Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

Cabin Reviews

Aug 31, 2015
Friendly staff! Good breakfast! Very nice restrooms! 😃
Aug 30, 2015
Great staff who acknowledged my request for a no-pets cabin. Cleanest and newest bathrooms I have ever seen in many years of camping at many different places! Thanks for the kids' activities being free and the pool being warm on a cooler evening.
Aug 27, 2015
Grat location, great kabins, the staff was very pleasent and helpful. The whole facility was clean with rabbits running all over but they didn't bother or beg from you. I was very happy with our 3 day stay there.
Aug 27, 2015
Loved the nice clean cabin. The kids enjoyed the pillow shaped trampoline.
Aug 26, 2015
The staff is very friendly and always willing to help with any questions or problems.
Aug 26, 2015
Great stay! Our granddaughter loved the bouncy play place and the rabbits that came right up to our cabin for a treat.
Aug 26, 2015
They really need to get wifi to cabins. Cleaning has to improve and service too. Not informed properly at all at arrival. Way to expensive

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Apologizes for the internet. A storm took out the system the day of you arrival and parts were overnighted and repairs made. As for misinformation, if you could send an e-mail elaborating, the matter will be addressed. Safe travels.
Aug 24, 2015
Friendly, clean, relaxing. Quiet and lots of fun things to do on the grounds. Great base camp for area attractions.
Aug 23, 2015
Everyone was great, facility was great also.
Aug 21, 2015
Nice KOA near Custer, well maintained, cabins brandnew, excellent staff, swimming pool
Aug 21, 2015
wonderful stay, employees so nice. great location.
Aug 18, 2015
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our kabin was clean. Breakfast was delicious. The store had everything we needed. Looking forward to coming back again.
Aug 18, 2015
super emplacement et la cabine était superbe très propre, le personnel gentil
Aug 17, 2015
Other than not being able to cool down the kabin at night, we had a wonderful stay at the Custer, SD KOA. The staff was very friendly and helpful with driving directions and advice about the area. I've never stayed in such a clean kabin. The swimming pool would benefit from a thorough cleaning, but that didn't stop us from enjoying the pool to escape the heat!
Aug 17, 2015
Staff very pleasant and helpful. Great breakfast and bathrooms. Cabins cozy but big enough.
Aug 17, 2015
Friendly people....clean bathrooms....beautiful spot. Only downfall is proximity to traffic noise, but I would definitely stay here again.
Aug 16, 2015
Our first time staying in a KOA cabin. Loved it! Very clean, the beds were comfortable, and the kids loved the jumping pillow and pool. Plus we loved the Custer location because it was very close to Custer State Park and all the other Black Hills activities for families!
Aug 16, 2015
Campsites all dirt and dusty also way too small of sites for today's slideouts

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I know some of our campsites are small as we are an older park and every year we make improvements to make them better. However, you stayed in a camping cabin. Safe travels.
Aug 14, 2015
We had never stayed at a koa camp before but our stay was great and I will stay at koa again . I thought the staff excellent . Thanks Again Brian
Aug 13, 2015
Great campground in a nice area. The staff are superb and we will be staying here again in the future.
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
We enjoyed our stay very much! From the time we checked in until we checked out, we were treated like family and if we needed something, we had someone there in minutes and taken care of promptly. Thank you for a wonderful time and experience. We will definitely come back in the future.
Aug 11, 2015
I stayed here two nights to visit the Black Hills area. The owners were really helpful and friendly. Everything was clean and well maintained
Aug 11, 2015
We made a very late reservation for the Sturgis Bike Rally! And got lucky with a Camping cabin!! It was awesome! Our first KOA stay ever! Campground was beautifully maintained. Our camping cabin was so clean!! Everyone from Julie and Debbie to Brian and the owners and their son the cook were just the best! When we come back to Sturgis we will definitelt stay there!!
Aug 10, 2015
Friendly staff and very efficient. Breakfast was great and worth the price . Camping cabins very clean. Staff had maps of things to do in area. All in all it was fabulous
Aug 10, 2015
This was a great place to stay. It was close to Mt. Rushmore, Sylvan lake, and downtown Custer. Everyone was really nice and the kids loved feeding the bunnies carrots!!
Aug 09, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
Friendly check-in. Clean cabin and restrooms. Well-stocked store.
Aug 08, 2015
We had a nice time and the staff was great.
Aug 07, 2015
Campground is very nice and clean. Staff are excellent! Very friendly and helpful. We would not hesitate to stay here again.
Aug 05, 2015
Everything was perfect!
Aug 04, 2015
Aug 04, 2015
The staff are very pleasant and helpful. Cabin and restroom were clean. Breakfast was really good, the cooks were great. Great stay, thank you.
Aug 04, 2015
Very nice campground, great breakfast! Really liked the camping cabin
Aug 03, 2015
Wonderful staff and our family had a great time.
Aug 03, 2015
My wife, son and I just got back from a three night stay at KOA Custer and thoroughly enjoyed it! Great campground with lots to do. My son loved the jump pillow and we had a great time swimming and playing tether-ball. Close to Custer with shopping and some restaurant options. Also convenient to the Reptile Garden, Bear Country U.S.A and Mt. Rushmore. Would definitely recommend!
Jul 30, 2015
Staff was wonderful, kind and HAPPY!! Site was very clean and restrooms were picked up every few hours!
Jul 30, 2015
A beautiful venue and a delight. The children loved the jumping pillow!
Jul 29, 2015
Jul 29, 2015
1st time staying at a KOA. We had such a great time. Our cabin was clean and quite at night. Looking forward to coming back again soon!
Jul 29, 2015
Not a quiet place for camping cabins since they were located right on the highway into town. When I gotta poop, I hate to have to find someone who knows the key code for the bathroom.
Jul 28, 2015
We love to camp, but opted to stay in a 2-bedroom cabin which worked out perfectly. We were able to have our s'mores and enjoy the other amenities offered - kids loved the jumping pillow, playground & pool.
Jul 28, 2015
Site too narrow and crowded. Fire ring butted against timbers.Awning extended into neighbor's site.Cost the same as large, grassy, sites.Site so off level could barely level unit.Member discount only given on 1of 2 reservations I had made. Won't renew membership.
Jul 28, 2015
Great KOA, very friendly & helpful staff! Very clean restrooms & kamping kabins! Have approximately 13 kabins Would definitely stay here again when in the area!
Jul 28, 2015
It was so fun to be out in nature. My kids loved the jumping pillow and the cute cabins!
Jul 27, 2015
We stayed in the Kamping Kabin which was very nice for us except that we would have liked to have had a flatter spot to pull up to the cabin. It was uphill on the gravel road; the tricky part was to pull out and DOWN the hill, making a quick right hand turn on the gravel. Also, the night we arrived, some adolescent boys trashed the mens room so badly my husband would not use the showers.
Jul 27, 2015
We had an excellent time at this Koa. The facilities were always impeccably clean and beautiful. We enjoyed using the pool and the breakfast chuck wagon was great. This was a very quite campground during our stay. Highly recommended
Jul 27, 2015
The best thing here is the staff! Very helpful and authentically warm!
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
Friendly staff, the facility was very clean. Good location.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.