Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Cabin Reviews

Jul 27, 2013
We had a great time. The cabin was clean and the breakfast was wonderful. Best pancakes ever!!
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Great location. Friendly staff.
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Peaceful campground even though it's close to road. Only complaint is that my kabin was by a campground street light- very bright all night long. :(

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

While we cannot do anything about the utility company's street light, we will be tinting the affected windows to aid the situation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Happy kamping and hope we get to see you again in the future :)
Jul 25, 2013
We had a wonderful stay at the kampground! Great location very clean and the kids loved all the bunnies
Jul 24, 2013
Staff was very nice. Cabins were too close together.
Jul 24, 2013
This was a very nice place to stay. The owners were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was awesome.
Jul 24, 2013
This is a bigger campground than I usually stay at but the staff was very friendly and helpful. Just a little crowded for my tastes.
Jul 23, 2013
A great place for kids! The bunnies about our cabin were an added plus!
Jul 22, 2013
My son loved it there! He made friends everyday & loved the bounce pillow. The cabin was great! Just wish the coffee was free :)
Jul 21, 2013
The camp was very clean and staff all friendly. The pool was small but nice for the kids, jumping pillow was also great for the kids! quiet, relaxed atmosphere :)
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 19, 2013
Very accommodating. Bathrooms were a little old school. Take flip flops! The Kabin was amazing! Porch swing, nice picnic table, the works!
Jul 17, 2013
GREAT PLACE TO STAY ! FRIENLY PEOPLE , I LIKED THE BREAKFAST AT THE CHUCK WAGON EVERY MORNING! VERY CLEAN!
Jul 16, 2013
Our stay was great, and the staff was very helpful, we had some annoying neighbors at the end of our stay but the staff took care of it right away!
Jul 16, 2013
We came in around 11pm after a wedding and were very quietly unpacking and we harassed by the night watchmen. He was very, very rude and didn't even allow us to say goodbye to some out-of-state friends that were leaving. He should seriously be evaluated and spoken to about how he treats customers. We rented two cabins and spent about $150 dollars only to be treated disrespectfully.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

7 complaints from cabin & RV sites were received upon arrival due to noise, racing of engines & autos blocking the roads. One quarter hour after the first encounter with our staff, three more of same complaints were received requiring a second encounter. Unregistered people were then asked to leave.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
Our cabin had bed bugs and the manager did not offer a refund or discount. My husband and I had to spend $60 to have our clothing and bedding cleaned and to purchase insecticide to prevent getting bed bugs in our home. We were very disappointed in the way we were treated when showing the management the bed bug that was captured in the middle of the night. My sister in law was covered in bites.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are very sorry for your unfortunate experience. The previous guests made no such complaints. The cabin was immediately closed and exterminated. These matters, while unfortunate, are out our control as we do cleaning and visual inspection after each guest's departure to the best of our ability.
Jul 15, 2013
Clean, quiet, activities to keep kids busy. Close to city of Custer.
Jul 15, 2013
quiet hours are not enforced at all. People were up late and up early making a lot of noise. Otherwise everything was Great! Would stay again
Jul 15, 2013
not bad I have stayed a better but not bad. to expensive for the quality of the camp site.
Jul 13, 2013
Staff was wonderful! Great breakfast, very clean, pool was great! Will stay here again
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
Staff was wonderful, kabins were lovely and the location was perfect. The only part that was a bit disheartening was we needed a boost, as our battery died, and they didn't have booster cables. So we were a little late checking out, but other than that we will be back...we promise!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our apologizes on the jumper cables. Ours were leant to another camper and they did not return to us. We are obtaining another set as they are needed often at campgrounds. Thank you so much for the other positive comment. See you your next trip out!
Jul 07, 2013
Great facilities, well managed, clean, great breakfast for a reasonable price on site - kids loved the bounce pillow, very friendly and helpful staff - we would stay again!
Jul 06, 2013
we enjoyed our stay at the campground very much and if we didn't live so far away it would be a regular weekend getaway. thanks so much!
Jul 06, 2013
everything was clean and everyone was super friendly. Had a wonderful time.
Jul 05, 2013
Excellent facilities. Friendly staff. Convenient location. CLEAN kabins! ;)
Jul 05, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
wonderful everything!
Jul 02, 2013
Love this campground. Deb and her staff go out of their way to make sure you are happy. Only issue this year is there are little yellow knat like bugs that swarm you. Deb is not sure what they are and they do not bite but are annoying.
Jul 01, 2013
location is just write smack in the middle off everything the blackhills offer oh yes grandkids had a blast good breakfast it was a rewarding thanks KOA WILL SEE YOU AGAIN
Jul 01, 2013
Jun 30, 2013
Great place to vacation. There is so much family fun close to this KOA. The bathrooms and grounds were clean. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Jun 30, 2013
Great staff
Jun 30, 2013
Love this place and have stayed there on many trips to Custer. It is clean, cabins were great and the showers were fabulous.
Jun 28, 2013
Clean friendly and accommodating!
Jun 28, 2013
Outstanding and friendly hosts!!! Great cabin, awesome breakfast.Very clean and all around awesome!!!!!
Jun 27, 2013
Great location. Friendly staff. Camper cabins were well maintained and situated in the trees. Bathrooms were fair, about what you would expect at a campground.
Jun 25, 2013
Stayed in one of the cabins with our family of 5 - beds were comfortable and it was so nice not having to deal with a tent on the rainy evenings. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Jun 25, 2013
We had a great time! Staff was super nice. Cabins were clean. Only thing I would suggest is to have air fresheners in the bathrooms.
Jun 24, 2013
Great people. Nice accommodations.
Jun 24, 2013
Your Managers there are AWESOME! The made us feel SO welcomed and were very accommodating. They REALLY cared! What a great asset you have in them! Thank you!
Jun 22, 2013
We stay here every vacation. Hope to be back soon!
Jun 22, 2013
Great location and friendly staff (as usual!) Love the bunnies hopping around.
Jun 21, 2013
We had friendly service and when a need arose it was met.
Jun 21, 2013
Every staff member was very friendly and helpful to my entire family.
Jun 20, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.