Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 04, 2014
Tight sites. WIFI poor. Bathrooms/laundry very clean. Staff member yelled at my son in the camp store while another staff member shrugged it off. Management dealt with this swiftly and were great. Thanks to Billy too for going above and beyond. Overall a good stay in the Black Hills.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for the matter with our staff and your children. The employees in this matter are no longer with us. We are constantly improving sites & services but this takes time & mother nature's cooperation in the off season. You will see even more improvements on your next visit. Travel Safe!
Aug 04, 2014
If they had fencing around the dog walk area that would allow me to let my little dogs run free I would give them 5 stars!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comment. Fencing is in our plans for the near future. Hope to have it in by your next visit. Safe travels
Aug 03, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
Very pleasant stay. Everyone very helpful. Kids loved the jump pillow. Any request taken care of very quickly.
Aug 03, 2014
from the moment my family and I pulled into the campsite everyone was very friendly. This campsite was one of 4 that we stayed in and by far the best!! I appreciate being escorted to our site and also the help backing into our site by a staff member. The staff at the front desk was very nice and always greeted myself with a smile. I would liked to say the this KOA has the best staff!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for your generous comments. We hope to see you again on your next visit. Enjoy the rest of your trip and safe travels!!
Aug 02, 2014
Wonderful. We had reserved 3 camping sites and 1 kampng cabin and everything was ready for us when we arrived. It was Great!
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
The staff are friendly and super helpful. Always there to help or give you ride to the office if you need one. Our RV had mechanical problems and they gave us good referrals plus accommodated our extra needs. Grassy pet area is huge and clean. Special thanks to Debi, Jim and Billy!
Aug 01, 2014
Great place with great people !!!!
Jul 31, 2014
Overall the campground was mediocre. The kids liked the jumping pillow, but after complaining twice we still went 6 out of 8 days without adequate Wi-Fi as advertised.
Jul 30, 2014
Very friendly staff. Very clean. Camper Lots a bit small.
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
Love camping in the pine trees! Only reason not a 10 is the slow, inconsistent WiFi
Jul 30, 2014
Very friendly. Convenient to all attractions.
Jul 29, 2014
We had a great stay and the staff were very friendly. Our spot a little too close to our neighbor but we were not at camp much except to sleep. WIFI was week even being close to receiver.
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
the WiFi needs to be improved. Also there was a very violent thunderstorm warning issue by the national weather srervice and the managers should have notified campers it was coming so hey could prepare
Jul 28, 2014
Stay was just awesome. We lost the crank the cranks up the pop up on our pop up trailer. Ray went out of his way to find us a tool and it helped us get it to go up. I would recommend this campground anyone the staff and the accommodations were awesome. Thank you.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
It's a parking lot. Awning to awning, be prepared to have only a view of your neighbor. A disgrace in such a beautiful area, but this seems to be the norm at most camp sites in black hills. Facility clean and staff nice. Just hated the "parking lot".
Jul 27, 2014
Great staff, large sites. Nice place
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Everything was fine, except for the hailstorm!
Jul 27, 2014
The staff was GREAT. The sites were not the best and not to level. The roads going thru the camp ground need a lot of work.
Jul 27, 2014
Very friendly people and nice camp area as well as a very nice bath and laundry area
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Nice facility, staff extraordinarily helpful. Pull through full hookup but had to drop car.
Jul 26, 2014
Very friendly, well set-up, and very nice campsites and staff. Highly recommend this KOA. Provided a GREAT stay so that we could go to Custer Park and Mt. Rushmore.
Jul 26, 2014
To crowded. Lot was not level. Parking was tight. People were very helpful.
Jul 25, 2014
They were great to work with, we ended up with a situation of not being able to arrive the original night and I called and we switched things easily and ended up there 2 nights. Breakfast was awesome! Great locale for exploring the Black Hills
Jul 25, 2014
I was disappointed with this KOA campground. The RV spots are on top of each other and make parking an extra vehicle or even having a campfire very difficult. The website misrepresents this campground. The pool is very small and always crowded and the jumping pillow is not monitored in any way so the rules are not followed and that makes this toy dangerous for younger participants.
Jul 25, 2014
Very close quarters everyone was very nice though
Jul 24, 2014
Clean facilities, nice atmosphere. Easy to locate.
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Bathrooms were very nice, but need hooks near sink to hang your towel when washing face or shaving (4 stars). Spots were too close together offering no privacy (2 stars). Staff seemed friendly, though I had little interaction with them (4 stars). Grounds were clean and well kept, but really there is nothing to dress them up to make them enjoyable to look at (3 stars)
Jul 23, 2014
Nice KOA, the staff was super nice, the spoy was a little uneven but no big deal. Would stay again. Kids loved the jumping bag. Great value . Thank You.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
While your ammenities are great (bathrooms and jumping area), the smallness of your sites is not. We felt crowded and right on top of our neighbors. Not good planning.
Jul 23, 2014
need a time for adults to be able to use the pool without kids
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Excellent staff, all very friendly and very helpful...best breakfast ever and the largest dog park
Jul 21, 2014
We enjoyed the shaded and spacious campsites and the generous helpings at breakfast. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
this is a very good koa we like it very much and will be back someday
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.