Decatur / Wheeler Lake KOA

44 CR443

Hillsboro, AL 35643

Reserve: 800-562-3640

Info: 256-280-4390

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Campground Reviews

Sep 08, 2014
wonderful staff, very clean, quiet and different layout which was nice. being new they don't have cable but antenna works great also no hot spots but internet up at store, STAFF very pleasant, surrounded by water it is nice.
Sep 07, 2014
Great hosts! Stayed at the pull through. Wished we could have stayed longer. Need signs on I-65 because it is worth the drive!
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
Beautiful waterfront. Peaceful and relaxing.
Sep 03, 2014
Kid's loved the beach!
Sep 03, 2014
Prices are to high compared to other parks in This area. No sewers no wifi services very poor cell service. Cable on boat launch safety issue. Park was not weeded on the river side lots of weeds. Could be a very nice walking trail if maintained.
Sep 01, 2014
Sep 01, 2014
Was not there all the time, but everything was great while I was there. The facility was well maintained, and looked great. It was peaceful and quiet. nice. thanks.
Sep 01, 2014
Poor amenities due to no cable Tv, WiFi, and only a few full hook ups.Electric was lost due to some storms and nobody could tell us anything. They offer a dumping service for 7 dollars which we scheduled but again they couldn't provide an exact time. The positive side is owners are very nice and the KOA is surrounded by water. Very nice beach!
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
It's a new KOA and does not have all the amenities that the other KOA's have. It's a beautiful campgrounds and the people were friendly.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Beautiful site on the water. Wonderful hosts. Very friendly. Campground needs WiFi.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Wonderful friendly staff! We enjoyed our weekend fishing even though we didn't catch anything. Would have given 5 stars if it was full hook up rather than just W/E.
Jul 20, 2014
Staff where very very accommodating. They took the time to take me on their side by side to find a waterfront spot that my 40 ft motorhome would fit into and be able to level. They also stated if I saw any limbs that where to low they would trim them so we could make it in and out from the waterfront spots. Awesome views and a wonderful staff.
Jul 19, 2014
We had a very good stay. The best thing about this campground is the number of sites right on the water, the worst is none of those sites have full hookup and the bathhouse is not centrally located. The beach is nice but I would not let it be used for dayuse as many of those people liked to be picked up after.(slobs)
Jul 15, 2014
love to camp here, but your rates are to high, even with the discount
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Very nice but it seems we CAn't get a spot where we would like to be no Matter how far in advance I book
Jul 10, 2014
Very nice weekend. Boat ramp needs some attention. Cable could be dangerous& loose screws on dock.. Needs nite lite near boat ramp
Jul 02, 2014
Overpriced.
Jul 02, 2014
Even though we didn't get to spend a lot of time there the couple that managed the grounds were so nice and thoughtful. They went out of their way for us since we were delayed in coming due to a fatal accident that caused us to sit on the interstate for hours. They waited until after they were closed to make sure we were able to get settled into our spot without any issues.
Jun 23, 2014
Our stay was great, a little pricey. There were a lot of under age kids (under 12) driving jet skis without an adult.
Jun 20, 2014
staff was great place was great but the day people they let in to use the beach.nasty scumbags trash mouth not people i want my kids around.i would not go back just because of that.and the fact someone stold stuff out of my tent.very under staffed as well
Jun 19, 2014
Beautiful setting on Wheeler Lake & could walk right into water-only 15 feet from our door. 2 nights w/heavy rains/storms & water came up to our steps & a couple items started to float away & hubby had to go out in the lightning & put them up. Rain left muddy mess near water's edge for 2 days. Offered another site but not w/out rocks to climb over to get to water. Lots of long-term weekenders.
Jun 17, 2014
This is a new site, in a very nice area on the Tennessee River. Wonder Public Beach & picnic area. Restrooms, laundry area & store/check-in nice & clean. Still have some work on some of the indiviual sites but with come in time with all the hard work the managers are doing.
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
We had a blessed stay.
Jun 15, 2014
My family greatly enjoyed our stay.
Jun 15, 2014
Excellent!!!!
Jun 15, 2014
we had a good time
Jun 15, 2014
Best KOA I have been to.
Jun 15, 2014
wonderful place good view nice staff
Jun 15, 2014
Beautiful park!
Jun 15, 2014
Staff friendly. New KOA.
Jun 13, 2014
It's a nice campground for nature lover.
Jun 11, 2014
Jun 08, 2014
Friendly staff! Beautiful view and nice campsite.
Jun 08, 2014
Wonderful! We loved it and it was our first RV trip. THANK YOU..
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
Beautiful setting, quiet, friendly staff.
Jun 03, 2014
Perfect location! Every site has a view! Not to mention the beach, and boat ramp! We'll be back!
Jun 02, 2014
New campground Still getting up toKOA standards Great location Great Folks
Jun 01, 2014
Loved the area. Our site was right on the water. Loved that. People were great and for a long time we had the place to ourselves (late May - kids still in school).
May 29, 2014
Campgrounds were clean. Wish That we had a sewer hook-up. Hope they open a walking trail there is a good place for one at this location. Price is little to much!!!
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.