Custer / Mount Rushmore KOA

12021 US Highway 16

Custer, SD 57730

Reserve: 800-562-5828

Info: 605-673-4304

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 06, 2013
Signs marking the way to exit would help find the way out at 4am. Also cable TV would be nice. Wifi worked!!!
Oct 06, 2013
Easy access to campground. Very helpful and friendly staff. Found us a great spot when they were nearly full.
Oct 05, 2013
The managers of this KOA were very nice and helpful, however, this campground was not up to KOA standards. Sites were very unlevel, no cable hook-up but the rates were the same as KOA's with all the amenity's!
Oct 04, 2013
Friendly staff. Super clean showers and restrooms.
Sep 30, 2013
Very uneven ground, had to be careful we're you walked
Sep 30, 2013
Linda and Ray were very friendly and helpful.
Sep 29, 2013
Nice level sites. Parking assist was great. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Facilities are clean and well maintained. We would definitely stay here again.
Sep 29, 2013
Sep 28, 2013
Sep 28, 2013
Grounds were well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location to attractions was wonderful. Our site was narrow and very uneven. Hot water in one bathhouse was inoperable one day. Two washers and one dryer were broken which made for a wait to use.
Sep 25, 2013
The campground and personnel were great. The problem was no cable (not a problem), but no antenna TV. If you had a dish, you were OK. I assumed that not having cable, you would still have antenna TV. The campsite next door had cable.
Sep 25, 2013
All of the staff were very helpfull and polite
Sep 24, 2013
What a great place.Everyone was very helpful with directions and places to see. Great town.
Sep 24, 2013
Pet area needs more secure fencing to prevent small dogs from going under the fence, please!
Sep 23, 2013
GREAT HOSTS! excellent facilities that were superbly maintained. great stay!
Sep 23, 2013
Well run by Friendly, and Competent Personnel. Thanks.
Sep 22, 2013
Sep 22, 2013
Sep 22, 2013
friendly and helpful staff. area is very clean and forested which is what we like to have since we are from Colorado.
Sep 21, 2013
We have stayed at this KOA several times. The sites for long rigs (we camp with a 34 ft Airstream) are not shaded and on a hill. This is typical of the Black Hills area, which is very rocky and hilly. The rest rooms are outstanding and the KOA is in a great location.
Sep 21, 2013
Pet area is not enclosed
Sep 20, 2013
Lovely facility and friendly, helpful staff.
Sep 19, 2013
no complaints at all; our time there was great; there's a lot to do and see in the area, and this place is not far from anything, but not too close to the big town either. we stayed at one of the simple kamper kabins instead of our usual tent, mostly because we labor day wknd reservations too far in advance to have any idea of what the weather would be like.
Sep 18, 2013
Very nice, escorted to site. Tour recommendation was out of this world. They told us if we didn't think this KOA was a 10 to let them know and they'd make it right so we could give them a 10. Nothing needed making it right it just was.
Sep 17, 2013
Very nice,clean park. Campsites were too close glad it was off season & not full
Sep 17, 2013
day perso was helpful and very nice night afternoon people rude made us feel stupid in general not friendly at all

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I apologize for your bad experience at our campground. The matter has been addressed with the staff in question as we do not like having unhappy campers. I do hope the other aspects of your stay were positive and that we may have a chance to have you stay again in the future. Jim, General Manager
Sep 16, 2013
Custer KOA is an awesome campground! Very friendly, helpful staff and nice clean facilities. This campground is in a beautiful area nestled in the pine trees. We loved camping at Custer KOA!
Sep 16, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Very pleasant
Sep 16, 2013
Extremely friendly with a wifi that works
Sep 15, 2013
Did not really spend time at campground. Kabin was nice and personal very nice as well.
Sep 15, 2013
Sites were unlevel and very close.
Sep 15, 2013
Wonderful facility. Will return.
Sep 15, 2013
Sep 14, 2013
People were friendly, campground was clean and quiet. We enjoyed our stay very much.
Sep 12, 2013
A very nice and quiet KOA with a helpfull staff. Close to all the interesting attractions.
Sep 12, 2013
Sep 11, 2013
Dissappointed to find that our stay coincided with Sturgis Wk - the entire area was overrun with motorcycles. Very difficult to do any sightseeing in the area due to thousands of bikes on the roads. When making our reservation we were given no warning about Sturgis Wk. Left a night early because of all the noise & chaos from bikers; refused to refund our fee for the night we didn't stay.
Sep 11, 2013
Very friendly staff, great location, and clean Kabins. Stayed one night, would have loved to stay for breakfast the next day, but had to move on down the road. Would definitely stay there again!
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
It was a nice place.
Sep 09, 2013
Great shower facility. We were plced in a site #28 that was next to a dump which hurt any view and the site also did not allow for us to utilize the spot outside of the main door and under the awning due to a hill. Finally we were place right next to another camper which did not make sence, since there were many open spots. with only one night we did not ask to re-locate.
Sep 08, 2013
Sep 07, 2013
Sep 07, 2013
the sites could be a little more level, but all in all pretty nice place
Sep 07, 2013
The facility was fine, but the staff was less helpful and many of the amenities were extra. We felt 'nickled and dimed'.
Sep 06, 2013
Great Weekend U all were very helpful.
Sep 05, 2013
The staff was great especially Debi! We stayed in one of the 2 room cabins with our two kids ages 6 and 8 and they loved it. Normally we camp in the woods, but with all the activities in the Black Hills, we wanted the convenience of the cabin and showers. I would definitely stay in one of these cabins again, next time we're in the Black Hills. Thanks Custer KOA!
Sep 04, 2013
NOT DOG FRIENDLY. wifi doesn't work. Was kicked out at 8am bc of breed of dog, they didn't even see our dog. Charged me full amount for staying 6 hrs and not even hooking up. Place sucks!!!!
Sep 04, 2013
Terrible two nights. We tented in Site 8. It's right next to the Kamping Kabins and apparently the 2nd and 3rd Kabins from the left behind the pool decided to stay up and drink and talk very loudly. Tent sites should be away from lights and non-tenters. Enforce quiet hours after 10pm. I know this is a chance encounter, but all it takes is once. I'll look elsewhere next time.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.