Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304


12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Oct 03, 2015
Arrived on a wet, snowy night. Staff gave us an extra heater to keep warm and went out of their way to accommodate our stay. Bathrooms are great and the best of any during our travels! Stayed at a different KOA every night for several weeks. Great place.
Oct 01, 2015
The campground has one of the most relaxing and welcoming atmosphere's of any KOA at which I've ever stayed. The staff is personable and attentive. This is by far my favorite KOA.
Oct 01, 2015
Beautiful campground.
Sep 30, 2015
Sep 28, 2015
Room was full of fliesdead and alive. Close to a hundred flying flies kept flying into our faces and they were the size of dimes. Other than that the accommodations were what we anticipated.


First we heard of your problem. When cleaning after your departure flies were noted but not in the numbers or sizes indicated. As we are in a forest, flies and the like are common. I wish you'd have notified us during your stay to give us a chance to address the situation. Safe travels.
Sep 27, 2015
Sep 22, 2015
Very accommodating pleasant friendly and clean
Sep 20, 2015
The cabins were great, loved all the rabbits hopping about. Made it easy to visit Mt. Rushmore, and Custer Park. Loved the camp grounds.
Sep 17, 2015
We have stayed at this KOA for over 30 years and will continue to do so in the future. We have used a variety of camping vehicles in all those years and currently stay in the camping cabins. The cabins and the restroom/bath houses are always very clean. But the best part of our camping experience is the friendliness of the staff especially the current managers, Debbie and Jim.


Thank you for the favorable review. It is a pleasure to have you and hope to see you again next season. Call ahead to be sure we get you the same cabin. Safe Travels.
Sep 15, 2015
Very well maintained camp. Convenient to many places
Sep 15, 2015
Sep 14, 2015
Sep 12, 2015
Sep 12, 2015
Very nice and very clean.
Sep 11, 2015
Sep 09, 2015
Nice camp.
Sep 08, 2015
Nice campground. Clean facilities. I took my wife and daughters camping for the first time. They liked staying in a KOA "Kamping Kabin" and will go again.
Sep 07, 2015
Great stay! Great place! Thanks!
Sep 03, 2015
Excellent in all respects.
Sep 01, 2015
Aug 31, 2015
Friendly staff! Good breakfast! Very nice restrooms! 😃
Aug 30, 2015
Great staff who acknowledged my request for a no-pets cabin. Cleanest and newest bathrooms I have ever seen in many years of camping at many different places! Thanks for the kids' activities being free and the pool being warm on a cooler evening.
Aug 27, 2015
Grat location, great kabins, the staff was very pleasent and helpful. The whole facility was clean with rabbits running all over but they didn't bother or beg from you. I was very happy with our 3 day stay there.
Aug 27, 2015
Loved the nice clean cabin. The kids enjoyed the pillow shaped trampoline.
Aug 26, 2015
The staff is very friendly and always willing to help with any questions or problems.
Aug 26, 2015
Great stay! Our granddaughter loved the bouncy play place and the rabbits that came right up to our cabin for a treat.
Aug 26, 2015
They really need to get wifi to cabins. Cleaning has to improve and service too. Not informed properly at all at arrival. Way to expensive


Apologizes for the internet. A storm took out the system the day of you arrival and parts were overnighted and repairs made. As for misinformation, if you could send an e-mail elaborating, the matter will be addressed. Safe travels.
Aug 24, 2015
Friendly, clean, relaxing. Quiet and lots of fun things to do on the grounds. Great base camp for area attractions.
Aug 23, 2015
Everyone was great, facility was great also.
Aug 21, 2015
Nice KOA near Custer, well maintained, cabins brandnew, excellent staff, swimming pool
Aug 21, 2015
wonderful stay, employees so nice. great location.
Aug 18, 2015
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our kabin was clean. Breakfast was delicious. The store had everything we needed. Looking forward to coming back again.
Aug 18, 2015
super emplacement et la cabine était superbe très propre, le personnel gentil
Aug 17, 2015
Other than not being able to cool down the kabin at night, we had a wonderful stay at the Custer, SD KOA. The staff was very friendly and helpful with driving directions and advice about the area. I've never stayed in such a clean kabin. The swimming pool would benefit from a thorough cleaning, but that didn't stop us from enjoying the pool to escape the heat!
Aug 17, 2015
Staff very pleasant and helpful. Great breakfast and bathrooms. Cabins cozy but big enough.
Aug 17, 2015
Friendly people....clean bathrooms....beautiful spot. Only downfall is proximity to traffic noise, but I would definitely stay here again.
Aug 16, 2015
Our first time staying in a KOA cabin. Loved it! Very clean, the beds were comfortable, and the kids loved the jumping pillow and pool. Plus we loved the Custer location because it was very close to Custer State Park and all the other Black Hills activities for families!
Aug 16, 2015
Campsites all dirt and dusty also way too small of sites for today's slideouts


I know some of our campsites are small as we are an older park and every year we make improvements to make them better. However, you stayed in a camping cabin. Safe travels.
Aug 14, 2015
We had never stayed at a koa camp before but our stay was great and I will stay at koa again . I thought the staff excellent . Thanks Again Brian
Aug 13, 2015
Great campground in a nice area. The staff are superb and we will be staying here again in the future.
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
We enjoyed our stay very much! From the time we checked in until we checked out, we were treated like family and if we needed something, we had someone there in minutes and taken care of promptly. Thank you for a wonderful time and experience. We will definitely come back in the future.
Aug 11, 2015
I stayed here two nights to visit the Black Hills area. The owners were really helpful and friendly. Everything was clean and well maintained
Aug 11, 2015
We made a very late reservation for the Sturgis Bike Rally! And got lucky with a Camping cabin!! It was awesome! Our first KOA stay ever! Campground was beautifully maintained. Our camping cabin was so clean!! Everyone from Julie and Debbie to Brian and the owners and their son the cook were just the best! When we come back to Sturgis we will definitelt stay there!!
Aug 10, 2015
Friendly staff and very efficient. Breakfast was great and worth the price . Camping cabins very clean. Staff had maps of things to do in area. All in all it was fabulous
Aug 10, 2015
This was a great place to stay. It was close to Mt. Rushmore, Sylvan lake, and downtown Custer. Everyone was really nice and the kids loved feeding the bunnies carrots!!
Aug 09, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
Friendly check-in. Clean cabin and restrooms. Well-stocked store.
Aug 08, 2015
We had a nice time and the staff was great.
Aug 07, 2015
Campground is very nice and clean. Staff are excellent! Very friendly and helpful. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy