Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 02, 2017
Great place, nice clean amenities. We loved it and could not fault.
Jun 01, 2017
May 30, 2017
Our stay there was fantastic! The staff, starting with Jim, was as helpful, friendly and accommodating as could be. The site was very clean and beautiful. This was a great central location for a wide range of local activities. I would give this place six out of five stars,
May 30, 2017
We had a great stay. The owners were very friendly. Nice campground.
May 30, 2017
Stay was OK. Had better water pressure than KOA in Moab. Space wasn't very level but for a two day stay I put up with it.
May 30, 2017
The surrounding campgrounds have many more amenities. This campground was very messy and not well maintained. Disappointing
May 29, 2017
Best camping. Restrooms and showers very clean.
May 28, 2017
Other than a slight foul up in reserved facilities, this was an absolutely wonderful stay. Of all the KOAs we've stayed at, the uniqueness of the Custer KOA, the staff and the facility itself were much more than we expected.
May 26, 2017
Friendly staff and nice facilities. View was something less than desirable.
May 26, 2017
Incredible facility! Very clean and so convenient to Mt. Rushmore.
May 25, 2017
Lovely setting, clean facilities, very cheerful and helpful staff. Location is perfect for Jewel Cave, Mt Rushmore and playing in the Black Hills. All the services you need are in Custer just 3 miles down the road. 👍
May 24, 2017
too short.
May 23, 2017
Nice quiet park with nice CLEAN bathrooms/showers. Our only fault was bathrooms weren't well enough heated for the time of year (mid-May)
May 21, 2017
Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. Good location. Liked Custer better than Keystone. Excellent camp store. Staff member showed us to our site even after hours.
May 21, 2017
enjoyed that we were in a full hookup, but seemed more like a campground in the trees. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
May 20, 2017
So very clean and neat! Level spots with plenty of room to get in and out. Bathrooms were spotless, We both had to use the showers every day because the shower head in my trailer was broken. Every time I used the showers, they were clean! We loved the trees and we also loved how close this KOA was to everything! Everyone who worked here was pleasant and nice. Definitely coming back.
May 20, 2017
Friendly staff including the bunnies! Clean hot showers!
May 18, 2017
The place was great. Very nice staff.
May 18, 2017
Beautiful, clean, friendly place to stay. Manager, Debi, is the best!
May 17, 2017
Ya'll worked hard on the internet and we thank you.
May 17, 2017
May 15, 2017
Very friendly, very quite and and wonderful plscr to stay!
May 09, 2017
The people in the rececption where very kindfull and helpfull!!! There was no WiFI on the backside campsites
Oct 23, 2016
Very nice campground with plenty of trees! Sits back off the highway and is a perfect location to see many attractions, such as Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer National Park and the wild horses in Hot Springs. Very nice laundromat and super clean restrooms. ❤️
Oct 19, 2016
The stay was great. We enjoyed the location.
Oct 16, 2016
I very rarely give the highest rating to anything, but I just really liked everything about this campground, especially the deer and other wildlife roaming around every day. Was on a trip with things to do this year, but will put this on my list of places to go to for about a week next year and just chill!
Oct 12, 2016
It was great, the people were friendly and accommodating. The wild life around the campground was fun to see.
Oct 12, 2016
Campsites were very uneven and needed significant leveling.
Oct 12, 2016
nice campground to stay.. felt like home, mgmt and guests were super..
Oct 08, 2016
Great location, surprisingly very quiet sites given location by the highway. Plenty of trees, excellent store, showers, toilets, laundry and nice sites. Would recommend and use this KOA again.
Oct 07, 2016
Great spot for home base while exploring the Black Hills! The staff was very helpful and friendly. Loved the rabbits and deer that inhabit the campground. Did not use the restroom or showers so I cannot comment on them. I would have given five stars except our site #101 was very tight - so tight, that the fire pit was just a few feet from our neighbors tow vehicle, did not have a fire.
Oct 06, 2016
Campground bathrooms were very clean. The campsite were way too narrow, and when our neighbor had a camp fire, felt it was way too close to our camper.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you were not completely satisfied with your stay. Our larger sites were all occupied when your reservation was made and the size of the site was explained at check in so you would be aware of what we had to offer at that time. Safe travels.
Oct 04, 2016
We want to thank the kind hosts of this campground for the excellent care that they give to the animals that call this KOA home. Deer and rabbits roam safe and unmolested. This is a beautiful campground with every amenity.
Oct 02, 2016
The owners and staff at this KOA did everything possible to make our visit pleasant and stress free. Our trip to the area was the best because of the people at Custer KOA
Oct 02, 2016
We had an extremely unfortunate situation on the last night of the season. The party next to us was playing music and riding motorcycles until after 2 AM. Several parties asked them to stop and they just continued. I guess they thought they couldn't get thrown out the last night. Nice campground but the last night left a bad impression
Oct 02, 2016
You should not call both KOA in the area Mt Rushmore thought we reserved the one in Hill City Very disappointed with this one!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

When you arrived, we offered to refund the deposit so you could choose another KOA which you declined. All area KOA's were listed when you made your on line reservation. Sorry you were not happy. You made no mention of your disappointment when we talked at your departure. Safe travels.
Sep 30, 2016
Sep 30, 2016
We always stay at the Custer KOA when we travel each Fall with our 34 ft Airstream trailer. This year,we especially enjoyed the wildlife, with deer and many bunnies in the campground. The protective attitude of the owners toward the animals is great to see. Thank you!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the comments. We are proud to be located in the National Forest where campers can enjoy the natural surroundings of which the area wildlife is a large part of. We look forward to seeing you again. Safe travels.
Sep 29, 2016
Conveniently located, super clean, all staff are extremely friendly.
Sep 27, 2016
The personal was great friendly and helpful. We just intended to stay one night and wound up staying an extra night. Would go back again an stay there.
Sep 27, 2016
Very clean, attractive and organized. Our only issue was that our site was not level. Since we only stayed one night we didn't complain.
Sep 26, 2016
It's weird that even though the pool was closed and there were no more breakfast (or other) events, price remained the same as if it were high summer. Huh??
Sep 25, 2016
Not as fancy as some KOAs but the facilities are clean and maintained. The staff is nice and the campground is convenient to area attractions. Quiet at night.
Sep 25, 2016
Stayed four days, staff was very helpful and friendly
Sep 24, 2016
The site was not level as promised.
Sep 23, 2016
Good could use cable tv
Sep 23, 2016
Bathrooms and laundry along with the staff were stellar. Dog "run" had barbed wire on three sides and it was close to the road. Dog had to be on leash. Close to Custer which was a plus. Sites were on very uneven ground. Trees were nice.
Sep 22, 2016
Very friendly staff, easy access. Clean bathrooms and showers. Solid WiFi. Gravel /dirt lots with lots of trees.
Sep 21, 2016
The bathrooms were warm and immaculate . The employees were very friendly.
Sep 21, 2016
The staff were helpful, friendly and professional. They went above and beyond to make the stay enjoyable. The amenities are well maintained. The campsites themselves need some maintenance (caps to cover sewer pipes instead of rocks) and upgrading to help level of sites.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award