Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 12, 2015
The campground was very clean and well run. The people were so friendly and helpful! Great job!
Jun 10, 2015
Best of the best
Jun 10, 2015
Outstanding accommodations, KOA residents were helpful and accommodateing, clean site with no road noise
Jun 08, 2015
Quiet campground.
Jun 08, 2015
The staff was very courteous and attentive. I did not like the unlevel site. And all of the hook ups were on the wrong end of my trailer. I had to pull forward and set up on a slant just to reach the electric box.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I apologize your site was not to your liking. If you had informed us we do have 30 and 50 amp cords for just such situations, which we would have gladly lent you. Thank you for staying with us and safe travels.
Jun 07, 2015
Jun 06, 2015
Our trip was interrupted by flooding on I90 and the people at Custer Campground were most helpful in getting us booked for another day and then when we went to leave the truck would not start and withing minutes of our call to the office they were there to give us a jump. They couldn't have been nicer.
Jun 06, 2015
Nice people.Good location. Just a bit far from Rushmore.
Jun 05, 2015
Awesome KOA! Highly recommended. Most friendliest staff and awesome accommodations. Would love to return again.
Jun 05, 2015
People are lovely, campsite was so uneven it damaged the leveling jacks on my motor home. Others had a wheel jacked in the air. Is it too much to expect level access and a level site. The country was so green and lush, unlike the dust bowl of a campground. I hope this is seen as constructive critism.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay. When you were escorted to you site you did not have any complaints, nor when we made contact with you later in the day. I'm not sure dust bowl fits since it rained every day you were here and this has prevented our normal spring site maintenance. Safe travels.
Jun 04, 2015
Nice friendly park.
Jun 03, 2015
All hosts were very friendly and helpful. They made our stay great fun.
Jun 03, 2015
Staff was very good and friendly. Sites were clean, fire pits could use a little upgrade.
Jun 02, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
Very enjoyable, staff is friendly, pretty campground
Jun 01, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
Super convenient location and incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Bathrooms were clean and laundry facilities very good. Play area for the kids was a hit. Overall, it was perfect for what we needed. Thanks for having us!
May 31, 2015
We enjoyed our stay very very much. Alan and Lou were great. Please let them know
May 31, 2015
Staff was so friendly and helpful!
May 31, 2015
Nice stay - nothing really special....except the very cute bunnies hopping around!
May 29, 2015
Without a doubt the friendliest and nicest staff...great place to stay.
May 29, 2015
No TV (bring your cable to stream via internet)! Friendly people & FANTASTIC restroom/shower facilities! We were there during "wet"; would like to see a little more trail/road maintenance. Lots of mud; but hey...it was rainy! :) Overall..not as fancy as Palmer Gultch; but more friendly & peaceful.
May 29, 2015
We will stay here again friendly staff and the tour we booked was great.
May 27, 2015
Very accommodating staff in spite of the weather.
May 24, 2015
One nite traveling ok
May 23, 2015
This place was great. Everyone working there were so friendly and helpful. Everything was very clean. My kids ages 12-17 all loved it. I would recommend this place and will definitely stay there again on my next trip.
May 21, 2015
May 20, 2015
Great hosts! Very friendly and VERY helpful. My one issue is the dog enclosure. It's not enclosed .. it is a two wire fence that would be fine if there were chain lenght to enclose it.
May 20, 2015
Everything and everyone was great!
May 18, 2015
Clean bathrooms, friendly staff, excellent location, quiet and spacious sites with picnic table. Loved the bunnies!
May 18, 2015
Everything was great except weather - a little cold! We rented a car that was recommended by them. Worked out perfectly! Staff very helpful. Would recommend to our friends.
May 18, 2015
Great campground. Friendly staff. Bathrooms were extremely clean. It was a nice place to stay, and we'd gladly go back.
May 17, 2015
A very friendly and hospitable group of people always willing to help if needed. Bathroom and shower area a plus.
May 15, 2015
Thanks, we had a great stay
May 13, 2015
While we were at this KOA we had an unexpected foot of snow. The hosts/owners went out of their ways to make sure everyone was ok. Because of the snow and road conditions they offered discounts to stay off the road as they were a mess. Most hosts are nice and you expect that at KOA, this couple went out of their way to make sure everyone was comfortable during the snow and during their stay.
May 10, 2015
We were there in early May. Cold and rainy but not bad. Rabbits galore!!
Oct 07, 2014
Nice campground..great breakfast. .people friendly
Oct 07, 2014
Very nice campground. A very nice setting in the trees.
Oct 03, 2014
Great KOA, Great Staff, Cheep Firewood, Beautiful Star Lit Skies @ night. Extended our stay twice this trip. Beautiful Fall colors, and Lots of Wildlife. Got an awsome pic of a Mountain Sheep. Also fulfilled one of the items on my hubbys bucket list by going to see the Buffalo Roundup. But, I think they herded more people then Buffalo this year.... But still fun. The Staff was great too. Thank You
Oct 03, 2014
Oct 01, 2014
Great Staff and very helpful. Good location.
Oct 01, 2014
Perfect location, very clean & great hosts
Sep 30, 2014
We were very happy with the space and the staff was wonderful. It was very clean and a pretty area.
Sep 30, 2014
Over all lovely
Sep 29, 2014
The owners were very helpful and friendly
Sep 29, 2014
Outstanding service throughout all aspects of the Custer Kampground. Extremely friendly and always ready to help. The best assistance I have ever had getting my trailer positioned in a backup space, or any space as far as that is concerned. We stayedan extra day and then wanted to stay longer but our travel plans weren't as flexible as were needed. Restrooms: always clean and showers fantastic
Sep 27, 2014
We were planning on staying four days but were given a site that was very uneven and had to clear off several piles of dog poop. Disgusting.
Sep 25, 2014
Disapointing stay. An uneven site, poor lighting and dangerous dog run area with wire cattle fence enclosure. Arrived later, but office was only open until 6pm. Dog on neighbour property never stopped barking all night .
Sep 25, 2014
Wi-Fi was ambiguous, but showers and restrooms were large - great! Priced higher than most for similar services.
Sep 24, 2014
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals