Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 16, 2016
The bathrooms are very clean and nice! The tent sites are sandy and level. The pool needs some updating, and the highway noise can be loud for a tent camper.
Jul 16, 2016
Great bathrooms and showers! Friendly staff! Had very nice fire pits in tent sites.
Jul 15, 2016
Outstanding, clean location. Close to a lot of stuff. Friendly staff.
Jul 14, 2016
We tented and it was great.
Jul 13, 2016
Jul 12, 2016
Super friendly! Very helpful. All areas clean and in good repair.
Jul 12, 2016
All koa' are close to highways for convenience but they are so noisy with traffic. You don't have to worry about sleeping in.
Jul 12, 2016
The KOA was great. The area was clean and very quiet. The only issue we had was checking in after the office closed at 10 pm. There were no instructions in our email as to where our tent site was or how to find that information upon arrival.
Jul 12, 2016
Nice setting. Friendly, helpful staff. One problem: not enough bathroom or shower stalls. Be prepared to wait.
Jul 11, 2016
Loved the campground - very quiet. The staff was great, very friendly and helpful.
Jul 11, 2016
Amazing campground! Wonderful staff, clean, great and impressive services! Very likely to return.
Jul 08, 2016
Aside from the amenities and services (which were both abundant and of high quality), the best part of staying here was the staff. Every single member of the KOA team was friendly, helpful, out-going and a lot of fun to talk to. They really make you feel special and are willing to help with whatever problem you might run into.
Jul 07, 2016
Very welcomed by staff. Clean facilities. The only complaint, sites are much too close to each other, you can hear your neighbors whispers!
Jul 06, 2016
Stay was great!! People were very friendly and helpful. We will stay there again. Clean restrooms and showers!!
Jul 06, 2016
The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the campsite was clean and well maintained. We enjoyed our stay very much!
Jul 05, 2016
It was quiet, clean, and friendly. Our tent site was shady and large. We really thought the bathrooms were extremely nice.
Jul 05, 2016
It would have been nice to have grass for our tent site but it still worked out okay. The facility was very good and the staff friendly.
Jul 05, 2016
The online reservation system indicated there were tent sites with electricity. Thats what I selected. When I arrived I was informed they don't have tent sites with electricity. Only RV sites. Felt misled. I was stuck with an RV site for my tent. not easy camping with a tent on a rocky site. Disappointed with that.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The site in which you stayed was a tent site with water and electric. We do not have electric only tent sites. The site (#37) does not allow RV's in it. This was all clearly explained on the web site as well as the e-mail confirmation you received. Safe travels.
Jul 03, 2016
This is the best KOA ever! The tent sites were separate from the RVs and cabins. Bathrooms and showers are the best! (no kidding) The site was clean and interesting. (no cookie-cutter sites with tent pad, trees, rocks, all in different configurations). The playground, pool, and bounce pad were a hit! The staff was very friendly. All good!
Jul 03, 2016
This is by far the best KOA I've stayed at to date! The staff is friendly. What I liked the best were the new bath/shower rooms and the sand plots for setting up our tent. Not only is it easier to stake the tent, it also absorbs rain so the tents don't sit in water. Loved it!
Jul 02, 2016
The tent sites are great, but I would not recommend for RVs. However, the newly renovated bathrooms are AMAZING and make you forget your camping.
Jun 29, 2016
The kids loved the bouncing pillow and the campground was very clean and well maintained. The staff was super helpful and always a joy to interact with. We will be staying here again!
Jun 28, 2016
Nice place and well taken care of. Staff was friendly.
Jun 27, 2016
Jun 26, 2016
Great campgrounds with wonderful hosts. Would recommend to all.
Jun 25, 2016
Owners are very friendly and helpful. Very clean campground and restrooms. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to friends.
Jun 19, 2016
The Staff was friendly and helpful. The camp was tidy and well kept.
Jun 19, 2016
From the super clean bathrooms to the friendly staff to the wonderful kids' activities, we had a great time at the Custer KOA!
Jun 17, 2016
Jun 15, 2016
Great set up. Stayed in a tent and the pad was nice and flat. Liked that they had a place to clean my dishes. Showers could have been a little cleaner but would stay there again.
Jun 13, 2016
The staff was so limited and rude. They were in the mentality of high way robbery. When I objected they told me not to come back. They even charged me for a sewer ring and I had a tent site and couldn't refund me because I didn't have a receipt. Meanwhile I was totally in their system. Very very rude and limited staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Your threats to our female staff were not going to be tolerated. Your tone changed dramatically when I came out of the other room after hearing you. You were asked to leave and not return due to your threatening statements. You were aware of prices prior to any purchases and could have declined.
Jun 10, 2016
Very friendly staff. The bathrooms were spotless. Easy access to Custer State Park and Rushmore/Crazy Horse.
Jun 07, 2016
It was awesome!!
Jun 04, 2016
May 16, 2016
Besides the fact that the area is beautiful the KOA was very well kept and clean. The staff at the KOA were amazing and very caring, friendly and helpful. I definitely enjoyed my stay and will be back! Thank you!
Oct 02, 2015
It was a great location for all the activities we wanted to do. The campground itself was clean and the personnel were pleasant and knowledgeable.
Sep 28, 2015
Sep 28, 2015
Great location to all sites. Very friendly staff and fun rabbits to watch.
Sep 27, 2015
Great time. Very clean and staff were very helpful.
Sep 26, 2015
I will certainly be back next year!! The campground is kept very clean and the people are awesome!! Very welcoming and cheerful! Thanks for the great stay!! Jamie
Sep 26, 2015
Sep 23, 2015
After paying for the tent site, we didn't stay. There was only stones and gravel to pitch our tent on for ALL tent sites. Just drove to another campground and forfeited the payment.
Sep 12, 2015
The staff was incredibly friendly! Also, the facilities were the cleanest I've ever seen at a campground. I look forward to staying at the Custer KOA in the future!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you. We look forward to your return. Safe travels.
Sep 07, 2015
The staff was very nice and welcoming. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this KOA to others.
Sep 07, 2015
Went on the koa website to reserve a 3 night stay. The lady was very rude and didn't explain anything thoroughly. Get to check in at what I thought was the only koa resort at Mt rushmore they said I had the wrong reservation numbers and sent me to custer. Stayed at the mt. Rushmore koa as a kid and wanted to stay there again not knowing there was another koa. Terrible service.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It sounds like your problems with staff were not at our location. A though may be to call the campground after making an internet reservation to be sure all is as you expect it be on your arrival. Safe Travels.
Sep 06, 2015
The people were great and friendly the Benny's were sweet take care of them I would tell others bathrooms clean close to sites Bruce and Shirley I'll come back
Sep 03, 2015
I really enjoyed it while I was there, my grandson had a great time, the only thing I felt maybe would have made him happier, is the campground next to the KOA, had a big slide to their pool and he asked if he could go over to it and told him I didn't think it was allowed, so it would have been great if there had been something like that, but the sta
Aug 28, 2015
Great facility. The people that work there are extremely kind and helpful. The bathrooms are the best I've seen at a KOA. The campsites are spacious. There are lots of rabbits, they are friendly but drove our dog a little crazy. Perfect location for exploring the beautiful black hills. Hope to be back.
Aug 27, 2015
Nice facilities and wonderful folks working in the office. Very nice tiled and clean restrooms & showers. Tent camped here and nice site.
Aug 24, 2015
Great place. Only remark is that there wasn't a grate on our fire pit for the tent area. But not a huge deal!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award