Deadwood KOA

11484 U.S. Hwy 14 Alternate

Deadwood, SD 57732

Reserve: 800-562-0846

Info: 605-578-3830

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Nice location and layout only complaint were the bathrooms. The combination of the shower and toilet limits use and also their was no venting so with showering and the lights always on it was always hot and sticky there all thru the day and night making toilet seats sweat. Also not cleaned daily/dirty. Garbage cans at each level would be nice.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
This campground not up to KOA standards. Overgrown bushes, uneven concrete, holes in restroom walls and ceilings. Otherwise clean restroom and showers. Tent site next to cliff where a fallen tree root was above us. With some work this could be a nice campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the feedback, but just to let you know, we had a snowstorm on Oct 4 last year that dumped 63 inches of snow in 36 hours. All of the campground took a big hit and we plan to address all of the ones you mentioned, after we get a new roof on our building. Come check us out next year.
Jul 26, 2014
The campground was nice however the trolly does not come to the campground so you have to arrange your own ride to town. Also, having Wifi was very important to me but we could not get a signal inside or outside of the RV. The staff and owner was very nice and friendly. Would stay here again if towing a way into town.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do run our own shuttle into town. I'm not sure why you weren't aware of it, but we try to mention it to everyone and it is printed on our site map. We hope you'll come back but no need to tow.
Jul 24, 2014
Friendly hosts, nice pool, excellent cabin, great location
Jul 24, 2014
Our stay at the Deadwood Koa is always so relaxing and enjoyable.Our Cabin 5 is always so clean comfy and cozy.We love the owners ,Debbie and Arnie Olson.They are great people.They treat us so good.Staying at the Deadwood Koa is so enjoyable.The Black Hills and Deadwood is our favorite place to go especially the Koa.We have been staying there for at least 25 yrs.We cant wait for next year stay.
Jul 23, 2014
This is a really challenging KOA, very steep climb to the restrooms. only 3 unisex restrooms to serve so many. We appreciated to shuttle to the downtown area. Owners very friendly. thank you
Jul 22, 2014
Enjoyed our stay, beautiful a area and lots of things to do close to the KOA, I was disappointed that I could not use my membership points toward the cabin that I rented for my kids, we have an RV and I wanted my whole family to come this time , but we could not all stay in the RV due to note nought room, so I rented an additional lodge for my family so we could all be together , but I was told N
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Very beautiful facility and very friendly staff. Because of some health issues it was not an easy park for me to navigate.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Everyone that worked there was very friendly and accommodating. They couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was great!
Jul 22, 2014
The best thing about this campground is the friendly staff, unfortunately the tent sites are very cramped and they expect you to park your vehicle next to your tent which leads you virtually no room to move around. Also, there is a very bright street light that shines upon the whole campground and you're unable to look at the stars.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Very nice campground. Be prepared to walk some steep hills to the bathroom. But that is part of it's charm. You need to enjoy gambling if you plan to stay more than a couple of days in Deadwood.
Jul 21, 2014
When booking this KOA I looked at GoogleMaps to get an idea what the area looked like. It was not impressive. We decided to give it a try anyway. I am glad we did. The lodge we stayed in for 5 nights was clean and bigger than expected. The KOA was well kept and the staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.
Jul 21, 2014
Arni and Deb are welcoming, gracious camp owners/hosts. We arrived after the office was closed, but Arni came up and helped us quickly find our cabin. He and his wife went out of their ways to provide information about local restaurants and attractions and made our stay very enjoyable.
Jul 21, 2014
they were very accommodating to us in moving to cabin after the rain and storms.
Jul 20, 2014
This was my first stay at a KOA and I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the experience was. Given the layout of the grounds, themselves, it was a little cramped, but this really didn't pose any problems. Loved the cabin and the staff was friendly and helpful.
Jul 20, 2014
Despite a full lot, the layout makes each space seem private--tucked away into the hills. Wonderful people.
Jul 20, 2014
The view was wonderful and the bathrooms were clean. We were very impressed with the appearances of the KOA's that we stayed at!
Jul 19, 2014
just a couple of minor issues, but was taken care of promptly. Staff was caring and friendly. Great place to stay in nature.
Jul 18, 2014
Beautiful setting, very helpful owner, the free bus into town was great and we were able to ask the driver, whom was also the owner lots of questions and he able to answer all. will for sure come back. only reason I don't give a 5 is there are no fire pits and most sites have no trees1
Jul 18, 2014
Nice campground overall, but disappointed with location of our cabin, which was positioned directly above a busy/noisy road. Also,owner (male) wasn't friendly at all.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
Great location and every other hour to Deadwood means that you can leave your vehicle in place. Thanks again to Arnie for being a great host.
Jul 17, 2014
this is the best koa out of 5 we stayed at in the usa very awesome
Jul 17, 2014
we were impressed w the cleanliness of bathrooms, the great shower heads, and loved having the shuttle to town and friendly helpful info. we hope to return. just a great experience
Jul 17, 2014
shuttle bus was a real nice touch... thank you so much don't let the entrance scare you the sights are level and it is a beautiful spot. Staff very helpful
Jul 16, 2014
Good location. Friendly and knowledgable staff.
Jul 15, 2014
GREAT K9 park. However, the trash bags for the dogs was never replaced nor the dog waste can emptied.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Arnie and Debra were friendly and helpful. They have been here 3 years. The campground itself was very steep with few trees for shade. We stayed in a lodge, it was clean, rustic decor was quaint! Many of the tent sites, however, were small & cramped. Beautiful scenery surrounding the area!
Jul 13, 2014
Sites are very small (we have a 24' camper) and difficult to get in & out of sites. Bathroom had holes in ceiling from water damage and shower heads are very low.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
Sites were way too jammed together. Guy with big rig next to ours had his slide out on our site. Awkward to get in and out.
Jul 12, 2014
The size of the lots are not conducive to the larger modern RVs. The bathrooms are nice but there are a number of maintenance issues that are not being addressed.
Jul 11, 2014
We really appreciate the shuttle service, the well kept campground, quiet setting. Love the porch swing on the cabin.
Jul 11, 2014
Great staff. Shuttle to downtown was very convenient. Would stay again
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 10, 2014
The grounds were immaculate and staff very helpful. Very beautiful Kampground nestled against the hills. My dog really enjoyed the pet yard. Can't wait to go back.
Jul 05, 2014
Wonderful people running this KOA. Very accommodating to our needs. A+ KOA. Thank you very much for having us.
Jul 05, 2014
Jul 05, 2014
Great location. Only thing missing was the ability to have a campfire.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for staying with us. Unfortunately, the great location and the inability to have a campfire are related!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.