Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Jun 29, 2015
The staff was all AMAZING, top-notch, and we loved it. Only complaint: wish the highway noise was blocked a bit.
Jun 27, 2015
Very friendly staff. The giant bouncy pillow was a hit with our 7 and 9 year olds. Great trees for shade.
Jun 20, 2015
Beautiful campground. Excellent hosts - very friendly & helpful - they go above & beyond to help. Loved that the jumping pillow was free. Bathrooms were nice & clean. Only negatives: (1) Tent pads are too small -- should be at least 3" longer on each side; (2) The showers were awful - only 1 worked, the other 2 were too cold or no flow (or both).
Jun 20, 2015
Clean bathrooms and friendly, helpful staff. Plus a jumping pillow, which might have beat Mt. Rushmore as a highlight for my kids. :-)
Jun 18, 2015
Staff very friendly and helpful. Facilities very clean and user friendly. All the bunnies a bonus. Again staff were amazing!
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 13, 2015
Excellent stay. Great campsite, awesome staff. The children loved the pool and jumping pillow, aswell as feeding the friendly rabbits.
Jun 11, 2015
The front desk and help were extremely helpful and friendly! I loved the space heaters in the restrooms. I am always cold.
Jun 03, 2015
Loved our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Kids loved the playground and jumping pillow. Also, Billy does make the best pancakes!!
May 27, 2015
Other than the constant rain,it was a great place to stay. I'll be back when it is drier!
May 11, 2015
The staff was very nice and helpful. But may stay was full of rain which kinda made the campgrounds muddy. That's the only reason I didn't enjoy my stay all too much, but I'm sure with better weather, it'd be very nice. I appreciated the heaters in the bathroom, very helpful since it got pretty cold during my stay.
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
Campsites for tents are basically all on a rocky hill. Difficult to stake your tent and you will probably be sleeping with some difficulty due to unlevel sites. Staff very friendly. Odd view of someone's house directly near campsites- kind of strange. Good bathrooms.
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
Camp very close to Custer city. Rare possibility to have facilities of city and camp lodge. Excellent Wi-Fi(in tent!!!). Nice breakfast (additional amenity, I didn't waste my time to make meal)
Sep 02, 2014
Everyone on staff was super friendly! We had a great time, and my son had a blast on the jumping pillow :-D
Sep 01, 2014
Aug 29, 2014
This is a fabulous KOA. It is outside Custer. It is near Jewel Cave, Wind Cave, Mount Rushmore and in the heart of black hills.
Aug 29, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
The only nice thing to say about this place is the bathrooms were clean and the rabbits are cool. The female staff are rude and snotty,the sites were sloped and they did nothing about noise control night or day. They hike up prices for bike week and if you're not satisfied and leave you won't get a refund. I am a rewards member and have stayed at KOA sites all over the US,this was the worst!
Aug 09, 2014
The people who manage this KOA only care about their guests as long as they are taking money from them. A bad storm came thru the campground one evening when I was away and blew my tent completely off the pad. I had to stay at a motel that night as I could not put it up in the dark. No one offered to help me put it back up the next day, and refused to refund my money for that night. they dont care
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
The employees at Custer KOA were extremely friendly and very helpful!
Aug 05, 2014
All the staff were absolutely fantastic! Our tent site was great and so was the breakfast! Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay!!!
Aug 04, 2014
Hosts were really friendly and helpful but the site is on a busy road and in a tent it is not really restful.
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
Pleasant, helpful staff. Great laundry facilities were a real boon! Clean showers. Nice folks camping throughout! A great place to use an exploration base or a quick stop on your way.
Jul 27, 2014
Wonderful Thanks
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Really enjoyed our stay, staff was very helpful. Bath house was very, clean! We will be back :-)
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 25, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Staff super friendly. Clean Rest rooms. Love the tent platorms. I used the r rooms on the hill. Friend used the r room attached to office. said she had trouble seeing the numbers for the combination. Othwerwise everything was great.
Jul 24, 2014
WiFi is bad at tenting area.
Jul 24, 2014
We had a wonderful visit and enjoyed the pool and bouncing pillow. We appreciated the clean bathrooms and the laundry facilities too! Thank you so much for accommodating our family.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Clean and well organized. Tent site a adequate, fire pit needs a grate so you can cook. Most had them but not our site. Overall good camp.
Jul 19, 2014
Great staff, bath/showers, site, lots of fun for kids, awesome breakfast, wonderful experience! We'll be back!!!
Jul 19, 2014
The bathrooms were awesome. Hot showers. Friendly, very very kid friendly. We did not have any kids with us, but saw them having a blast on the jump pillow, or in the pool, or playing on the swings. Our stay was great. Will be back on our next trip threw the area.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
The staff was very friendly. The facilities were well maintained, clean and stocked.
Jul 12, 2014
The manager was great but the female employee was not very friendly. Plus we had to buy their firewood which was not very good. It smoked excessively and wouldn't stay lit.
Jul 11, 2014
The kids really enjoyed the bouncing pillow, pool, and playground. The chuckwagon was good as well. The only downfall was that our site was in ther middle and did not have a lot of room. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay.
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
The staff at the front desk were helpful and friendly. The bathrooms were clean and well maintained. We enjoyed our breakfast at the Chuck Wagon. We would definitely come and stay at KOA again.
Jul 05, 2014
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.