Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12

RV Reviews

Aug 29, 2015
Clean and quiet KOA close to Mt Rushmore and the Jewel Caves. Kids enjoyed playing on the bouncy balloon.
Aug 29, 2015
Host, Mark, was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed using the pool.
Aug 28, 2015
Great place to stay.
Aug 28, 2015
Camp was over priced,Internet was nonexistent ,but the employees were great and made the stay great.
Aug 26, 2015
Aug 25, 2015
Staff was very friendly, it was well located for the surrounding attractions, the lots were very spacious and the park was well kept.
Aug 25, 2015
They went out of their way to help and believe me we needed it. Lots of adorable bunnies all over. Lovely campground.
Aug 24, 2015
The people who run the place lie. the owner told me he was giving me a better spot because I asked for no water? When I found my paperwork I ordered everything. Then his wife told me the people they gave 2 spots too were being charged what I was paying. I had the people next to us dump under my awning. I have pictures They are also rude. We left early to get away from there.I cried for 3 days

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You were moved from a water/electric to a full hook up at no addl charge due to a storm which flooded you original site. The wider site next to you was reserved months before you arrival. Your threats of violence in the store was uncalled for. The sewer under you awning was you sites.
Aug 23, 2015
Unfortunately showers and toilets near aur site were not avaliable (due to technical problems)
Aug 23, 2015
I had a 38ft. trailer w/slide outs and was placed in one of the smallest spaces in the campground. Sewer hook up was so far from other utilities I could not use it. Space was so narrow I could not safely use the fire pit.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Apologizes that you were not happy with your site. We were booked full and preferable sites had been booked months in advance. You were informed of our limited availability at reservation. Safe travels.
Aug 22, 2015
The stay was nice until we tried to extend our stay by a day.
Aug 22, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 19, 2015
pool was nice but it could use some cleaning, the edges were very dirty.
Aug 18, 2015
Nice and fairly quiet. Pool needed a few repairs. Needs a fenced dog park, chain link so that you can let your dog loose for a while. Hosts were very nice and knowledgeable about area.
Aug 17, 2015
Very nice KOA. The property is clean and orderly. Very nice amenities and great staff. We always stay at this location when visiting the Black Hills. From our standpoint, the only thing missing is a fenced K-9 facility.
Aug 17, 2015
The people at this campground were nice and helpful. My son loved the jumpy pillow and the pool. Bathroom were nice and up to clean. The campsite was small and no grass! All gravel my dog had no where to run or move around.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Site improvement is an ongoing effort here at the campground. Every season more is done to make things better. We do have the quarter acre field for dogs to enjoy and will soon have another. Safe travels.
Aug 16, 2015
Nice campsites, friendly staff
Aug 16, 2015
Very comfortable, clean bathrooms, friendly people.
Aug 16, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
Kids loved the jumping mat! Clean restrooms. Nice place
Aug 15, 2015
Site was spacious and partly shaded. The bathrooms were great. Our boys enjoyed the pool and the jump pillow.
Aug 15, 2015
it a great base camp for Black Hills. Been at this KOA lots of times and it better each time I go there.
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
this is the campground we will always stay at when in the area. wonderful folks friendly staff ...love the place
Aug 12, 2015
Fantastic!! The staff was GREAT! FRIENDLY and HELPFUL. perfect location to the various attractions in the area too.
Aug 12, 2015
Great staff. Rabbits everywhere! Clean. Reasonably close to everything.
Aug 12, 2015
nice stay except for the hail storm while we were there. Good breakfast
Aug 12, 2015
We were on a long trip and only stayed one night, but would recommend long stays to friends and family. Staff was very nice. Only complaint...we made reservation several months in advance, but were not booked in sites next to each other (?). If we were staying longer we might have asked to see if we could be together.
Aug 12, 2015
This was a great campground with great bathrooms (my primary criteria for campgrounds now), but just know the campsites are jammed in right next to each other. (As is typical with private campgrounds vs. State Parks, which tend to have more space in between the units.) It seemed like the awning from campers almost touched the next camper! Otherwise, super nice people working here!
Aug 12, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Aug 11, 2015
Jim, Debi, and staff are great people and make you feel important and are there to help with any problems. The campground is well maintained and has a variety of amennities. We have been there annually for 7 years and will continue to spend a week with them yearly. We higly recommend this campground. Pete and Joan Gouge
Aug 11, 2015
Friendly staff, polite and courteous.
Aug 11, 2015
We came to this area to see Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse Memorial. We did see other stuff too. The campground was very clean. Our host was very polite and. Location was great too. Thank you.
Aug 10, 2015
We are always treated like family; the staff and accommodations are excellent!
Aug 10, 2015
This is the 2nd time i stayed in this camp ground,it was very clean, personal was very friendly, i will recommend this KOA to all my friends and family
Aug 09, 2015
A very very good time, we will go back next time too,,,,,,
Aug 09, 2015
Friendly, clean, and quiet. Great location for exploring the Black Hills!
Aug 09, 2015
Nice clean campground, people very friendly, but not a lot of amenities at this particular KOA.
Aug 09, 2015
just had a few issues with WiFi in campground other than that great stay
Aug 08, 2015
Very well kept. Staff is very warm and nice.
Aug 07, 2015
Very friendly family and clean loved the wild bunnies.
Aug 06, 2015
Loved this KOA! The staff made our stay great. From Debi in the office to Alan who made sure we had fire wood, we were treated as valued guests. Campground was clean and well maintained and the chuckwagon breakfasts were great. Thanks to the staff at the Custer KOA for a great vacation!
Aug 06, 2015
Friendly staff and hosts. Very clean restrooms and shower house.
Aug 06, 2015
One of our favorite campsites in the country! Staff is fabulous, great service, clean facilities. Close to Sturgis, Deadwood, Custer SP and Mt Rushmore. We camped in a pop up
Aug 05, 2015
Aug 05, 2015
Clean camp ground. Coffee should be free. Cable would be a nice addition. Friendly staff. Enjoyed our stay
Aug 05, 2015
It was okay, but very pricey. Yes, it was Sturgis week.
Aug 04, 2015
Great! Excellent in every way
Aug 04, 2015
Clean and nice people. Even gave kids a tour in golf cart. Had a blast on jump pillow
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.