Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Jul 05, 2017
Campground was clean and the hosts and staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our kids loved the jumping pillow!
Jul 04, 2017
The staff and camp did their best to deal with a terrible storm that came through right before we arrived, which took out some tents and the electricity...other than that there were no issues.
Jul 02, 2017
Jul 01, 2017
Ho hum, nothing special Internet only worked in middle of night
Jun 30, 2017
Very clean. Nice staff.
Jun 29, 2017
Bathrooms extremely clean. Was impressed with the modern look. Disappointed with having no electricity on our last nite. Wish the campground had a secondary lite source for those that stayed in the cabins ex: flashlights etc.
Jun 27, 2017
Jun 26, 2017
We had a WONDERFUL time!!! The kids were a little sad that the game room wasn't there, but, we enjoyed it anyway
Jun 22, 2017
This is our favorite campground in all of the the Black Hills. The staff is always so friendly and helpful.
Jun 21, 2017
Great stay (so glad we were in the cabin for the thunderstorm). Great people (guy behind the counter gave me his lighter as they were out). Great place.
Jun 21, 2017
Very nice
Jun 21, 2017
Jun 17, 2017
Jun 16, 2017
This is a wonderful campground located close enough to all South Dakota has to offer, but without compromising on a true camping experience. It was clean, fun, and comfortable.
Jun 14, 2017
Great!
Jun 12, 2017
Clean, nice campground. Bathrooms/showers were immaculate and well-stocked and good hot water supply. Staff were pleasant and helpful.
Jun 08, 2017
Cabin was very comfortable and the report was clean. Everyone was very friendly. The location was very convenient to all the area parks and attractions.
Jun 06, 2017
Amazingly friendly staff from the front desk to the maintenance staff! Cabin and showers were clean and updated! Campground very quiet and relaxed which is what is needed after a day of fun in the Black Hills.
Jun 05, 2017
Super clean restroom & showers. Friendly, helpful people. Clean cabin. The entire campground was clean.. The experience was EXCELLENT. We will see you again next year. Thank you for a pleasant stay. I never realized a camping cabin could be so much fun! Wish I could give more stars.
May 17, 2017
Awesome staff and place. We will return.
May 15, 2017
The staff is friendly, the bathrooms are so nice & clean. With the bathrooms being so close to the road, it's nice to feel safe with a locking key code bathroom door. It's also nice to come into a cabin & not have to clean all the spiderwebs out before staying in it. Will be back again.
Oct 22, 2016
It was a nice campground with rabbits and deer. Could use a larger waste basket. Not fond of bathroom codes. When we needed ice it was unavailable at store. The cabin could use more hooks.
Oct 15, 2016
very nice, well maintained campground with beautiful bathrooms
Oct 02, 2016
Very clean and well kept. We were very pleased
Oct 02, 2016
Awesome koa and staff. Very attentive and courteous. Thank you and can't wait until our next stay!!
Sep 28, 2016
The staff was fantastic, the bathrooms were spotless, and my kids had a blast seeing the deer walk through the campground every evening. We will be back for sure. Thank you!
Sep 24, 2016
Very nice campground! We loved watching the deer and bunnies. The staff was helpful and the campground is clean and quiet. Large dog park and playground. Restrooms are very clean and nicely decorated. We enjoyed our stay in a camping cabin and look forward to staying there again!
Sep 22, 2016
Clean & friendly
Sep 21, 2016
Well kept, clean, nice bath/shower rooms, well managed.
Sep 18, 2016
My husband and i had 2 toddlers and a baby, stayed in a cabin 1 night and they made us move to a 2 bedroom because we had 5 people. There was a queen bed and two twin beds, and the baby did not use a bed. I did not understand what the issue was. The manager was pretty unhelpful, but the employees were friendly.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

On line you stated 2 adults and 2 children. You also were not truthful at check in. Fire regulations do not base occupancy on the size of a person. In addition, although it is clearly posted that cooking is not allowed in cabins, you persisted to not adhere to posted rules.
Sep 11, 2016
The campground was adequate, but all special services shut down for the season. No breakfasts, the pool was closed... With the reduction in services there was no reduction in the rates.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you were not happy. All pools in this area close Labor Day. As for the breakfast, this is not a free amenity, not included in the daily site charge. Safe Travels.
Sep 09, 2016
Great people
Sep 07, 2016
Stayed in cabin. Arrived late and they were very helpful. Bathrooms were great. Central location.
Sep 07, 2016
All good
Sep 07, 2016
Nice Cabins, great staff, clean restrooms. Problems with wifi availability.
Sep 03, 2016
Very good customer service! No charge for canceling one night late. Thank you so much for understanding!
Sep 02, 2016
Great location. Great facilities. Can't wait to stay there again
Sep 02, 2016
Friendly, helpful staff. Great location for touring the area.
Aug 31, 2016
Everything was well maintained and very clean.
Aug 31, 2016
Had not been charged for my morning cup of coffee before, but enjoyed my stay! Friendly, helpful hosts and very well kept facility! Thank you!!!
Aug 30, 2016
We loved the cabin, the bathrooms were the best we have ever seen at a campground and the staff was friendly and helpful :)
Aug 28, 2016
The staff were absolutely amazing. At check in he took the time for us to share our vacation plans and gave us recommendations of things to look for and to do that helped make our vacation great! The campground and bathrooms were clean.
Aug 27, 2016
Love it all except some places were not willing to let 10 people stay in one spot our Rv sleeps 10 comfortably so. Didn't understand the problem
Aug 23, 2016
Before we got to the Custer KOA, my husband said "ugh, not another KOA". Afterwards, he said it was his favorite place to stay on our trip. The giant bouncy pillow is a huge hit. Also friendly staff and excellent bathrooms and the kids loved that the pool was heated. Thanks so much!
Aug 23, 2016
An A+ KOA - great base for Black Hills explorations!
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
Very clean and the staff were super friendly.
Aug 21, 2016
Cabins were very nice.
Aug 21, 2016
Great campground.
Aug 20, 2016
Loved staying here! The staff was extremely friendly and so willing to help with our random requests.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award