Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

Open May 1 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

Email

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Oct 22, 2016
It was a nice campground with rabbits and deer. Could use a larger waste basket. Not fond of bathroom codes. When we needed ice it was unavailable at store. The cabin could use more hooks.
Oct 15, 2016
very nice, well maintained campground with beautiful bathrooms
Oct 02, 2016
Very clean and well kept. We were very pleased
Oct 02, 2016
Awesome koa and staff. Very attentive and courteous. Thank you and can't wait until our next stay!!
Sep 28, 2016
The staff was fantastic, the bathrooms were spotless, and my kids had a blast seeing the deer walk through the campground every evening. We will be back for sure. Thank you!
Sep 24, 2016
Very nice campground! We loved watching the deer and bunnies. The staff was helpful and the campground is clean and quiet. Large dog park and playground. Restrooms are very clean and nicely decorated. We enjoyed our stay in a camping cabin and look forward to staying there again!
Sep 22, 2016
Clean & friendly
Sep 21, 2016
Well kept, clean, nice bath/shower rooms, well managed.
Sep 18, 2016
My husband and i had 2 toddlers and a baby, stayed in a cabin 1 night and they made us move to a 2 bedroom because we had 5 people. There was a queen bed and two twin beds, and the baby did not use a bed. I did not understand what the issue was. The manager was pretty unhelpful, but the employees were friendly.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

On line you stated 2 adults and 2 children. You also were not truthful at check in. Fire regulations do not base occupancy on the size of a person. In addition, although it is clearly posted that cooking is not allowed in cabins, you persisted to not adhere to posted rules.
Sep 11, 2016
The campground was adequate, but all special services shut down for the season. No breakfasts, the pool was closed... With the reduction in services there was no reduction in the rates.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you were not happy. All pools in this area close Labor Day. As for the breakfast, this is not a free amenity, not included in the daily site charge. Safe Travels.
Sep 09, 2016
Great people
Sep 07, 2016
Stayed in cabin. Arrived late and they were very helpful. Bathrooms were great. Central location.
Sep 07, 2016
All good
Sep 07, 2016
Nice Cabins, great staff, clean restrooms. Problems with wifi availability.
Sep 03, 2016
Very good customer service! No charge for canceling one night late. Thank you so much for understanding!
Sep 02, 2016
Great location. Great facilities. Can't wait to stay there again
Sep 02, 2016
Friendly, helpful staff. Great location for touring the area.
Aug 31, 2016
Everything was well maintained and very clean.
Aug 31, 2016
Had not been charged for my morning cup of coffee before, but enjoyed my stay! Friendly, helpful hosts and very well kept facility! Thank you!!!
Aug 30, 2016
We loved the cabin, the bathrooms were the best we have ever seen at a campground and the staff was friendly and helpful :)
Aug 28, 2016
The staff were absolutely amazing. At check in he took the time for us to share our vacation plans and gave us recommendations of things to look for and to do that helped make our vacation great! The campground and bathrooms were clean.
Aug 27, 2016
Love it all except some places were not willing to let 10 people stay in one spot our Rv sleeps 10 comfortably so. Didn't understand the problem
Aug 23, 2016
Before we got to the Custer KOA, my husband said "ugh, not another KOA". Afterwards, he said it was his favorite place to stay on our trip. The giant bouncy pillow is a huge hit. Also friendly staff and excellent bathrooms and the kids loved that the pool was heated. Thanks so much!
Aug 23, 2016
An A+ KOA - great base for Black Hills explorations!
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
Very clean and the staff were super friendly.
Aug 21, 2016
Cabins were very nice.
Aug 21, 2016
Great campground.
Aug 20, 2016
Loved staying here! The staff was extremely friendly and so willing to help with our random requests.
Aug 20, 2016
Bathrpoms were very up to date. Cabin very clean and well kept. No spiders. Front porch relaxing especially with that wonderful porch swing! Staff very friendly. Loved our stay! Slept 5 easily in cabin with 4 twins and one double bed.
Aug 20, 2016
Very pleasant! Very nice service. Pool was good size and did its job, just looked a little rough. Overall, a very accommodating place--thanks!
Aug 18, 2016
The staff was friendly and helpful. The Campground was kept very clean; we were right in the pines (wonderful). The location was very convenient for all we wanted to see and do.
Aug 15, 2016
Nice campground, very friendly people, good location.
Aug 15, 2016
Great campground. Kids really enjoyed the pool and jumping pillow. Food was great also. Showers were amazing.
Aug 15, 2016
Excellent cabin, had a flat tire and they helped us air it up to get to town. Had a lock break onthe door, office was open they came over in a downpour and cut the screen handed me a screw driver, i took the lock apart and we could open the door to get out. tHEY WERE A GREAT HELP
Aug 15, 2016
Very nice rustic campground. Has nice trees, grass and hilly. Campground staff was very friendly and had a lot of knowledge of the surrounding area. This is our third stay in the campground and will continue to return.
Aug 14, 2016
Very nice we had a cabin it was very clean and convenient for all amenities.the staff was extremely nice and professional.would definitely go back there again... thank you Reggie
Aug 14, 2016
Staff was awesome. Very clean showers and restrooms. We will definitely be staying again.
Aug 13, 2016
Excellent! They made our stay wonderful. Will definitely return. Val Marks
Aug 11, 2016
Nice place, clean toilet. Wish more privacy for the camp fire.
Aug 10, 2016
We had a great stay here and would highly recommend! Wonderful staff, incredibly clean, lots of activities for kids. We will definitely be back!!
Aug 09, 2016
The accomodations were great and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Aug 08, 2016
The people were wonderful. We were dismayed at how early the pool closed (8:30pm) which is the main reason we will not stay at Custer KOA again. We did not have time to enjoy the local and nearby areas and get back in time to swim.
Aug 08, 2016
A great place to stay near Mt Rushmore, the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Aug 08, 2016
A very nice kampground, a great place to stay.
Aug 07, 2016
I don't know about the actual owners, but people staffing the retail stores were very rude. Made us feel like we were annoying them by being there.
Aug 07, 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a sleeper cabin while traveling through South Dakota on vacation. This is one of the cleanest KOA's I've ever been to. The cabin was clean and fresh. The shower house was updated and CLEAN! Loved the location, so close to many attractions. My only regret is that we didn't stay here longer!
Aug 04, 2016
Aug 03, 2016
Clean, friendly staff and LOVED the bunnies everywhere!
Aug 02, 2016
nice clean cabin
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award