Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 14, 2016
Staff was awesome. Very clean showers and restrooms. We will definitely be staying again.
Aug 13, 2016
Excellent! They made our stay wonderful. Will definitely return. Val Marks
Aug 11, 2016
Nice place, clean toilet. Wish more privacy for the camp fire.
Aug 10, 2016
We had a great stay here and would highly recommend! Wonderful staff, incredibly clean, lots of activities for kids. We will definitely be back!!
Aug 09, 2016
The accomodations were great and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Aug 08, 2016
The people were wonderful. We were dismayed at how early the pool closed (8:30pm) which is the main reason we will not stay at Custer KOA again. We did not have time to enjoy the local and nearby areas and get back in time to swim.
Aug 08, 2016
A great place to stay near Mt Rushmore, the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Aug 08, 2016
A very nice kampground, a great place to stay.
Aug 07, 2016
I don't know about the actual owners, but people staffing the retail stores were very rude. Made us feel like we were annoying them by being there.
Aug 07, 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a sleeper cabin while traveling through South Dakota on vacation. This is one of the cleanest KOA's I've ever been to. The cabin was clean and fresh. The shower house was updated and CLEAN! Loved the location, so close to many attractions. My only regret is that we didn't stay here longer!
Aug 04, 2016
Aug 03, 2016
Clean, friendly staff and LOVED the bunnies everywhere!
Aug 02, 2016
nice clean cabin
Jul 31, 2016
Very nice campground but on a motorcycle with all the gravel and rain made it hard to drive up some of the slopes.
Jul 31, 2016
My kids really enjoyed themselves on the bouncy pillow as did I! The pool was a nice addition, but needed some attention. The cabin was clean and quite comfortable and we were able to see all the sites.
Jul 30, 2016
Everything was wonderful: the staff, the location, the breakfasts. We really enjoyed ourselves.
Jul 30, 2016
We were only there for a short time. We arrived in the early evening and left the next morning. The weather was storming while we were there. All the staff were extremely friendly and the breakfast was delicious!
Jul 29, 2016
Very nice. Cabin was cute and comfortable. Very friendly staff. Could use more showers though.
Jul 28, 2016
We loved it will return someday!
Jul 27, 2016
Jul 27, 2016
Clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful! Thanks for the cup of coffee :)
Jul 27, 2016
We had a wonderful stay in Custer and enjoyed our camping cabin very much. The cabin was extremely clean and well maintained, and while we didn't get to partake in many of the activities offered at this location, we appreciate the services we did receive.
Jul 26, 2016
We absolutely loved it. We are returning for sure
Jul 25, 2016
My wife &I rode to Custer KOA from Ohio on our motorcycle.The camp staff was exceedingly helpful and energetic. Mark and his wife Julie were especially helpful on where to ride,see and stop while out in S.D. Cabin 7 was clean and comfortable and was a great place to unwind and meet other campers. The staff was very helpful and understanding when we had trouble with the motorcycle.
Jul 24, 2016
Wonderful place, friendly people, beautiful location!
Jul 21, 2016
Staff was great and the cabin was spotless
Jul 21, 2016
Enjoyed our stay. Staff was very friendly, bathrooms were great, pool and jumping pillow were our kids favorites. Thank you!
Jul 20, 2016
The staff was extremely nice and helpful, just a bit warm with no cooling, but the ceiling fan worked OK, many rabbits that the kids want to play with as opposed to letting them be.
Jul 19, 2016
The facilities were very clean and well maintained. All of the staff were extremely polite and helpful. I will definitely not hesitate to stay here again!
Jul 19, 2016
Meals are a great value. Staff are friendly and helpful.
Jul 19, 2016
Friendly staff and great for families. This was out favorite KOA out of the 5 we stay at on this vacation.
Jul 18, 2016
This KOA is great. The staff is friendly and helpful. Close to anything you want to do in the blackhills, don't forget to visit custer state park. My family had a blast. Thank you!
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we felt as though we were family. The staff creates such a warm and welcoming atmosphere, and the condition of the entire campground is simply spotless. You can truly tell that they care about their guests, and they are committed to keeping the facility very clean and good repair. This was our first KOA experience, but not our last! THANKS!
Jul 17, 2016
First time at this KOA, will be back !!!
Jul 15, 2016
The facilities were clean and well stocked. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Loved the stay, very satisfied.
Jul 15, 2016
The employees were very friendly and helpful. Cannot wait to stay there again!!!
Jul 14, 2016
The campground atmosphere was the best ever!! Can't wait to return for an extended stay. This was an awesome KOA! Host and staff were the best! GREAT JOB!!
Jul 13, 2016
we stayed in a 2 room cabin. it was clean and very comfy. my 2 sons enjoyed the pool.
Jul 13, 2016
Well run KOA. Clean pool and bathrooms. Bonus: one of the few places in the Black Hills that has any recycling.
Jul 13, 2016
Upon first arrival I was not overly thrilled with my Kabin location. However addressing this with the staff was great. They were extremely kind and accommodating. The kabins were very clean, as was the campground. The bathrooms were great as well. My boys loved the pool, the jumping pillow and the playground. Equally we enjoyed the bunny visits. I would definitely come back and visit again.
Jul 12, 2016
We were pleased with our stay at Custer/Mt Rushmore KOA. The staff were friendly and helpful. The cabin and bathroom/shower were very clean. Our son loved the jumping pillow. We had a short stay this trip but would definitely choose Custer/Mt Rushmore KOA again. Everything we experienced at this KOA was excellent!
Jul 09, 2016
Nice campground, friendly helpful employees, and loved the bunnies!
Jul 08, 2016
Great stay. Facilitates seemed clean and very adequate. Cabins are a bit crammed together and the firewood we bought was damp and fire hard to burn.
Jul 08, 2016
Very clean cabins, super friendly staff, good breakfast. Quiet, well-maintained campground.
Jul 06, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay this was our first time staying in a cabin at KOA. We are planing our next trip with KOA. The staff was wonderful and we enjoyed seeing them every time we went to the office. It was a lot of fun for all of us. The Bowmans
Jul 05, 2016
Very nice people and nice bathrooms. Beautiful scenery!
Jul 05, 2016
The campground was beautiful. Cabin was right in the trees. Loved it.
Jul 03, 2016
Good location, good wifi, clean cabin, It would have been helpful to have the office open past eight pm
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award