Our cool mountain nights and central location make an ideal base camp for your Black Hills vacation! We are located one mile west of historic Deadwood on Highway 14A. Less than one hour to all Black Hills attractions
The sheer size of the mountain carving on Mount Rushmore evokes a sense of awe in those who view it. We are also amazed when we see ourselves in the faces of the presidents. The four presidents carved in stone represent all Americans. They represent our courage, dreams, freedom and greatness.
The birth of our nation was guided by the vision and courage of George Washington. Thomas Jefferson always had dreams of a greater, more perfect nation, first in the words of the Declaration of Independence and later in the expansion of our nation through the Louisiana Purchase. Preservation of the union was paramount to Abraham Lincoln, a nation where all men were free and equal. At the turn of the Twentieth Century Theodore Roosevelt envisioned a great nation, a leader on the world stage, our nation was changing from a rural republic to a world power. The ideals of these presidents laid a foundation for the United States of America as solid as the rock from which their figures were carved.
Each president possessed great skills and leadership of the brand our nation needed for the times they represent. We all can look into their faces and gain inspiration and strength from these four great men and ourselves.
The intriguing story of one of America's last great gold rushes comes to life at Deadwood's Broken Boot Gold Mine, established in 1878. Step into the Black Hills' best underground mine tour and return to a time when the powerful punch of a miner's pick and the roaring boom of a black powder blast signaled the ongoing search for the richest veins of gold on earth. Follow the path of ore cars deep underground into the century-old shafts of the Broken Boot. Walk in the footsteps of thousands of faceless miners who sought their fortunes in the dark and explosive atmosphere of black powder and candlelight. Experienced guides will help you discover the mysteries and magic of on-time gold mining techniques. Then try your luck at gold panning the same way prospectors did here more than 100 years ago. Every guest will go home with a souvenir "share" of stock in the legendary mine. Open mid-May through mid-September, 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. daily. Tours are conducted every thirty minutes (lasting approximately thirty minutes and easily accessible to all ages).
Share the thrill experienced by the old time prospectors by panning your own GOLD! Walk through time with "miner" tour guides in timbered passages of a simulated underground gold mine. View historic mining artifacts and local history exhibits. This museum includes a historic video presentation of mining in the Black Hills, a gift shop with gold panning books and supplies and much more. Open daily mid-May to mid-September 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
It's about hard work, it's about discovery, it's about people their families and the history of the oldest gold mine in the West. Homestake is more than a museum. The Homestake Mine was the oldest and deepest mine in the Western Hemisphere reaching more than 8,000 feet below the town of Lead. Since its closure in 2002, local and state officials have been working hard to turn the former mine into a world-class scientific research laboratory. You can still take surface tours that offer the rare chance to witness the evolution of American gold mining from the early days of panning and digging to today's high-tech methods. You will learn about the early years of the mine, the gold recovery process and innovations, such as the hoists that provided access for personnel and materials into the underground. With Homestake's fascinating tour, displays, mining artifacts and terrific gift shop, your family will be sure to have a blast.
We invite you to visit the exhibit hall, where you'll find exciting information about Sanford Underground Research Facility (Sanford Lab), the city of Lead, and the history of Homestake. Our exhibits include historic photographs, videos, science and mining artifacts, and a 3-D model of the underground—from the surface down to the 8,000-foot level! From our deck, view the 1,000-foot-deep Open Cut, an iconic landmark in the Black Hills, and see the many varieties of rock that created this unique landscape. Admission is free.
Open year-round,. From September through April open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays. May through September, open 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Deadwood, so named because of the dead timber on the surrounding hills, is not unlike many frontier towns with interesting histories. The discovery of gold in the Black Hills brought thousands of sober, hard-working people to the Deadwood area. However, some residents proved to be quite colorful. Many were buried at Mt. Moriah or at its predecessor, the Ingleside Cemetery which was down the hill and to the left of the present cemetery.
The area of the Ingleside Cemetery is presently a residential section of Deadwood. Many buried in this old cemetery were later exhumed and reburied in Mt. Moriah. However some were not and even today remains from the old cemetery are periodically unearthed when residents dig around their homes. Mt. Moriah Cemetery was established in 1877-1878, because of the ever-increasing demands on Ingleside. It is difficult to tell exactly when the use of Ingleside Cemetery was discontinued. According to old records by mid-1878 all burials, with the exception of those at the Catholic Cemetery, were at Mt. Moriah.
Mt. Moriah has numerous sections. At one time a large number of Chinese were buried in a section in the upper left portion of the cemetery. For religious reasons, the bodies were later exhumed and returned to China for reburial. Today only a few graves exist in this section. The Jewish section is located in the upper portion of the cemetery and is complete with tombstones inscribed in Hebrew. Many of the prominent citizens who founded Mt. Moriah were Masons. One of the most attractive sections is the Masonic section located in the center and many of the roads throughout the cemetery are names connected with Masonry.
Children's graves are found throughout Mt. Moriah. There are three Potter's Fields, final resting places for a number of early day indigents and prostitutes. Most of these graves are unmarked. There is also a Civil War veterans section called War Memorial.
It is virtually impossible to summarize the life stories of the more than 3,400 people buried in Mt. Moriah. The following is a list of some of the more well-known residents:
30 million bison (or buffalo) once roamed the Great Plains of North America. By the close of the 19th century, it is estimated that fewer than 1,000 of these animals survived. This is their story. Discover a saga as compelling as any in American history. From their earliest ancestors to near extermination and ultimately the revival, the story of the bison is captured in Deadwood's newest attraction. The centerpiece of Tatanka is a larger-than-life bronze sculpture of 14 bison being pursued by three Lakota riders on horseback. Through interactive exhibits, the interpretive center depicts the history of bison, their relationship to humans and their story today. As the stage is set, you'll journey through an authentic living history Lakota encampment where everything from buffalo hide tipis to interpretive programs offer a snapshot of life during the height of the "buffalo culture" around 1840. Tatanka provides visitors of all ages an entertaining and enduring tribute to the past. Open daily May-October.
The Adams House recounts the real tragedies and triumphs of two of the communities founding families. Following the death of W.E. Adams in 1934, his second wife closed the house. For a half-century, time stood still. Linens lay folded in drawers, fine china remained stacked in cupboards and cookies kept a lonely vigil in their clear glass jar. Painstakingly restored and preserved by leading experts in historic preservation, the Adams House was re-opened to the public in 2000, revealing a time capsule in a place where legends still live. Tour rooms and grounds of this elegant Victorian mansion and learn why it was once Deadwood's social center. Open daily year round.
This museum was built in 1930. Adams Museum houses three floors of fascinating and educational artifacts, including: the first locomotive in the Black Hills, memorabilia associated with Wild Bill Hickok, Calamity Jane, Seth Bullock, Poker Alice, and Potato Creek Johnny, rare fossils of a plesiosaur, an aquatic reptile that lived more than 65 million years ago, the Pioneer Room, an exhibit featuring the furnishings and clothing used by Black Hills pioneers, a collection of Native American artifacts, and fine collections of historical photographs, minerals, guns and folk art. Open year-round. May through September -- Monday thru Saturday 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. and Sunday noon to 5 p.m. October through April -- Monday thru Saturday 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. (closed Sundays and winter holidays).
The High Plains Western Heritage Center was founded to honor the old west pioneers and Native Americans of five states. This museum features western art, artifacts and memorabilia. It houses the completely restored "original" Spearfish to Deadwood Stagecoach that was bought in 1890 and last ran in 1913. A 150-seat theatre features many historic programs, entertainment and special events year round. Open daily 9am to 5pm.
Spirit of the Hills Wildlife Sanctuary is home to over 300 animals of all kinds including domestic, exotic and endangered species. Many of the residents at the Sanctuary have been rescued from breeding operations, private owners and fur farms. The Sanctuary was founded in 1999 and sits on 350 acres of rolling terrain in the northern Black Hills of South Dakota. Open Tuesday through Sunday.
Enjoy a leisurely 3-mile drive through this spectacular and unique wildlife park nestled on 250 acres of the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota. After your drive through tour, walk through our Wildlife Center where young and smaller animals frolic in their outdoor exhibits.
The Caverns offer three different tours. Guides are well trained, experienced and friendly. Tours leave approximately every twenty minutes. Also available is a gift and rock shop offering beautiful gift selections, fine jewelry and souvenirs; snack bar featuring fresh coffee, popcorn and snacks; free museum features specimens of cave and geological formations and fossils; picnic area and relaxed seating available; convenient bus and RV parking; Welcome Center with free coffee, free maps and information.
When visiting the Black Hills, see Beautiful Rushmore Cave. It is the area's largest stalactite cave and the closest cave to Mt. Rushmore National Monument. The one hour tour winds through a series of rooms and passages, the most stunning of which is the BIG ROOM. This legendary room contains thousands of stalactites, stalagmites, ribbons, helecites, columns and other cave formations.
The Crazy Horse project has three goals: 1) the mountain carving, 2) establishment of the Indian Museum of North America and 3) development of the North American Indian University and Medical Training Center. Crazy Horse is open year-round. An admission fee is charged per car (buses at group rates).
Located in the southern Black Hills, the park comprises 73,000 acres and is the habitat of one of the world's largest free- roaming bison herds, numbering about 1,500. Other large mammals living in the park include elk, bighorn sheep, pronghorn antelopes, mountain goats and deer. Although wildlife sightings are not a certainty, visitors are likely to meet the park's resident "begging burros, II donkeys with a tendency to approach cars looking for handouts. Visitors are allowed to feed the burros, so bring fruits, vegetables or cereal and grain products; burro food is not sold in the park. Three scenic drives traverse the area: Needles Highway/SR 87 winds 14 miles through tunnels and spruce and pine forests, passing the granite towers that give the road its name. The 18-mile Wildlife Loop circles grasslands and pine studded hills. Iron Mountain Road (US 16A) passes through the park's scenic northeast corner between Mt. Rushmore and Hermosa. The road passes through three 12-foot-6-inch by 13-foot-6-inch tunnels; two may be bypassed.
Established in 1896, the former trout hatchery building has been restored and contains displays relating to its operating history. Also on the site are the National Fish Culture Hall of Fame, an underwater fish-viewing area and the 1905 home of the hatchery's first superintendent, which is furnished in period.
Located in northeastern Wyoming, the tower, a huge monolith resembling a colossal stone tree stump, rises 867 feet from its base and 1,267 feet above the Belle Fourche River. About a half-mile from the entrance is a prairie dog colony. Ranger naturalists conduct summer interpretive walks and climbing demonstrations. The Tower Trail, marked to identify plants and rocks, encircles Devils Tower. Climbing on the tower is permitted, but climbers must sign in before and after expeditions.
South Dakota's only Air and Space Museum featuring the 3/5 scale of the Honda Stealth Bomber Model...and 22 other vintage aircraft...Admission is free. Memorabilia includes General Eisenhower's personal Mitchell B-25 bomber, along with fighters, bombers, cargo and utility aircraft. This is home of the 28th Bomb Wing and the 99th Wing, a graduate level crew training unit. Tours are available by museum bus 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. daily mid-May to mid-September. There is a nominal charge. Tour includes a look at the B-1B Bomber, base Flightline and a stop at the museum's restoration hanger to view work in progress on vintage aircraft.
The Journey Museum brings together four major prehistoric and historic collection to tell the complete story of the Western Great Plains. 1) The Museum of Geology contains displays of significant scientific discoveries made by geologist and paleontologist, including the unique rock formations and rare fossilized remains found throughout this region. 2) The Archaeological Research Center houses collection from thousands of archaeological sites, including materials from excavations conducted at dozens of prehistoric and historic digs all over South Dakota. 3) The Sioux Indian Museum devotes its exhibitions to the past and present creative achievements of American Indian and Alaskan Native artists and crafts people. 4) The Minnilusa Pioneer Museum features a wide ranging permanent collection of objects and artifact which focus on the regions frontier past and those individuals who played an important role in it. Open seven days a week. Admission (605) 394-6923.
One of the world's longest and most complex caves and 28,295 acres of mixed-grass prairie, ponderosa pine forest, and associated wildlife are the main features of the park. The Wind Cave National Park is well known for its outstanding display of boxwork, an unusual cave formation composed of thin calcite fins resembling honeycombs. The park's mixed-grass prairie is one of the few remaining and is home to native wildlife such as bison, elk, pronghorn, mule deer, coyotes, and prairie dogs. Scheduled, ranger-led tours of Wind Cave are offered all year, and fees are charged. Three cave tours are available.