Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 18, 2015
Jul 16, 2015
Great KOA! Very clean grounds, friendly helpful staff. enjoyed our stay there and will be returning!
Jul 16, 2015
Very friendly staff and well kept campground
Jul 14, 2015
Grounds were poorly maintained and equipment and piles of junk were kept in the front so it was the first thing we saw when we pulled in.
Jul 13, 2015
Jul 13, 2015
Very nice park and location. Very good service.
Jul 13, 2015
Thankful for late nite registration! Came in late and parked. My family enjoyed the nice location and overall park cleanliness. The chuck wagon breakfast was a nice plus since we had to hit the road for another 9 hrs driving. Thank you!
Jul 13, 2015
This is a nice and quiet campground. There were lots of trees. We had a full hookup spot in the back and it was a decent size. Kids loved the bunnies and the jumping pillow. The showers/restrooms were very clean and nice. Would love to see new fire pits there.
Jul 12, 2015
The campground was very clean and the staff was very friendly. The location of the campground was perfect for everything we had planned.
Jul 12, 2015
The RV sights are a little tight. You are right next to your neighbor. Friendly hosts! Nice morning breakfast!
Jul 12, 2015
Sites are wooded and large. Staff is terrific...just like being at home! This is the best KOA in the area!!
Jul 12, 2015
I would have given them a 5, but I booked a 50 amp full hook up site. I had to change our reservations and when they were changed the koa girls didn't make sure that we had 50 amp. We have 3 ac's and it was around 95, so we really needed the power. The owner of the koa was kind enough to lend us her adapter so we ran on one ac which got us through the night. Grounds were beautiful, people nice.
Jul 12, 2015
Helpful and friendly staff. Clean facilities.
Jul 12, 2015
Made the BIG mistake of being in South Dakota within few weeks of the 75th Sturgis Celebration. Not a good time for regular people to be in SD. There is no room in SD,NO ROOM at all. Will not go to stay in SD EVER AGAIN. NEVER EVER!! Wyoming,Montana,Idaho, Colorado are so much better/ friendlier.
Jul 11, 2015
Super Friendly Staff! Clean and nice spot. I just wish there where more showers, I had to wait at least 15+ minutes every time I went up there. other than that is was perfect
Jul 11, 2015
Very nice campground,central to everything we wanted to visit during our one week stay. Clean and updated bathrooms and laundry. Kids loved the jumping pillow and pool. Staff friendly and accommodating. The wild camp bunnies were a bonus!
Jul 11, 2015
Roads need grading they need separate locked handicap restroom as people use shower because it is one of 2. Camp to big for so few shower.
Jul 11, 2015
Staff that guided to our spot was very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms and laundry very clean.
Jul 10, 2015
This is the place to stay. Everyone and everything was great. Close to all the things you want to see.
Jul 10, 2015
Great atmosphere, facility and staff.
Jul 09, 2015
Bend over backwards customer service
Jul 09, 2015
The staff was wonderful. Billy is awesome and very helpful. He also makes the best pancakes!! Jim the General Manager was very nice in making our reservation and bent over backwards to help my family get an RV spot for the July 4th weekend. Then when we got there he was very helpful and really cared about all the guests having a good time. Will definitely stay again!
Jul 09, 2015
Beautiful site, close to many attractions. quiet and peaceful. Pancakes were delicious- thanks to Billy!!
Jul 08, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Jul 08, 2015
It was clean and well kept pretty flowers friendly people
Jul 08, 2015
The people here have been the nicest and kindest ever. They have been so helpful to us, I can't even explain. And, Billy cooks a great breakfast!
Jul 08, 2015
This location is close to Custer, 4 miles from Crazy Horse Monument, and 20 miles from Mount Rushmore. Easy access to all locations was a real bonus. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our site could have used a little leveling and grooming. WiFi connectivity was less than ideal particularly in the evening as the campground came to capacity. We enjoyed our time in Custer quite a bit.
Jul 08, 2015
First time camping in a KOA. W/ 3 small kids it was nice to have hook-ups, showers & play area for. My kids loved the inflated jumping pad & playground. The staff was super friendly, so nice! Our site did not have a pit cover to grill on so they brought us a nice stand-up one to use. Very accommodating! My only complaint was our site was terrible. Hardly any grass, it was a mud pit!
Jul 08, 2015
Jul 07, 2015
Staff was amazing! They accommodated us an extra night at the last minute. Very nice and clean. Close to everything.
Jul 07, 2015
Nep Park? Needs more level sites
Jul 06, 2015
Warm friendly feeling from the staff from day we arrived until we left. We were there two weeks and totally enjoyed our stay. One of the best KOAs so far. They obviously work very hard to keep the campground comfortable.
Jul 06, 2015
Great KOA, spaces were large, grounds were easy to navigate and quiet, staff was friendly and courteous. Will be planning a return trip!
Jul 06, 2015
Had truck problems while staying here and the staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating.
Jul 05, 2015
We loved it
Jul 05, 2015
Friendly greeting even after hours. Clean. Nice sized spots and well kept grounds. Help was always informative and gracious.
Jul 05, 2015
We arrived early evening of our stay and the staff was not in a great mood. Our "escort" to our lot was tired and I understand that tired people can often be cranky. The morning staff was AMAZING!! So nice, helpful and frendly. We will be back. My husband calls me the KOA queen :). My kids LOVED the air pillow!! What a great option ;).
Jul 04, 2015
Friendly staff.
Jul 04, 2015
Very nice amenities. Enjoyed the chuck wagon breakfast
Jul 03, 2015
Jul 03, 2015
Jul 03, 2015
Nice location , level sites, staff real helpful. I needed oil change the staff recommended a place that was close and reasonably priced.
Jul 03, 2015
Great stay.
Jul 02, 2015
Jul 02, 2015
The campsite 44 was not made to fit our fifth wheel. We had to drive up on rocks to get into it. Also there was mold in the men's bathroom..
Jul 01, 2015
Very helpful staff clean and tidy site
Jun 30, 2015
The Custer KOA is in a great location. The staff is very helpful, and the campground itself is has lots of trees, fire rings, etc. It's a very good place to stay when visiting the Black Hills Area.
Jun 30, 2015
Staff was very friendly, stopped and talked with us often. Facilities were well taken care of and clean.
Jun 29, 2015
Friendly, clean & great location! Super nice folks. Enjoyed our stay!
Jun 27, 2015
This park was great, the people were the freindliest we have ever met, the employees we very helpful. Would definitely come back.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.