Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jul 02, 2014
nice& rustic, quite. the KOA people were great. I will stay there again.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Thank you it was really great! :-)
Jul 02, 2014
We had a great time! Loved our cabin and Billy made a fabulous breakfast!! Thank you!!
Jul 02, 2014
GREAT BREAKFAST, GOOD SPACE BETWEEN AND ALOT FOR THE KIDS TO DO THERE HIGHLY RECOMD
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Great place to stay. Pretty close to everything.
Jul 02, 2014
Jun 20, 2014
Jun 12, 2014
The nicest KOA I have ever stayed at. Very clean, well maintained restrooms, all staff extremely friendly and helpful!
Jun 10, 2014
Great campground!!! Secluded yet very close to all the tourist sites that the Black Hills has to offer. Would go there again in a heartbeat!!!
Jun 10, 2014
Wonderful staff! Thank you!
Jun 04, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
This is one of the nicest, cleanest KOA we have been to. My favorite moment was when someone saw my kids in the pool and heard them say they were cold and quietly went to check without me asking. There are a variety of games to play for the kids. The jumping pillow was the favorite. The cabin was very clean and the property is excellent.
Jun 02, 2014
Jun 01, 2014
Every staff member that we ran into were extremely friendly and hospitable. We LOVED the rabbits. My family loved our stay and will definitely be back!
May 31, 2014
Amazing weekend, despite the occasional showers! Wonderful scenery, great food, and the cabin was quaint and surprisingly comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay and will likely be back soon. Thank you to all at Custer KOA for making this stay memorable!
May 30, 2014
May 27, 2014
Very nice and quiet with clean bath houses. The only complaint is the beds in the cabin are very uncomfortable.
May 26, 2014
The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and the camp itself was great. The bathrooms and showers were especially very nice and always very clean. Highly recommended!
May 23, 2014
Great location to surrounding sites to see. Cabin had a bit of a smell after rains; however, opening windows helped. Nice people. Great jumpy pillow for adults and kids. Friendly staff. GREAT, clean nice bathrooms!
May 21, 2014
One of the best places we have stayed, great people, place was clean and really nice bathrooms.
May 10, 2014
The bathrooms were top notch and having a place to wash dishes was very helpful. The staff were helpful and courteous, especially with our late check-in.
Oct 08, 2013
Clean, quiet campground in the Ponderosa Pines. Staff was very friendly, helpful, and accommodating.
Sep 29, 2013
Sep 19, 2013
no complaints at all; our time there was great; there's a lot to do and see in the area, and this place is not far from anything, but not too close to the big town either. we stayed at one of the simple kamper kabins instead of our usual tent, mostly because we labor day wknd reservations too far in advance to have any idea of what the weather would be like.
Sep 15, 2013
Did not really spend time at campground. Kabin was nice and personal very nice as well.
Sep 11, 2013
Very friendly staff, great location, and clean Kabins. Stayed one night, would have loved to stay for breakfast the next day, but had to move on down the road. Would definitely stay there again!
Sep 07, 2013
The facility was fine, but the staff was less helpful and many of the amenities were extra. We felt 'nickled and dimed'.
Sep 05, 2013
The staff was great especially Debi! We stayed in one of the 2 room cabins with our two kids ages 6 and 8 and they loved it. Normally we camp in the woods, but with all the activities in the Black Hills, we wanted the convenience of the cabin and showers. I would definitely stay in one of these cabins again, next time we're in the Black Hills. Thanks Custer KOA!
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
We've stayed at KOAs before but never in a cabin. We needed affordable accommodatins for a wedding weekend and the Custer KOA was a great choice. The cabin was very clean and comfortable. The facilities are well kept and the staff was beyond friendly and accommodating. I would stay again without hesitation and recommend it to anyone.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Surprisingly clean. Helpful staff. My wife was hoping the Kabins had A/C. More expensive than I was expecting, but no more than other sites in the area.
Sep 02, 2013
although there was a cabin open on the other side, we were sandwiched in between two cabins with small children. why wouldn't you leave a cabin free between families unless you absolutely have to fill it? these folks aren't interested in thinking about the age of the people renting their cabins and/or spacing people if at all possible. these cabins are close together. don't stay here.
Sep 01, 2013
Aug 30, 2013
Great, some highway noise, but not terrible. Great cook, clean facilities!
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Great staff, super clean, many family friendly activities, and close to everything! We loves everything at the KOA so much we hardly wanted to leave to see or do anything else! Our kids loved the jumping pillow & pool. We will be back for sure!
Aug 25, 2013
Loved the pines clean bathrooms quiet at night cabins were nice
Aug 22, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Great stay, clean place, fun pool! However, soap dispensers in the bathroom were too high for my kids to reach and the paper towels were very hard to get out with wet hands. Otherwise a perfect stay!
Aug 19, 2013
Friendly and clean.The kids were so entertained by the bunnies. Only complaint is cabins are a bit close together and close to hiway. Would like a bit more privacy and quiet.
Aug 19, 2013
I wish the cabins would of had air conditioning.THe pool would of stayed open longer than 8:30PM.
Aug 18, 2013
Very friendly staff and clean facilities!
Aug 18, 2013
They are very friendly when you come in and all paper work done and quick check in after hard day of driving.
Aug 14, 2013
Got charged an extra $91 that I was told wouldn't be charged to my account. Will not stay again and will not tell anyone to stay here.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.