Deadwood KOA

11484 U.S. Hwy 14 Alternate

Deadwood, SD 57732

Reserve: 800-562-0846

Info: 605-578-3830

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
This was a great KOA! The staff was great, the dog park was too, the site was level even if a little small. The WIFI was okay. The location was great and we wish we could have spent more time there.
Jul 29, 2013
Could have used more bath/shower rooms, but overall a nice place and very convenient to Deadwood.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
It was wonderful stay. the only comment to all KOA's the rate is getting too expensive especially with added person children or adults.
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Great location, shuttle service wonderful and staff very friendly.
Jul 28, 2013
Arni the owner was very nice and helpful. Campground was close to Deadwood, pool and spa were nice. Only minor complaint was the sites were very close together and badly needed fresh gravel and dirt for leveling --- otherwise, a nice enough KOA.
Jul 28, 2013
Liked the hottub since the pool was not warm. It felt that I was in in Colorado camping there. No fire rings, but I understand the fire danger. Free shuttle to town was nice.
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
Very friendly, helpful staff. Good amenities. Location is on a hill with a lot of trees--was a pretty site. RV's are parked fairly close together but we loved everything else.
Jul 26, 2013
Convenient location for everything our family wanted to do. GREAT HOSTS...clean campground!
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
The only thing that we were disapointed in was that their delux cabin/lodge was very small!!!
Jul 26, 2013
Arni was great as well as the whole staff. Close to everything Deadwood has to offer.
Jul 25, 2013
Nice people. Liked the shuttle service. One of our best experiences on this trip.
Jul 25, 2013
My site did not have any room to sit outside expedt in the front of camper. Should not have a site.
Jul 24, 2013
We have stayed at Deadwood Koa for at least 20 yrs.We love it there.It has been our favorite.It is clean and comfortable.we have stayed in a cabin the last 2 yrs.We love it.The owners Deb and Arnie ,are wonderful.We will be staying again next year.
Jul 24, 2013
We stayed at the Deadwood KOA for six nights and had a great time exploring the area. The campground was well kept and the shower facilities were great. We did find that there may be some space issues for larger motorhomes and trailers as the campground is space constrained due to the hilly topography.
Jul 24, 2013
Everyone was courteous and helpful during our first camping trip.
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
Great place beautiful scenery
Jul 23, 2013
Loved it here and will return. beautiful location. Love that you have a bus to take us into Deadwood and back. Friendly staff, very clean.
Jul 22, 2013
The bathrooms in the main building were clean; needs serious renovations. Cabin needed cleaning around bed frames and bench; excessive build up of dust. Stay every year, great location.
Jul 22, 2013
We have been coming to the KOA in Deadwood for over 20 years and We had a Wonderful Time there and would recommend your KOA to all of our friends. We will see you all next year or maybe again this years if we get a three day weekend..Thank You Doss and Rose Kizzire
Jul 22, 2013
Clean and friendly
Jul 21, 2013
Nice location.
Jul 21, 2013
The campers are way to close together and when it was time for us to leave they had over booked and had so many cars around my camper I couldn't even get my camper out until they moved some people around and we had to move a table
Jul 21, 2013
nice bathrooms and showers. a tv in cabin major plus with kids. cons campground on a hill .had to walk up or down hill to get to bathrooms. we had to climb a lot of stairs to get to cabin. light by steps not working. not enough parking got awakin in morning to move vehicle so people could get camper out. overall a decent campground.
Jul 21, 2013
Laundry room was very nice. Campsites were a little crowded. Would like to have seen more with cement pad in between. Camp restrooms and dog walk area were also very nice.
Jul 21, 2013
Nice campground! Don't listen to the other reviews complaining about the bathrooms. They're quite nice! The upper bathrooms are especially nice! You're fairly close to your camping neighbors but all the spots are level and grassy. Number 40 is especially nice for tents.
Jul 20, 2013
Great location, very clean and the staff is professional and friendly. I can't wait to come back next season!!
Jul 20, 2013
We had access, near our site, to three awesome and private bathrooms complete with showers and hair dryer. More public showers and toilets at registration building. Sites are very close together but the free and private showers made up for it! Pool and hot tub at this location as well which was a selling point.
Jul 19, 2013
Loved the view from our campsite. All personnel were great. Appreciated the late office hours.
Jul 19, 2013
Horrible! Camper sites were so small they barely accomodated camper & picnic table with no room for vehicle! The fewbathroom/showers are UNIsex--yuk! Flies really bad. Will NEVER stay there again & NEVER recommend!! Hated it!
Jul 18, 2013
We had a wonderful lodge at Deadwood and the service was great. Had linens towels dishes etc then we needed to stay on an extra night due to a motorcycle accident and we were moved to a bigger lodge that had a patio, grill along with all of the above. Very wonderful experience will be back again!!!!!
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
We had a great time. The deluxe cabin was very clean and the hosts were great and very helpful in planning our sight seeing trips.
Jul 17, 2013
The owners were very accommodating and helpful when we got in extremely late due to truck trouble! They allowed us to park in a different location and never said a word when hubby had to fix the truck. Beautiful place. Great folks! We're coming back!!!
Jul 17, 2013
Nice location, clean, friendly
Jul 17, 2013
bathrooms were a little dirty
Jul 17, 2013
This was a very well done camp. Only suggestion would be to separate the showers from the toilets in the mid-camp restrooms.
Jul 16, 2013
Arnie and his wife were so hospitable and friendly. You have great people running this location. Tops in customer service clean and well kept up park will recommend to ALL I know !!!!!!!
Jul 16, 2013
We very much enjoyed our stay. We regularly stay at KOA's and this is one of the nicest. The cabin was perfect, the staff was friendly, and the location was ideal for local activities
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Spaces are a little tight, but everything else was great.
Jul 15, 2013
GREAT GROUNDS,SORRY CONDITION OF POOL & RESTROOMS.Makes them look cheap,wouldn't cost much to fix(pool floor needs painting,the deep end paint chips kept coming up-a lot).The mens restroom needs the ceiling fixed,there must have been a leak(that they fixed)but they left the huge hole wide open/unpatched-also need to be painted.The hot tub has broken drains that could cause a injury..

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately, the pool would be out of commission for several days, so plan to paint in September when it is closed. The bathroom ceiling is a bigger issue with our flat roof leaking. Plan is to fix the roof (at considerable expense) and then the ceiling and paint (which was just done this spring).

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.