Deadwood KOA

11484 U.S. Hwy 14 Alternate

Deadwood, SD 57732

Reserve: 800-562-0846

Info: 605-578-3830

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Very helpful, campground clean rained a lot didn't get to try the pool. Will return
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
We enjoy staying at this KOA when we visit Deadwood.The cabins are great and the view of the mountains is beautiful.
Aug 09, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Friendly. Safe. Clean. Perfect
Aug 08, 2014
There for the Sturgis rally. Reserve every year. The best place to stay and love the breakfast options now available.
Aug 08, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Lovely campground and wonderful people!
Aug 07, 2014
Location is cool, it is clean, the people are friendly and very helpful. We will be back!!!
Aug 06, 2014
We've been there every year since 2006 for the Sturgis Rally and have recommended it to all, but the new owners don't seem to care about customer loyalty, we won't stay there again. Has gone downhill badly in the last 2 years. Cracked tub - cut my foot on fiberglass. Showers out of order - during STURGIS!? Pool was filthy, hot tub had so much chlorine it burned my eyes. Going elsewhere next year!
Aug 06, 2014
SITE WAS NICE AND SHADED, THE STORE AND FACILITES WERE CLEAN. IT WAS GREAT TO HAVE A POOL AND A HOT TUB!
Aug 06, 2014
turkey leg and roasted corn was a nice treat. Sites were very confusing and backwards.
Aug 05, 2014
We stayed at the Deadwood KOA for Stugis. It was decent with easy access to all rides you wish to take. The owner was nice but the women's bathroom needs a little work. One sink faucet wasn't functional and one of the shower heads needed replacing. My husband tried the pool and it didn't appear to be heated so was very cold. Other than that it was basically clean and we enjoyed our 2 night stay
Aug 05, 2014
Great place to stay!
Aug 05, 2014
What a campground! We enjoyed the Deluxe cabin and had a blast the 3 days we were there. Really liked the fact of a base point to go and see all the attractions. KOA personnel were helpful and happy.
Aug 05, 2014
friendly staff,nice area,very helpful
Aug 05, 2014
we had a nice stay at KOA in Deadwood SD. we would stay again in the future.
Aug 04, 2014
Have stayed at this KOA every year for last 20 years and always requested a particular location, well in advance of season and have always been accommodated, however not this time. The cabins where we were placed had 3 shared bathrooms, one had a non working shower and another did not have a working door lock, resulting in people entering while you were in there. Informed management, never fixed.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Great stay at the Koa! The only thing I might change is that the washrooms are in same room as the showers, so if all 3 showers are being used, it becomes a lengthy wait. Perhaps just to add a few more single washrooms would make it much better. Other than that, service was excellent and the Kampground was very clean, shuttle service is a great addition. We will definately come back!! Thankyou
Aug 04, 2014
some showers not working, no grass for tent camp sites,good shuttle to downtown Deadwood.
Aug 04, 2014
Nice, clean, and friendly. Little hilly getting in for anyone with a lower sitting camper. Nice level pads. Good location. Kids have fun in the pool. Would stay here again
Aug 03, 2014
The campground hosts were wonderful...our stay was very pleasant, nice facilities, plenty of shade!
Aug 03, 2014
The cabin was very cozy and comfortable. The picnic table worked out great for cooking my meals. The swing was an added plus, I sat there and enjoyed playing my guitar. The TV may have been a little much as I watched Rocky 2,3 & 4 the 1st night. Just kidding. Thanks, Jim.
Aug 02, 2014
Friendly staff, all utilities solid, but really tight for bigger rigs (or with a pickup and 30' total trailer, there are several strangely placed little split rail fences that block effective turns - longer rigs, just be careful with where you get placed. I'm sure the staff will try to help)
Aug 01, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
Proximity of the koa to deadwood was great. Shuttle bus was a good thing to have. Friendly helpful staff. The only thing was the pool was cold. But the hot tub was nice.
Aug 01, 2014
It was an awesome little camp ground!
Jul 31, 2014
We absolutely loved your campground! It's so beautiful ticed away in the mountain side. My 3 girls ages 5,8, and 13 lived panning for gems on your property. It was very exciting for them, and you know if the kids are happy, then the parents are too. ThanKS for a wonderful one-night stay. We'll definitely be back.
Jul 30, 2014
improve internet speed
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Always fun staying at the KOA. Love the cabins and always clean. Friendly people and I like that there is a shuttle to Deadwood. Great time.
Jul 28, 2014
The campground was neat, the staff friendly. Everything was we needed was near by. The shuttle to Deadwood was a great extra. It made our vacation a great one.
Jul 28, 2014
Small spots, I let out my slider on my 24 foot Forrest River RV and it covered the picnic table in the next site. Showers on the hill were excellent, full bathroom and shower, down the hill they were mixed with the bathrooms. They have a shuttle that takes you into town which is handy. This RV campground is set where there used to be an old gold mine, very tight although the staff were friendly.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Nice location and layout only complaint were the bathrooms. The combination of the shower and toilet limits use and also their was no venting so with showering and the lights always on it was always hot and sticky there all thru the day and night making toilet seats sweat. Also not cleaned daily/dirty. Garbage cans at each level would be nice.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
This campground not up to KOA standards. Overgrown bushes, uneven concrete, holes in restroom walls and ceilings. Otherwise clean restroom and showers. Tent site next to cliff where a fallen tree root was above us. With some work this could be a nice campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the feedback, but just to let you know, we had a snowstorm on Oct 4 last year that dumped 63 inches of snow in 36 hours. All of the campground took a big hit and we plan to address all of the ones you mentioned, after we get a new roof on our building. Come check us out next year.
Jul 26, 2014
The campground was nice however the trolly does not come to the campground so you have to arrange your own ride to town. Also, having Wifi was very important to me but we could not get a signal inside or outside of the RV. The staff and owner was very nice and friendly. Would stay here again if towing a way into town.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do run our own shuttle into town. I'm not sure why you weren't aware of it, but we try to mention it to everyone and it is printed on our site map. We hope you'll come back but no need to tow.
Jul 24, 2014
Friendly hosts, nice pool, excellent cabin, great location
Jul 24, 2014
Our stay at the Deadwood Koa is always so relaxing and enjoyable.Our Cabin 5 is always so clean comfy and cozy.We love the owners ,Debbie and Arnie Olson.They are great people.They treat us so good.Staying at the Deadwood Koa is so enjoyable.The Black Hills and Deadwood is our favorite place to go especially the Koa.We have been staying there for at least 25 yrs.We cant wait for next year stay.
Jul 23, 2014
This is a really challenging KOA, very steep climb to the restrooms. only 3 unisex restrooms to serve so many. We appreciated to shuttle to the downtown area. Owners very friendly. thank you
Jul 22, 2014
Enjoyed our stay, beautiful a area and lots of things to do close to the KOA, I was disappointed that I could not use my membership points toward the cabin that I rented for my kids, we have an RV and I wanted my whole family to come this time , but we could not all stay in the RV due to note nought room, so I rented an additional lodge for my family so we could all be together , but I was told N
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Very beautiful facility and very friendly staff. Because of some health issues it was not an easy park for me to navigate.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Everyone that worked there was very friendly and accommodating. They couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was great!
Jul 22, 2014
The best thing about this campground is the friendly staff, unfortunately the tent sites are very cramped and they expect you to park your vehicle next to your tent which leads you virtually no room to move around. Also, there is a very bright street light that shines upon the whole campground and you're unable to look at the stars.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.