Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jul 24, 2015
Friendly staff. Well stocked store.
Jul 23, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was great; close to major venues. Quiet. Only complaint is that some sites have a very small space in front of the camper. One night we're unable to make a fire 'cause the slideout of the camper in front of us was too close to the fire pit. Yet, we felt this was the fault of the way the camper was parked in there, not KOA. Had a great time; would stay again
Jul 23, 2015
On the important plus side, All the KOA people were very nice. The laundry facility was very clean too! We travel in an RV and usually noise isn't a factor but this time it did bother me. Our site was close to the front of the campground and there was wood sawing, meal preparation and just about everything had to pass us. Not the campground's fault but it wasn't a comfortable site to be in.
Jul 23, 2015
We enjoy the peace and quite relaxed atmosphpfulere friendly people john and Cathy are real helpful and friendly always
Jul 22, 2015
Enjoyed having hosts Alan and Lou for neighbors. They were very helpful
Jul 22, 2015
Great place and friendly staff.
Jul 22, 2015
This was our first KOA experience. We had a wonderful stay and were very impressed with the staff and the campground. We loved Billy the cook. He took such great care of our family and was so warm and friendly. The kids had a ball on the jumping pillow and the bathrooms were clean and awesome! Great location to hit many sites and activities in the area. We are already planning to return.
Jul 22, 2015
Loved the campground. One night and felt very welcome. Thank you
Jul 22, 2015
Breakfast good. Campsite big.
Jul 22, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
Well kept and the staff was so friendly!
Jul 20, 2015
Very enjoyable camp. Great setting.
Jul 20, 2015
Perfect in every way! Chuck wagon was great! Pool a little small.
Jul 20, 2015
sites could be more level
Jul 20, 2015
Clean, good activities for kids, nice to have wood for fires
Jul 20, 2015
Great stay, all staff vety helpful and friendly . Our kids loved biking around the property and exploring all the activities. Very clean.
Jul 20, 2015
Friendly staff. Bathrooms needed to be cleaned more often. My daughter loved the bounce pillow.
Jul 20, 2015
Fun, restful, and beautiful there are many more pleasant words I could use to express my complete satisfaction. Thank you.
Jul 20, 2015
People were friendly, the staff was incredibly helpful, but the layout was a little confusing
Jul 19, 2015
On check-in we were welcomed as if we were family. The staff were all helpful and friendly. Campgrounds clean, all necessities available. Thank-you for a great holiday.
Jul 19, 2015
nice people had a great time
Jul 19, 2015
Nice clean campground. Friendly staff!! The bunnies entertained my child all week! Would stay again if we come back that way
Jul 19, 2015
Awesome staff and facility. Will definitely come back to this one.
Jul 19, 2015
The place was great. The roads were not clearly marked for which was up and which was a down lane. It was very confusing for us with narrow lanes to move large vehicles.
Jul 19, 2015
no cable.. no over air antenna reception

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Cable is not available to the area in which we are located. Over the air TV is totally out of our control due to the mountains. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Jul 18, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff! We enjoyed a delicious breakfast with an enthusiastic chef!
Jul 18, 2015
Jul 16, 2015
Great KOA! Very clean grounds, friendly helpful staff. enjoyed our stay there and will be returning!
Jul 16, 2015
Very friendly staff and well kept campground
Jul 14, 2015
Grounds were poorly maintained and equipment and piles of junk were kept in the front so it was the first thing we saw when we pulled in.
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Very nice park and location. Very good service.
Jul 13, 2015
Thankful for late nite registration! Came in late and parked. My family enjoyed the nice location and overall park cleanliness. The chuck wagon breakfast was a nice plus since we had to hit the road for another 9 hrs driving. Thank you!
Jul 13, 2015
This is a nice and quiet campground. There were lots of trees. We had a full hookup spot in the back and it was a decent size. Kids loved the bunnies and the jumping pillow. The showers/restrooms were very clean and nice. Would love to see new fire pits there.
Jul 12, 2015
The campground was very clean and the staff was very friendly. The location of the campground was perfect for everything we had planned.
Jul 12, 2015
The RV sights are a little tight. You are right next to your neighbor. Friendly hosts! Nice morning breakfast!
Jul 12, 2015
Sites are wooded and large. Staff is terrific...just like being at home! This is the best KOA in the area!!
Jul 12, 2015
I would have given them a 5, but I booked a 50 amp full hook up site. I had to change our reservations and when they were changed the koa girls didn't make sure that we had 50 amp. We have 3 ac's and it was around 95, so we really needed the power. The owner of the koa was kind enough to lend us her adapter so we ran on one ac which got us through the night. Grounds were beautiful, people nice.
Jul 12, 2015
Helpful and friendly staff. Clean facilities.
Jul 12, 2015
Made the BIG mistake of being in South Dakota within few weeks of the 75th Sturgis Celebration. Not a good time for regular people to be in SD. There is no room in SD,NO ROOM at all. Will not go to stay in SD EVER AGAIN. NEVER EVER!! Wyoming,Montana,Idaho, Colorado are so much better/ friendlier.
Jul 11, 2015
Super Friendly Staff! Clean and nice spot. I just wish there where more showers, I had to wait at least 15+ minutes every time I went up there. other than that is was perfect
Jul 11, 2015
Very nice campground,central to everything we wanted to visit during our one week stay. Clean and updated bathrooms and laundry. Kids loved the jumping pillow and pool. Staff friendly and accommodating. The wild camp bunnies were a bonus!
Jul 11, 2015
Roads need grading they need separate locked handicap restroom as people use shower because it is one of 2. Camp to big for so few shower.
Jul 11, 2015
Staff that guided to our spot was very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms and laundry very clean.
Jul 10, 2015
This is the place to stay. Everyone and everything was great. Close to all the things you want to see.
Jul 10, 2015
Great atmosphere, facility and staff.
Jul 09, 2015
Bend over backwards customer service
Jul 09, 2015
The staff was wonderful. Billy is awesome and very helpful. He also makes the best pancakes!! Jim the General Manager was very nice in making our reservation and bent over backwards to help my family get an RV spot for the July 4th weekend. Then when we got there he was very helpful and really cared about all the guests having a good time. Will definitely stay again!
Jul 09, 2015
Beautiful site, close to many attractions. quiet and peaceful. Pancakes were delicious- thanks to Billy!!
Jul 08, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award