Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Jun 24, 2016
Loved our stay. Nice, clean cabins & facilities, friendly & helpful staff. Kids loved the jumping bubble & pool. Only concern was the barbed wire lining the property behind our cabin (G). Huge safety hazard for small kids like ours. Other than that, we were very pleased with the Custer KOA!
Jun 23, 2016
The staff members were AMAZING! Our cabin was extremely clean, as were the bathrooms and the office/store area. We are looking forward to staying here again!
Jun 21, 2016
Great location. Very clean bathrooms. Smaller pool but my kids loved it and I liked the ledge along the side to sit on. Very friendly staff!
Jun 20, 2016
Jun 20, 2016
We loved staying in the 2 room cabin at Custer KOA. It was cute, clean and better than we expected. The swing on the front porch was an added bonus. We loved all of the amenities at the campsite and were pleased with how clean the facilities were.
Jun 19, 2016
Great service, friendly staff, clean rooms and very nice bathrooms. Easy check in and check out and lots of other services available.
Jun 19, 2016
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a cabin which was clean and well maintained. The shower house was clean as well.
Jun 19, 2016
We have stayed at this Koa many times and have enjoyed it and will continue to come back
Jun 19, 2016
Very friendly and helpful staff, very clean facilities, and great location to attractions.
Jun 18, 2016
This KOA was great. Perfect for our family and the staff was super friendly. No complaints at all and we would definitely stay again!
Jun 16, 2016
Fantastic staff, clean bathrooms, nice cabins!
Jun 16, 2016
Very nice location and the people were very friendly. Good WiFi and liked the fan. There was no after hours key drop off location/Box
Jun 15, 2016
The restroom/showers were excellent. The staff was very helpful too.
Jun 13, 2016
The staff was very friendly. The pool was nice although at times it could be a bit crowded. The bathrooms by the pool could stand to be mopped during the day as people would come in from the pool wet therefore the floors would be wet and slippery. The jumping pillow was a hit with my son. We had to leave early on the account of I couldn't breathe with the thick pollen in the air and KOA refunded.
Jun 12, 2016
My nephew and I stayed in a camping cabin and had a great 3 day visit to the Black Hills!! Everything about our visit was great!
Jun 12, 2016
Great staff and very well taken care of KOA!!
Jun 11, 2016
This was the best KOA we have ever stayed at! The staff was so friendly and the Camp was very well maintained! Would love to come back again!!
Jun 11, 2016
Jun 10, 2016
My husband and I celebrated our anniversary in Custer, staying at the Custer KOA. What a perfect choice it was! The camper cabin was clean, comfortable and private, and all the facilities were well kept up. The bathrooms and showers were the best! We felt like we were in a nicer hotel rather than a campground. Debi and Jim, the managers, and other workers, were friendly and warm. WONDERFUL TIME!
Jun 08, 2016
Great service. Clean cabin and camp ground.
Jun 02, 2016
Nice cabin, very clean. We got a proprane burner with the cabin and een smal tv, very good! Very clean clean and comfortable restrooms
May 31, 2016
This has always been our favorite KOA. We have stayed here on many occasions and have been so very satisfied with the staff and the facilities.
May 31, 2016
Had a wonderful stay. Staff was extremely knowledgable, friendly and made us feel like we were at home. Power in the area went out for about 15 hours first night of our stay. Staff was resourceful with bathrooms and limited water, helped make guests as comfortable as possible. Staff kept the camp up to date on the outage and when power would return. We had a great stay, look fwd to next visit!!
May 25, 2016
Awesome service from the staff, cabin was clean, restrooms were clean, it was quiet, and a great place to stay.
May 12, 2016
Good stay. Nice bathrooms.
May 07, 2016
Excellent stay in this pet friendly, clean and conveniently located campground. Stayed in two room cabin. Was very close to restroom and showers. Very clean facility. No regrets coming from this picky traveler!
Oct 03, 2015
Arrived on a wet, snowy night. Staff gave us an extra heater to keep warm and went out of their way to accommodate our stay. Bathrooms are great and the best of any during our travels! Stayed at a different KOA every night for several weeks. Great place.
Oct 01, 2015
The campground has one of the most relaxing and welcoming atmosphere's of any KOA at which I've ever stayed. The staff is personable and attentive. This is by far my favorite KOA.
Oct 01, 2015
Beautiful campground.
Sep 30, 2015
Sep 28, 2015
Room was full of fliesdead and alive. Close to a hundred flying flies kept flying into our faces and they were the size of dimes. Other than that the accommodations were what we anticipated.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

First we heard of your problem. When cleaning after your departure flies were noted but not in the numbers or sizes indicated. As we are in a forest, flies and the like are common. I wish you'd have notified us during your stay to give us a chance to address the situation. Safe travels.
Sep 27, 2015
Sep 22, 2015
Very accommodating pleasant friendly and clean
Sep 20, 2015
The cabins were great, loved all the rabbits hopping about. Made it easy to visit Mt. Rushmore, and Custer Park. Loved the camp grounds.
Sep 17, 2015
We have stayed at this KOA for over 30 years and will continue to do so in the future. We have used a variety of camping vehicles in all those years and currently stay in the camping cabins. The cabins and the restroom/bath houses are always very clean. But the best part of our camping experience is the friendliness of the staff especially the current managers, Debbie and Jim.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the favorable review. It is a pleasure to have you and hope to see you again next season. Call ahead to be sure we get you the same cabin. Safe Travels.
Sep 15, 2015
Very well maintained camp. Convenient to many places
Sep 15, 2015
excellent
Sep 14, 2015
Sep 12, 2015
Sep 12, 2015
Very nice and very clean.
Sep 11, 2015
Greatexperience!
Sep 09, 2015
Nice camp.
Sep 08, 2015
Nice campground. Clean facilities. I took my wife and daughters camping for the first time. They liked staying in a KOA "Kamping Kabin" and will go again.
Sep 07, 2015
Great stay! Great place! Thanks!
Sep 03, 2015
Excellent in all respects.
Sep 01, 2015
Aug 31, 2015
Friendly staff! Good breakfast! Very nice restrooms! 😃
Aug 30, 2015
Great staff who acknowledged my request for a no-pets cabin. Cleanest and newest bathrooms I have ever seen in many years of camping at many different places! Thanks for the kids' activities being free and the pool being warm on a cooler evening.
Aug 27, 2015
Grat location, great kabins, the staff was very pleasent and helpful. The whole facility was clean with rabbits running all over but they didn't bother or beg from you. I was very happy with our 3 day stay there.
Aug 27, 2015
Loved the nice clean cabin. The kids enjoyed the pillow shaped trampoline.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award