Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 18, 2017
Was a fantastic vacatiom. The camp sites very clean and the personal working there very friemdly an helpful. Super job to all the staff and thank you.
Aug 18, 2017
We have a 17" camper and a Toyota Tacoma, the site we had was way too small. All the other sites, including the tent sites were much larger. Most of the staff was very friendly but on the last night a man I hadn't seen before was very confrontational with me, unfortunately I didn't get his name.
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
Very close to all the major attractions in the area. Very friendly staff. Sites are very close together, but still a great base for exploring the area
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 17, 2017
The employees were friendly and accommodating. The facilities were clean and organized. The shower house was kept clean. I enjoyed the KOA environment very much.
Aug 16, 2017
Tremendous stay. Great people and a beautiful facility everywhere you looked. Top notch!
Aug 16, 2017
We've been in KOA's all over sine May, and this one is on the plus side of the average. It was clean, well kept, close to town and major roads yet far out enough there was little road noise. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely use this campground again when we are in this area again. Clifford and Marion
Aug 15, 2017
Beautiful campground with helpful hosts and friendly staff. Laundry facility is great, campsite was nice, and the campground itself was quiet.
Aug 15, 2017
Great campground and very close to the activities in the area.
Aug 15, 2017
Overall very nice. The KOA folks were very nice and helpful. Were there for only 1 night but thought it well kept up. We would stay there again.
Aug 15, 2017
We love KOA but...The KOA online app did not mention "no sewer." Having always had sewer at other KOAs, I was shocked. Being there for 3 days we needed to pay for pump out. There were at least 8 sewer spots open for our entire stay but KOA denied my request to move sayng that "if it was our mistake, we'd do something, but you booked online. Its your error." They should have moved us.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Both the app and the email confirmation you received mentioned that you has reserved a water and electric site. No full hook up sites were available for you size RV for your length of stay or you would have been moved. When you see an open site in the morning does not mean it is "open" as reservations come in at all hours during the day. In the future, be see to read your confirmation.
Aug 14, 2017
This is our sixth year staying at the Custer/Mt Rushmore, SD KOA. We are always treated like family;it is our home away from home and we look forward to coming back next year.
Aug 14, 2017
Was told that the WiFi was very important to them due to there owner being from Silicone valley and internet was very important to him. Well there were 4 WiFi's in the campground. Everyone of them would drop randomly or connect but with no internet service. Was a pain trying to figure out where we were going to go due to not being able to see the sites. People were great, Laundry area was cleaned.
Aug 14, 2017
Much too small site. Neighbor's septic hose 3 feet away from our picnic table.
Aug 14, 2017
we were there for 4 nights and the site was perfect and the people at the front desk were very helpful.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
I booked for 4 nights -- but could only stay 3. This campground was full every night so they said there would be no problem filling that space for the night I could not use I had expected a credit for that night -- but did not receive one. Campground was OK -- nothing special -- but it was close to Custer City. Internet was almost impossible to use -- the signal kept dropping.
Aug 14, 2017
Great KOA!! The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Dogs are very welcome, ours was given 2 arrival treats! Loved the fenced in off Leash play area for the pups. Pool looked really nice, but didn't have time to enjoy it. Would definitely stay here again!
Aug 13, 2017
Debi, Jimi, Chuck, and the rest of staff are great. They all have smiles and are always accommodating. Many great updates have been done to the campground over those years and we feel it's a great place to stay. We just finished our 8th year staying there and looking forward to year 9.
Aug 13, 2017
We had a good time and every one that works there were very nice and helpful,thank you very much
Aug 11, 2017
We had a great time in the black hills. Didn't use the amenities of the campground because we were visiting the parks. My only comment is the space I was in had 2 larhe trees that prohibited my awning to extend. Otherwise everything was great
Aug 11, 2017
Friendly, well maintained, quiet - even during Sturgis.
Aug 11, 2017
Tired of being chastised for going to site w/o escort-after being told to by staff-this has happened 3 times at KOA camps recently. But this is a great place to stay! Close to Grand Canyon and Williams with lots of amenities! Firewood was damp from recent rain but go-carts made up for it
Aug 10, 2017
Nice Kamp Grounds but could be made better by better maintenance of the roads. They are rutty and difficult to navigate on motorcycles.
Aug 10, 2017
Staff was super helpful and the location was very good in Custer. Bathrooms are very clean. Pull through spot was quite small, one of the smaller one used.
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
very friendly and helpful staff. shower house and campground were always clean
Aug 08, 2017
Very friendly & helpful staff. RV sites are a little tight, buy easy to level. The "pet" rabbits were good entertainment for my grandson. Only negative is the fire pit was right out the front door and the fire wood was too green to burn. I would stay at this KOA again, but would check the dates to make sure it wasn't the same time as the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally.
Aug 08, 2017
Enjoyed our stay! We loved the spot we were in! It was quiet and everyone around us were friendly! Staff was very accommodating to our needs!
Aug 08, 2017
Our site was a bit on the hill...otherwise a nice place, friendly and a great fenced dog run!
Aug 07, 2017
We had the best time. Friendly staff and excellent breakfast Thursday to Monday. Very clean.
Aug 07, 2017
The bathroom tile work was beautiful. However, there were only two showers so you had to plan accordingly. The campground is in process of updating so I am sure the sites will be great when done.
Aug 06, 2017
Very friendly and clean. It is gravel , not really motorcycle friendly, just got to take slow.
Aug 05, 2017
Fabulous staff, clean bathrooms, lots of wildlife. Hot breakfast for sale, really yummy. We're coming back!
Aug 04, 2017
Nice quiet location. Host at check in extremely nice and guide that parked us was too.
Aug 03, 2017
After a heavy rain the crew was out there making repairs on the roads around the campground. Kudos to the workers!!
Aug 02, 2017
Nice park and great people. Park is undergoing some improvements. Not really big rig friendly yet.
Aug 02, 2017
Nice park in a good area. The club house was good and so was the breakfast. I liked that we booked a tour of Custer Park there and was picked up and returned to our RV.
Aug 01, 2017
they are really clean and very pet friendly
Aug 01, 2017
Great Place. Great People
Aug 01, 2017
This was a great KOA. Staff was super friendly and knowledgeable on the area. We would go back here again
Jul 31, 2017
The wifi was horrible, and the campground was under construction. But the pool was nice and the bathrooms were clean
Jul 31, 2017
Very nice and helpful. They know the area very well and gave recommendations that we took and had a great vacation. Park was very quiet at night. Seen a lot of bunnies and deer at dusk. Great people that work their. Loved having the wifi and full hook up.As like all KOAs the camp sites are very close but they set us up in a perfect spot with our family when I booked. Thanks!!
Jul 31, 2017
Great place to stay. Staff was outstanding especially Darrell who helped us out with an issue we had. The tour that was offered was outstanding!!!
Jul 31, 2017
Had a great time, small and clean perfect for a family vacation!
Jul 30, 2017
Jul 30, 2017
Jul 29, 2017
It was ok
Jul 28, 2017
Very clean bathrooms, great access to many attractions and very nice staff.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award