Deadwood KOA

Open April 29 - October 10

Reserve: 800-562-0846

Info: 605-578-3830

Email

11484 U.S. Hwy 14 Alternate

Deadwood, SD 57732

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 13, 2015
Great service, clean bathrooms, convenient location, love the shuttle service to town. Would like to have campfires and a little more space between sites as they are cramped.
Jul 12, 2015
SITES WERE MUDDY, TOO CLOSE TOGETHER.
Jul 10, 2015
Cramped sites, not a lot of space for towing vehicles. Good if less tha 20 ft. The only KOA that didn't escort us to our sites and help us get into our site. The neighbors where very helpful moving vehicles to get our camper in.
Jul 09, 2015
There are some really nice sites in this campground and some ugly ones. We were put into one of the worst sites even though a lot of the nicer (same services)ones stayed empty.
Jul 08, 2015
Excellent! Very clear.
Jul 06, 2015
A little hilly for walking. Hosts were very friendly and helpful!
Jul 06, 2015
Services and amenities great, some camp sites do not have grills which is a huge downer. The other big and most important problem is; camp sites are very close to each other. No privacy at all, not sure about wanting to come back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We know how tight some of our sites are. The campground was developed in the 70's when the rigs were much smaller. And as you can see, our campground does not have room for expansion. We would appreciate another chance at your busineess if you are ever back in the area.
Jul 05, 2015
The location in the lack Hills near Deadwood was beautiful. The wilderness trails were amazing. The prices were fantastic and we especially liked the courteous host.
Jul 05, 2015
Campground was quiet. The grass was long but the weather previous to our stay limited any outside work.
Jul 03, 2015
The owners are awesome. The shuttle service is such a convenient way to get to Deadwood with no worries. It always ran exactly on time. The only negative for us, is that we really like to walk in the evening and the campground is on the side of a large hill, which makes going for a walk very difficult. That isn't something that can be changed. It was a great stay.
Jul 03, 2015
We were impressed by the clean facilities.The owner went out of his way to ensure a pleasant stay.We would return again in a heartbeat.
Jul 01, 2015
Jul 01, 2015
Nice laundry, good showers. Friendly owners.
Jun 30, 2015
Staff attentive to our needs. The free trolley service to/from Deadwood quite convenient. Washrooms well maintained. Perfect hub to visit Black Hills attractions.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
Great location, nicely laid out and terrific bathrooms!!
Jun 29, 2015
Not a nice campground. Tight spots that are hard to get into and on a steep hill. Our stay was at the end of June and the campground had not been mowed or weed eater all season! The bathrooms were nice but you had to have a code to get into them which was not ideal. The only nice thing at this place was the nice new picnic tables and concrete patios.
Jun 25, 2015
Jun 24, 2015
Wonderful!
Jun 24, 2015
Doesn't KOA have anyone to keep an eye on their campgrounds? The stairs were dangerous, the dog run is terrible, there is a big hole beside the road uncovered. The management is not friendly. Campsites are very tight. I have pics if you want to see them.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations, and especially that you felt we weren't friendly. We know our space is tight but we make up for it by working to make your stay enjoyable.
Jun 23, 2015
The free shuttle is the best part about the park. Weeds were growing everywhere and the sites are extremely close. The help was very friendly though.
Jun 23, 2015
DEB AND ARNI TERRIFIC HOSTS AND WORK DILIGENTLY TO PROVIDE A SUPERIOR PRODUCT.
Jun 23, 2015
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our camping experience! The Cable TV was awesome!
Jun 22, 2015
Overall experience was good. Very friendly courteous staff! Clean facilities, cable, new picnic tables and flat lots with cement patios. Easy access to Deadwood. On to the less than positive: Tight maneuvering, even for the most experienced campers. A good weed killer/herbicide would do wonders throughout the grounds. I have never stayed at a KOA that has a fulltime "No Campfire" policy in plac
Jun 22, 2015
Dog park was okay. Gate door needs work. Our dog was able to walk right through the gap in between.
Jun 22, 2015
great stay,Interactive fun staff,Beutiful surroundings,close to town,shuttle service
Jun 22, 2015
one of my favorite ever campgrounds. So peaceful and pretty!
Jun 20, 2015
Campsite was quite small for the price. There was a mercury light right above our site that made sleeping difficult and the split rail behind our site was broken so kids from other sites used our site as a shortcut from the restrooms. Hosts were friendly and helpful.
Jun 20, 2015
Nice
Jun 18, 2015
Very small sites, very hilly. No accommodations as other KOA's. No fires, no cable very limited WiFi. The bathrooms were very nice and clean. Would not stay there again
Jun 17, 2015
Great location, great owners, super, super, super clean restrooms. My wife even said they are cleaner than home. Shuttle to town was an unexpected surprise.
Jun 17, 2015
It was wonderful! The manager and staff were so helpful I really liked that they had a shuttle into town so we didn't have to drive our RV or rent a car. I am recommending them to everyone.
Jun 16, 2015
Pool & hot tub not open as of June 1. Good cable (food & Hist) & WiFi. Nice site on top of hill w/excellent view of valley & hills. Bath had 3 unisex complete bathrooms. Free shuttle into town.
Jun 15, 2015
We had problems maneuvering our large motorhome into a small space. The slideouts definitely interfered with our space and the neighbors space. The condition of the property was subpar and needed improvement. There was an excess of tall grass and weeds clumped together and it made it difficult for me to level my unit. The management was very friendly and helpful though. Disappointed:(
Jun 15, 2015
The camp was very clean and the store was well stocked. The gold mining area was fun. The staff was very nice and helpful.
Jun 13, 2015
Jun 13, 2015
You folks are always so friendly and accommodating, that we always enjoy our stay with you. Thank you for everything! Johmny and Dorthy
Jun 11, 2015
We really enjoy this KOA tucked onto the hillside over Deadwood - Cell and Wi-Fi service are great. Only improvements would be more bathrooms up top and to level the sites (ours was pretty far off needing all our leveling blocks).
Jun 09, 2015
Google Earth does not do this campground justice! Beautiful setting tucked away in a canyon. Amazing sunset on mountain across the street-I regret not having enough time and missed a photo-opp. I won't forgive myself! 3 clean private bathrooms-felt like home. Clean laundry room that I felt secure to wash my kids clothes. Campsite had concrete pad as not to track dirt in RV :)but no shade.
Jun 08, 2015
They worked with us on the 11:00 checkout, as I was running the 1/2 marathon. Not knowing what time I'd be done. Greatly appreciated!
Jun 07, 2015
Narrow steep roads. Sites too close together
Jun 07, 2015
Nice campground
Jun 06, 2015
Had a great time at the Deadwood KOA. Management was very helpful in directing me to the points of interest I wanted to see and even recommended some of their favorites.
Jun 06, 2015
Extremely hard pull up a very steep hill to get into the office. Too hard to pull into with a big rig.
Jun 06, 2015
Jun 05, 2015
Older park with very challenging entrance/exit. Sites too close together. Rest rooms/showers sparkling. Free shuttle a plus.
Jun 04, 2015
Very nice campground with friendly staff.
Jun 04, 2015
loved our stay
Jun 01, 2015
May 30, 2015
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals