Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 02, 2014
Great place to stay. Pretty close to everything.
Jul 02, 2014
Family campground, shouldn't have to pay extra for kids. That doesn't really make any sense. Even this pitcher shows kids. Did they pay extra
Jul 02, 2014
Our family set up a tent for 3 nights at this particular KOA and had a great time. My 10 and 13 year old LOVED the jumping pillow and the pool was clean and set at a comfortable temperature. The fire wood was a bit expensive (3 bundles for $11) as was the soda in the machines. For the overall price, it was a great value. Thank you!
Jul 02, 2014
Friendly people, fun for the kids, clean restrooms and laundry facility.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
ALL the staff very friendly and accommodating which makes a huge difference. Unlike many other campgrounds where customers seem to be an interruption to the work day, these folks enjoy talking with people and were genuinely interested in our satisfaction with the site and amenities. I highly recommend.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Great location. Nice wide sites. Lots of trees.
Jul 02, 2014
Due to the altitude my rv was running a little rich and when I went to start the engine, it flooded. Within 15 minutes a KOA staff member informed me he had a tow truck on the way because I couldn't be there any longer. Luckily I got it started before the tow truck showed up and charged me an arm and a leg. The staff member was rude and not very understanding when I told him I didn't want a tow.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

You were blocking our main exit and no other RV's could get by to leave the park. You were not told to leave, just that we needed to get you out of the way of traffic. You were given 45 min. to attempt to make your own repairs before assistance was called.
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Enjoyed our time there very much, everyone was very helpful and friendly.
Jun 20, 2014
Jun 20, 2014
Enjoyed the camp. The weather was great.
Jun 19, 2014
this is a new koa and in the process of being updated good location for visiting yellowstone
Jun 15, 2014
Would have been nice to have cable for the week, first KOA I have stayed in that didn't have it.
Jun 13, 2014
friendly wonderful staff
Jun 12, 2014
The nicest KOA I have ever stayed at. Very clean, well maintained restrooms, all staff extremely friendly and helpful!
Jun 12, 2014
Staff very friendly. Grounds clean and well kept. Loved having the Chuck Wagon open so I could send my kids for breakfast. They loved it!
Jun 12, 2014
Jun 11, 2014
We had a great stay you can't go wrong with KOA
Jun 10, 2014
Great campground!!! Secluded yet very close to all the tourist sites that the Black Hills has to offer. Would go there again in a heartbeat!!!
Jun 10, 2014
Wonderful staff! Thank you!
Jun 10, 2014
we will come soon
Jun 09, 2014
Friendly Folks.
Jun 08, 2014
Warm and very, very clean/modern restrooms. Wonderful breakfast choices that were reasonably priced and delicious.
Jun 08, 2014
Excellent staff. Nice showers. Clean and well maintained.
Jun 08, 2014
Great facility. Enjoyed our stay.
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 07, 2014
Jun 07, 2014
We enjoyed meeting the office staff upon are arrival. They showed concern for the weather we traveled through.
Jun 06, 2014
Friendliest & most helpful staff I've ever encountered.
Jun 04, 2014
Really the nicest folks..Ray is a real gem.we will be back.
Jun 04, 2014
Very nicely kept facility with excellent employees. However the campground does not provide cable or satellite tv hook ups. I was only able to pull in one station with amplified antenna and it was spotty at that. If TV is no problem then I would recommend the campground.+
Jun 04, 2014
Jun 04, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
Campground was clean well taken care of,hosts were friendly.Pool deck needs some help and restrooms need another shower
Jun 02, 2014
This is one of the nicest, cleanest KOA we have been to. My favorite moment was when someone saw my kids in the pool and heard them say they were cold and quietly went to check without me asking. There are a variety of games to play for the kids. The jumping pillow was the favorite. The cabin was very clean and the property is excellent.
Jun 02, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
Requested close to trees but did not get one even though there were plenty of spots available. Very tight spaces. Staff was nice, bathrooms and showers were very clean and updated.
Jun 02, 2014
We enjoyed our stay because of a friendly man called Ray. Ray and his staff went out of their way to help with a mechanical problem on my brother's truck.
Jun 01, 2014
Great view, level site, cable TV, clean facilities, reasonable price, friendly service
Jun 01, 2014
Every staff member that we ran into were extremely friendly and hospitable. We LOVED the rabbits. My family loved our stay and will definitely be back!
May 31, 2014
Amazing weekend, despite the occasional showers! Wonderful scenery, great food, and the cabin was quaint and surprisingly comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay and will likely be back soon. Thank you to all at Custer KOA for making this stay memorable!
May 30, 2014
May 29, 2014
Facility is nice, but given fore-knowledge I would have stayed at a KOA closer to Rushmore. Also, after arrival and setup staff delivered a treat for our dogs with some additional rules including a statement that we were not allowed to leave them in our RV while away from the campground, doing so would result in being forced to leave and forfeit of fees paid. We left early.
May 28, 2014
May 27, 2014
The campsite was well cared for. Clean bathrooms. Welcoming, fun staff!
May 27, 2014
Very nice and quiet with clean bath houses. The only complaint is the beds in the cabin are very uncomfortable.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.