Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 28, 2014
the WiFi needs to be improved. Also there was a very violent thunderstorm warning issue by the national weather srervice and the managers should have notified campers it was coming so hey could prepare
Jul 28, 2014
Stay was just awesome. We lost the crank the cranks up the pop up on our pop up trailer. Ray went out of his way to find us a tool and it helped us get it to go up. I would recommend this campground anyone the staff and the accommodations were awesome. Thank you.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
It's a parking lot. Awning to awning, be prepared to have only a view of your neighbor. A disgrace in such a beautiful area, but this seems to be the norm at most camp sites in black hills. Facility clean and staff nice. Just hated the "parking lot".
Jul 27, 2014
Great staff, large sites. Nice place
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Everything was fine, except for the hailstorm!
Jul 27, 2014
The staff was GREAT. The sites were not the best and not to level. The roads going thru the camp ground need a lot of work.
Jul 27, 2014
Very friendly people and nice camp area as well as a very nice bath and laundry area
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Nice facility, staff extraordinarily helpful. Pull through full hookup but had to drop car.
Jul 26, 2014
Very friendly, well set-up, and very nice campsites and staff. Highly recommend this KOA. Provided a GREAT stay so that we could go to Custer Park and Mt. Rushmore.
Jul 26, 2014
To crowded. Lot was not level. Parking was tight. People were very helpful.
Jul 25, 2014
They were great to work with, we ended up with a situation of not being able to arrive the original night and I called and we switched things easily and ended up there 2 nights. Breakfast was awesome! Great locale for exploring the Black Hills
Jul 25, 2014
I was disappointed with this KOA campground. The RV spots are on top of each other and make parking an extra vehicle or even having a campfire very difficult. The website misrepresents this campground. The pool is very small and always crowded and the jumping pillow is not monitored in any way so the rules are not followed and that makes this toy dangerous for younger participants.
Jul 25, 2014
Very close quarters everyone was very nice though
Jul 24, 2014
Clean facilities, nice atmosphere. Easy to locate.
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Bathrooms were very nice, but need hooks near sink to hang your towel when washing face or shaving (4 stars). Spots were too close together offering no privacy (2 stars). Staff seemed friendly, though I had little interaction with them (4 stars). Grounds were clean and well kept, but really there is nothing to dress them up to make them enjoyable to look at (3 stars)
Jul 23, 2014
Nice KOA, the staff was super nice, the spoy was a little uneven but no big deal. Would stay again. Kids loved the jumping bag. Great value . Thank You.
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
While your ammenities are great (bathrooms and jumping area), the smallness of your sites is not. We felt crowded and right on top of our neighbors. Not good planning.
Jul 23, 2014
need a time for adults to be able to use the pool without kids
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Excellent staff, all very friendly and very helpful...best breakfast ever and the largest dog park
Jul 21, 2014
We enjoyed the shaded and spacious campsites and the generous helpings at breakfast. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
this is a very good koa we like it very much and will be back someday
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
it was close to town. Close to all places we planned to see. the pool was warm, the pillow pad was a big hit with the kids. friendly staff.
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Friendly folks, clean bathrooms and campground. Billy the breakfast cook enhanced our mornings. Resident tame rabbits were a real joy!
Jul 19, 2014
The only problem for us was the utilities were at the front and most people including us, have all the utilities on their RV's in the rear. Had to use all of our electric line 30' to reach the post and add a 30 amp extension to reach the post!
Jul 18, 2014
Nice campground; people are friendly and service oriented. There is no designated dog play area and there seems like there are many options for this to be provided....the only complaint as this is a beautiful region to visit.
Jul 18, 2014
Everyone on staff went above & beyond our best expections!! Super helpful. Larry Field
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 18, 2014
we made reservations for two days. Got a great site. We decided to stay an additional 2 days. The campgroung was full. The KOA manager got on the phone and got us great accomadations at a near by campgroung. She went beyond what she had to do. I will use this KOA when I return to the area
Jul 17, 2014
Planning a trip already with our adult children and 8 grandchildren for next August. Very family friendly and close to Custer. The folks who ran and worked here at this KOA were very helpful and friendly!
Jul 17, 2014
Nice place. My only complaint is that the wifi was so weak. It's important for long-term travelers to have good wifi access to keep all the business at home going.
Jul 16, 2014
We truly enjoy staying at KOA's, however, I've yet to find one with a decent Wi-Fi system. Camping really shouldn't be about camping, however, so it's a small thing.
Jul 16, 2014
Best KOA I have ever stayed in. The staff was excellent. We had mechanical issues with our tow vehicle and while we were without it for a couple of days, they made sure we were comfortable, our needs were met, and that our stay remained enjoyable. The owner is fabulous as is the general manger. The facilities are very nice, clean, and easy to access.
Jul 16, 2014
This is the best KOA we've ever stayed at. Everyone is so friendly and helpful, great prices, wonderful accommodations and we met a lot of travelers with interesting stories! We will definitely be back!
Jul 15, 2014
The staff here went above and beyond to ensure my stay went well! A must return place!!
Jul 15, 2014
Enjoyed the stay, really liked the closeness to the showerhouse and laundry. Would definite recommend to others.
Jul 15, 2014
A beautiful, well organized, clean, and quiet campground. One of the best we have ever visited.
Jul 14, 2014
We had one of the best sites in the campground and wish we could have stayed longer, the staff very gracious and honest and helpful. The jumping pad was great and the bathrooms were great. Hope to stay again soon!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.