Deadwood / Black Hills KOA

Open April 28 - October 9

Reserve: 800-562-0846

Info: 605-578-3830

Email

11484 U.S. Hwy 14 Alternate

Deadwood, SD 57732

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 17, 2017
Small, cozy Koa well outside of town but a $1 shuttle to town. Small pool, but has a hot tub too. No issues.
Jul 17, 2017
Jul 17, 2017
Gorgeous view !!
Jul 16, 2017
Nice little campground. Great location! They offer a trolley to downtown Deadwood which was an added bonus ! The sites are a little closer together than we are used of, but still a nice place to stay! They host and the ladies working in the office were very friendly!
Jul 16, 2017
Drive through site, very tight between campers, could not open canopy due to another camper using their slide out. Hard to use picnic table due to neighbor had their slide out open. Nice concrete slab, easy hook up, although I was in my neighbors site when connecting my hoses. All the services, laundry, pool, hot tub, store, staff support were excellent. Stayed for a week to small for campin
Jul 15, 2017
We had motorcycle issues and had to cancel one night. The owner and staff are excellent. This is a very nice KOA and is on a hill and a like camping environment.
Jul 15, 2017
We had plenty of shade at our site and a direct, unobstructed view of Devils tower. We really wish that we had stayed longer, just to enjoy everything they had to offer.
Jul 15, 2017
We enjoyed our stay! The owners were very friendly and helpful. Our cabin was perfect, the showers were clean, and there was a nice pool and hot tub. We would recommend this KOA.
Jul 15, 2017
People were friendly. Bathrooms are clean. Beautiful area and great location
Jul 14, 2017
Great location and very friendly staff. Looking forward to staying here again soon.
Jul 14, 2017
friendly helpful clean nice people
Jul 13, 2017
The staff was friendly, pool great for the heat, but not enough bathrooms. And, the bathroom doors do not shut!
Jul 13, 2017
Staff was very friendly. Price was way too high for a simple cabin.
Jul 13, 2017
Jul 13, 2017
Very nice Cabins... The bathrooms could use soap dispensers sanitary reasons
Jul 12, 2017
Great people running this location, but the sites are just too crowded.
Jul 11, 2017
Beautiful
Jul 11, 2017
Our kids enjoyed the pool. Clean site and helpful staff. Great proximity to historic Deadwood
Jul 11, 2017
Great location.
Jul 11, 2017
Wonderful staff and very clean
Jul 11, 2017
I am new to camping. Thought it was clean and quite. Would recommend to fellow campers
Jul 10, 2017
Sites were level but tight! Love the shuttle!
Jul 10, 2017
Very friendly staff ! A great place to stay
Jul 09, 2017
This was a three tired very hilly location. We have a small 27 ft RV. We were there for 2 days. They put us on the top tier. In a small spot almost too small for our RV. In fact we were hanging out in the drive a bit. The hookups were behind us in tall tall grass. My daughter and I had to move the picnic table in order to move the RV far enough away from the tree to put the slide out.
Jul 09, 2017
Camp area very small, the lady was very friendly but the man wouldn't even say hi or welcome when we would say hi he shouldn't be there if he doesn't like his job. This was the worse out of the 4 KOA we stay at on our trip to Yellowstone National Park all the other KOA were very nice and the people running them were very nice
Jul 09, 2017
Jul 08, 2017
loved the cabin here, perfect location. No problemd
Jul 08, 2017
We were only there one night. It was clean and everyone was helpful.
Jul 08, 2017
Overall a great location right next to historic Deadwood city. The campground is pretty small and RV sites are pretty tight. Having another vehicle on top of the RV is tough since the parking is very limited on each site.
Jul 08, 2017
The KOA was fine, but the campsites were too close to one another. In addition, someone left their dogs unattended all day and they barked. We called to complain, left a message, and never received a response from management.
Jul 08, 2017
You need more bathrooms . Also bathroom doors that close.
Jul 07, 2017
Campers are packed in like sardines, we could hear the person in the tent next to our cabin breathing. But, there are very few restrooms. It is not uncommon to wait half an hour just to go to the bathroom. Those bathrooms were filthy. The same messes existed the entire week we were there. The cabin bed mattresses were hard as cement. We stayed in over 100 KOAs,, this is the worst!
Jul 07, 2017
I was disappointed with the upkeep of the campgrounds, the weeds and the trees were over grown. The fences were falling down and needed repair. The host were wonderful, especially Emily and Stacy. I rate them very high. The hot tub was not working and the swimming pool needed repair. I think this KOA needed to hire more employees.
Jul 07, 2017
Jul 07, 2017
This KOA has very tight spots and large hills; terrible for trailers; we arrived late in the evening to find our spot impossible to access due to other camper's vehicles being parked too close to allow us to back in. We ended up in a fender bender with another camper trying to park in and ended up leaving in the middle of the night. Luckily, the museum in town has an rv park and we stayed there.
Jul 06, 2017
The location is great, the sites are lovely, and the employees are wonderful. Will come back!
Jul 06, 2017
Was very disappointed that there were no wood fires allowed. Sites were very small, but appreciated all the manager was able to do for us.
Jul 06, 2017
So much for the kids to do! Had an amazing time.
Jul 05, 2017
This was another good stop to spot. I would not recommend for late arrival. It was pitch black. Usually our cabin light is left on. We had trouble finding our cabin and getting parked in the dark.
Jul 04, 2017
Clean and well maintained. GreaT location . Trolley was a great feature. We had a nice cabin and were put beside family members. Would return !
Jul 04, 2017
Jul 04, 2017
Beautiful, shady park with very nice hosts and owners. We loved they have a Kamp K-9 where our dogs could run off leash. It is small but big enough they could run a bit. My only complaint is the trolley service (not a function of the park but the city of Deadwood). DO NOT COUNT on this transportation. There really is no schedule followed and we spent hours waiting on it.
Jul 04, 2017
Nice campground but needs some TLC.
Jul 03, 2017
Very noisy being just 200-300' of a highway. Not good to a tent site. Also the Site was run down turf. Very dusty and would have been A mud pool if it rained. Sort of disappointed. My fault for not looking at the camp site map if there is one on line and it accurately shows surroundings.
Jul 02, 2017
A charming campground. It is unique as it is chiseled in the side of a hill but I felt that offered more privacy. nice private bathrooms with showers and hot water. easy to get to Deadwood.
Jul 01, 2017
This is just an OK campground. The sites are really tight, maybe the tightest we have seen. The trees and grass need trimming. After this campground, we were thinking maybe no more KOAs as the last two have been disappointing. The bathrooms were clean however.
Jul 01, 2017
Clean site with nice amenities and friendly service. Love the dog park!
Jul 01, 2017
the campgrounds are very nice the employees were very friendly we will be staying at KOA again
Jun 30, 2017
Bathrooms were extremely clean
Jun 28, 2017
Great campground. Somewhat crowded, but that's to be expected for the area. Staff was very friendly and accommodating, even when we wanted to change tent sites to get off the main road. Bathrooms were really clean and nice and camp sites had plenty of space. Not being able to have a fire was really the only downside.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy