Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 12, 2015
This quiet, well shaded campground was a delight for all 5 of us with the pool, playground and bounce pillow AND who can resist those bunnies---much better that chipmunks!!
Jun 12, 2015
My husband and I had a fantastic stay. Our 2 room cabin was spotless and the bath house was super clean. The staff was excellent!!! Thank you for an awesome vacation!! We highly recommend Custer KOA
Jun 12, 2015
Jun 12, 2015
Great staff. Men's shower was the best I've ever used at a KOA or any other RV Park. We'll be back
Jun 12, 2015
The campground was very clean and well run. The people were so friendly and helpful! Great job!
Jun 11, 2015
The front desk and help were extremely helpful and friendly! I loved the space heaters in the restrooms. I am always cold.
Jun 10, 2015
Best of the best
Jun 10, 2015
Outstanding accommodations, KOA residents were helpful and accommodateing, clean site with no road noise
Jun 08, 2015
Quiet campground.
Jun 08, 2015
The breakfast was wonderful. The staff was very accommodating and attentive to any possible needs.
Jun 08, 2015
The staff was very courteous and attentive. I did not like the unlevel site. And all of the hook ups were on the wrong end of my trailer. I had to pull forward and set up on a slant just to reach the electric box.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I apologize your site was not to your liking. If you had informed us we do have 30 and 50 amp cords for just such situations, which we would have gladly lent you. Thank you for staying with us and safe travels.
Jun 07, 2015
Jun 06, 2015
Our trip was interrupted by flooding on I90 and the people at Custer Campground were most helpful in getting us booked for another day and then when we went to leave the truck would not start and withing minutes of our call to the office they were there to give us a jump. They couldn't have been nicer.
Jun 06, 2015
Nice people.Good location. Just a bit far from Rushmore.
Jun 05, 2015
Awesome KOA! Highly recommended. Most friendliest staff and awesome accommodations. Would love to return again.
Jun 05, 2015
People are lovely, campsite was so uneven it damaged the leveling jacks on my motor home. Others had a wheel jacked in the air. Is it too much to expect level access and a level site. The country was so green and lush, unlike the dust bowl of a campground. I hope this is seen as constructive critism.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay. When you were escorted to you site you did not have any complaints, nor when we made contact with you later in the day. I'm not sure dust bowl fits since it rained every day you were here and this has prevented our normal spring site maintenance. Safe travels.
Jun 04, 2015
We had a wonderful time. The staff made us feel at home. We hated to leave and would definitely stay there again! Best possible experience ever!
Jun 04, 2015
Nice friendly park.
Jun 03, 2015
All hosts were very friendly and helpful. They made our stay great fun.
Jun 03, 2015
Staff was very good and friendly. Sites were clean, fire pits could use a little upgrade.
Jun 03, 2015
Loved our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Kids loved the playground and jumping pillow. Also, Billy does make the best pancakes!!
Jun 02, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
Very enjoyable, staff is friendly, pretty campground
Jun 01, 2015
Jun 01, 2015
Super convenient location and incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Bathrooms were clean and laundry facilities very good. Play area for the kids was a hit. Overall, it was perfect for what we needed. Thanks for having us!
Jun 01, 2015
Everyone was so helpful, checking regularly if there was anything they could do to help us. It started the moment we arrove to unpacking our bags to Billy cooking and entertaining the kids to at breakfast to heading out on our adventures and even as we loaded up to leave. We felt welcomed and wanted and could not have asked for a better experience!!! Thank you!!!
May 31, 2015
We enjoyed our stay very very much. Alan and Lou were great. Please let them know
May 31, 2015
Staff was so friendly and helpful!
May 31, 2015
Nice stay - nothing really special....except the very cute bunnies hopping around!
May 29, 2015
Without a doubt the friendliest and nicest staff...great place to stay.
May 29, 2015
No TV (bring your cable to stream via internet)! Friendly people & FANTASTIC restroom/shower facilities! We were there during "wet"; would like to see a little more trail/road maintenance. Lots of mud; but hey...it was rainy! :) Overall..not as fancy as Palmer Gultch; but more friendly & peaceful.
May 29, 2015
We will stay here again friendly staff and the tour we booked was great.
May 27, 2015
Other than the constant rain,it was a great place to stay. I'll be back when it is drier!
May 27, 2015
Very accommodating staff in spite of the weather.
May 26, 2015
In spite of bad weather we had a very enjoyable time at this KOA. And that is because of the people that run it. They are so friendly and accommodating. No wonder we have been staying at this same KOA for over 30 years.
May 25, 2015
The staff here is very friendly. The bathrooms and shower are updated and very clean, and the cabins are comfortable. Would definitely recommend!
May 24, 2015
One nite traveling ok
May 23, 2015
This place was great. Everyone working there were so friendly and helpful. Everything was very clean. My kids ages 12-17 all loved it. I would recommend this place and will definitely stay there again on my next trip.
May 21, 2015
May 20, 2015
Great hosts! Very friendly and VERY helpful. My one issue is the dog enclosure. It's not enclosed .. it is a two wire fence that would be fine if there were chain lenght to enclose it.
May 20, 2015
Everything and everyone was great!
May 18, 2015
Clean bathrooms, friendly staff, excellent location, quiet and spacious sites with picnic table. Loved the bunnies!
May 18, 2015
Everything was great except weather - a little cold! We rented a car that was recommended by them. Worked out perfectly! Staff very helpful. Would recommend to our friends.
May 18, 2015
Great campground. Friendly staff. Bathrooms were extremely clean. It was a nice place to stay, and we'd gladly go back.
May 17, 2015
A very friendly and hospitable group of people always willing to help if needed. Bathroom and shower area a plus.
May 15, 2015
Thanks, we had a great stay
May 13, 2015
What a great KOA! We ended up getting a huge snow storm during our stay and despite the weather we still had a great trip thanks to the staff at Custer KOA. And everyone was so kind and concerned when I had a pretty bad fall in the store! We will definitely be returning!
May 13, 2015
While we were at this KOA we had an unexpected foot of snow. The hosts/owners went out of their ways to make sure everyone was ok. Because of the snow and road conditions they offered discounts to stay off the road as they were a mess. Most hosts are nice and you expect that at KOA, this couple went out of their way to make sure everyone was comfortable during the snow and during their stay.
May 12, 2015
This KOA is very conveniently located and the staff is very friendly, helpful, and are great at offering suggestions about visiting attractions in the area. My husband and I were grateful Billy suggested bringing carrots to feed the burros at Custer State Park, thank you! The bathrooms are clean and beautifully remodeled; they are seriously nicer than most motel bathrooms!
May 11, 2015
The staff was very nice and helpful. But may stay was full of rain which kinda made the campgrounds muddy. That's the only reason I didn't enjoy my stay all too much, but I'm sure with better weather, it'd be very nice. I appreciated the heaters in the bathroom, very helpful since it got pretty cold during my stay.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.