Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Jul 06, 2014
The staff at the front desk were helpful and friendly. The bathrooms were clean and well maintained. We enjoyed our breakfast at the Chuck Wagon. We would definitely come and stay at KOA again.
Jul 05, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Love the cook and breakfast was great! Showers and bathrooms are nice.
Jul 02, 2014
Our family set up a tent for 3 nights at this particular KOA and had a great time. My 10 and 13 year old LOVED the jumping pillow and the pool was clean and set at a comfortable temperature. The fire wood was a bit expensive (3 bundles for $11) as was the soda in the machines. For the overall price, it was a great value. Thank you!
Jul 02, 2014
ALL the staff very friendly and accommodating which makes a huge difference. Unlike many other campgrounds where customers seem to be an interruption to the work day, these folks enjoy talking with people and were genuinely interested in our satisfaction with the site and amenities. I highly recommend.
Jun 08, 2014
Excellent staff. Nice showers. Clean and well maintained.
Sep 24, 2013
What a great place.Everyone was very helpful with directions and places to see. Great town.
Sep 09, 2013
It was a nice place.
Sep 04, 2013
Terrible two nights. We tented in Site 8. It's right next to the Kamping Kabins and apparently the 2nd and 3rd Kabins from the left behind the pool decided to stay up and drink and talk very loudly. Tent sites should be away from lights and non-tenters. Enforce quiet hours after 10pm. I know this is a chance encounter, but all it takes is once. I'll look elsewhere next time.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
Friendly folks, nice facilities, and cute bunnies everywhere. We loved it!
Aug 23, 2013
It was a great place, great location. A bit too cold for us but we enjoy the place
Aug 22, 2013
Beautiful and clean bathrooms. Well maintained
Aug 15, 2013
we had a great experience at custer/mt. rushmore koa. we loved our tent site. the staff was excellent. the bathrooms were clean. we enjoyed watching several families of bunnies. can't wait to visit again.
Aug 12, 2013
IT was just fine
Aug 11, 2013
The price was to high for tent site with no water or electrical I paid 39 dollars a night and it was to high down the road I paid 22 dollars and had both water and electrical you need to come down on price
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
This was my fifth stay and I will be staying here when I come to the Black Hills.
Aug 09, 2013
Staff were very helpful and kind. Campsites were very small and close together. Our was almost touching our neighbors tent. This KOA had some nice.games to play and the location was great. The food and wood were quite expensive.
Aug 07, 2013
We had a nice campsite under the pine trees. I felt that there was little open green area to hike or play frisbee. Many of the nearby campsites were squeezed into a small area. The staff in the office weren't very pleasant either. The amenities were pretty good. Most of the other KOA campgrounds had jumping pillows for free, this campground charges a small fee.
Aug 06, 2013
Great place to stay
Aug 03, 2013
Aug 02, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
loved the location being central to everything we wanted to do. Liked that there were 2 bath areas
Jul 28, 2013
Debi was extremely friendly & helpful to me.I have stayed here MANY times & it's my 1st choice when I come to Custer.
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
I loved this KOA. The staff were friendly, the sites were clean and well taken care of, and the bunnies were a lot of fun to watch.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
The staff is very eager to please. And the breakfast was great,,,,, pancakes as big as the plate.
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
Awesome staff, very helpful
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 06, 2013
The stay was great & the staff was friendly. The only complaint that I had was on 7/4, the staff started cleaning the restrooms earlier than they were supposed to. When I asked why, it was explained there were a bunch of new campers coming & they wanted them to look as nice as possible. But this also caused, the campers that were already there to wait in a line outside the bathroom for 15 minutes.
Jul 04, 2013
A little cramped but other than that it was a very nice stay. Bathroom and showers were great and very clean and very hot water. Staff great. Enjoyed our time there.
Jul 01, 2013
the owner went out of her way to make us get the best experience and reconized our name when we walked into the door. Very nice and to the kids and love the activity they have for the kids. Very clean Pool is great. Plan on coming again next year Joyce
Jun 28, 2013
We have stayed at several koas yours was the nicest thank for a wonderful experience
Jun 27, 2013
had a wonderful experience @ koa custer. the stuff were great every one is very help full.
Jun 26, 2013
Jun 25, 2013
Jun 21, 2013
After driving 11hrs and seeing Mt. Rushmore I didn't care to supervise the three boys (all under the age of 14) in the pool area. Very stress situation! Hopefully no one drowns due to patents lack of supervision in the future!
Jun 01, 2013
This KOA is very rustic and the staff were friendly and welcomed us warmly. The weather was miserable, but the staff made us feel better about that too.
Oct 08, 2012
Great location and a great place to stay but the bathrooms are not heated and that makes showering at the end of Sept cold.
Sep 25, 2012
This was a very nice KOA and we enjoyed our stay here. The shower facilities were amazing but I suspect insufficient in number when the campground is anywhere near capacity. The operators were friendly and most accommodating...all together a very nice KOA.
Sep 24, 2012
Everyone was friendly, the camp grounds were clean, everything was in order, the facilities were awesome.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.