Custer / Mount Rushmore / Black Hills KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 14, 2017
It was good. I liked how we had a privacy fence, LOVED the bathrooms! The only thing I disliked was the door, a couple of other ones I have stayed at have wireless key cards. I like these better as they are much more quiet at night when you are in and out for the bathroom in the middle of the night.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 13, 2017
Very good place ð
Aug 13, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
Clean friendly very accommodating
Aug 07, 2017
Got there late and were pleased that they had everything ready for us. Good breakfast
Aug 07, 2017
After a long day of driving we were greeted by welcoming attitudes by all the staff when we checked in and found our cabin to be clean and perfect for our nights stop on our trip. Our grandchildren got to enjoy the large jump pillow and work off a lot of pent up energy.
Aug 05, 2017
Aug 05, 2017
We stayed in one of the cabins and were very pleased with how comfortable it was even though the outside temperature varied from hot to very cool. Beds were very comfortable, too. Showers/bathrooms were very clean and well maintained. The friendly staff also served an excellent breakfast each morning. Could not have asked for anything more in a campground.
Aug 02, 2017
We stayed a week and made this our base camp for multiple day excursions. By far, the friendliest and cleanest KOA we've experienced! The cabin was clean and in great shape. The facilities were modern and always kept up. The pool and moon jump were enjoyed by the kids daily. We'll definitely come back!
Aug 02, 2017
Very clean and neat! The whole family loved it!
Aug 02, 2017
Enjoyed it. Thought the cabins were overall great. Pool is a little small and water should be heated. Loved having an overhead fan. Wish you would be more flexible about a late check out especially when the campground is not all that busy. Like that you had a breakfast option. Consider having a mini fridge in each cabin.
Aug 01, 2017
Very friendly staff. Clean cabins and bathrooms. Family friendly.
Aug 01, 2017
Bathroom was clean. Kamping Kabins were clean. Park nicely equipped with area to wash dishes. Pool looked nice. They have a jumpy pad for kids. Located near Custer and Custer State Park. No highway noise. Staff friendly and accommodated our needs.
Jul 31, 2017
Awesome KOA to stay at! Everything about was awesome. Showers and bethrooms where very nice and looked pretty knew. The staff where always friendly and the location is great!
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 30, 2017
Jul 30, 2017
My son really enjoyed the kid friendly activities at this site. The cabins were clean and spacious.
Jul 30, 2017
Great location, great staff, and clean environment. Was an awesome place to be able to see the local sights and have a spacious cabin site to come back to.
Jul 30, 2017
All info was present for a late check in which I appreciate, but the chuck wagon/cook is regularly not there 2 days a week. This is one of the reasons we booked was for this convenience. The website should state this. Disappointing b/c we had hungry kids in the morning with no packed food. Going to a restaurant in town is just not that easy when you're trying to enjoy the morning and then pack up.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our website and directory both state that breakfast is served on "weekends".
Jul 27, 2017
Very nice campground. Convenient to area attractions. VERY clean and nice restroom with ceramic tile throughout! We had an awesome time and loved our cabin!
Jul 27, 2017
Our stay at your KOA campground was terrific! The whole staff was very friendly and helpful! The site was clean and the cabin we stayed in was just perfect! We had so much fun during our stay! The Wild Rabbits were fun to watch too!
Jul 26, 2017
Courteous staff, clean facility, good location
Jul 25, 2017
one person at the front desk was pushy and not as friendly as the others. also she called after we left to state the key was not returned despite it being dropped off in the drop box. The manager politely apologized for the error after I called to confirm the key was dropped off
Jul 24, 2017
Great AM staff very helpful and kind. Loved watching the kids bounce around and interact with each other on the huge bounce pillow. Plan on staying here in Sept.so I can catch what I missed this time.
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 22, 2017
Very Friendly staff. Bathrooms were clean and well stocked.
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 20, 2017
we have never stayed here before. Usually we stay at the Mt. Rushmore KOA, this was closer to our activities planned the next day. The husband and wife owners were very nice. It was a very clean facility. They were very good at recommending restaurants. Location was good for activities around Custer. The KOA itself was very peaceful and quiet despite all the activity.
Jul 19, 2017
It was very hot and our camping cabin did not have air conditioning. I requested a fan and at first I wasn't sure they took me seriously.I assured them I was serious. Later they delivered a fan to our cabin. The office, store, and sink for doing dishes were all close to our cabin.
Jul 19, 2017
What a fun time we had.
Jul 18, 2017
The cabin was cozy and the bathrooms were clean and very nice! Great place to stay. Staff was super friendly!
Jul 17, 2017
Our family has always camped on BLM, or at state parks. This was our first KOA experience. It was very family friendly, clean and reasonably priced. We would visit a KOA again.
Jul 16, 2017
Was able to buy things we forgot including food.
Jul 15, 2017
Great location, very good amenities. Would stay here again in a heartbeat
Jul 14, 2017
Fun for kids & centrally located for all the Black Hill must sees.
Jul 14, 2017
The campground was clean all around and quiet. The only problem was my six year old was able to reach the soap on the back wall and the one next to the sink was also empty. The staff was friendly and engaged with my kids questions and conversations. Thank you
Jul 13, 2017
Very comfortable cabin, clean washrooms, and friendly people.
Jul 13, 2017
We loved the area and the campground was nice and clean. The kids loved the pillow jump!
Jul 12, 2017
Fun campground. Clean bathrooms, friendly folks!!!
Jul 12, 2017
Cabins are very close together and felt cramped. Appreciated the good communication from staff about incoming storm and the firewood delivery direct to the site.
Jul 12, 2017
Cabins and showers/bathrooms we're very clean. Anything we forgot we found at the camp store. The kids loved the jumping pillow. Will return again if we come back to the black hills.
Jul 10, 2017
First time camping in a cabin and it was AMAZING!! If we're ever back in SD we'll be staying with you again!
Jul 09, 2017
Very nice. Very pleasant people working there. Love the idea of them serving breakfast. The cost is very low and much worth it. Good food. Nice clean camp grounds.
Jul 09, 2017
Very happy with the staff and quality of the campground - staff also responded quickly to handle weather damage.
Jul 09, 2017
Clean and well managed. Was full when we stayed here, yet quiet after hours. Very relaxing 4 days. Wouldn't hesitate to return. Thank you!!!
Jul 08, 2017
The facilities were clean, lots of things to do for my kids. The staff was friendly and the cabin was adorable! We can't wait to try a KOA again, and we are planning to return to this location in the future!
Jul 07, 2017
Jul 06, 2017
Friendly and helpful staff, clean bathrooms. Loved it!!
Jul 06, 2017
The KOA in Custer is friendly...helpful and clean...Love staying there..stayed at the one by Mt. Rushmore..dirty restrooms..to busy..awful food.vehicle got scratched up by careless employee..Custer Rules !
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award