Deadwood KOA

11484 U.S. Hwy 14 Alternate

Deadwood, SD 57732

Reserve: 800-562-0846

Info: 605-578-3830

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Spaces are a little tight, but everything else was great.
Jul 15, 2013
GREAT GROUNDS,SORRY CONDITION OF POOL & RESTROOMS.Makes them look cheap,wouldn't cost much to fix(pool floor needs painting,the deep end paint chips kept coming up-a lot).The mens restroom needs the ceiling fixed,there must have been a leak(that they fixed)but they left the huge hole wide open/unpatched-also need to be painted.The hot tub has broken drains that could cause a injury..

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately, the pool would be out of commission for several days, so plan to paint in September when it is closed. The bathroom ceiling is a bigger issue with our flat roof leaking. Plan is to fix the roof (at considerable expense) and then the ceiling and paint (which was just done this spring).
Jul 14, 2013
The staff are exemplary. WiFi is a little bit sketchy. The hot tub is awesome. Facility is clean and surrounding trees are wonderful, but actual campground is mostly dirt and pavement. We did miss having campfires. We had a great time, and the owners were absolutely fabulous with us. We will be back and had a very nice experience.
Jul 14, 2013
Really a nice location.Thanks
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
Spaces very small. Laundry was closed at 9. Shuttle service was great.
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
Very nice campground. The people running it couldn't have been nicer! Would stay there again.
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
This is a pretty campground! Friendly owners too. We stayed in a 2 room cabin and loved it. The setting of the cabins was very scenic. My only complaint is that the mattress was very thin and it felt like we were sleeping the ground instead of a bed. Loved the front porch swing and picnic table outside.
Jul 12, 2013
GREAT LOCATION. CLEAN ROOMY FAMILY BATHROOMS. QUIET EXCEPT FOR THE POP UP CAMPER THAT WAS ALLOWED TO COME IN AND SET UP AT 3 AM...VEHICLE NOISY COMING UP HILL,SLAMMING VEHICLE DOORS, SET UP NOISE. NATURE TRAIL ON CAMPGROUND MAP, BUT STAFF DIDNT HAVE INFO ON WHERE IT WENT, ETC. (IT WAS A NICE PATH UPHILL THRU THE WOODS W/WILDFLOWERS). WOULD RECOMMEND, WOULD STAY AGAIN.
Jul 11, 2013
Great stay!
Jul 11, 2013
The bathrooms are not very appealing. The ceilings in both the women's and men's bathrooms are falling down in one section in each. I reported that someone had a BM on the floor in one of the stall's and it took an hour before it was cleaned up. As soon as it was reported, I heard the owner tell a young man that it needed to be taken care of. But it took an hour before a young gal was cleaning it.
Jul 10, 2013
Great Place and great people running it.
Jul 09, 2013
The owners and staff were great. We stayed in a tent site by the upper bathrooms. Great big site, loved that! I would have to say for feedback that the bathrooms always had a line, sometimes waiting 20-30 minutes to take a shower. They are ready for a remodel and some ventilation, as are the roofs in the bathrooms by the office. Great spot to dash to deadwood from, would have loved a firepit.
Jul 09, 2013
Loved the cabin, very clean! The location was beautiful. The pool was cold, we thought it was supposed to be heated? The shuttle service was unavailable...
Jul 09, 2013
Your KOA campsite was great, had a good time
Jul 09, 2013
Not easy to get around in this campground but it was clean and did have a good shuttle service into town.
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Arni was AWESOME!
Jul 08, 2013
This was the first time that my hussband and I stayed in a KOA kabin. Overall, the Deadwood KOA is located in a great location and is scenic. The unisex private bathrooms were clean and spacious. I would definietly recommend and return to the Deadwood KOA in the future.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
The people who work there are great - the sites are just very small and don't offer much for parking!
Jul 08, 2013
Loved staying here! What a great.
Jul 07, 2013
We stayed here three yrs ago on a trip west, and when we chose Deadwood as our vacation spot this year, we remembered the great hospitality, great views, great location and awesome PRIVATE restrooms! So, we booked here again! It was as good as it was before! We even got our same spot, just as requested. Thanks for helping to make our vacation awesome!
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
Very nice staff eager to please us was there with family and children play ground needs some updating and the pool was too cold for the children to use
Jul 07, 2013
Every one of the staff from the owners to the employees were all so fantastic. They made us feel at home. Very friendly and helpful. The whole camp site was very clean and well maintained. We will definitely be back here and also stay at other KOA's Hawk and Verna
Jul 07, 2013
Arnie was very very nice and helpful both booking the stay and onsite. Love the cement pads & yellow picnic tables at the sites. Will definitely stay again!!
Jul 07, 2013
The mats in the bathrooms are very uncomfortable to stand on. Bathrooms need better ventilation
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
Overall, it was a good stay. Campsites are a little too cramped. Quiet hours were over at 6:00 a.m., which I feel is too early when motorcycles are waking you up at that time.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Quiet hours are posted as 10PM to 7AM.
Jul 06, 2013
The owners were excellent, very friendly and helpful. The campground is not very family-friendly in the way it's set-up. The pool seems fairly clean until you start swimming in it. You then realize the paint is chipping off and paint chips float all around you as you swim. You then can't see the bottom of the pool. The loc of the play area is behind an old building and seemed "scary" to our child.
Jul 06, 2013
Jul 06, 2013
Really enjoyed our stay. Shuttle bus is a real plus.
Jul 06, 2013
friendly staff, clean facilities; wifi, cable and shuttle into town were wonderful perks
Jul 05, 2013
Very nice. Shuttle to Deadwood worked very well for us. They also had a rental car that we used to visit Mt. Rushmore.
Jul 05, 2013
Very clean, easy to find and get to. Close to the attractions we wanted to see.
Jul 03, 2013
I love this campsite. The staff was very friendly and the shuttle service was great. I always stay in the cabins. This time I stayed in cabin 8, it was hard to climb up the hills at my age and very noisy. I recommend cabin 1, 3,4 or 5.
Jul 03, 2013
Everyone was very helpful and the kabin was as advertised. The shuttle to downtown was nice to have. Overall a great experience.
Jul 03, 2013
Service friendly and helpful. Appreciated the free shuttle into town. Loved that they had hand-held hair dryers in restroom.
Jul 03, 2013
When we got there, the owner was on the phone and he didn't even look up at us. VERY RUDE! Never even acknowledged that we were there. Just made us stand there until a woman came to help.There was no coffee in the morning.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I apologize for the perceived rudeness. Sometimes the issues on the other end of the phone demand our full attention. I hope you will consider staying with us again. we appreciate the feedback. Debra Olson, Owner
Jul 02, 2013
Had a wonderful stay in the Deadwood KOA cabins. My only complaints would be that there were too few bathrooms and that we had specifically reserved cabins next to one another so that our children could roam back and forth while staying in sight. When we arrived however, we were given cabins that were some distance apart. The facilities were very nice.
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
Staff and services were excellent plus!!! The only downfall was that we have a 38 ft motorhome and getting to and leaving the campground was a bit of a challenge. we discovered after leaving part of our tow bar broke, we think from the extreme angle we encountered leaving the park. next time we would hook up tow car after we left campground

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the feedback. We will pass on your suggestion for the tow hook up to others. I'm sorry that happened to you. We appreciate your business!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.