Deadwood / Black Hills KOA

Open April 28 - October 9

Reserve: 800-562-0846

Info: 605-578-3830

Email

11484 U.S. Hwy 14 Alternate

Deadwood, SD 57732

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 09, 2017
Camp area very small, the lady was very friendly but the man wouldn't even say hi or welcome when we would say hi he shouldn't be there if he doesn't like his job. This was the worse out of the 4 KOA we stay at on our trip to Yellowstone National Park all the other KOA were very nice and the people running them were very nice
Jul 08, 2017
We were only there one night. It was clean and everyone was helpful.
Jul 08, 2017
Overall a great location right next to historic Deadwood city. The campground is pretty small and RV sites are pretty tight. Having another vehicle on top of the RV is tough since the parking is very limited on each site.
Jul 07, 2017
This KOA has very tight spots and large hills; terrible for trailers; we arrived late in the evening to find our spot impossible to access due to other camper's vehicles being parked too close to allow us to back in. We ended up in a fender bender with another camper trying to park in and ended up leaving in the middle of the night. Luckily, the museum in town has an rv park and we stayed there.
Jul 06, 2017
The location is great, the sites are lovely, and the employees are wonderful. Will come back!
Jul 06, 2017
So much for the kids to do! Had an amazing time.
Jul 04, 2017
Jul 04, 2017
Beautiful, shady park with very nice hosts and owners. We loved they have a Kamp K-9 where our dogs could run off leash. It is small but big enough they could run a bit. My only complaint is the trolley service (not a function of the park but the city of Deadwood). DO NOT COUNT on this transportation. There really is no schedule followed and we spent hours waiting on it.
Jul 04, 2017
Nice campground but needs some TLC.
Jul 02, 2017
A charming campground. It is unique as it is chiseled in the side of a hill but I felt that offered more privacy. nice private bathrooms with showers and hot water. easy to get to Deadwood.
Jul 01, 2017
This is just an OK campground. The sites are really tight, maybe the tightest we have seen. The trees and grass need trimming. After this campground, we were thinking maybe no more KOAs as the last two have been disappointing. The bathrooms were clean however.
Jul 01, 2017
Clean site with nice amenities and friendly service. Love the dog park!
Jun 28, 2017
Sites are tight but very nice environment
Jun 27, 2017
The owners were very rude and aggressive. Rules that weren't on their list of rules were being implemented and then we were in the wrong. Even though, there wasn't any information regarding these "other rules" Bathrooms need updating. Not a good place for family or large groups. The spaces are extremely small for RV's. ONLY a good place if you plan to stay one night and not in a large RV.
Jun 27, 2017
Nice Koa, but the camper spots are really small.
Jun 26, 2017
The stairs need to be fixed on the way down to the main office.....and the bathroom code didn't work during evening hours
Jun 25, 2017
The place needs an update. The RV dump is very difficult to use as only one side is open - No fresh water and an old RV parked on one side.
Jun 24, 2017
Office staff is excellent. Sites are okay, carved from a mountainside.Nice solid picnic table included. Shuttle service to dwntwn only $1.00!
Jun 22, 2017
We have stayed at this KOA several times in the past , we love the area and location, and love the campground, last 2 -3 themes we stayed we have noticed the grounds are not as well kept up as in the past, seems like the mowing and weed whacking has not been done for quite a while, starting to look unkept. Also we liked the KOA shuttle strive, but the has went away and replace with the Trolley,
Jun 22, 2017
Your lot size is crazy small My motorhome tires touched the patio slab on one side and my slide out almost hit the utility post on the other.My grandkids refused to swim in your filthy pool
Jun 21, 2017
Nice facilities!! And all the amenities for a small KOA. Clean newer bathrooms w rustic touches. Sites are small and tight but most have full services.
Jun 20, 2017
Close to town with trolley service back and forth. Clean pool and showers/restrooms. Great if you stay in a cabin - request the ones on the hill, but with a travel trailer or RV it is very, very cramped with no parking for your vehicle and no privacy.
Jun 20, 2017
Friendly people, clean sites and easy access to the highways. Trolley comes by hourly to pick up and drop off. Would stay there again and recommend.
Jun 20, 2017
This is the second year we have stayed here. Host is very accommodating.
Jun 19, 2017
Clean, convenient access to town via trolley, nice scenery and nice pool. RV spots are too close together and my kids hated the playground (first time they have refused to play at one). Great overall though. Would stay again.
Jun 18, 2017
Great campground! Very clean.We have gone here the past 3 years and have always been satisfied.
Jun 16, 2017
Great place to stay with nice people. May want to offer rides too and from the showers for those who have difficulty with the steps.
Jun 16, 2017
We experienced our first major thunder and lightning storm. It was crazy, but it was overnight and all we could do was stay inside our trailer. We liked that we were assigned a pull-through up top. Staff was very helpful with the laundry area and sights to see.
Jun 16, 2017
The bathrooms were very clean and my kids loved the pool! I liked that the shuttle took you to town. I would definitely stay here again!
Jun 15, 2017
Great experience, quiet clean and o the bus service is wonderful.
Jun 15, 2017
Great, clean, friendly place to stay. Nice pool/hot tub, new/clean shower house, clean grounds. Getting our 34' camper in and out of the site was the only challenge- a little tight.
Jun 14, 2017
Great place! Hidden, terraced campground that was quiet, friendly owners and very nice bath houses/bathrooms!
Jun 13, 2017
Staff was friendly and helpful. Campground was a little cramped but the view was nice. Swimming pool was enjoyable and clean.
Jun 13, 2017
The owners and staff are so welcoming and helpful. Just real nice folks!
Jun 12, 2017
By far, one of the best KOA has to offer, we've stayed. Quite, clean, friendly. Bath house was great, but don't recommend doing laundry if you are perched on top of the hill; it is a long walk down and even longer up. But definitely worth the stay.
Jun 11, 2017
spots are tight.
Jun 11, 2017
Staff was personable and very helpful. Grounds were very clean and area was beautiful. Laundry facilities were also very clean. We stayed in several campgrounds on our trip and Deadwood, SD was by far the best on our journey. We really didn't want to leave! Thank you and hopefully we will be back again someday!
Jun 07, 2017
Great time there, wonderful host, clean park,easy to get to town and back. All in all great experience. Thanks folks
Jun 06, 2017
Very clean, very friendly, WiFi worked great@
Jun 03, 2017
Great place to discover Deadwood. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Jun 02, 2017
Beautiful RV park ,clean ,quiet great views , pleasant employees would definitely stay here again!!
May 30, 2017
May 30, 2017
We loved this park. Not as big as some of the other KOA's, which made it nice. The owners were extremely nice. They let me bring our dog into the store to meet their dog. The campground was up on a hill and you really felt like you were away from society, yet it was close to town.
May 26, 2017
We pulled in and left right away. The campground wasn't as it seemed in pictures. No character and no place for kids to play like it stated. We drove a few miles to a national forest campground for $18 and had a great time.
May 24, 2017
The campground was somewhat run down. The water line broke the 1st night & my wife had to hook up from the lot above us. The floor mats in the shower hurt our feet standing on it. The 1st toilet would run forever & the dryer would run 🏃 continually.
May 22, 2017
Very nice campground. Very clean and friendly. Can not suggest any improvements. Beautiful area. Thanks for a great stay.
May 22, 2017
Needs more maintenance...
May 20, 2017
Very pretty setting at altitude of about 4700 ft very close to Deadwood. KOA owner was very pleasant and knowledgeable about the area.
May 19, 2017
Private, beautiful spot. We went for a night, stayed 3 days. Good bathrooms, owner friendly, helpful. We would definitely return.
May 18, 2017
Very narrow sites, location limits layout.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals