Deadwood KOA

11484 U.S. Hwy 14 Alternate

Deadwood, SD 57732

Reserve: 800-562-0846

Info: 605-578-3830

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 18, 2014
Need to make your pull throughs longer and wider.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Good services and clean restrooms.
Aug 17, 2014
We really enjoyed the breakfast that they started offering during the Sturgis rally this year-Fabulous good job!
Aug 16, 2014
The Deadwood KOA has a great location but it's rundown and in need of improvements especially the restrooms and grounds.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do have plans to renovate our bathrooms this year but we had a snowstorm last year that dumped 63 inches of snow on 10/4. Now we need a new roof which will begin on 8/29. Check us out next year!
Aug 15, 2014
The couple that manage this campground are beyond the norm. A very clean place to stay. Always helpful, always there for the customer. They make our stay a total pleasure. Long hours to work each day, all to the benefit of their returning campers. Thank you, Arni and Deborah.
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Good clean and quiet place to sleep.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
The management goes out of their way to accommodate their guest. they really keep a nice clean campground. the campground is really convenient to the town of Deadwood and surrounding areas. we have stayed there for years and always enjoy our stay.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Great people, great location, overall a great stay. Will be back again!!!
Aug 11, 2014
We had a great time even though we were just passing through on our way home so we only had one night at your site, but it was very enjoyable. Our grand daughter loved being able to go mining and we appreciated the great location & availability to get to the town's exciting events. thank you for a great stay!
Aug 10, 2014
Would be nice if the bus into deadwood durning the bike week could drop off at the dabus pickup point close to the time that it pickup in deadwood and the office opens at 7am
Aug 10, 2014
Hosts are awesome people and try and accommodate everyone's needs, rally time has got to be stressful and they keep it together , great job
Aug 10, 2014
Very helpful, campground clean rained a lot didn't get to try the pool. Will return
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Lovely campground and wonderful people!
Aug 06, 2014
turkey leg and roasted corn was a nice treat. Sites were very confusing and backwards.
Aug 05, 2014
We stayed at the Deadwood KOA for Stugis. It was decent with easy access to all rides you wish to take. The owner was nice but the women's bathroom needs a little work. One sink faucet wasn't functional and one of the shower heads needed replacing. My husband tried the pool and it didn't appear to be heated so was very cold. Other than that it was basically clean and we enjoyed our 2 night stay
Aug 05, 2014
friendly staff,nice area,very helpful
Aug 04, 2014
Nice, clean, and friendly. Little hilly getting in for anyone with a lower sitting camper. Nice level pads. Good location. Kids have fun in the pool. Would stay here again
Aug 02, 2014
Friendly staff, all utilities solid, but really tight for bigger rigs (or with a pickup and 30' total trailer, there are several strangely placed little split rail fences that block effective turns - longer rigs, just be careful with where you get placed. I'm sure the staff will try to help)
Aug 01, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
Proximity of the koa to deadwood was great. Shuttle bus was a good thing to have. Friendly helpful staff. The only thing was the pool was cold. But the hot tub was nice.
Jul 31, 2014
We absolutely loved your campground! It's so beautiful ticed away in the mountain side. My 3 girls ages 5,8, and 13 lived panning for gems on your property. It was very exciting for them, and you know if the kids are happy, then the parents are too. ThanKS for a wonderful one-night stay. We'll definitely be back.
Jul 30, 2014
improve internet speed
Jul 28, 2014
Small spots, I let out my slider on my 24 foot Forrest River RV and it covered the picnic table in the next site. Showers on the hill were excellent, full bathroom and shower, down the hill they were mixed with the bathrooms. They have a shuttle that takes you into town which is handy. This RV campground is set where there used to be an old gold mine, very tight although the staff were friendly.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Nice location and layout only complaint were the bathrooms. The combination of the shower and toilet limits use and also their was no venting so with showering and the lights always on it was always hot and sticky there all thru the day and night making toilet seats sweat. Also not cleaned daily/dirty. Garbage cans at each level would be nice.
Jul 26, 2014
The campground was nice however the trolly does not come to the campground so you have to arrange your own ride to town. Also, having Wifi was very important to me but we could not get a signal inside or outside of the RV. The staff and owner was very nice and friendly. Would stay here again if towing a way into town.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do run our own shuttle into town. I'm not sure why you weren't aware of it, but we try to mention it to everyone and it is printed on our site map. We hope you'll come back but no need to tow.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Very nice campground. Be prepared to walk some steep hills to the bathroom. But that is part of it's charm. You need to enjoy gambling if you plan to stay more than a couple of days in Deadwood.
Jul 18, 2014
Beautiful setting, very helpful owner, the free bus into town was great and we were able to ask the driver, whom was also the owner lots of questions and he able to answer all. will for sure come back. only reason I don't give a 5 is there are no fire pits and most sites have no trees1
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
Great location and every other hour to Deadwood means that you can leave your vehicle in place. Thanks again to Arnie for being a great host.
Jul 17, 2014
this is the best koa out of 5 we stayed at in the usa very awesome
Jul 17, 2014
we were impressed w the cleanliness of bathrooms, the great shower heads, and loved having the shuttle to town and friendly helpful info. we hope to return. just a great experience
Jul 17, 2014
shuttle bus was a real nice touch... thank you so much don't let the entrance scare you the sights are level and it is a beautiful spot. Staff very helpful
Jul 15, 2014
GREAT K9 park. However, the trash bags for the dogs was never replaced nor the dog waste can emptied.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Sites are very small (we have a 24' camper) and difficult to get in & out of sites. Bathroom had holes in ceiling from water damage and shower heads are very low.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
Sites were way too jammed together. Guy with big rig next to ours had his slide out on our site. Awkward to get in and out.
Jul 12, 2014
The size of the lots are not conducive to the larger modern RVs. The bathrooms are nice but there are a number of maintenance issues that are not being addressed.
Jul 11, 2014
Great staff. Shuttle to downtown was very convenient. Would stay again

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.