Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Sep 22, 2013
Sep 22, 2013
friendly and helpful staff. area is very clean and forested which is what we like to have since we are from Colorado.
Sep 21, 2013
We have stayed at this KOA several times. The sites for long rigs (we camp with a 34 ft Airstream) are not shaded and on a hill. This is typical of the Black Hills area, which is very rocky and hilly. The rest rooms are outstanding and the KOA is in a great location.
Sep 21, 2013
Pet area is not enclosed
Sep 20, 2013
Lovely facility and friendly, helpful staff.
Sep 18, 2013
Very nice, escorted to site. Tour recommendation was out of this world. They told us if we didn't think this KOA was a 10 to let them know and they'd make it right so we could give them a 10. Nothing needed making it right it just was.
Sep 17, 2013
Very nice,clean park. Campsites were too close glad it was off season & not full
Sep 17, 2013
day perso was helpful and very nice night afternoon people rude made us feel stupid in general not friendly at all

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I apologize for your bad experience at our campground. The matter has been addressed with the staff in question as we do not like having unhappy campers. I do hope the other aspects of your stay were positive and that we may have a chance to have you stay again in the future. Jim, General Manager
Sep 16, 2013
Custer KOA is an awesome campground! Very friendly, helpful staff and nice clean facilities. This campground is in a beautiful area nestled in the pine trees. We loved camping at Custer KOA!
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Very pleasant
Sep 16, 2013
Extremely friendly with a wifi that works
Sep 15, 2013
Sites were unlevel and very close.
Sep 15, 2013
Wonderful facility. Will return.
Sep 15, 2013
Sep 14, 2013
People were friendly, campground was clean and quiet. We enjoyed our stay very much.
Sep 12, 2013
A very nice and quiet KOA with a helpfull staff. Close to all the interesting attractions.
Sep 12, 2013
Sep 11, 2013
Dissappointed to find that our stay coincided with Sturgis Wk - the entire area was overrun with motorcycles. Very difficult to do any sightseeing in the area due to thousands of bikes on the roads. When making our reservation we were given no warning about Sturgis Wk. Left a night early because of all the noise & chaos from bikers; refused to refund our fee for the night we didn't stay.
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
Great shower facility. We were plced in a site #28 that was next to a dump which hurt any view and the site also did not allow for us to utilize the spot outside of the main door and under the awning due to a hill. Finally we were place right next to another camper which did not make sence, since there were many open spots. with only one night we did not ask to re-locate.
Sep 08, 2013
Sep 07, 2013
Sep 07, 2013
the sites could be a little more level, but all in all pretty nice place
Sep 06, 2013
Great Weekend U all were very helpful.
Sep 04, 2013
NOT DOG FRIENDLY. wifi doesn't work. Was kicked out at 8am bc of breed of dog, they didn't even see our dog. Charged me full amount for staying 6 hrs and not even hooking up. Place sucks!!!!
Sep 04, 2013
The Custer/Mt. Rushmore KOA is one of our favorites. It's location in the cool pines makes it a great escape destination. The campsites we get for our pop-up tent trailer are usually well-shaded and large enough not to feel crowded. The staff is always friendly; the bathrooms are clean and conveniently located; and the summertime breakfasts are great!
Sep 03, 2013
Great pool, jumper for kids. Nice trees. Really enjoyed our stay.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
very accomadating...pleasant folks and friendly....good service....a well run campground
Sep 02, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Great folks run this campground and the rabbits provide hours of entertainment!
Sep 01, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Very helpful staff and msde some good suggestions on what to see in the area.
Aug 31, 2013
Aug 31, 2013
Management and staff were great! Very accommodating and friendly. Campsites and facilities were well maintained. Very enjoyable visit and close to many attractions. Will stay here again.
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 28, 2013
The main complaint I have is the location and that it was not "advertised" as to where it was. What helped us was our "RV" GPS.
Aug 27, 2013
Pleasant staff. Friendly and helpful. Sites are not level. Fire pits consist of rocks in a cirlce. Campground is "rustic" If you are a a "high class" RV'er or have a Big Rig you will not want to stay at this campground.
Aug 27, 2013
Clean level sites, close to all the attractions, Staff was fantastic!!!!
Aug 25, 2013
The sites are nice. No enclosed Pet Area so pets can run loose after being in your vehicle all day.Breakfast was very good. Lady at front desk needed to get wireless mic. for phone off. Always there and would be talking to people while waiting on you. Went into store to ask for help, the phone rang and she said I would have to wait. Waited almost 10 minutes while she was on the phone.
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
HAD A GREAT TIME, NICE FRIENDLY KOA WORKERS
Aug 24, 2013
This the ideal place to stay when in Custer. We have stayed in other campgrounds here and would absolutely stay at this over all the others. Thanks. We loved it.
Aug 24, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
NOT kid friendly. Ray was very good with kids. Pool was very warm and clean. Jumping pillow was a blast for kids. Bathrooms NEEDS a lot of work. Mold grows in the showers. Right next to the hair that's in large clumps on wall and floor. Dumpsters were full to the brim. You had to squeeze between the fence and lift bag over your head to throw. Washers don't spin out. Dryers 1.75 2 start! SEND HELP!
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 22, 2013
Loved it, we extended our stay twice as the kids didn't want to leave. The best part was the ATV rental, didn't even have to leave the campground. Centrally located, only about 15 minutes to Mt. Rushmore. Loved the outdoor grilling station with fresh herbs. Would suggest they could improve on the night time entertainment though. I would definitely stay here again.
Aug 22, 2013
very quiet.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.