgrounds was clean and peaceful. Some of the sites were very narrow and if you have a slide it would present a problem. We will be going back again. Joe T.
Oct 27, 2014
We had a awesome stay here! One of the workers (Max) helped my husband back our rv into our site. It was our maiden voyage with our first camper. Then the lady in the office helped us learn how to empty our tanks! Great people and a great place!
Oct 25, 2014
BEAUTIFUL campground. A bit off the beaten path, but worth the extra miles. Roomy sites right on the lake! We were just traveling through, wished we could stay longer.
Oct 23, 2014
Great site, great park, best KOA bathroom I have ever seen. If you can get over seeing the prominent Nuclear Power plant, this is a perfect KOA.
Oct 21, 2014
Oct 16, 2014
Good park & good location
Oct 16, 2014
Great location! Only comment is that I wish they had internet available at the campsites.
Oct 14, 2014
Oct 05, 2014
Great for a new KOA! Need sewer connections Need kayak and canoe rental BUT Very clean, quite, and friendly!
Oct 05, 2014
Amazing sites without sewer. Too few with but the campground is on a great lake, full of fish, ducks and eagles. Understanding there are plans to develop more sewer sites and hopefully better showers. Still rates high on our 7 week trek around the USA
Oct 01, 2014
Full Hook-up sites are next to people that live there. There was nobody in the park and they put someone right next to us. Beautiful location, not easy getting a "Big Rig" around.
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 28, 2014
no dock or water access from campground. dock in need of repair. stepped on my glasses and greatly scratched lenses due to no lighting in shower area! these will be costly to replace. uneven grade of site n needed to go back to camper for flashlight as no lighting to see lock for coding and ingress to bathroom
Sep 27, 2014
Sep 27, 2014
Very quiet and large area to spread out away from neighbors. Flat sites, nice swim beach, friendly staff. They are still working on a few things to bring it up to the fantastic level. We'd stay again!
Sep 25, 2014
Sep 23, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 16, 2014
Nice campground but needs some TLC.We stayed on site # 22 and it had a great view of the lake. But if someone was on site # 23 they would block your view. About site # 23 it is only large enough for a popup. The owners should consider making a boat dock off of this site. They could have a fish sink and a nice swing for the campers to look out over the lake. They also need to update the wiring.
Sep 15, 2014
Thank you for our free promotional night stay at Wheeler Lake KOA. The staff was pleasant and hospitable. The park and lake were beautifully groomed. This KOA has potential for a higher rating. We stayed in a full hook-up site where we expected wi-fi and cable TV; however, neither were available. The park has only been open since a March 2014, so hopefully that will be fixed.
Sep 15, 2014
Great place to visit and helpfull attendants and freindly neighbors.
Sep 08, 2014
wonderful staff, very clean, quiet and different layout which was nice. being new they don't have cable but antenna works great also no hot spots but internet up at store, STAFF very pleasant, surrounded by water it is nice.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.