Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Cabin Reviews

Oct 08, 2013
Clean, quiet campground in the Ponderosa Pines. Staff was very friendly, helpful, and accommodating.
Sep 29, 2013
Sep 19, 2013
no complaints at all; our time there was great; there's a lot to do and see in the area, and this place is not far from anything, but not too close to the big town either. we stayed at one of the simple kamper kabins instead of our usual tent, mostly because we labor day wknd reservations too far in advance to have any idea of what the weather would be like.
Sep 15, 2013
Did not really spend time at campground. Kabin was nice and personal very nice as well.
Sep 11, 2013
Very friendly staff, great location, and clean Kabins. Stayed one night, would have loved to stay for breakfast the next day, but had to move on down the road. Would definitely stay there again!
Sep 07, 2013
The facility was fine, but the staff was less helpful and many of the amenities were extra. We felt 'nickled and dimed'.
Sep 05, 2013
The staff was great especially Debi! We stayed in one of the 2 room cabins with our two kids ages 6 and 8 and they loved it. Normally we camp in the woods, but with all the activities in the Black Hills, we wanted the convenience of the cabin and showers. I would definitely stay in one of these cabins again, next time we're in the Black Hills. Thanks Custer KOA!
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
We've stayed at KOAs before but never in a cabin. We needed affordable accommodatins for a wedding weekend and the Custer KOA was a great choice. The cabin was very clean and comfortable. The facilities are well kept and the staff was beyond friendly and accommodating. I would stay again without hesitation and recommend it to anyone.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Surprisingly clean. Helpful staff. My wife was hoping the Kabins had A/C. More expensive than I was expecting, but no more than other sites in the area.
Sep 02, 2013
although there was a cabin open on the other side, we were sandwiched in between two cabins with small children. why wouldn't you leave a cabin free between families unless you absolutely have to fill it? these folks aren't interested in thinking about the age of the people renting their cabins and/or spacing people if at all possible. these cabins are close together. don't stay here.
Sep 01, 2013
Aug 30, 2013
Great, some highway noise, but not terrible. Great cook, clean facilities!
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Great staff, super clean, many family friendly activities, and close to everything! We loves everything at the KOA so much we hardly wanted to leave to see or do anything else! Our kids loved the jumping pillow & pool. We will be back for sure!
Aug 25, 2013
Loved the pines clean bathrooms quiet at night cabins were nice
Aug 22, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Great stay, clean place, fun pool! However, soap dispensers in the bathroom were too high for my kids to reach and the paper towels were very hard to get out with wet hands. Otherwise a perfect stay!
Aug 19, 2013
Friendly and clean.The kids were so entertained by the bunnies. Only complaint is cabins are a bit close together and close to hiway. Would like a bit more privacy and quiet.
Aug 19, 2013
I wish the cabins would of had air conditioning.THe pool would of stayed open longer than 8:30PM.
Aug 18, 2013
Very friendly staff and clean facilities!
Aug 18, 2013
They are very friendly when you come in and all paper work done and quick check in after hard day of driving.
Aug 14, 2013
Got charged an extra $91 that I was told wouldn't be charged to my account. Will not stay again and will not tell anyone to stay here.
Aug 12, 2013
Stayed at this site 3 times its a great place
Aug 12, 2013
They were very accommodating. I made several changes to my stay, and they worked it in without a hitch. Great service.
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
Could not ask for better host. They are as great as the come.
Aug 09, 2013
Cabin number 1 was infested with fleas. My wife got 37 (thirty seven)itching bites on her body. I was lucky with only twenty or so. Receptionist laughed the problem away but we got a spray the next morning. Did not work, another bad night. Glad we could leave after 2 nights.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry for your misfortune. On your departure, cabin was exterminated and no infestation was found. We also immediately offered you another cabin, or an early departure w/ rebate, which was declined. RV campers near your cabin mentioned bites from being outside, which is out of our control.
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 07, 2013
I have only one item that made our stay a little less than optimum. The temperature in the shower houses was less than comfortable. It was slightly above the outside temperature outside, which was below the average for this time of year. We enjoyed the breakfast from your 'Chuck Wagon'. Thanks for the hospitality that was shown us during our stay. Dale & Jan Olson
Aug 07, 2013
Very well kept and clean. Extremely quiet considering it was during Sturgis bike rally. Kabins were ideal for motorcycle vacation. Perfect area to enjoy Custer State Park.
Aug 06, 2013
My husband and I enjoyed our stay very much! The family that runs this KOA was extremely nice and accommodating. Our cabin was clean and cute, we loved it! The bathroom facilities were also very clean. Over all we had a wonderful experience and we would definitely recommend this campsite to our family and friends. We would also love to go back someday!
Aug 06, 2013
Staff was pleasant and helpful. Was given kabin of my choice upon arrival.
Aug 05, 2013
The staff was fantastic, Jimi's breakfast was incredible! We loved the bunnies around our cabin. Everything about the facility was clean & family friendly.
Aug 05, 2013
It was very nice campground. Friendly staff, clean restrooms, nice pool, good prices.
Aug 05, 2013
Great, quiet campground. Bathrooms and showers were pretty good.
Aug 03, 2013
veryfriendly! loved setup! happy with the visit to custer. cute town!!
Aug 03, 2013
The cabins were nice, the staff was friendly, and we had a good sta.
Aug 02, 2013
Stayed in one of the cabins and loved it! Very clean and comfortable, and the staff was so friendly and helpful!
Aug 02, 2013
We had an amazing time!! Thank you for the great hospitality!
Aug 01, 2013
The campsite was beautiful!!! It was an excellent location in regards to proximity to many of the area attractions. Very well kept and friendly staff. Though we were all visiting sites during most of our stay, on the evenings we were at our campsite, the kids really enjoyed the many activities, mostly the jumping pillow! Would highly recommend this KOA! Thank you for a wonderful stay!
Aug 01, 2013
Very close to everything we wanted to do and our cabin was very clean. Campground was very quiet.
Jul 31, 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Friendly and very helpful staff. The restrooms and showers were always clean. The only thing we would recommend would be some porta potties around the campground. We will definitely be back for another visit!
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
The campground was quite nice. Not fully developed (dirt roads) but not under developed either. Nice rural campground feel. The kids loved the jump pillow, but I didn't realize there was an extra fee for it.
Jul 30, 2013
Nice clean place. Lots for kids to do. The camping spaces are a little close together and the breakfast is a little expensive for a campground but overall it is decent!
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Awesome place to stay! 3 nights. great service. Very quiet. Breakfast was amazing!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.