Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 10, 2017
Sep 03, 2017
Very nice showers and staff. Centrally located for what we needed
Aug 30, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
Even though our stay here was brief, we were impressed with the camp. Front desk workers were accommodating and very friendly. Oh and the bunnies were a joy to watch. Enjoyed our stay?
Aug 28, 2017
Nice clean bathrooms. Lacks shade.
Aug 27, 2017
Excellent view and washroom /shower.
Aug 24, 2017
Amy was very nice and helpful! The hot tub was blissful after a long day on the road!!! Clean campsite, clean facilities.
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
nice big tent site t13 was good, lots to see around.
Aug 12, 2017
Nice clean and quiet camp ground. The pads for the tents are nice and flat, which is nice but they are hard.
Aug 08, 2017
This KOA could use some major upgradeing compared to other KOA camp sites. It is very rocky and no grass anywhere around any of the sites. The shower and washroom area at the main building is far better then the stand alone one in the middle of the grounds. The raised tent site pads were a huge plus considering the huge storm that came through creating a river of water through the site. Well treed
Aug 07, 2017
It does not have as many amenities as Palmer Gulch KOA or the spaciousness the Devil's Tower KOA. However, the staff is very friendly and the facilities are very clean and nice. It is also very close to some major attractions including Custer State Park, Jewel Cave, Crazy Horse, as well as others. Would stay here again.
Jul 31, 2017
To loud and not very clean for young families with kids.
Jul 28, 2017
Facilities were nice, but campground lay out is awful. Tent sites are at the bottom of hills so when it rained our tent was flooded.
Jul 28, 2017
The staff was very nice and helpful. The showers and toilet areas need some TLC and upgrading. the laundry facilities could also use some upgrades, such as, painting cleaning and brighter lighting.
Jul 27, 2017
Jul 26, 2017
I hope to come back again and stay real soon. Only next time longer!
Jul 23, 2017
Staff was informative and campground very clean.
Jul 22, 2017
Wonderfully clean and well kept showers and toilets. Swimming pool is in dire need of shade/awning.
Jul 21, 2017
This campground was the best! Very clean bathrooms and showers. My kids loved the jump pad and pool. What a great place! This was our 1st time camping at a KOA and we would definitely come again.
Jul 12, 2017
Our stay was really nice. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The only wish would be more shaded areas for tents.
Jul 11, 2017
Jul 10, 2017
The workers were very nice and the area was really clean. Very enjoyable and beautiful area. Thank you!
Jul 09, 2017
Jul 09, 2017
Everything was great. Even the bathrooms and shower houses were super clean. No complaints. The guy driving around the campground in a golf cart acted like he hated his job (KOA police?), he was not very nice or friendly, but all the other staff was very hospitable. Thank you for the great stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for the great comments. We take pride in our hospitality. As for the employee you mentioned, rest assured I will deal with the matter immediately. Again, thank you. Safe travels.
Jul 06, 2017
Jul 06, 2017
Nice Campground, not overwhelmed with road noise at this site
Jul 03, 2017
Good location for Rushmore, Devils Tower and Wind Cave. Small and friendly. Everything you need.
Jul 02, 2017
The facilities and staff were very nice. This was our first ever stay at a KOA and made us want to stay at more.
Jul 01, 2017
We absolutely enjoyed our stay! The staff was amazing to work with, especially accommodating our large group of family. We will definitely stay again some day.
Jun 28, 2017
Quiet, very clean and centrally located to the activities we had planned
Jun 26, 2017
Jun 23, 2017
Staff was super friendly and helpful. Always cheerful. Facilities were clean and nicer than any other campground we have stayed at.
Jun 23, 2017
Quiet
Jun 20, 2017
We were doing a "winging it" vacation so could only get a site for one night, but we have camped here before and wanted to again. Very friendly staff.
Jun 17, 2017
Very clean facilities!! Everything I've came to accept from a KOA.
Jun 16, 2017
Clean bathrooms
Jun 14, 2017
Staff are friendly. Roy is a fountain of information and our self guided tours were I. direct response to his guidance. Everyone was helpful even though we kept adding days to our stay. Delightful community. Restrooms and laundry room very clean.
Jun 09, 2017
Debbie is the best
Jun 07, 2017
I loved the shower space and easy late check in
Jun 05, 2017
Comfortable and convenient. Great hosts. Very helpful and even assisted with vehicle problems. Thanks Chuck! Will definitely return.
May 27, 2017
The bathrooms were very clean and warm! The staff was very friendly. Overall it was great experience!
May 23, 2017
Excellent!
May 17, 2017
Had a great time! We did get rained out one night from our tent and had to stay in a hotel for the night. I had just mentioned about getting rained out to the staff as we checked out to head home and they refunded us for that night. Vary nice of them to do that.
May 16, 2017
Friendly, helpful staff! Clean bathrooms, showers. Well kept grounds. Store has everything you could need. Near attractions and parks.
Oct 03, 2016
Oct 01, 2016
Fantastic staff!!! We felt so welcome at this KOA! We felt like we where home. The staff was simply amazing to us! We have been to other KOA's and have never felt so welcome. The bathrooms where extremely clean. Hot water, always. We didn't want to leave. We will definitely be back. We highly recommend this KOA to everyone coming to Mount Rushmore/Custer.
Sep 26, 2016
Lovely place. wonderful employees, especially want to give a shout out to Darrel and Sharon!!
Sep 20, 2016
This KOA is nicely run. They are very pleasant and helpful. It's very peaceful even though it sits on hwy 16. It's not a heavily used road. Lots of pines, clean, and bunnies that aren't shy around people moving around. They aren't begging, just meandering the grounds. The bathrooms at the main building are super nice! You feel like you are staying at a nice hotel!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award