Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304


12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 11, 2015
Great location, friendly and excellent staff and service. Lovely grounds, and very kid and family friendly. I had only three complaints; 1) quiet hours were not strictly enforced, though not a serious problem; 2) road noise; 3) one bundle of firewood sold to us was a bit green.
Jul 09, 2015
All in all ok stay. Needs signage to direct to campground. Best part is town, Custer is quaint, cozy and friendly.
Jul 09, 2015
Jul 08, 2015
This is a great place to stay!! Lots of trees and a very helpful staff. We tried to stay an extra night but they were full. Kids loved the jumping pillow and the pool. Staff made us feel like family. Lots of nice families camping there.
Jul 08, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
Loved the STAFF... CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN even with the July 4th week. Thanks Sir jimmy
Jul 06, 2015
Facilities are clean, staff friendly and accommodating. Campsite are a little close, though.
Jul 05, 2015
You need to have another dish washing station on the other end of the camp ground by the other bathrooms.
Jul 05, 2015
Clean facilities friendly staff very helpful but tent sites pretty close together....could hear EVERYTHING going on. But we would still recommend this KOA.
Jul 04, 2015
Excellent location, layout and services. Raised spots for tents were especially great. Plus, bunnies. Tons of them.
Jul 01, 2015
Jul 01, 2015
Friendly staff, clean and quiet facility. Great location and close to a lot of attractions. Would be nice if the shower stalls were a little larger and the teen game room was a little disappointing.
Jun 29, 2015
The staff was all AMAZING, top-notch, and we loved it. Only complaint: wish the highway noise was blocked a bit.
Jun 27, 2015
Very friendly staff. The giant bouncy pillow was a hit with our 7 and 9 year olds. Great trees for shade.
Jun 20, 2015
Beautiful campground. Excellent hosts - very friendly & helpful - they go above & beyond to help. Loved that the jumping pillow was free. Bathrooms were nice & clean. Only negatives: (1) Tent pads are too small -- should be at least 3" longer on each side; (2) The showers were awful - only 1 worked, the other 2 were too cold or no flow (or both).
Jun 20, 2015
Clean bathrooms and friendly, helpful staff. Plus a jumping pillow, which might have beat Mt. Rushmore as a highlight for my kids. :-)
Jun 18, 2015
Staff very friendly and helpful. Facilities very clean and user friendly. All the bunnies a bonus. Again staff were amazing!
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 13, 2015
Excellent stay. Great campsite, awesome staff. The children loved the pool and jumping pillow, aswell as feeding the friendly rabbits.
Jun 11, 2015
The front desk and help were extremely helpful and friendly! I loved the space heaters in the restrooms. I am always cold.
Jun 03, 2015
Loved our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Kids loved the playground and jumping pillow. Also, Billy does make the best pancakes!!
May 27, 2015
Other than the constant rain,it was a great place to stay. I'll be back when it is drier!
May 11, 2015
The staff was very nice and helpful. But may stay was full of rain which kinda made the campgrounds muddy. That's the only reason I didn't enjoy my stay all too much, but I'm sure with better weather, it'd be very nice. I appreciated the heaters in the bathroom, very helpful since it got pretty cold during my stay.
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
Campsites for tents are basically all on a rocky hill. Difficult to stake your tent and you will probably be sleeping with some difficulty due to unlevel sites. Staff very friendly. Odd view of someone's house directly near campsites- kind of strange. Good bathrooms.
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
Camp very close to Custer city. Rare possibility to have facilities of city and camp lodge. Excellent Wi-Fi(in tent!!!). Nice breakfast (additional amenity, I didn't waste my time to make meal)
Sep 02, 2014
Everyone on staff was super friendly! We had a great time, and my son had a blast on the jumping pillow :-D
Sep 01, 2014
Aug 29, 2014
This is a fabulous KOA. It is outside Custer. It is near Jewel Cave, Wind Cave, Mount Rushmore and in the heart of black hills.
Aug 29, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
The only nice thing to say about this place is the bathrooms were clean and the rabbits are cool. The female staff are rude and snotty,the sites were sloped and they did nothing about noise control night or day. They hike up prices for bike week and if you're not satisfied and leave you won't get a refund. I am a rewards member and have stayed at KOA sites all over the US,this was the worst!
Aug 09, 2014
The people who manage this KOA only care about their guests as long as they are taking money from them. A bad storm came thru the campground one evening when I was away and blew my tent completely off the pad. I had to stay at a motel that night as I could not put it up in the dark. No one offered to help me put it back up the next day, and refused to refund my money for that night. they dont care
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
The employees at Custer KOA were extremely friendly and very helpful!
Aug 05, 2014
All the staff were absolutely fantastic! Our tent site was great and so was the breakfast! Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay!!!
Aug 04, 2014
Hosts were really friendly and helpful but the site is on a busy road and in a tent it is not really restful.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
Pleasant, helpful staff. Great laundry facilities were a real boon! Clean showers. Nice folks camping throughout! A great place to use an exploration base or a quick stop on your way.
Jul 27, 2014
Wonderful Thanks
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Really enjoyed our stay, staff was very helpful. Bath house was very, clean! We will be back :-)
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 25, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Staff super friendly. Clean Rest rooms. Love the tent platorms. I used the r rooms on the hill. Friend used the r room attached to office. said she had trouble seeing the numbers for the combination. Othwerwise everything was great.
Jul 24, 2014
WiFi is bad at tenting area.
Jul 24, 2014
We had a wonderful visit and enjoyed the pool and bouncing pillow. We appreciated the clean bathrooms and the laundry facilities too! Thank you so much for accommodating our family.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Clean and well organized. Tent site a adequate, fire pit needs a grate so you can cook. Most had them but not our site. Overall good camp.

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy